Central Goulburn League

Doona2 said:
Mate its pretty simple, clubs wouldn't be looking for an out had the VCFL committed to extra CGFL teams 2 years ago. Cant blame clubs for chasing security, but had Avenel, Nagambie and even say a Broadford been put into CGFL, then none of this would even be an issue.

Put those three clubs in, don't lose any others and I reckon you've got it right. See if any leadership is shown from the VCFL on this issue.

I suppose Dookie & Shepp East still wouldn't like it. No matter what happens, they're still going to have some travelling to do.

Also, have the CGFL tried to recruit clubs to the league recently, knowing that other clubs have wanted to leave? I say that whilst at the same time acknowledging most clubs want to be settled, and that seems to be the KDFL's strength at the moment (see Avenel & Nagambie).

An article in the age suggested that the Coreen League was aiming at Berrigan, Blighty, Deni Rovers and Mathoura to become apart of them, From a Saint point of view it made a few laugh around here.
I don't know much about the teams in the CGFL how would they rate agints the likes of the Picola & District teams?
Dookie has officialy put in their clearence form to join the Picola FL but I have not seen any othe applications from other CGFL teams. Will they wait to be told where they are going or try to make the jump to where they want to go.

Tigers, Bombers to produce classic duel
By Bill McCarthy
August 18 2005
Shepparton News
Selection: Qualifying final (at Alexandra) - SHEPPARTON EAST.

Is Yea on the rise at the right time to earn its second premiership in three years?
Or will Shepparton East lift enough to shake off the Tigers and win through to the Central Goulburn Football League second semi-final?
Saturday's qualifying final at Alexandra will give the answer in an expected spectacular, highscoring, physical and tactical battle.
The team which wins through to play Rumbalara in the second semi-final will have thoroughly earned it.
Yea has built up in recent weeks, with players becoming available after injury and work commitments to make it into a more efficient, higher-scoring unit.
Shepparton East expected to have classy ruckman/forward Dale Piggott back after injury, along with assistant coach Adrian Cole.
Yea could see winger Eddie Neilson, Assumption College captain Marcus Webb and wingman James Clavarino seeking selection tonight.
This would give the Tigers loads of options about team placement.
A big clash to watch for is highmarking Bomber centre halfforward Glenn Greig against Tom Butterworth, who usually rises to the occasion in finals. Greig has been in superb form recently.
Just as valuable has been Yea centre half-forward Chris Leatham, a dasher who will probably be marked by Hayden Bray.
Yea's defence, featuring Chris Pollard and Glenn Ryan, will have to combat the marking power of Piggott and Matt Mahoney.
The tightness of defences and astute use of the ball will be important to the final outcome.

YEA
B: P. Hilderbrand, E. Neilson, T. Webster.
HB: P. Kiss, T. Butterworth, M. Finch.
C: D. Inness, M. Nicholls, A. Wilson.
HF: T. Whitwam, C. Leatham, M. Pappadopoulos.
F: M. Webb, G. Ryan, D. Aldous.
Foll: J. Soloman, B. Neilson, C. Scott.
Inter: J. Francombe, S. Butterworth, A. McKinna.

SHEPP EAST
B: M. Frost, B. Meeke, P. Trevaskis.
HB: C. Pearson, H. Bray, G. Segrave.
C: S. Laidlaw, V. Zampaglione, D. Gibson..
HF: T. Graham, G. Greig, T. Topp.
F: M. Kelly, M. Mahoney, G. James.
Foll: G. Montgomery, A. Cole, G. Doyle.
Inter: D. Clarke, A. Timms, B. Brand.

