Doona2

Mar 1, 2005
Kilmore
Kilmore, Broadford, Yea, Calder
Thought Id start up this "what happened to" thread as a simple post on the GV thread has sparked quite a repsonse.

My SDJFL days were between about 1985 thru to 1991/92. Some of my interleague team photo's from memroy feature blokes like the Pertile's, Mick Thomson (St. Mary's); Jezza Gaehl (Lions); Jeff Roscoe & Mick Beeby (Demons); Lee McRae, Shannon Hope (Kilmore), Jason McGrath & Martin Romeril (Wallan), Fart, Paul Mills, Cam Hilton (Euroa), reckon Darryl Lynch mighta played at Pucka.

From memory my first year in each age group features blokes like Jarrod Humm, Ben "Fonz" Fandrich and Big Abbott (Kilmore), Dave Koevets and Damien Quigg (Demons), reckon Bishop, Ekberg and James Rudd, maybe even a Johnny Burns??? (Seymour), Hayden Langborne (Wallan), Anthony Skinner (Pucka), Matt Mills??? (Euroa) Sobby O'Brien (St. Mary's)

We had guys like Chris Mills, Brett McKenzie, Stuie Denness & Spudda Edge who figured in the rep teams most years I played I reckon.

by "Krakour Magic"

Ahh, the Pertile brothers. That is gold! . From memory one of the boys got cancer at a young age, although I could be mistaken.

Would have been great to see a lot of the former SDJFL players go onto better things in the GV. Some of the stars fade away (or don't grow anymore), and some of the lesser lights blossom.

Whatever happened to that mate of your's from Kilmore, Leigh McCraigh (spelling?). Came good by u/15s, but I never heard anything more of him in football circles.

Some other stars from juniors, some of whom have gone onto GV or other:

Jeff Roscoe (Seymour Demons); Abbott (Kilmore); JJ (Kilmore); Dunn (Broadford); Hilton x 2 (Euroa); Hall (Broadford/Wallan); Francis Peva (Broadford); Petering (Seymour Lions); Jacavou (Broadford - lightening!); Stu Inness (Broadford - spelling? Not the Essendon cricketer, although he could play too); Lamaro (Euroa); Milburn (Broadford - surprise packet); Rudd (Seymour Lions); Makin (Kilmore).

Yes, Doona, everybody's favorite - Jason McMartin.

By "Grandale"

Yeah, I believe Claudio had leukemia as a youngster.

You raise some good names, Maj. Brendan Abbott, hey, everytime I hear about that fella that was the postcard bandit I think back to my under15 days.

I think you mean Stu Denness. He was playing with Seymour a few seasons back (the Johnny Mac era I think) but did his knee and last I recall was back at Broady.

James Rudd was another who was an absolute freak as a junior but just lost interest

Chris Mills and Rory Hilton were the two best SDJFL footballers Grandale saw. Quite amazing given Bustling Barry and Jason Johnson graduated through the ranks at around the same time.

Shannon Hope, son of kilmore horse trainer Lee Hope, is also a horse trainer up in sunny old seymour, step brother of Young Gun Blake Shinn, and ryan!
good bloke

A few good names there Doona, you must have a fair memory on you.

Dave Koevets and Damien Quigg- some names from the past there! Eky before he gave it away to play golf and I think Johnny Burns played at St.Marys not Seymour.

Gavin Langborne from Wallan coached Mansfield a few years back too.

TuskenRaider said:
A few good names there Doona, you must have a fair memory on you.

Dave Koevets and Damien Quigg- some names from the past there! Eky before he gave it away to play golf and I think Johnny Burns played at St.Marys not Seymour.

Gavin Langborne from Wallan coached Mansfield a few years back too.

John Burns definitely played at Seymour to start with - he's my age so he would have experienced life under all-time great SJFC coaches including Kevvy Cain and Johnny Clarke. Think he might have finished his career with the knee-benders, however (Michael Thomson did the same thing - traiting mongrels!!!)

Great initiative whoever started up this topic on the GVFL thread. Got me thinking about the good old days. Not many of them involved tackling your boys, Doona. I'm on the record as saying what a freak Millsy was, but it also wasn't much fun playing on the boy Denyer (the big one; I think it was Cameron) everytime we played the Roos.

Grandale said:
John Burns definitely played at Seymour to start with - he's my age so he would have experienced life under all-time great SJFC coaches including Kevvy Cain and Johnny Clarke. Think he might have finished his career with the knee-benders, however (Michael Thomson did the same thing - traiting mongrels!!!)

