Team Mgmt. Best 22 for '22

Tex Wanganeen has to play early. He's the only natural small forward outside of Tippa. And we don't have Tippa.

It's either that or we play tall. But when it hits the ground, it'll leave the 50 quick.

I thought Tippa was back at training?

Our Best 22 imo:

Backs: provide good mix of Intercept/shutdown/rebound: Redman stiff to miss but behind the starters.

Mids: We bat deep Parish and Shiel clearance types, Caldwell extractor, Merrett & McGarth accumulators, with Stringer, Langford, perkins & Snell rolling through.

Fwds: Wright & Jones 1st crack at tall posts, Perk + Snelling providing smaller targets, Stringer goes where he wants. Langers floating in off a wing

Int: Cox provides wing depth, Smith crumbing fwd, Francis 3rd tall, Guelfi utility

FB Kelly Stewart, Ridley
HB Hind Laverde Heppell
C McGrath Caldwell Merrett
HF Langford Jones Perkins
FF Stringer Wright Snelling
FOLL: Draper Shiel Parish
INTER: Cox, Smith, Francis, Guelfi
EMER: Redman, Hobbs, Wanganeen, Baldwin, Bryan, Cutler, Durham, Martin

Our Best 22 imo:

Backs: provide good mix of Intercept/shutdown/rebound: Redman stiff to miss but behind the starters.

Mids: We bat deep Parish and Shiel clearance types, Caldwell extractor, Merrett & McGarth accumulators, with Stringer, Langford, perkins & Snell rolling through.

Fwds: Wright & Jones 1st crack at tall posts, Perk + Snelling providing smaller targets, Stringer goes where he wants. Langers floating in off a wing

Int: Cox provides wing depth, Smith crumbing fwd, Francis 3rd tall, Guelfi utility

FB Kelly Stewart, Ridley
HB Hind Laverde Heppell
C McGrath Caldwell Merrett
HF Langford Jones Perkins
FF Stringer Wright Snelling
FOLL: Draper Shiel Parish
INTER: Cox, Smith, Francis, Guelfi
EMER: Redman, Hobbs, Wanganeen, Baldwin, Bryan, Cutler, Durham, Martin
I'd be shocked if Mason missed round 1.

He will likely start, but guelfi/Francis better for overall balance.
You have 3 forwards and a wing on the bench. The balance is completely off

What's worse. A young small forward or none at all?
It's not like it's a waste.
Not ready. We are talking about a talking a rookie with less than 5 games under age footy in the last 2 years and three quarters of footy so far this year.

I guess we'll get our answer this weekend.

If he is in consideration, and I doubt he will be for the first 5 to 7 games, he be in the starting team.

Not ready. We are talking about a talking a rookie with less than 5 games under age footy in the last 2 years and three quarters of footy so far this year.
we also start with Geel, Brisbane & Melbourne for the year.
Not really the games i'd be throwing the newbies at. I'd be surprised to see Hobbs debut, let alone Tex/Nick.

Assuming Tippa needs more time to condition, team for the early rounds;

Kelly Stewart Ridley
Hind Laverde Heppell
Cox Shiel Merrett
Langford Jones Perkins
Snelling Wright Francis
Draper Stringer Parish
McGrath Redman Smith Caldwell
E: Guelfi

B: Kelly Reid Hind
HB: McGrath Laverde Ridley
C: Cox Stringer Langford
HF: Perkins Jones Snelling
F: Francis Wright Caldwell
R: Draper Parish Merrett
Bench: Shiel and Hobbs (midfield/forward rotation), Heppell (wing rotation) and Redman (defence)

we also start with Geel, Brisbane & Melbourne for the year.
Not really the games i'd be throwing the newbies at. I'd be surprised to see Hobbs debut, let alone Tex/Nick.

Assuming Tippa needs more time to condition, team for the early rounds;

Kelly Stewart Ridley
Hind Laverde Heppell
Cox Shiel Merrett
Langford Jones Perkins
Snelling Wright Francis
Draper Stringer Parish
McGrath Redman Smith Caldwell
E: Guelfi
agree, we'll be taking in as much experience as possible through the first few games, i feel like Cutler is another one in the mix, with the way he closed last year and watching him this year he looks like he is comfortable in his role within the team.

i tossed between Guelf and Cutler for med emergency.
i agree though, he'd be best 22 if not for the depth we have down back.
Great cover for Redman or Heppell.

I like our depth around the ground.
Our forward line is the weak point, but plenty of teams win flags without gun forwards if you have the middle and defence humming nicely.

i tossed between Guelf and Cutler for med emergency.
i agree though, he'd be best 22 if not for the depth we have down back.
Great cover for Redman or Heppell.

I like our depth around the ground.
Our forward line is the weak point, but plenty of teams win flags without gun forwards if you have the middle and defence humming nicely.
yeah i'd agree the depth across the ground looks to be about as good as it's been for a while, the small forward spots still feels a bit makeshift without Tippa but like you said you can win without gun forwards we just need to bring a defensive steel to everything we do and get some more goals out of the mid group.