Seniors - Qualifying final
Yea 15.14 (104) def. Shepp East 10.13 (73)
Goals: (Y) A. McKinna 3, B. Neilson 3, J. Solomon 3, T. Whitwam 3, D. Aldous, S. Butterworth, C. Leatham. (SE) D. Clarke 3, G. James 2, S. Laidlaw, M. Mahoney, A. Timmis, T. Topp, T. Brand.
Best: (Y) T. Butterworth, T. Webster, M. Webb, M. Papadopoulos, C. Leatham, D. Inness. (SE) H. Bray, A. Cole, B. Meeke, M. Frost, S. Laidlaw, T. Brand.
Seniors - Elimination final
Dookie Utd 15.15 (105) def. Thornton-Eildon 9.8 (62)
Goals: (DU) C. Edmonston 5, B. Montgomery 3, Chris Payne-Croston 2, B. McCarroll 2, J. Weber, A. Burke, S. Grieg. (TE) B. Coller 2, J. Creighton 2, A. Phelps 2, G. Doig, J. Elliot, J. Herridge.
Best: (DU) C. Ludeman, S. Newcomen, T. Wheeler, P. Aikman, C. Edmonston, D. Baulch. (TE) D. Creed, B. Boote, Andrew P. Mottram, J. Herridge, R. Hall, B. Coller.
NEXT WEEK
2nd semi-final: Rumbalara v Yea; 1st semi-final: Shepp East v Dookie Utd

Reserves - Qualifying final
Alexandra 9.14 (68) def. Rumbalara 6.7 (43)
Goals: (A) B. Heard 2, S. Hedger, P. Hoornweg, B. Juergens, C. Mullins, S. A. Rowan, B. V. Lierop, D. Embling. (R) M. Atkinson 3, J. Day, M. Elsley, W. Kennedy.
Best: (A) J. Allen, B. Leary, P. Brooks, S. Hedger, C. Mullins, B. Ward.
(R)M. Atkinson, C. Harradine, W. Kennedy, S. Atkinson, K. Saunders, M. Elsley.
Reserves - Elimination final
Yea 20.7 (127) def. Dookie Utd1.1, 3.2, 5.3, 8.8 (56)
Goals: (Y) D. Lord 8, S. Jeal 4, J. Dunn 3, J. Hazelman 2, W. Williamson, J. Garlick, J. Stephens. (DU) M. Oussa 2, P. Shields, D. Beard, D. McCarthy, M. Helder, T. Mahoney, O. Mason.
Best: (Y) B. Stubbings, D. Rowley, D. Lord, S. Jeal, J. Woolstencroft, J. Clavarino. (DU) M. O'Shea, D. Beard, D. Webb, B. Mclean, M. Kirkby, T. Mahoney.
NEXT WEEK
2nd semi-final: Shepp East v Alexandra; 1st semi-final: Rumbalara v Yea

Southern CGFL clubs want neighbours' help
By Tim Rowe
August 24 2005
Shepparton News

The three southern-based Central Goulburn Football League clubs have made an impassioned plea to be able to stick together next year.
Thornton-Eildon, Yea and Alexandra fear they will be forced apart when the seven-man Goulburn-Murray investigation committee hands down its decision in the coming weeks.
It is almost certain that the seven-team Central Goulburn competition will be disbanded at season's end.
Uncertainty remains as to where the clubs will end up, with some rumours suggesting one of the clubs, Yea, could end up in the Kyabram District Football League next year.
In an open letter to all parties involved in the process, the presidents of the three clubs say their futures are together, appealing to their northern neighbours to support their bid to keep playing in the Goulburn Valley, rather than being forced south to the Yarra Valley league.
"We see it as important that the three southern clubs of the CGFL continue to play each other," the letter, signed by the three club presidents, says.
"They are geographically close, have great friendly rivalries and attract excellent gates when they play each other."
The VCFL-led committee, which is chaired by North East area manager John O'Donohue, was again meeting last night.
O'Donohue has always said the time-line for completion of the investigation would be at the end of August.
While the VCFL has remained tight-lipped throughout the process, and with only seven days remaining to meet the deadline, O'Donohue believes it will still be met.
"We've got to sit down and go through it all (submissions and information)," O'Donohue said.
"Everybody's not going to get exactly what they want.
"(But) it could be a work in progress. Footy leagues have evolved over 100 years."
The statement from the three southern clubs, titled Letter from the South, said it was important that clubs had an idea which direction they were headed."With finals already being played, hopefully the process can be completed swiftly and all clubs can get on with their planning for next season," the presidents wrote.
"This includes the need to organise players, coaches, officials and sponsorships."