Great initiative whoever started up this topic on the GVFL thread. Got me thinking about the good old days. Not many of them involved tackling your boys, Doona. I'm on the record as saying what a freak Millsy was, but it also wasn't much fun playing on the boy Denyer (the big one; I think it was Cameron) everytime we played the Roos.

That would be Matty "D-dog" Denyer, Cammies older brother. D-dog was another one of those Broady boys that got all the gear early doors but never grew all that much, unlike myself a late bloomer who shot up (and out) late :thumbsu:

ringo1 said:
There was a real mean bastrd called cheeky Allen that played for Broadford. Very scarey when you have'nt reached puberty.:eek:

Ha ha the old Cheek is now living in Geelong and one of Broadies true characters :thumbsu:

vantheman32 said:
Shannon Hope, son of kilmore horse trainer Lee Hope, is also a horse trainer up in sunny old seymour, step brother of Young Gun Blake Shinn, and ryan!
good bloke

Shannon was one of the quickest blokes in my year which would surprise those that know him. Dunno if young Blakey can be called a young gun of late, not in the best of form with the whip, and as for young Ryan well he's always in flying form!!!

Ya never said last night van if you're heading up to Broadford with one of our former 3rds guns in Robbo ;)

Doona2 said:
Ha ha the old Cheek is now living in Geelong and one of Broadies true characters :thumbsu:

Actually got to know him a few years later and he wasn't a bad bloke. Did he go on with his footy Doona? Did Tim Fleming ever play for you guys as a youngster?

ringo1 said:
Actually got to know him a few years later and he wasn't a bad bloke. Did he go on with his footy Doona? Did Tim Fleming ever play for you guys as a youngster?

Cheek played on and off but for me I loved him for his socialising, great entertainment on those long bus trip/pub crawls home from Elmore.

Tim played junior footy at Broady, would love to have him back home now if I can send an S.O.S to anybody that may have a number for him PM me please :D

Grandale said:

Too true, good thread Doona.

I can't recall too many kids who were hoofing it what seemed like 50m in U12's. Funny stuff.

[My SDJFL days were between about 1985 thru to 1991/92. Some of my interleague team photo's from memroy feature blokes like the Pertile's, Mick Thomson (St. Mary's); Jezza Gaehl (Lions); Jeff Roscoe & Mick Beeby (Demons); Lee McRae, Shannon Hope (Kilmore), Jason McGrath & Martin Romeril (Wallan), Fart, Paul Mills, Cam Hilton (Euroa), reckon Darryl Lynch mighta played at Pucka.

From memory my first year in each age group features blokes like Jarrod Humm, Ben "Fonz" Fandrich and Big Abbott (Kilmore), Dave Koevets and Damien Quigg (Demons), reckon Bishop, Ekberg and James Rudd, maybe even a Johnny Burns??? (Seymour), Hayden Langborne (Wallan), Anthony Skinner (Pucka), Matt Mills??? (Euroa) Sobby O'Brien (St. Mary's)

We had guys like Chris Mills, Brett McKenzie, Stuie Denness & Spudda Edge who figured in the rep teams most years I played I reckon.

Doona, that is fantastic! Hilarious to think of these guys in their younger days. That guy Darryl Lynch was funny to play against. One of the angriest 12 year olds I ever came across.

Had forgotten Fonz. The boy could play.

Cameron Hilton from Euroa kicked 17 goals one day against Puckapunyal, but think Makin from Kilmore pipped him for the goalkicking that year.

Broadford and Kilmore were the dominant sides of those eras (thanks largely to those massive Mills blokes, Jacavou, Peva etc.).

As for frightening, I still shudder driving through Wallan. Fierce creatures up there. Expelled from the league for that memorable parental chase involving a poor umpire in a semi final. The likes of Tony Soprano and Tony Montana would have found it tough running their business in Wallan, although I suspect Montana would have had many customers. Bustling Bazza Hall missed out on an under 12 grand final thanks to that incident - guess that makes it 1 premiership from 4 attempts for the big man?

Krakour Magic said:
As for frightening, I still shudder driving through Wallan. Fierce creatures up there. Expelled from the league for that memorable parental chase involving a poor umpire in a semi final. The likes of Tony Soprano and Tony Montana would have found it tough running their business in Wallan, although I suspect Montana would have had many customers. Bustling Bazza Hall missed out on an under 12 grand final thanks to that incident - guess that makes it 1 premiership from 4 attempts for the big man?

I happen to work with that umpire in question (great fella) who these days is one of the more prominent bowlers in the local CBA comp - and was actually at a 30th birthday last Friday where a couple of the accused were present.

Forgot about all those drama's, the media coverage and the fact those angry little Magpies still took to the field grand final day in protest.

