Training 2018 Training Reports - Now with prizes!

Tabs news? He make an appearance?
Ales Pearce can rest for one more week.. great training report though.
Tabs and Switta trained on their own. Tabs is boot free but only just a very slow jog, so some way off.

Alex was being tested on his own with lots of handballs being fired at him. Looked pretty comfortable so I would think he's a good chance to play.

Tabs and Switta trained on their own. Tabs is boot free but only just a very slow jog, so some way off.

Alex was being tested on his own with lots of handballs being fired at him. Looked pretty comfortable so I would think he's a good chance to play.

Did you drop by training?

How was it. Sorry just read your report. Cheers heaps

Good to read in this morning’s West that in response to the club ranking 18th in kicking efficiency last season several players are having specialised kicking sessions at training.
There are obviously no limits to the lengths a professional and innovative club like Freo will go to in an unrelenting quest for improved on field performance.

Good to read in this morning’s West that in response to the club ranking 18th in kicking efficiency last season several players are having specialised kicking sessions at training.
There are obviously no limits to the lengths a professional and innovative club like Freo will go to in an unrelenting quest for improved on field performance.

Looks like Ross has come around to the idea of skills training

* Sarcastica

I always told my kids that whenever you kicked a footy or swung a tee-ball bat you were practicing. Concentrate on your technique and do it right every time. If something goes wrong figure it out and work on it. So the same applies to AFL players who kick the footy thousands of times at training every year.

Surely as a professional player of any sport, if your skills are deficient it's your responsibility to do what's required to address that deficiency. It's not like the boys do a forty hour week, so an additional hour or two on skills sessions each week isn't that much of an impost. That's why it amazes me that some guys at AFL level still can't kick competently with both feet.

I always told my kids that whenever you kicked a footy or swung a tee-ball bat you were practicing. Concentrate on your technique and do it right every time. If something goes wrong figure it out and work on it. So the same applies to AFL players who kick the footy thousands of times at training every year.

Surely as a professional player of any sport, if your skills are deficient it's your responsibility to do what's required to address that deficiency. It's not like the boys do a forty hour week, so an additional hour or two on skills sessions each week isn't that much of an impost. That's why it amazes me that some guys at AFL level still can't kick competently with both feet.

Did your kids go on to play any sport professionally?

Is that including travel time for away games?
No I didn't factor that in, I had all the recovery and preparation away from the grass in mind.

Anyone who has been on a physio table knows that massage isn't relaxing, that's just one facet.

Some of our players have hospital beds at home so they can manage their bodies even while they sleep.

It's truly a 24/7 job, except that one night off.

No I didn't factor that in, I had all the recovery and preparation away from the grass in mind.

Anyone who has been on a physio table knows that massage isn't relaxing, that's just one facet.

Some of our players have hospital beds at home so they can manage their bodies even while they sleep.

It's truly a 24/7 job, except that one night off.
Massage is totally relaxing. Deeper the better

Kinda wet down Cockburn way today but the boys trained at a pretty decent intensity. I got there a little late so they were finishing running and doing some kicking when I got there.

After some keepings off drills and the big boys protecting the ball/ball carrier, the white jumpers came out and it was scratch match time ,complete with a full set of (young looking) umpires. Didn't see Ballas or either of the Pearce boys.

Just like a wet race track sorts out the great drivers from the good, a wet oval tells you who has really good hands. Mundy, Fyfe and Harley were all noticeable although to be fair the general ball handling was pretty good given the conditions. There was actually standing water in the the centre of the ground so it was definitely wet.

Some observations:
  • Sean Darcy seems to have grown a cm or two and he hasn't been wasting his time while he's been off his feet. His biceps are getting huge;
  • Ape runs everywhere at tempo at training - building his fitness;
  • Young Dixon will understandably need some time to work on his tank - he was blowing pretty hard;
  • While Harley did the full training, it was apparent he still isn't accelerating at 100% - still looks smooth though;
  • BHill in full training;
  • Blakeley appeared to do an ankle/knee and was supported off the ground by two staff but was putting weight on the leg - might not be too bad;
  • Wilson fell awkwardly in a contest and got up sore but played out the rest of the game;
  • Damn we have some big guys now - Sandi, Darcy, Ape, Meek, Jones, Tabs, Nads, Pearce all around 200cm or bigger;
  • When you see them all together you notice how young our list is now, and it will get younger again at the end of the season;
  • Cowboy Crowden hit a cracking bullet pass to a target inside 50 - he'll be ok for us I reckon;
  • Despite the fact it rained the whole time, the boys seemed to be in great spirits and I get the sense we have a bunch of young leaders coming through like Brayshaw, Darcy, Pearce and Ryan.
Given the conditions it wasn't a bad hit out.
Top report. Thanks.

Any idea when they will be training next week? I will be in town and wouldn't mind watching a session.

It is a Saturday game so Tuesday and Thursday. The Thursday should be at Cockburn since it is an away game.