Forward to miss a final
August 24 2005
Shepparton News
Yea forward Michael Papadopoulos has accepted a one-week penalty following the Yea versus Shepparton East qualifying final of Central Goulburn Football League on Saturday.
Papadopoulos was reported for striking Shepparton East full-back Ben Meeke in the first quarter.He spent 15 minutes on the bench with a yellow card.
Papadopoulos will miss Yea's second semi-final against Rumbalara at Rumbalara on Saturday.

2nd Semi Final - Rumbalara 11.9 (75) def. Yea 8.14 (62)
Goals: (R) L. Briggs 6, B. Firebrace 2, P. Guthrie, D. Terlich, M. Chisholm. (Y) J. Solomon 2, T. Whitwam, A. Wilson, T. Butterworth, M. Finch, A. McKinna, G. Ryan.
Best: (R) T. Higgins, L. Briggs, G. Johnson, P. Guthrie, B. Hamilton, J. Atkinson.(Y) J. Clavarino, J. Frankcombe, M. Nicholls, A. McKinna, P. Kiss, R. Neilson.
1st Semi-Final - Shepp East 14.14 (98) def. Dookie United 7.11 (53)
Goals: (SE) D. Clarke 3, A. Cole 2, M. Mahoney 2, G. Montgomery, C. Pearson, G. Segrave, A. Timmis, G. Greig, S. Laidlaw, T. Brand. (DU) A. Burke 5, X. Hand, Chris Payne-Croston.
Best: (SE) A. Cole, G. Greig, G. Montgomery, M. Frost, D. Clarke, D. Gibson (DU)T. Wheeler, A. Burke, P. Aikman, Chris Payne-Croston, S. Beggs, D. Baulch.
Reserves: Shepp East 15.11 (101) def. Alexandra 5.5 (35); Yea 8.12 (60) def. Rumbalara 8.5 (53).
Prelim Finals - (1sts) Yea vs Shepp East (2nds) Alexandra vs Yea (3rds) Yea vs Thornton (4ths) Yea vs Rumbalara

themagicfrog said:
An article in the age suggested that the Coreen League was aiming at Berrigan, Blighty, Deni Rovers and Mathoura to become apart of them.

I can see Berrigan and Blighty fitting in OK but Deni and Mathoura are too far away. They would be better off in the Golden Rivers League.

With Murray Magpies applying to move to Hume League this would almost place Berrigan in the Centre of the Coreen League. The most Blighty would need to travel is 100km one way, to Coleambally and Wahgunyah. Whereas in the Picola most trips were around 100km each fortnight.

I heard this about the Coreen league and the four Picola clubs from up here in Sydney.

It's sad that the CDFL is going under, and going under so quickly after being in excellent shape in 2003 with 10 clubs quite evenly matched.
With Hopefield-Buraja gone, Oaklands and Urana merged, Rand merged and gone to the Hume league and the Magpies trying again to get out after it was the CDFL who gave them their avenue to exist in 1999, things have crashed very quickly.

However, in May, 2003, I wrote an article suggesting this was on the cards and the Coreen and Hume leagues should get together immediately.
Many people thought I was right, but many thought I was wrong and nothing was done.
As for Mathoura and Deni Rovers being too far away - how much further from Corowa are they than Coleambally, which is two hours?
There wouldn't be a great deal of difference would there?

Something has to be done and it sounds like a complete rejig is needed across most second tier leagues between the Goulburn River and the Murrumbidgee.

PS. Could Yea, Thornton-Eildon and Alexandra go into the Benalla league?

Just heard that the CGFL has officially been disbanded and that 5 clubs will join the PDFL, Rumba will join the Murray FL and Yea will join the KDFL. This makes the PDFL an 18 team comp with news soon on what they will do, eg split into north and south.
Berrigan is not interested in joining a comp like the CDFL because of the junior set up they have, we voted on the PDFL over the CDFL 3 years ago because of the lack of junior grades.
This would be a good time for any CDFL teams that are looking at having a crack at a rejuvenated PDFL and have the juniors to support themselves.

