Phantom Draft Snoop Dog 2014 Phantom Draft

Great read as usual Swoop.

Think the Pies may well have missed the boat on promoting Frost. Think all rookie promotions had to be declared at the 1st list lodgement. I could be wrong though, wouldn't be the 1st time.

Not too sure we'd rookie a KPF prospect either with Gault, Moore, and Cox already in that mix. I know Gault and Cox could be more ruck/forward options and Moore can play back but think genuine KPDs are a greater need. At senior level we'll struggle to squeeze all of Brown, Frost and Keeffe in the D50 and 1 of them may play a bit of VFL but still light on in this area. Assuming Reid will play forward of course. If we are going to rookie a foward can it please be Eddy, thought he showed a bit when VFL listed.

Would love to see McLean or Langdon slip to pick 48.

Thanks

I am not sure if they will have Moore more fwd than back. Most the people I know think he is a better CHB so it will be interesting where we develop him. Certainly the greater need is fwd. Anyway that is why I took Watchman.

Looks like Marsh is going to be left more as a back than a fwd as well so just thought plenty of backs we need genuine fwd to develop. I think eddy is a great choice to. Imagine if Cloke went down....touch wood! Eddy would make sense and I did have him there but just thought a club like Lions or GWS would hit him first.

Yes both those kids at that selection would be good. I think both are realistic chances but there are 3 distinct groups in my view - 1-20, 20-32 and 32-50. Both I think are in that third group and its conceivable as they could slip to the back end of it.

Quick outside line breakers with good disposal. Replacements for Grima and Firitto and a dangerous small forward would be the go. I can see them looking tovthe rookie draft for defenders where they have had success in the past. If Beasly was available at Norths first rookie pick he would be a good fit. Toby McLean at 36 would be a good fit.

Quite a few good defenders Buykx-Smith another one, Nick Jackson, Josh Watts etc.

Great read as always Snoop Dog, thanks for the effort. Appreciated your write-ups of Durdin and Wright, they seem to be getting the extra scrutiny given they were touted early and have suffered, however as long term prospects I still believe they deserve high ratings given the athleticism and skill they exhibit at their size. Are there any other players you view as being "over analysed"?

Btw, love the selection you gave WCE. Believe Weller can eventually be the best mid out of the draft if developed correctly and fits WCE needs too.

He could be and is such a good kid to.

Yeah I am not sure there are to many others. I think Bampton and Blakely possibly. Blakely seems to get hit hard for his disposal whereas I dont think its to bad. Bampton for the same reason but its ok and have to remember guys like Ball, Harvey etc have built great careers and not been considered elite kicks. Cant tell me those two wouldn't get drafted today if around.

Another is Ryan Lim from WA. I am a big fan of his and again its his kicking that is the knock

Couldnt see us passing on Brayshaw - whichever way we go with pick 3. We are so light on for quality in the middle. Either way, pick 40 also seems a good spot to still nab a reasonable quality slider in this draft.

I'm not concerned about Hogan and McCartin being too similar at all. The only issues would be that neither are very tall (194cm & 192cm approx), and neither have big vertical leaps to come over the top of large packs.

Hogan is a running machine for his size though - and will spend his time leading up to the wings. Whereas McCartin will control the forward 50. I think we need another forward/ruck coming through to help Max Gawn with the height and pack situations.

Thanks yeah I haven't seen enough of Hogan at Casey to know how it would work. At u18 he was a bit more stay at home so interesting. Not a lot of ruck / fwd options in this draft.

I don't really see McCartin and Hogan as being too similar. Hogan has the fitness and running capacity to play further up the ground (he's been beating many of the midfielders in running so far this pre-season) whilst I see McCartin playing closer to goals.

I actually wouldn't mind us going with two mids say Laverde or even Cockatoo, but whether we go tall or night we'll be improving the squad

So Lever?

