Food & Drink Favourite Beers

Gave these a go a few weeks back , wont be for everyone but was a nice for a change . Certainly could taste the orange twang in it.
I really enjoy trying 'new' beers, I couldn't imagine what it would be like to just drink VB or xxxx forever 🤢🤮
We are so spoilt for choices now and Aussies make fantastic brews. The Great Ocean road is a trip worth making for the breweries alone. Rogue wave .....salt 👍

Every few weeks a couple of mates and I do an online order from Beer Cartel, Purvis or Craft Republic. Usually only buy 5 or 6 but it's always the limited edition stuff we can't get in our town. Thankfully we have a Beer Deluxe that does take away and Dans and First Choice do get a better range in than they used to thankfully

Arrgh, I finally see a subject I feel qualified to banter about and I have way too much to say! as to my tastes, can't really get into the IPA scene, which is a shame as we probably have some of the best micro breweries in the world here in the Pacific Northwest. Have done a tonne of tasting at a yearly event held in Seattle for the Museum of Flight called "Hops & Props". They bring in about 75 relatively local breweries, each with 2-4 taps (ciders too) and there is no limit (other than 4 hours) to how many you can try. Here is last year's list (Some favorites highlighted):

2 Towns Ciderhouse
7 Seas Brewing
10 Barrel Brewing
Ace Cider Company
Airways Brewing
Alaskan Brewing Co.
AleSmith Brewing Company
Anacortes Brewery
Aslan Brewing Co.
Avid Cider
Bainbridge Brewing
Bale Breaker Brewing Company
Bayern Brewing
Belching Beaver Brewery
Bellevue Brewing Company
Black Raven Brewing
Boundary Bay Brewing Co.
Breakside Brewery
Caldera Brewing
CANarchy (Oskar Blues & Cigar City)
Chatter Creek Cider
Chuckanut Brewery
Counterbalance Brewing Company
Crossbuck Brewing
Crux Fermentation Project
Diamond Knot Brewing Company
Dick’s Brewing Company
Double Mountain Brewery
Dru Bru
Ecliptic Brewing
Elysian Brewing
Everybody’s Brewing
Farmstrong Brewing
Flying Bike Cooperative Brewery
Fort George Brewery
Founders Brewing Company
Fremont Brewing
Georgetown Brewing Company
Ghostfish Brewing Co.
GoodLife Brewing Co.
Ground Breaker Brewing
Guiness
Hellbent Brewing Company
Icicle Brewing Company
Jellyfish Brewing Company
Jester and Judge Cider
Kulshan Brewing Co.
Laurelwood Brewing Co.
Left Hand Brewing Co.
Lowercase Brewing
Lucky Envelope Brewing
Mac & Jack’s Brewing Company
Maritime Pacific Brewing Co.
Maui Brewing Company
Melvin Brewing
Merchand du Vin
Modern Times Beer
Montucky Cold Snacks
Mother Earth Brew Co
New Belgium Brewing Co.
New Holland Brewing
Ninkasi Brewing
North Coast Brewing Co.
No Boat Brewing Company
Oakshire Brewing
Optimism Brewing Company
Payette Brewing Company
Pelican Brewing Company
pFriem Family Brewers
Pike Brewing Company
Portland Cider Company
Postdoc Brewing
Radeberger Gruppe
Rainy Daze Brewing
Republic of Cider
Reuben’s Brews
Roslyn Brewing Company
San Juan Island Brewing

Seattle Cider
Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
Silver City Brewery
Snowdrift Cider Co.
Stone Brewing
Sumerian Brewing Company
Ten Pin Brewing
Tieton Cider Works
Top Rung Brewing Company
Triceratops Brewing Co.
Two Beers Brewing &
Uinta Brewing
UNIBROUE
Wingman Brewers
Winsome Ciderworks

I lean towards the Belgians and Bock beers mostly. Currently my kegerator has a quarter of Aviator Doppelbock from Anacortes Brewery. As an aside, from previous posts I've discovered I'm not only spoiled by selection, your prices suck too! LOL

PS - Anyone visiting the Northwest US, I'd be happy to serve as beer guide:cool:

Arrgh, I finally see a subject I feel qualified to banter about and I have way too much to say! as to my tastes, can't really get into the IPA scene, which is a shame as we probably have some of the best micro breweries in the world here in the Pacific Northwest. Have done a tonne of tasting at a yearly event held in Seattle for the Museum of Flight called "Hops & Props". They bring in about 75 relatively local breweries, each with 2-4 taps (ciders too) and there is no limit (other than 4 hours) to how many you can try. Here is last year's list (Some favorites highlighted):