Central Goulburn clubs allocated new leagues

By Tim Rowe

August 30 2005
Shepparton News

The fate of the seven Central Goulburn Football League clubs and its wide-ranging implications for the sport in the region were announced yesterday.
The 13-team Picola District Football League will bear the brunt of the five-month GoulburnMurray investigation, accommodating an extra five clubs next season.

Alexandra, Violet Town, Shepparton East, ThorntonEildon and Dookie United will shift to the PDFL at year's end.

In other developments, Rumbalara will move into the 12-team Murray Football League and Yea will return to the Kyabram District Football League, a competition it previously participated in.

What structure the 18-team PDFL, which will have teams from Deniliquin to Alexandra, will take next year was a matter for its own body to work out, Victorian Country Football League north east area manager John O'Donohue said.

"We'll follow up and support where needed (the PDFL)," O'Donohue said.

"That may be offering some radical structures. If you look at the Diamond Valley second division, the NRL and leagues around here, they all have an unbalanced draw.

"We'll provide those options and it's up to the league and clubs now."

He said a committee would be installed to monitor and review the changes on an ongoing basis.

The biggest conjecture during the investigation has centred around the future of the CGFL's three most southern-based clubs, Alexandra, Thornton-Eildon and Yea.

It was those clubs' geographical location and the continued instability of the CGFL as a whole that forced the the VCFL to act, O'Donohue said.

"The blunt fact is no-one wants to play against them (three southern-based clubs)," he said.

O'Donohue said he was aware Yea, Alexandra and ThorntonEildon had sought the assistance of the Victorian Government in an effort to remain in one competition.

"Look, I like to see these things dealt with in a football sense," he said.

"These decisions have been made with the interests of increasing football participation.

"Whether it is the seven people who made this decision or another set of seven people, it would still be based on football issues."

O'Donohue said aggrieved clubs and leagues had the right to appeal the VCFL's decision.

Rumbalara's move into the MFL is seen as a stepping-stone to its bigger riches, a spot in the GVFL, he said.

"Rumbalara are probably in the unique position of being able to go into a bigger league and be able to prove themselves with a view to the Goulburn Valley footy league," he said.

"It's an opportunity and a challenge for them."

O'Donohue defended the committee's perceived lack of communication between it and the affected leagues and clubs.

"I think we've been fairly transparent," he said.

"We only released any information when we had it."

The announcement was made public by O'Donohue in Barooga last night.

Representatives from all PDFL clubs and board members from the remaining four leagues, GVFL, CGFL, MFL and KDFL, were in attendance.

THE OUTCOMES

n Alexandra, Violet Town, Shepparton East, Thornton-Eildon and Dookie will all move into the PDFL next season, making it an 18-team competition;

n Rumbalara will form part of the MFL next year, giving that league 12 teams; and

n Yea will return to the KDFL, making that a 12-team competition.

why would the Hume league want to merge with the Coreen league when it is rooted?

I can understand if they have 2 divisions and CDU go up and Burrum down, but that would be it.

Coreen league clubs have had plenty of chances to act over the past 5 years, yet sat of their backsides and waited for it to crash around them.

the fact that the Billabong Crows failed to train over the last 3 weeks of the season is a disgrace.

Well, from our perspective, although the facilities at Yea, at the time we (Murchison) played against them in the KDFL were pretty average (although not as bad as Rushworth), but I hope that they've improved since then, although it was a long trip, but if you played over there early in the season, it was a pleasant one, and anyway, we only have top go down there once a year, compared to every two weeks if you were from Yea.

I thought that we were going to take in Violet Town, (going by what the League bigwigs were saying on Sunday at Girgarre) and that Yea would've stayed with thier southern neighbours either in the PDFL or another league, so this has come as a bit of a suprise

Although you're never going to please everyone, it's good to know that the KDFL has mainly been spared the wrath of the VCFL, and that we can welcome Yea back into the fold again (you'll have to change your jumpers though, because they clash with Rushworth).

Last roll of the dice

By Bill McCarthy

September 1 2005
Shepparton News

Put the last two premiers into the fray with strong line-ups and you have the makings of a spectacular preliminary final.
Current Central Goulburn Football League premier Shepparton East and 2003 flag winner Yea will throw everything into the bid to challenge Rumbalara in the grand final.