Agree that is our dilemma. My thoughts regarding them;

Option 1; If either Goddard or Durdin have the potential to become decent forwards, or swingmen, then this is a good option. Even if they do not we have plenty of grunt style tall defenders with Silvagni and Dawson, plus Smith developing. These two project as a classier option, and given that it is MacPharlin (and in the not so distant future MJ) that we are replacing, that is not a bad option for the club to take. Prefer Durdin, and in your draft would question if Geelong would not choose the local guy if they are that close in terms of quality, although the Cats don't seem fussed over that kind of thing. Both seem excellent prospects. Some terrific prospects available at our 2nd pick in terms of mids.

Option 2; de Goey and Langford look very exciting and look certain to have terrific AFL careers. Hard to pass up if available, and I would not be unhappy if we went this route. Probably prefer de Goey as he seems more developed, although neither need to have an immediate impact. If we did go Option 2 then I see it as a massive vote of confidence in Apeness and Taberner, and perhaps even A Pearce as an option. None of the talls you suggest being available at this range project as KPF options. Perhaps Keitel may still be available, but becomes a gamble to rely on that.

I think Goddard more likely a swingman than Durdin but Durdin has a lot of talent.

You have Gartlett at 25 to NM, do you think that one of the WA teams wont take him rnd1? If WCE cant get Pickett, would they consider Gartlett? What other teams do you think most need outside run & finishing?

Good question but i have Cockatoo rated higher and i think he suits WCE. I think Freo might get Durdin or Goddard and they have a need for that type so I would be surprised if Gartlett lands in WA.

In terms of the teams that need that speed and polish. I think most of them are after it this year. Fortunately there are a number of players who fit that type and I think they will get taken before pick 30 or so rolls around. I think the inside mids will go a bit later in the draft 30-50.

Anderson I was initially red hot on but apparently he has got a really bad attitude and lacks maturity; rumours he missed some of the tests at the combine on purpose. I don't see how moving him interstate would change this but who knows. Markov I reckon is a lock in for a later pick for us I love how his bursts speed I think he is moving down the draft order due to the lack of footy he has played; the 2 collarbones aswell as being described as more of an athlete than a footballer but wouldn't be disappointed with any of those two.

I had not heard that re Anderson and in fact had heard opposite so news to me.

Markov I think moves down only because others exposed form etc is moving them ahead and history suggests more likely to drop a bit. Its interesting when you do these Phantoms you try and do them as it would happen. Ie selection by selection and not just slot them in somewhere. Its interesting bc you see who 'risers and sliders' are get a sense of why they might. I think Markov is talented and actually had him at Collingwood at 48 and be thrilled if he did come for the reasons you have mentioned but there are other kids who I think are just have a bit more on the board and yeah you worry about his collarbones and spending that high a pick.

Do you think Dean Gore can last to pick 41? Would be stoked.

I think he could because i think he is that bracket between 30-50 and I have him at the top of that range. I don't think he goes before 30 and of course others will slide down so he is a chance but I would think he will be gone between 30-40.

Great effort mate
Marchbank is a ripper I just think Essendon are strong in his type but he is worthy of pick 20
Do you think more recycled types may be looked at in rookie draft?
I reckon brown hardingham Schroder tapscott lucas petrenko and maybe even McLean might get looked at.

I would look at Daniel pearce from the Dogs. I would have him and Schroder at the top of my list. Others;

Schroder - Probably the most likely for me as could see many clubs looking at him for a bit of depth. I saw a bit of his VFL footy and he goes well enough to be on a list. I think Hawks would look at bc of Hallahan, Pies would look at, surely essendon have a need for a bit of depth there and then I think depending on how they Blues draft he could be one they look at later.

Hardingham - I actually had him going to GWS until Brown was delisted. Even a club like Collingwood who have real issues in the fwd 50 might look at him.

Tapscott - Not sure what has happened to him but he has talent and I would really like him at Collingwood. I think any club looking for a hard inside mid / defender should look at him.

Brown - I think maybe Lions, Carlton, Collingwood, GWS, Crows should all look at him. Plenty at Cats rate him.

Broughton - Another who I would look at. GWS would need someone to do the kick ins and Pies have the same issues. Tigers could do with some more polish out of the back so another for them. Swans could even look at him as a replacement fro Malceski.

