Patersons Stadium (Subiaco Oval) - Discussion

It's a better city to live in than it is to visit.
Disagree. Lots of Perth lads go over for a footy weekend. It's relatively cheap, beats going to Subi, you can plan it around seeing a band (probably 60% of bands'll tour the east coast but not Perth). It's a great city for a weekend away. Just because it's not Pissweak World on the Gold Coast.

You could probably say the same thing for Melbourne. They don't have any major tourist attractions its just a more heavily populated and vibrant city.

Are you serious?

How many times have you been to Melbourne ?

Disagree. Lots of Perth lads go over for a footy weekend. It's relatively cheap, beats going to Subi, you can plan it around seeing a band (probably 60% of bands'll tour the east coast but not Perth). It's a great city for a weekend away. Just because it's not Pissweak World on the Gold Coast.

I get great food in Melbourne...for cheap ....Perth places charge 28 bucks for steak sandwich and ten 12 dollar punts

Melbourne you can eat for 15 bucks in plenty of nice places ....$7-8 pints

Transport ......don't get me started

Are you serious?

How many times have you been to Melbourne ?

He's got a point. Outside of stadiums and Crown (which isn't really that impressive when you compare it to hundreds of other casinos around the world), what are the big tourist attractions? QV markets maybe?

Melbourne is a great place to visit because of the general vibe of the place.

He's got a point. Outside of stadiums and Crown (which isn't really that impressive when you compare it to hundreds of other casinos around the world), what are the big tourist attractions? QV markets maybe?

And footy weekends with your mates.

Twice. What are the major attractions?

Melbourne has a great arts and sporting prcient .......then zoo

It has affordable food and beverage ........notice the word affordable ...you can go to the footy for 25 bulls not 40 bucks

It's has things for kids to .......compare the Scitech in Melbourne to Perth .......

Question .....how much time have you spent in Melbourne

I'm going to need to say this ......it's people are cultured and accept others more openly

Customer service in Melbourne .....is excellent ...Perth ...what customer service

I guess I was saying more from the perspective of someone visiting Australia from overseas.
I would tell them Sydney would be a priority to see over Melbourne in terms of tourist attractions.

I'm going to need to say this ......it's people are cultured and accept others more openly

Customer service in Melbourne .....is excellent ...Perth ...what customer service

I don't disagree, but thats the point. You dont necessarily need big traditional tourist attractions to be a great city for visitors. Melbourne doesn't have many. Sydney relies on them because the people are mostly self absorbed w***ers. If not for the harbour you wouldn't go there on a bet.

Perth's worse problem is that people reckon it's so far away. Four hours really isn't that bad when it's an hour and a half to Sydney or about three hours for Melburnians to visit relos in the country. There's a perception that it's sooo isolated. In reality, the people in Perth aren't that bad, and the scumbags as just as bad as the scumbags in Melbourne or Sydney or Adelaide or anywhere. It's a weird perception there.

Mate, your flogging the same points over and over again. If you don't like Perth, and think Melbourne's way better then you may as well leave.

I'm on holidays in Melbourne right now

Today we got a feed for ten bucks

Today we got great customer service at several places ........

Even my ten year old boy said dad that lady at the cafe was so friendly - she asked what my son was drawing as he likes to draw to fill in time

We don't get that here in wa ...WA is shockingly bad service

In wa we hire a car and the bloke grunts and points down where the car is .......in Victoria today the bloke asked where we had come from ...said hello to the kids ....got the car for us and made sure everything was OK

I love wa for the environment, weather but the customer service here is shite .....sorry mate it is

The food here is crap and overpriced. Our facilities here bar the new Perth arena where the wildcats play are a joke

The only thing worse than people who completely slag off Perth is people who refuse to slag off a little bit of Perth.

With the decision on Perth Stadium, mention of the future of Subi:

http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/western-australia/subiaco-council-considers-future-of-historic-subiaco-oval-after-2018/news-story/418fc93659648d1b2d3955db9aeb4a84

However the motion might not pass smoothly with councillor Julie Matheson expected to make an alternative recommendation that the City holds off on its project plan until the West Coast Eagles and Dockers football clubs sign agreements with the WAFC and the AFL agreeing to play AFL games at the new Perth Stadium.

She added that it should be confirmed the WAFC will continue its 99-year lease with Subiaco council, which has 77 years to run, and the option that the West Coast Eagles could upgrade Subiaco Oval instead of move to Lathlain Park, in Victoria Park, be considered.

“There is no chance AFL games will be played at the new stadium until the West Coast Eagles and the Fremantle Dockers have signed contracts with the WAFC and the AFL to do so,” she said in the report.