The Bombers hit their best form for weeks when they overpowered Dookie United in the last quarter on Sunday.

Yea finished 13 points short against Rumbalara, but got within one point in the last quarter and held a narrow lead in the second.

Shepparton East coach Gerard Doyle said the Bombers sustained no injuries at the weekend.

Doyle expects centreman Vince Zampaglione, defender Tom Keady and ruckman Dale Piggott to be available for selection tonight, after all missed last Sunday's first semifinal.

He said the Bombers had selected a squad of 24 for the finals and would decide what players to select from them for the big game.

The Bombers succeeded on Sunday when they got big value from Glenn Greig and Matt Mahoney in the air in attack, plus another big goalkicking target in Travis Brand and Daniel Clark active in a forward pocket.

If Piggott comes through tonight's training okay, he could also be in the attack.

Wingman Dave Gibson and Shannon Laidlaw contributed to the Bombers' forward thrusts consistently on Sunday.

With zippy left-footer James Clavarino back and in form, Yea may pit him against Gibson, while Zampaglione could line-up against Mark Nicholls, who started the second semi in great form.

Yea should be at full strength, apart from defender Tom Webster, carrying a leg injury from last weekend.

Assumption College captain, onballer Marcus Webb, was unavailable last weekend because of a college game, but could return.

The ruck duels between Yea's Jon Solomon and Greg Montgomery, who was prominent on Sunday, should be a highlight.

The Bombers' roving duo of Glenn James and Troy Topp get right to the bottom of packs and will be working hard against Yea's accomplished Cam Scott and Billy Neilson.

Centre half-forwards are vital to both sides.

Yea will be playing through the mercurial Chris Leatham, who will be marked by the reliable Hayden Bray.

Greig is in top form for the Bombers and could have Tom Butterworth or Glenn Ryan in opposition.

Butterworth versus Greig promises to be a spectacular battle.

Based on their recent meetings, the selection is: YEA v Shepparton East (Central Park, 2.20 pm).

CGFL award winners

Lawless Medal
Scott Greig (Dookie) 20
Phil Guthrie (Rumba) 18
Dale Piggott (Shep East) 17
CGFL Rookie of the Year
Tom McKinlay (Alexandra)
Reserves Medal
Stephen Spencer (Shep East) 17
Jarrod Williamson (Thornton) 15
Steve Hedger (Alexandra) 12
Thirds Medal
Ashley Walsh (Yea) 24
Trevor Graham(Shep East) 16
Casey Southurst (Alex) 11

Feasibility in question
By Tim Rowe

September 2 2005
Shepparton News

Aggrieved Picola District Football League clubs will have a model proposing how the expanded 18-team competition will be structured next year.
Victorian Country Football League chief executive Glenn Scott moved to allay the clubs' fears yesterday, calling for calm and to have faith in the process.
``These are highly emotional issues and self-interest overrules everything,'' Scott said of the Goulburn-Murray investigation committee's restructure.
``Continued chipping in the media (from clubs) is divisive.''
On Monday, the seven-team Central Goulburn Football League was officially disbanded with the clubs distributed into three separate competitions.
Five of the clubs - Violet Town, Dookie, Shepparton East, Alexandra and Thornton-Eildon - will join the PDFL next year.
The remaining two clubs, Rumbalara and Yea, will join the Murray and Kyabram District football leagues respectively.
The biggest question remains the feasibility of an 18-team competition that has clubs spanning from Deniliquin to Alexandra.
``That's being looking at at the moment, how the (PDFL) structure could work,'' Scott said.
"I'd have thought that (a model) will be ready early to the middle of next week.''
Scott said Thornton-Eildon's, Yea's and Alexandra's locations made it impossible to keep every club and league happy, no matter what structure was proposed.
``Those clubs are very unique by location,'' Scott said.
``(But) I also acknowledge that four clubs applied to leave the Central Goulburn league last year and we can't ignore that.''
Scott admitted that the consultancy process - from the sub-committee and clubs themselves - could have been improved.
But he also said that it was a two-way street and that club officials also needed to accept some of the blame.
``We don't absolve ourselves completely,'' he said of the investigation's deficiencies and perceived lack of transparency.
``(But) just because the VCFL has paid personnel, we shouldn't be held completely responsible.''
Meanwhile, Scott said he would be replying to Yea president Chris Pollard's request for a meeting today.

