Player Watch #8 James Rowbottom

c0288d15babe17a9390dad794e278f41

James Rowbottom

The Sydney Swans recruited James Rowbottom with their second selection at the 2018 AFL Draft and the midfield bull impacted from the get-go. The Oakleigh Chargers product made his AFL debut against Richmond at Marvel Stadium in Round 5, 2019 and finished the season with 12 senior games beside his name. Rowbottom also led the NEAFL MVP voting when it was hidden from the public after Round 12. The young Swan is a ball magnet, explosive at the stoppages, an outstanding tackler and a clean user of the footy.

James Rowbottom
DOB: 19 September 2000
DEBUT: 2019
DRAFT: #25, 2018 National Draft
RECRUITED FROM: Camberwell (Vic)/St Kevin's College (Vic)/Oakleigh U18

I used to be on the fence when it comes to Rowbottom, but the cognitive dissonance I felt between the criticism of Rowbottom by some on the fans on this board and the plaudits heaped upon him from within the club has motivated me to watch him more closely.

I think one of the reasons for the variations in perception of Rowbottom is the duration of his touches. Often Rowy can barely be glimpsed as he weaves patterns of touches through thick traffic. In any one game there may be few instances that stand out. Not for Rowy the contested marks, one on one contests in space, bouncing runs through the guts or down a wing. His job is to get the ball (often off opposition) and deliver it to the outside, quickly with a minimum of fuss. He stands out if he's caught, holds onto the ball a secong longer than necessary or messes up a disposal (usually due to pressure).

There was a period against Brisbane where Rowy demonstrated exactly why his teammates and coaches think so highly of him. His hands were super clean when most everyone else was fumbling. He was finding holes, slipping tackles, weaving through traffic, shooting out clever handballs (even a bounce), making pinpoint passes, tackling, pressuring and all the while keeping tabs on the reigning Brownlow medallist. It usually takes two to stick a tackle on Rowy but Rowbottom's tackles stick "like s**t to a blanket".

If Rowy was the size of Joey Kennedy he'd probably stand out more, but he uses his diminutive stature to almost slip unnoticed through traffic. Which probably explains why he can find himself in space inside 50 or unguarded 30-40m from goal, pouncing on a loose ball and kicking truly.

I really hope Rowbottom goes up another level to join Gulden and Warner as our celebrated mids of the future. He's only 23 but with more size, greater aerobic capacity and another couple of years at the coal face, he could be getting 25-30 telling touches/game within the next few years.

Big year for JR. To make a more significant contribution and move beyond an average B grade mid, he needs to:
  • Do more than be a pressure mid
  • Win more contests
  • Involve himself in general play outside stoppages
  • Be a factor in offensive transition.
  • Kick a couple more goals each season

YearTeamGMKHDMGBTHOFFFAGAI50CLCGR50BL
2023​
24​
9.9​
8.0​
17.9​
1.1​
0.2​
0.2​
7.3​
0​
1.3​
1.2​
0.4​
3.2​
4.7​
3.7​
1.7​
2022​
24​
11.6​
6.8​
18.5​
2.5​
0.3​
0.3​
6.8​
0​
1.4​
1.3​
0.6​
3.7​
4.8​
3.8​
1.9​
2021​
17*​
9.0​
6.5​
15.5​
2.1​
0.3​
0.2​
6.2​
0​
0.7​
0.8​
0.3​
2.7​
2.5​
3.1​
1.3​
2020​
16​
8.2​
6.6​
14.8​
1.4​
0.2​
0.2​
3.6​
0​
1.1​
1.1​
0.3​
2.4​
3.4​
2.8​
1.6​
2019​
12​
7.5​
6.1​
13.6​
2.7​
0.3​
0.4​
4.8​
0​
0.2​
0.5​
0.4​
2.2​
1.6​
2.2​
0.6​
Career
93*​

