2022 Federal Election - How will you vote?

How will you vote?

Voted tonight. Did my bit to get rid of the big pile of mediocre that is Russell Broadbent, the man who cares so deeply about his electorate that he lives elsewhere and when covid hit, he couldn't travel here. The man who decries vaccine mandates even though it was a barrier to him coming to the electorate. The man who voted against the interests of his electorate when they chose overwhelmingly to support SSM, but he was against it. The man who previously had on his website (it's been updated to some different fluff) that after 30 odd years in politics, a key achievement was getting all the printing paper used by Parliament sourced from local providers. No small thing, but nothing about what he'd done for the electorate that kept voting him in all these years.

Pffffft Russell. And he's probably going to win too, it's a safe Liberal seat.

But the worst part was, there's 8 candidates and once you get past Labor, the Greens and the independent, it's just all dregs. Palmer, One Nation, Liberal Democrats, whoever the hell the Australian Federation Party is (I just looked at them, apparently we are all Nom DEGUIREs, salvagable cargo...why the hell are we voting for these people, what the heck is wrong with them)...it kills me that I had to put one of those at 4. What a sad state of affairs. I should be allowed to cast a vote for the people who I want and have my preferences stop there. But instead, one of those nutjobs took 4th place on my ballot.

Wow, hadn't realised how mad I was about this. Time for a cuppa and a biscuit.

Voted tonight. Did my bit to get rid of the big pile of mediocre that is Russell Broadbent, the man who cares so deeply about his electorate that he lives elsewhere and when covid hit, he couldn't travel here. The man who decries vaccine mandates even though it was a barrier to him coming to the electorate. The man who voted against the interests of his electorate when they chose overwhelmingly to support SSM, but he was against it. The man who previously had on his website (it's been updated to some different fluff) that after 30 odd years in politics, a key achievement was getting all the printing paper used by Parliament sourced from local providers. No small thing, but nothing about what he'd done for the electorate that kept voting him in all these years.

But the worst part was, there's 8 candidates and once you get past Labor, the Greens and the independent, it's just all dregs. Palmer, One Nation, Liberal Democrats, whoever the hell the Australian Federation Party is (I just looked at them, apparently we are all Nom DEGUIREs, salvagable cargo...why the hell are we voting for these people, what the duck is wrong with them)...it kills me that I had to put one of those at 4. What a sad state of affairs. I should be allowed to cast a vote for the people who I want and have my preferences stop there. But instead, one of those nutjobs took 4th place on my ballot.

I feel you man. It’s ******* depressing. I don’t even want to go past 3 on the ballot. Hell, even the Labor candidate is preferencing Broadbent above all these crazies.

I honestly think there’s going to be a lot of one nation and UAP votes around here. The electorate is full of deadshits.

Voted early, but as political junkies we all did.

It’s those who don’t care at all who when running errands in Saturday arvo realise they have to get a ballot in who are the ones who’ll decide where this election goes.

Going to Lowe's on Friday to get an Hawaiian shirt then I'll swing by a costume shop to get a lei, then at the polls, pop the hatch n grab the pre packed garden hose and walk right in.
If some ballsy lnp offers me a htv card I'll tell em "that's not my job"
#FireTheLiar

But the worst part was, there's 8 candidates and once you get past Labor, the Greens and the independent, it's just all dregs. Palmer, One Nation, Liberal Democrats, whoever the hell the Australian Federation Party is (I just looked at them, apparently we are all Nom DEGUIREs, salvagable cargo...why the hell are we voting for these people, what the duck is wrong with them)...it kills me that I had to put one of those at 4. What a sad state of affairs. I should be allowed to cast a vote for the people who I want and have my preferences stop there. But instead, one of those nutjobs took 4th place on my ballot.

Wish there was a "no suitable candidate box" just so they all get sacked and we try again.

Put Labor first for the first time. Considered the independent for Parramatta, but he seems to be in the same tier as PHON and United.

Senate was fun, mostly smaller parties below the line, old dear giving my ballot was happy to see a younger person voting below the line

On the day, hoping the snags are not burnt to a crisp, actually had to look this morning to see what electorate i'm in and where i can vote. I am in Lalor, i suppose i should look and see who is running. Below is what i have to choose from, i know nothing about them, very little advertising in the mail or around my area.

1652914521089.png

On the day, hoping the snags are not burnt to a crisp, actually had to look this morning to see what electorate i'm in and where i can vote. I am in Lalor, i suppose i should look and see who is running. Below is what i have to choose from, i know nothing about them, very little advertising in the mail or around my area.

View attachment 1403459

its pretty easy for you - Lalor is a safe labor seat, so you dont need to freak about "what will my preference do if...?"

so of your 9, its pretty simple:

1) Indi - with migrant focus who is preferencing lib dems and UAP before ALP (Im genuinely scratching my head on that)

2) Vic Socialists - if the Greens are too conservative for you

3) UAP - anti vaxxers who think Palmer needs more money

4) ALP

5) Lib Dems - libertarians with a mix of anti vaxxer

6) Aust Feds - Sov Cits

7) PHON - xenophobes

8) Greens

9) Libs

its pretty easy for you - Lalor is a safe labor seat, so you dont need to freak about "what will my preference do if...?"

so of your 9, its pretty simple:

1) Indi - with migrant focus who is preferencing lib dems and UAP before ALP (Im genuinely scratching my head on that)

2) Vic Socialists - if the Greens are too conservative for you

3) UAP - anti vaxxers who think Palmer needs more money

4) ALP

5) Lib Dems - libertarians with a mix of anti vaxxer

6) Aust Feds - Sov Cits

7) PHON - xenophobes

8) Greens

9) Libs

Gee thanks mate, we are well and truly rooted in this country with what we allow to run for politics.

Sadly i suspect fat boys party will get a lot of votes this election.

I feel you man. It’s ******* depressing. I don’t even want to go past 3 on the ballot. Hell, even the Labor candidate is preferencing Broadbent above all these crazies.

I honestly think there’s going to be a lot of one nation and UAP votes around here. The electorate is full of deadshits.
Wow, I didn't look at any of the HTV cards. Says it all if the Labor candidate thinks non-event-Broadbent is better than the rest of those idiots.

And I'm guessing they'll preference Broadbent pretty high, so he'll retain on the back of them. Come on Monash, prove us wrong.

I'll vote roughly in this order but you can probably raffle the last 4.

BOLTON SueSocialist Alliance

BLACK EmmaVictorian Socialists

JEFFORD SarahThe Greens

KHALIL PeterAustralian Labor Party

HORSFALL LeahAnimal Justice Party

ZIVKOVIC IreneUnited Australia Party

WRIGHT TomLiberal

SERGI SamAustralian Federation Party

TINDAL JillPauline Hanson's One Nation

Dunkley. So really hoping to avoid the lunatic independent

just wear your "do you want a conversation about jesus?" tshirt, and everyone will ignore you