Doona, I see you have both teams in the granny. Will you be able to measure up to the perenial grand finalist in Rumba seeing they are headed to the Murray League next year cash is obviously not a problem for them hope you belt them all the way back to mercury drive where they belong

Samtrish said:
Doona, I see you have both teams in the granny. Will you be able to measure up to the perenial grand finalist in Rumba seeing they are headed to the Murray League next year cash is obviously not a problem for them hope you belt them all the way back to mercury drive where they belong

Thanks Samtrish, anything can happen in a two horse race. We did roll Rumba by 11 goals a month ago and didn't quite take our chances in the 2nd semi, shoudl've won but fell two goals short. We had the ideal peparation for a grand final on saturday, ten goal win, the right players hitting form and no injuries . . . . fingeres crossed for a big day at Tigerland on Satdy!!!

Savage Tigers maul East
By Bill McCarthy
September 5 2005
Shepparton News
Accurate, enterprising Yea entered the Central Goulburn Football League Grand Final in emphatic fashion with a 10-goal win over Shepparton East at Central Park on Saturday.
The Tigers go into the grand final confident with their form and the home ground advantage over Rumbalara in the grand final this Saturday.
Former Sydney competition played Glenn Ryan was a sensation at full-forward for Yea with 10 goals.
Ryan kicked five in the first half, including three in a powerful second quarter which gave the Tigers an 11-goal half-time lead.
The grand final could be played in an atmosphere of apprehension about the future of the teams.
Rumbalara has been allocated to Murray Football League for next season, with Murray delegates expected to discuss the situation this week.
Yea goes into next weekend desperately striving to stay connected with its neighbouring clubs Alexandra and ThorntonEildon.
The Tigers have been allocated to the Kyabram District league, but want to go to a southern section of a revamped, extended Picola league, where its neighbours have been allocated.
"We are delighted to earn another crack at Rumbalara," Yea joint coach Chris Nolan said after the win.
"We knew it was there to be won today with hard work. We had no fears about this ground.
"They've beaten us once here in four or five seasons."
Nolan said Ryan's 10 goals was a superb performance for someone who had played full-back a month ago and Michael Papadopoulos was excellent in his return to the side.
Shepparton East coach Gerard Doyle said it was a disappointing day.
"They were better on the day than us," Doyle said.
"Our players learned a lesson that you have to work a bit harder in the big games leading up to the finals than we did this year.
"We have to make sure we don't get ourselves into this situation again and that we make the most of our opportunities."
Yea started impressively, but the Bombers rallied to cut the lead to 11 points by quarter-time.
Shepparton East got little return for its attacks in the second term, while Yea zoomed to a seven-goal lead.
The Tigers were never troubled in the second half.
Besides Ryan's 10-goal haul, Yea got great service from joint coach and on-baller Billy Neilson and the versatile Tom Butterworth.
Veteran ruckman Jon Solomon and defender Adrian Wilson gave their all, while the return of Marcus Webb from Assumption College added speed around the ground.
Shepparton East full-forward Matt Mahoney was his side's best, kicking seven goals including three in the first term and three in the last.
Greg Montgomery played four excellent quarters in the ruck, Troy Topp was busy around the packs, Billy Draper battled hard on a wing and Shannon Laidlaw in the midfield and Chris Pearson in defence were solid.

VCFL needs to rethink leagues

September 7 2005
Shepparton News

Dear sir,
Further to yesterday's letter in The News from Craig Thompson I also believe, along with many others, that the VCFL has got it wrong again.

The VCFL decisions in recent years to have a Division 2 of the GVFL, and then a Central Goulburn League with the wrong teams in it, were wrong, but their worst decision was the abolition of the old Tungamah or Waranga/North East League.