B Mason Redman - Jayden Laverde - Jake Kelly
HB Nick Hind - James Stewart - Jordan Ridley
C Kyle Langford - Jye Caldwell - Andrew McGrath
HF Will Snelling - Harrison Jones - Jake Stringer
F Aaron Francis - Peter Wright - Devon Smith
R Sam Draper - Darcy Parish - Zach Merrett
Int. Nik Cox/Sam Durham - Dyson Heppell - Dylan Shiel - Archie Perkins/Ben Hobbs

This is getting tough… Especially because I know damn well that forward line is probably a little too tall.
I’d probably roll with -

C Kyle Langford - Jye Caldwell - Nik Cox
F Kaine Baldwin - Peter Wright - Devon Smith
Int. Andrew McGrath - Dyson Heppell - Dylan Shiel - Archie Perkins

I want to pick Nick Martin but I have no idea who makes way… Maybe Cox?

Yayyy can finally get back to what's really important, our team on paper.

B: Hind - Laverde - Ridley
HB: Francis - Stewart - Heppell
C: Langford - Shiel - McGrath
HF: Stringer - Jones - Perkins
F: Tipungwuti - Wright - Snelling
R: Draper - Merrett - Parish
I: Caldwell - Cox - Durham - Redman

- Happy to see Reid overtake Stewart asap

- I think there's something to be said for us needing a big key forward in there. Really frees up Wright, lets him ruck whenever we need and could really stretch defences. In that case, I probably see Durham being squeezed out.

- There will always be injuries so yes, others on the list would get plenty of games.

- I will change this outfit multiple times in the next few months.

BTW SUCKERS, this is a best 22 thread. Not a best 26 or best 30 thread. I don't wanna see no "Bench from" or "Emergencies" listed. GET OFF THE FENCE!

R1 probably looking like

B: Hind - Laverde - Ridley
HB: Redman - Stewart - Heppell
C: Langford - Shiel - McGrath
HF: Stringer - Jones - Perkins
F: Wright - Baldwin - Snelling
R: Draper - Merrett - Parish
I: Caldwell - Cox - Martin - Smith

Round 1

B Hind Stewart Kelly
HB Redman Laverde Ridley
C Langford Parish Martin
HF Snelling Jones Stringer
FF Smith Wright Perkins
R Draper Caldwell Shiel
INT Merrett Heppell McGrath Francis
SUB Guelfi

I’d probably roll with -

C Kyle Langford - Jye Caldwell - Nik Cox
F Kaine Baldwin - Peter Wright - Devon Smith
Int. Andrew McGrath - Dyson Heppell - Dylan Shiel - Archie Perkins

I want to pick Nick Martin but I have no idea who makes way… Maybe Cox?
I think if you're going on form right now Martin is playing better footy than Cox.

Laverde Stewart Redman
Heppell Ridley Hind
McGrath Merrett Langford
Perkins Jones Snelling
2MP Baldwin Smith

Draper Parish Caldwell

Bench: Stringer Shiel Martin Kelly
SUB: Guelfi

Cant play Cox he looks our of touch/confidence & needs to go back to the reserves, Baldwin over Francis IMO, Smith very luck but lack of other small forward options means he stays for now - hope Tippa can get back or Wanga debuts soon...

Laverde Stewart Kelly
Hind Ridley Heppell
Langford Parish Martin
Perkins Jones Stringer
Smith Wright Snelling
Draper Merrett Shiel
McGrath Caldwell Redman Francis (Guelfi)

Emerg from: Baldwin, Cox, Wanganeen, Durham, Hobbs, Cutler, Phillips, Ham

It's so bloody satisfying writing a strong emergency list. In previous years, those first 5 names would be locks and Cutler and Ham would likely be in too.

Baldwin, young gun coming in showing heaps. Would've been a lock. Sorry mate, start in the 2s.

Unicorn hero rising star. Would've been a lock. Not in form? Go find some in the 2s.

Song of Gavin who has been a goal kicking, high marking hero in preseason, in a position we need someone? Would've been a lock. Sorry son, too much depth for a round one gig.

First draft pick inside mid young gun we've been crying out for? Would've been a lock. Sorry son, midfield bats deep. Go develop in the 2s.

I think if you're going on form right now Martin is playing better footy than Cox.
Yeah, sleeping on it I’d definitely take Martin over Cox for round 1.

Laverde Stewart Kelly
Hind Ridley Heppell
Langford Parish Martin
Perkins Jones Stringer
Smith Wright Snelling
Draper Merrett Shiel
McGrath Caldwell Redman Francis (Guelfi)

Emerg from: Baldwin, Cox, Wanganeen, Durham, Hobbs, Cutler, Phillips, Ham

It's so bloody satisfying writing a strong emergency list. In previous years, those first 5 names would be locks and Cutler and Ham would likely be in too.

Baldwin, young gun coming in showing heaps. Would've been a lock. Sorry mate, start in the 2s.

Unicorn hero rising star. Would've been a lock. Not in form? Go find some in the 2s.

Song of Gavin who has been a goal kicking, high marking hero in preseason, in a position we need someone? Would've been a lock. Sorry son, too much depth for a round one gig.

First draft pick inside mid young gun we've been crying out for? Would've been a lock. Sorry son, midfield bats deep. Go develop in the 2s.
It is good. I hope they love the place because oppo recruiters will be sniffing around.