Above is a summery of JRs stats from footy wire. Different people will read into these stats differently and others will go by their eye and see things differently.
For me they suggest that JR is improving year on year (to be expected). 2023 his numbers dropped a bit, why? Is it reflective of playing in a team that made the Granny as opposed to a team that was lucky to make the 8? Was it due to to the continuing emergence of our outside players JMac, Campbell & Gulden taking on more of the kicking duties? Was it because Horse tightened the reigns and told him to just tackle?
The success of any team will certainly have an influence, and I cant imagine any coach telling his players to not get the ball.
I reckon with JRs handball numbers increasing and kick numbers going down is partly due to the Swans using their outside players to do the kicking more (players like Gulden, Campbell, JMac who are all better and very good kicks)... but who knows?
For me, hes an excellent role player who plays to his strengths. Teams are built around role players and the Swans have a ripper in JR
Big year for JR. To make a more significant contribution and move beyond an average B grade mid, he needs to:
  • Win more contests
Wouldn't all that be great...
But Id rather see The Chad, Gulden etc play the more attacking roles
Id rather see the players with better speed, kicks and vision involved more outside and in offensive transition and kick more goals

Its been suggested that he gets traded,, its been suggested that he gets let off the chain.
Im happy he wasn't traded and I dont reckon hes on a chain.. Hes just playing to his strengths,, strengths which allow others to play to theirs and strengths which suit our midfields needs

Hes still only 23yo.. 2 years from now he will be at the beginning of his prime and ill back him to be getting 23-25 possessions, 7 tackles, 5-6 clearances and opening up opportunities for other mids who have better break away speed and line breaking abilities or who are better kicks and decision makers to use those attributes

YearTeamGMKHDMGBTHOFFFAGAI50CLCGR50BL
2023​
24​
9.9​
8.0​
17.9​
1.1​
0.2​
0.2​
7.3​
0​
1.3​
1.2​
0.4​
3.2​
4.7​
3.7​
1.7​
2022​
24​
11.6​
6.8​
18.5​
2.5​
0.3​
0.3​
6.8​
0​
1.4​
1.3​
0.6​
3.7​
4.8​
3.8​
1.9​
2021​
17*​
9.0​
6.5​
15.5​
2.1​
0.3​
0.2​
6.2​
0​
0.7​
0.8​
0.3​
2.7​
2.5​
3.1​
1.3​
2020​
16​
8.2​
6.6​
14.8​
1.4​
0.2​
0.2​
3.6​
0​
1.1​
1.1​
0.3​
2.4​
3.4​
2.8​
1.6​
2019​
12​
7.5​
6.1​
13.6​
2.7​
0.3​
0.4​
4.8​
0​
0.2​
0.5​
0.4​
2.2​
1.6​
2.2​
0.6​
Career
93*​

Above is a summery of JRs stats from footy wire. Different people will read into these stats differently and others will go by their eye and see things differently.
For me they suggest that JR is improving year on year (to be expected). 2023 his numbers dropped a bit, why? Is it reflective of playing in a team that made the Granny as opposed to a team that was lucky to make the 8? Was it due to to the continuing emergence of our outside players JMac, Campbell & Gulden taking on more of the kicking duties? Was it because Horse tightened the reigns and told him to just tackle?
The success of any team will certainly have an influence, and I cant imagine any coach telling his players to not get the ball.
I reckon with JRs handball numbers increasing and kick numbers going down is partly due to the Swans using their outside players to do the kicking more (players like Gulden, Campbell, JMac who are all better and very good kicks)... but who knows?
For me, hes an excellent role player who plays to his strengths. Teams are built around role players and the Swans have a ripper in JR

Wouldn't all that be great...
But Id rather see The Chad, Gulden etc play the more attacking roles
Id rather see the players with better speed, kicks and vision involved more outside and in offensive transition and kick more goals

Its been suggested that he gets traded,, its been suggested that he gets let off the chain.
Im happy he wasn't traded and I dont reckon hes on a chain.. Hes just playing to his strengths,, strengths which allow others to play to theirs and strengths which suit our midfields needs

Hes still only 23yo.. 2 years from now he will be at the beginning of his prime and ill back him to be getting 23-25 possessions, 7 tackles, 5-6 clearances and opening up opportunities for other mids who have better break away speed and line breaking abilities or who are better kicks and decision makers to use those attributes
He referenced his desire to be used as more of a target on transition (last years BnF). I am not in the trade out camp. But I do want to see some more. Agree with you about the value of role players and JR performs that role well, but surely there is more?