Lucas - Obviously WA teams will look but to be honest never seen him play a dominant game or even 20 mins so I wouldn't touch him.

McLean - I think he was treated appallingly and it amazes me how MM crapped on about how Waite treated them and yet they did what they did to him. I can't see him being picked up.

Petrenko - I wouldn't. Another who I just didn't think showed enough but I fear I didn't see some of his better games as some really rate him. I think very injury prone to.

What no love for Shillabeer 194cm 95kg?
The greatest forward in the whole SANFL?
Averages 15.5 disposals, 9.5 marks per game, 6 CP, 9.5 UP, 5 goals, 2B, 2.5 Tackles, 3.5 I50s.
The man is a star ...

Ssshhhhh
I saw i think two of his games and actually had him in the rookie. He will be there when the final cut goes around. Imagine if a team rocked both he and Shane Yarran.
Seriously he is good enough to be rookie drafted and then developed. Raw but gee he has scope.

Great Phnatom Draft, enjoyed reading it.

Do you know much about these players and do you think they would be a chance to get drafted or Rookied by Richmond?

Ryan Tester - 198cm Tall Defender
Marcus Hamilton
Jermaine Miller-Lewis
Adam Marcon

I think one of the really interesting questions will be what could have we gotten instead of Varcoe and Crisp with the selections we might otherwise of had.

Ie Varcoe effectivly cost us Dees pick 23 or thereabouts. What could we have landed in the draft for that.

Totally agree! I thought we would of learnt from the likes of recruiting Qstick & White.

I'm happy to have secured Crisp though as he is well down the track with his development and just coming of age so he could be anything. And nothing against Varcoe, but taking into consideration where the list is at (age/experience), I didn't think we required any more stop gap players of his calibre?

Obviously Bucks and co see it differently. I just hope he works out cause as you said, Varcoe could be list clogging our pick 23 and therefore denying us the future potential of the likes of a Jarrod Garlett, Menadue or even a Cavka!

All speculation now though isn't it.

Brilliant work Snoop, as a Hawks supporter, I'd be very happy to pick up McKenzie at 31 and wouldn't object to Hammelman at 49. Just out of curiosity, who would you have the Hawks picking up at 50 now that they have opened up the list spot and will use it in the draft?

Thanks yeah I haven't seen enough of Hogan at Casey to know how it would work. At u18 he was a bit more stay at home so interesting. Not a lot of ruck / fwd options in this draft.

Yeh I think a lot of people make the assumption that Hogan is a little bit of a stay at home forward because of his frame. But he actually more of a manic repeat leader up and back to the wings.

Peter Wright would be a great addition to compliment Gawn in the ruck and forward line - but it seems pick 3 is a bit too early for him.

Hey Snoop Dog - not sure if you're going to do any updates following the final list lodgements, but with Melbourne losing Dom Barry and also delisted Michael Evans, it seems we will probably use #53 in the draft and upgrade Jetta with our following pick.

There is a small chance we will use #PSD2, or upgrade James Harmes instead, but either way, we'll be drafting 4 new senior players plus Billy Stretch.

I'm not concerned about Hogan and McCartin being too similar at all. The only issues would be that neither are very tall (194cm & 192cm approx), and neither have big vertical leaps to come over the top of large packs.

Hogan is 195 cm and McCartin 194 cm. While not high leapers I'd hardly call them undersized.

Yeh I was deliberately conservative with their heights because there are some varying reports around (hence the 'approx').

They are both solid of build, and neither possess that high leaping attribute that say Daniher or Tom Lynch have, was really my point. Neither does Dawes.

We would be well served to have another super tall or 'pack marking' option that can play within the forward 50 at times, in addition to Gawn.

So Lever?

My own personal preference is that we take the two best pure mids available, but the reality is I'm a rank amateur mate. If it was left to me I'd probably take Brayshaw and Cockatoo which I'd be fairly certain that the vast majority of my fellow demon fans would be not happy.