Doona2 said:
I happen to work with that umpire in question (great fella) who these days is one of the more prominent bowlers in the local CBA comp - and was actually at a 30th birthday last Friday where a couple of the accused were present.

Forgot about all those drama's, the media coverage and the fact those angry little Magpies still took to the field grand final day in protest.
Remember they got changed over the scoreboard side of Kings Park and ran onto the ground to do their warm up, whilst the other two sides ran out to play and didn't know what was going to happen.

It was my first lesson in don't believe what you see on TV, as they painted the SDJFL as the villains in the piece for not allowing the poor Wallan boys to play. If I recall correctly, I remember they shoved a young Barry Hall in front of the cameras whilst shedding a tear, pleading his case to be allowed to play in that "one day in September" or late August whichever it may have been!

A little bit like last year's drama of "Let Barry Play". No wonder he played so well last year in the GF - he'd been through it all before!

Krakour Magic said:
[Cameron Hilton from Euroa kicked 17 goals one day against Puckapunyal, but think Makin from Kilmore pipped him for the goalkicking that year.

If Makin didn't kick 100 one year in under 15s he came very close to it. I suspect he would have won the goalkicking pretty comfortably.

TuskenRaider said:
Remember they got changed over the scoreboard side of Kings Park and ran onto the ground to do their warm up, whilst the other two sides ran out to play and didn't know what was going to happen.

It was my first lesson in don't believe what you see on TV, as they painted the SDJFL as the villains in the piece for not allowing the poor Wallan boys to play. If I recall correctly, I remember they shoved a young Barry Hall in front of the cameras whilst shedding a tear, pleading his case to be allowed to play in that "one day in September" or late August whichever it may have been!

A little bit like last year's drama of "Let Barry Play". No wonder he played so well last year in the GF - he'd been through it all before!

LOL. Remember that day myself.
Also think of the incident regularly when I see the umpire who was at the centre of the controversy - Chrissy Pruden - yelling abuse at the GV umpires at Seymour games these days.

ringo1 said:
There was a real mean bastrd called cheeky Allen that played for Broadford. Very scarey when you have'nt reached puberty.:eek:

Darren 'D I C K' Kemp was another who could put the wind up you!

i can sorta remember the day your are talking about Raider. I was only u/10's back then but also remember a TV Network Chopper there that day too!

my SDJFL Days were from 1987 - 1994. Hilts and JJ, were probably the best two players during my time. I had some good battles with fellas such as Ronnie Spykers (st marys) James Head (St Marys) Brett Slade (Bford) Ray Rowbo (Bford) and Mark Mills (Euroa).

Here's some where are they nows from some of my former Lions teammates:

Justin Rooney - Moved to Wycheproof and played a fair few senior games there. Then located at Swan Hill - not sure if he's still playing footy.

Kristen Gaehl - Journeyman who I dont think has kicked a footy in anger since round 1 of the GV season in 1996 when we beat Euroa in the 3rds.

Wes Bishop - I think he's managing a club x franchise somewhere in Melbourne.

Damian Lindsay - Don't think he plays footy anymore, but a successful music career was on the horizon at one stage.

Brendan Donovan - Had a stellar u/10 season via the astute coaching of Jack Bishop in 1987, but did a knee at a young age and never seen again.

Colin Rossiter - Bushies/Mildura/Colbinabbin/Seymour/Mildura - still playing i think.

What about some people's "best of" sides from their respective era's. I'll have a quick go at a Braodford team based on the guys I played with between 1985 & 1991 to start things up.

Backs: Clinton Bruce; Matt Denyer; Matt Huxtable
H/Backs: Adam Lejins; Ian Denness; Shaune Moloney
Wings: Daniel Fletcher; Billy Neilson; Andrew Jacavou
H/Fwds: Travis Blackwell; Brett McKenzie; Marcus Gleeson
Fwds: Daniel Cleary; Frank Wyngaard; Darren Edge
Rucks: Chris Mills; Barry Hall; Stuie Denness

Int: Cam Denyer; Scott Weideman; Josh Willingham

Duff Man said:
Darren 'D I C K' Kemp was another who could put the wind up you!

Another one of those beauties that was massive early but nowadays just blends into the crowd at 6'3"

Grandale said:
If Makin didn't kick 100 one year in under 15s he came very close to it. I suspect he would have won the goalkicking pretty comfortably.

Knickers is a ripper bloke, played 3rds at Broady during our golden "9 in a row" era, then went home to Kilmore, came back, went to Tongala, played at Violet Town I think when his olds had the pub.

Doona2 said:
Another one of those beauties that was massive early but nowadays just blends into the crowd at 6'3"

There were two darren Kemps one from Kilmore and one from Broadford. Are we talking about manchild from Broadford? If so he was huge in u/16's