I get he is only 23 but I would like to see more strings to his bow. Being used as a target…he is Heeney and Hayward height and not diminutive as someone said.

I really hope he works away at both his strengths and weaknesses. He is light years better than Clqmps with ball in hand as a decision maker and executor, but imo should be able to be more than adequate.

As for his tackles, I do question how effective they are in the run of and influence on the game. He does not seem to win extra htb decisions his way.

I have always liked Rowy. But like you RubbaDuck, I had a period where I was forced to wonder how good he was by his many detractors. However, I have emerged from my period of doubting and landed firmly in the 'Rowy rocks' camp. I think he's great. And I think he was among our better players on Thursday night. I thought his ball use was much better than, say, Adams, who I was somewhat disappointed in (despite his ball winning).

One of Rowy's strengths is in his decision making/execution speed. The players who work the inside best are players who see the play quickest and make the play quickest when there's a lot going on around them. Even if he doesn't get a HTB free, tackling pressure causes turnovers.

Gary Ablett Snr was so quick that he could take the ball and kick a goal while other players were still searching for the ball. That ability to seemingly slow time down relies on lightning reflexes and an abundance of fast twitch muscle to back it up.

Like many teams these days, when we're not winning the ball from centre bounces we rely on a turnover game based on pressure and fast paced rebound. Rowbottom plays a key role in both styles. Winning the ball inside packs and causing those turnovers through his pressure. Rowbottom's role requires a balance between fast and slow-twitch muscles, the former to win contests and the latter to get to enough contests around the ground.

As SGBeach pointed out, we have outside runners and those who are better distributors by foot. These guys tend to have more slow-twitch muscles, sacrificing explosive bursts for endurance. Rowbottom is not one of these guys, nor should he try to be. He has a role to play and that is to apply agressive bursts of ball winning pressure and tackling to get us into attack. Rowbottom's tackle count went up in 2023, perhaps indicating more focus on his pressure game. His handball count also increased, suggesting quick ball movement to players on the outside rather than trying to get a kick away under pressure.

Anyone remember Tom Mitchell's earlier games, when he used to throw the ball onto his boot from congestion? Most times he kicked up and unders, the ball coming in high and slow, our poor forwards camped underneath where defenders could line them up at leisure. I used to cringe at his kicking. He improved his role by applying more tackles and distributing more by hand.

Now, I'm not saying Rowbottom is our next Tom Mitchell (one is enough) but Rowy's numbers for contested possessions and tackles are on par with Mitchell at the same age. Tom's handball numbers and uncontested possessions were higher, though to be fair, he was ably assisted by a powerful Swans midfield chock full of stars. 2023 was our first post Kennedy year, putting more pressure on our other inside mids. Should our ruck and midfield dominate this year, and I bloody well hope they do after the investment we've made, I expect Rowy's numbers will benefit.

For a long time I wasn't a fan, but the more I watch Rowy, the more I like what he does. He plays a role

• Win more contests
Rowbottom could certainly afford to snag a few more goals. Among mids, he finished ahead of only Stephens for goals/game in 2023.

if Rowy is to address your remaining points he would need a big increase in aerobic fitness, but increasing slow-twitch muscle will likely come at the cost of fast twitch muscle, which allows him to be first in the team for tackles by a country mile, third for average contested possessions, narrowly behind Parker and Warner, and second for total contested possessions, behind only Parker. Rowbottom ranked 24th in the AFL for total contested possessions in 2023.