Of course the other argument is setting up our forward line for the next decade with Hogan and McCartin. Either way our list is going to be much stronger than previous years

Yep I for one thought the Pies got shafted out of the trade. Injury prone player who didn't get a lot of kicks playing for one of the great sides - not really what you want from an outside player

nah i wasn't that rapt with it either but interestingly I was a bit drawn to him when he spoke about why he wanted to come. He has also played v well against us but to me its an admission Young has been a failure and given Varcoe run with injuries he can't be relied on. Also think he gets in the way of kids and I just think the club should say we are going to invest in kids and not rejects from other clubs. Pretty clear to me Cats wanted Varcoe about as much as Hawks wanted Young.

Great Phnatom Draft, enjoyed reading it.

Do you know much about these players and do you think they would be a chance to get drafted or Rookied by Richmond?

Ryan Tester - 198cm Tall Defender
Marcus Hamilton
Jermaine Miller-Lewis
Adam Marcon

Ryan Tester - yes have seen him but I found I didn't end up taking a lot of tall players as didn't seem to be a huge need for clubs. He has talent but is pretty raw and think he could make it but history says there just isn't a lot of tall kids taken. History also says the elite tall players always go early. I know there are examples but the hit rate is not high.

Marcus Hamilton - yeah NT kid and seen a bit. He was very close but probably I just didn't rate NT at all this year and hard to get a read on him. Also pretty light but has a go.

Jermaine Miller-Lewis - I think I had him going. At one stage he was back of National. I really rate him and he has had a lot invested in him. Great size and moves really well but he is going to need to get fitter I would think and he probably needs to show he can attack the ball and win it.

Adam Marcon - Again I think I had him going. He is a walk start to a lot of AFL sides. His footy this year showed he is progressing and that should get him taken. I think he had a better year than when Dwyer get drafted. The question will be can he run 15km a game. That was Kyle Martins issue.

Totally agree! I thought we would of learnt from the likes of recruiting Qstick & White.

I'm happy to have secured Crisp though as he is well down the track with his development and just coming of age so he could be anything. And nothing against Varcoe, but taking into consideration where the list is at (age/experience), I didn't think we required any more stop gap players of his calibre?

Obviously Bucks and co see it differently. I just hope he works out cause as you said, Varcoe could be list clogging our pick 23 and therefore denying us the future potential of the likes of a Jarrod Garlett, Menadue or even a Cavka!

All speculation now though isn't it.

I agree with you pal. I do rate Crisp and I remember getting nailed for suggesting we have him included in the deal but for mine he can play and i don't think his kicking is that bad. Ive watched a few games of he at the Lions and he was nailing some pretty hard kicks. at 21 he will get better and I am a fan but Varcoe is going to be taking his spot which just confuses me.

Brilliant work Snoop, as a Hawks supporter, I'd be very happy to pick up McKenzie at 31 and wouldn't object to Hammelman at 49. Just out of curiosity, who would you have the Hawks picking up at 50 now that they have opened up the list spot and will use it in the draft?

I would probably be aiming for a Ruck / Fwd sort and if Pittonet was there I would go him. I think he is the best ruck in the draft and he showed how good he was in the GF against Kovaviec (?). I thought he towelled him and I know the latter kid has someone into him mid draft so for mine if you want Pittonet I would think a pick circa 35-60 is required.

A bit of a bolter might be Rowan Marshall. He has played ruck more but i think he will be a bit like Hale. I think a club will turn him into a Hale type and he has shown he could do that.

I also think McLaren might be there and he would be interesting but I see him as more a defender which Hawk fans was a player they didn't necessarily think they would go for. Brenton Payne is one who can play fwd who I think is ok, Dougal Howard from NSW is probably a bit more rookie but he has huge potential as a fwd.

What types do you think the club would want for those 3 selections.

Yeh I think a lot of people make the assumption that Hogan is a little bit of a stay at home forward because of his frame. But he actually more of a manic repeat leader up and back to the wings.

Peter Wright would be a great addition to compliment Gawn in the ruck and forward line - but it seems pick 3 is a bit too early for him.

I am one of the few that think he has been over analysed. If I had to pick the 3 players I think are most likely to win a brownlow or dominate the comp in years to come.....Wright would be one of them.

Phantom Draft Snoop Dog 2014 Phantom Draft