Subi Council are in the drivers seat, even though the WAFC aren't out the door yet.
ive never been to subiaco and by the sounds of it i don't really want to, but if the council is in control, id imagine it will be developed in to a commercial and residential redevelopment, what ever makes them the most money

Counting down the days until the first game is played at the new Perth Stadium in 2018. Cannot wait to see the back of Subiaco Oval. Two more full seasons left. Paying 170 dollars to sit on wooden benches for a final is daylight robbery.
$170 for a finals seat is insane. I went to the 2012 semi finals game between crows and Freo at AAMI. It was $35 on a goal end $82 on a wing.

I've always wondered if the intention of apartments covers Kitchener Park as well?

Surely they could turn that into housing and offices and then retain the oval for the Subiaco FC? Wouldn't that net them a fair bit of cash?

With the decision on Perth Stadium, mention of the future of Subi:

http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/western-australia/subiaco-council-considers-future-of-historic-subiaco-oval-after-2018/news-story/418fc93659648d1b2d3955db9aeb4a84

However the motion might not pass smoothly with councillor Julie Matheson expected to make an alternative recommendation that the City holds off on its project plan until the West Coast Eagles and Dockers football clubs sign agreements with the WAFC and the AFL agreeing to play AFL games at the new Perth Stadium.

She added that it should be confirmed the WAFC will continue its 99-year lease with Subiaco council, which has 77 years to run, and the option that the West Coast Eagles could upgrade Subiaco Oval instead of move to Lathlain Park, in Victoria Park, be considered.

“There is no chance AFL games will be played at the new stadium until the West Coast Eagles and the Fremantle Dockers have signed contracts with the WAFC and the AFL to do so,” she said in the report.
Does she know anything about AFL ?

Seriously, does anyone with the slightest knowledge on football think that Eagles & Dockers won't play at the new stadium ?

I have just looked back through my calendar for the last few weeks.

29 January - Perth Wildcats v Melbourne United. Always cheap tickets available for families.
30 January - Gillian Welch at the Perth Concert Hall. One of the greatest live acts ever.
13 February - Went to see Diana Krall with my dad and sisters. World class performer in a beautiful setting. Drank wine, ate figs.... I actually missed on the same night the free opening of the Perth International Arts Festival that featured The Triffids, Tim Minchin, The John Butler Trio, The Panics, The Drones, The Pigram Brothers..... Free !
14 February - Free concert at Fremantle Arts Centre with Rob Snarski. I have paid several times to see Rob. Former lead singer of Chad's Tree and The Black Eyed Susans. The gardens were full of families, with plenty of kids. Free.
21 February - Spit Roast at Spearwood Bowling Club. $25 for a feast of pig on the spit, lamb on the spit and rotisserie chicken with a choice of 8 salads, plus dessert. Drinks are affordable and the Perth Glory under 21s were playing Cockburn City outside, so the kids went out and watched that in between the feed.
24 February - The Necks at PIAF - Chevron Gardens. A trio that have toured the world to sell out crowds. Been a cult favourite for 27 years and I saw them on a warm night in a cool setting for $50.
The following week, my son played his final cricket game of the year on the Monday and started footy training on the Wednesday as well as played basketball on Friday as basketball season has just started, but yeah there is nothing for kids to do !
2 March - Went to see Sufjan Stevens at Red Hill Auditorium. One of the great live acts in the world.
4 March - Legendary jazz musician Wynton Marsalis and the Lincoln Centre Jazz Orchestra along with WASO playing jazz from history, plus a jazz suite composed by 9 time Grammy winner plus one of the few contemporary musicians to win a Pulitzer prize. This was $145 a ticket but there 90 professional musicians on stage !
6 March - Saw the final play off game for The Wildcats who won their 7th title. My 8 year old son said "it was one of the best day's of my life". 2 adults and 1 child for $100. (Also the 41st anniversary of us arriving in Australia).
12 March - Fremantle v Geelong NAB Challenge game at Subi Oval. Free for us members. I think it was pretty affordable for others.

I go to a wine club that my wife's uncle holds every month. We all put between $20 or $30 a month in and have a full meal plus taste 6 different wines a month. I coach my son's footy team and cricket team and serve on the committee at footy.
My wife plays netball every Monday.

The only thing stopping us from doing more is lack of time. I struggle to get time to sit and read a book which used to be my favourite thing in the world to do. Going into Fremantle for a coffee or cheap noodles at Old Shanghai is one of life's great pleasures. Taking my son to the local park for a walk, going to Sculptures by the Sea, going to the Beach, the Summer long Sunset Food Markets at South Beach (previously Bather's Beach but it got too big)...

This is not a Perth is better than Melbourne post. I love Melbourne. We are flying out on Good Friday for the Long Weekend and going to see Fremantle v Bulldogs, Melbourne Victory v WSW and Hawthorn v Geelong. I go to Melbourne most years since I first visited over 20 years ago. The purpose is to show that generally when people say there is nothing to do, they are either lazy, boring, small minded or a combination of all.

Life is too good to not just get out and enjoy it.