I completely disagree with 16 or 18-team leagues and suggest the following for what it's worth, based mostly on geographic location:

Picola - Berrigan, Blighty, Deni Rovers, Katandra, Katunga, Mathoura, Picola United, Strathmerton, Tallygaroopna, Waaia, Wunghnu, Yarroweyah (12 teams).

Kyabram - Ardmona, Girgarre, Lancaster, Merrigum, Murchison, Rushworth, Stanhope, Undera, Shepparton East, Katamatite (10 teams).

CGFL (or East Goulburn or Tungamah or Waranga) - Alexandra, Avenel, Dookie United, Nagambie, Thornton-Eildon, Tungamah, Violet Town, Yea (8 teams).

The inclusion of Tungamah in the CGFL (or whatever it may be called) is the obvious question mark and the need to create a new league is a worry unless the current executive was to continue initially.

- Lal Whyte (Mooroopna)

Similar thought process to me Lal, throw Broadford into the mix also.

What a great day it was at Yea on Saturday, all the hard work was well worth it when the mighty Tigers over run Rumbalara to inflict another shattering grand final loss on the raging flag favourites.

Yea withstood all Rumba could throw at them, with Michael Papa and Mark Nicholls requiring facial stitches after unsportsmanlike blows, and captain Billy Neilson was eventually forced to leave the field in a bad way after constantly being targetted by Rumba players, none more so than coach AllanThorpe who alledgedly struck Neilson in an off the ball incident.

At the end of the day it was Yea's fitness and amazing determination that saw them come from behind to post a major upset and a fitting finale if Saturday was the end for football in the Central Goulburn League.

Yea 9.12 (66) def. Rumbalara 8.9 (57)
Goals: (Yea) M. Nicholls 2, G. Ryan 2, C. Scott, T. Butterworth, M. Finch, C. Leatham, R. Neilson. (Rumba) P. Guthrie 2, D. Terlich 2, M. Harrison, T. Morgan, M. Chisholm, B. Firebrace.
Best: (Yea) J. Clavarino, J. Frankcombe, T. Webster, J. Solomon, M. Papadopoulos, A. Wilson. (Rumba) D. Morgan, T. Higgins, E. Atkinson, P. Guthrie, G. Johnson, C. Edwards.

2nds - Shepp East 13.7 (85) def. Yea 9.6 (60); 3rds - Alexandra 16.17 (113) def. Eildon 5.6 (36); 4ths - Rumbalara 9.3 (57) def. Alexandra 2.6 (18)

I am amazed that you can turn the computer on Doona. I assume that the picture of you on the Win news was the soberous you have been since saturday. Well done

Samtrish said:
I am amazed that you can turn the computer on Doona. I assume that the picture of you on the Win news was the soberous you have been since saturday. Well done

Ya not wrong, just walked in the door to see me deeply pregnant wife for the first time since Satdy. Has been an amzing few days, and an amazing first year as a coach - made even more special by the guys Ive shared it with. By 5.30pm this arvo I was long overdue for some R & R, but Im sure those lads still kicking on at the Royal Mail will be fine in my absence.

Doona2 said:
Ya not wrong, just walked in the door to see me deeply pregnant wife for the first time since Satdy. Has been an amzing few days, and an amazing first year as a coach - made even more special by the guys Ive shared it with. By 5.30pm this arvo I was long overdue for some R & R, but Im sure those lads still kicking on at the Royal Mail will be fine in my absence.

Must have been hard to be coach being pregnant. Very stressful, not good for the baby. You married your hand right doona?

Just joshin champ. What does the future hold in terms of coaching? Sticking with the Tiges in 2006? Looking at other options in terms of coaching, or going? What is billy doing? Is Billy good enough for GV? Has he played, or thought of playing GV?

You will be a sort after coach, coaching your team to a flag in your first year.

Great stuff Doona!
great to see you boys win. I was in quite a marinated state sat nite when I saw footy scoreboard but did see that you boys got up - I would hate to think of the mess Jonno Sol woulda been in over the past couple of days! Great to see Jonno get a flag after playing in some low sides over the past few years.