2 Towns Ciderhouse
7 Seas Brewing
10 Barrel Brewing
Ace Cider Company
Airways Brewing
Alaskan Brewing Co.
AleSmith Brewing Company
Anacortes Brewery
Aslan Brewing Co.
Avid Cider
Bainbridge Brewing
Bale Breaker Brewing Company
Bayern Brewing
Belching Beaver Brewery
Bellevue Brewing Company
Black Raven Brewing
Boundary Bay Brewing Co.
Breakside Brewery
Caldera Brewing
CANarchy (Oskar Blues & Cigar City)
Chatter Creek Cider
Chuckanut Brewery
Counterbalance Brewing Company
Crossbuck Brewing
Crux Fermentation Project
Diamond Knot Brewing Company
Dick’s Brewing Company
Double Mountain Brewery
Dru Bru
Ecliptic Brewing
Elysian Brewing
Everybody’s Brewing
Farmstrong Brewing
Flying Bike Cooperative Brewery
Fort George Brewery
Founders Brewing Company
Fremont Brewing
Georgetown Brewing Company
Ghostfish Brewing Co.
GoodLife Brewing Co.
Ground Breaker Brewing
Guiness
Hellbent Brewing Company
Icicle Brewing Company
Jellyfish Brewing Company
Jester and Judge Cider
Kulshan Brewing Co.
Laurelwood Brewing Co.
Left Hand Brewing Co.
Lowercase Brewing
Lucky Envelope Brewing
Mac & Jack’s Brewing Company
Maritime Pacific Brewing Co.
Maui Brewing Company
Melvin Brewing
Merchand du Vin
Modern Times Beer
Montucky Cold Snacks
Mother Earth Brew Co
New Belgium Brewing Co.
New Holland Brewing
Ninkasi Brewing
North Coast Brewing Co.
No Boat Brewing Company
Oakshire Brewing
Optimism Brewing Company
Payette Brewing Company
Pelican Brewing Company
pFriem Family Brewers
Pike Brewing Company
Portland Cider Company
Postdoc Brewing
Radeberger Gruppe
Rainy Daze Brewing
Republic of Cider
Reuben’s Brews
Roslyn Brewing Company
San Juan Island Brewing
Seattle Cider
Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
Silver City Brewery
Snowdrift Cider Co.
Stone Brewing
Sumerian Brewing Company
Ten Pin Brewing
Tieton Cider Works
Top Rung Brewing Company
Triceratops Brewing Co.
Two Beers Brewing &
Uinta Brewing
UNIBROUE
Wingman Brewers
Winsome Ciderworks

I lean towards the Belgians and Bock beers mostly. Currently my kegerator has a quarter of Aviator Doppelbock from Anacortes Brewery. As an aside, from previous posts I've discovered I'm not only spoiled by selection, your prices suck too! LOL

PS - Anyone visiting the Northwest US, I'd be happy to serve as beer guide:cool:
We had a trip planned for this year , hopefully be able to do mid next year.
Apart from Disney for the kids I did have a beer tour planned for me through🙂

I don’t like mid or light. A Cascade light is drinkable.

I prefer a heavy but not overly fussy. Hate Tooheys New but drink almost anything including VB & Carlton Draught. Stone & Wood is quite nice in summer. Hawthorn is a good drop. Cooper’s Sparkling. Cricketers Arms.

I love the craft beer bars but of course they are a bit pricier if you are looking to have more than a couple.

We had a trip planned for this year , hopefully be able to do mid next year.
Apart from Disney for the kids I did have a beer tour planned for me through🙂
Best prepare for a long trip. 431 Breweries in Washington State. 123 in King County alone!!
Out of curiosity, Disney FL or Disney CA?

Best prepare for a long trip. 431 Breweries in Washington State. 123 in King County alone!!
Out of curiosity, Disney FL or Disney CA?
Disney Ca , we would then work our way up the west coast . Our friends have been to the north west several times and loved it.

Sierra Nevada is my go to down here ......$27 a 6 pack though 😳

Disney Ca , we would then work our way up the west coast . Our friends have been to the north west several times and loved it.

Sierra Nevada is my go to down here ......$27 a 6 pack though 😳
The missus and I were in Orlando 12 December. Went to three parks plus Downtown Disney Springs. Was fun, but I would recommend waiting until they're fully opened before visiting again. We had free tickets - LOL!

PM me when you're creating a plan. At the very least, I might be able to steer you to some "must try"s.

Oh yeah, and SN is >$10 US. You can almost get a full case (24) for $27!

Son just bought home a case of Furphy. As soon as I saw it was from Geelong I knew it would be s**t. And it was. Bloody horrible. Even come in Geelong colours. Not even the dog liked it.

anything other than VB
I don't mind VB. Grew up in country vic and CUB beers were the norm. The best of them was Abbots Lager, but sadly that has passed to the big brewery in the sky. Like all beers, though, they need to be ice cold and drunk after building up a real thirst.

Fosters used to be OK, too. I reckon it gets a bad rap. These days there are so many on the market, an old staple like FOsters would find it very hard to compete.

Still maintain Carlton Draught poured into a 7oz direct from the tap is amongst the best.

And for those who simply head to the local boutique bar for a james squire after working in an aircon office all day will never know how good some of these original beers can be.

Just on some of these old beers, the taste changes over time. I recall many years ago that CD had to be manufactured in QLD and shipped down to Vic. Just wasn't the same beer.

I quite like San Miguel Pale Pilsen in Philippines. Sold in a glass stubby. Go to HK and you can buy the same beer made locally but sold in a can. The two are like chalk and cheese.

My guess is that Heineken, (not a fan), produced in Singapore does not taste like Heineken made in Holland.

Also, Tiger sold in pubs in SG and in cans is pretty ordinary. But Tiger from the tap at the pub on-site at Asia Brewery is sensational.

Comes down to where you are, what you have bought (glass, can etc) and your location.

Easy to diss a beer if the conditions aren't right.

didn't know they even sold that here still
Do they still make it?

Yes and yes. Still brewing it in Abbotsford. I tried one about 18 months ago for a laugh and it is pretty bloody ordinary. I hope the export version is better than what they serve us locals.