The only players of a similar age and build to Rowbottom who picked up more contested possessions in 2023 are Matt Rowell (Pick 1), Noah Anderson (Pick 2), Jai Newcombe (Pick 2), Caleb Serong (pick 8) and Zak Butters (Pick 12), and of those, only Matt Rowell has comparable tackle figures to Rowy. For a lowly pick 25, James Rowbottom would seem to represent pretty good value.

Developing greater aerobic fitness could increase Rowbottom's effectiveness in some areas as long as his primary role isn't compromised. We have plenty of rebounding defenders, hard running outside mids and goal kickers, but who else has Rowbottom's ability to get inside, pressure the opposition and win his own ball? How much do other players rely on Rowbottom to get the ball into attack or to put pressure in opposition attacks?

When coaches award B&F votes they take a player's overall impact on team performance into account. If they back Rowy it suggests his role is not only important but he does it very well.

Rowbottom could certainly afford to snag a few more goals. Among mids, he finished ahead of only Stephens for goals/game in 2023.

if Rowy is to address your remaining points he would need a big increase in aerobic fitness, but increasing slow-twitch muscle will likely come at the cost of fast twitch muscle, which allows him to be first in the team for tackles by a country mile, third for average contested possessions, narrowly behind Parker and Warner, and second for total contested possessions, behind only Parker. Rowbottom ranked 24th in the AFL for total contested possessions in 2023.

The only players of a similar age and build to Rowbottom who picked up more contested possessions in 2023 are Matt Rowell (Pick 1), Noah Anderson (Pick 2), Jai Newcombe (Pick 2), Caleb Serong (pick 8) and Zak Butters (Pick 12), and of those, only Matt Rowell has comparable tackle figures to Rowy. For a lowly pick 25, James Rowbottom would seem to represent pretty good value.

Developing greater aerobic fitness could increase Rowbottom's effectiveness in some areas as long as his primary role isn't compromised. We have plenty of rebounding defenders, hard running outside mids and goal kickers, but who else has Rowbottom's ability to get inside, pressure the opposition and win his own ball? How much do other players rely on Rowbottom to get the ball into attack or to put pressure in opposition attacks?

When coaches award B&F votes they take a player's overall impact on team performance into account. If they back Rowy it suggests his role is not only important but he does it very well.

• How effective are his tackles? Do they result in turnovers?
  • Would prefer winning clean possessions.
  • Can he be more than a stoppage specialist?
  • He is not a high possession winner

Last year our midfield, esp at cbs was ordinary. As a collective they were a bare pass, saved sometimes when Papley, Gulden types had a run there. For me Rowy symbolised a sub par group of mids. But it isn’t time to call bust and let’s see if improves this season.

I would expand on your point, RubbaDuck: yes, I agree Rowbottom sees the game quickly and disposes of the ball quickly and I further say that he doesn't necessarily dispose of the ball quickly. Rather he sizes up the situation and he's good at knowing when he can take more time and then, when he can, he does just that (like some of our other best ball users do). As I have posted previously, as recently as our last match, Rowy impresses me with his ball use (and I was surprised that he compared very favourably with Adams in this respect on that one occasion) - not just using the ball reasonably accurately but also selecting a good option, which is so hard to do when you do most of your work 'in the phonebox'.

As regards comparisons with other players, you rightly point out that Rowy is in esteemed company (although the description of Jai Newcombe as a pick 2 was disingenuous - he was a rookie selected mid-season). I think Rowy is a lot like Rowell and he is nearly (but not quite) as good. They both have similar limitations (relatively few goals and not much of an outside game - which means not especially high total disposal numbers). Their stats are strikingly similar. Rowell mostly distinguishes himself by winning more clearances (although, that said, Rowy was top 10 in the competition last year for stoppage clearances) and applying even more pressure defensively. Neither of them are as balanced a player as someone like Anderson, who offers more on the outside, and so they are not viewed as stars of the competition (although Rowell was considered to be on that track to start off with - hence his selection at pick 1). However, while Rowell is sometimes criticised for the limitations in his game, unlike Rowbottom nobody questions his worth to the team.