2010 Season Begins

Heard from Nigel that his old team Chilton FC has appointed some Raiders to lead them in 2010... chances are there won't be many left to field a side in the O&MFL..?!

Have it from both O'Neill & Lamb that they're not talking to any of the Raiders seniors for next year, but might take a couple of mates from the twos with them.

Would expect Raiders to lose a few from the twos, and maybe some of the 08 thirds who are now over-age, considering that, if the DeMarte appointment referred to by switch the play is confirmed, there are 3 new TDFL coaches who played their last O&M Football at Raiders - Conway, O'Neill & De Marte, so they'll be talking to blokes they know.

Old Alex Ischenko seems to know a lot. Problem is his team from Chilton will need to recruit from every club in the O&M to improve next year. They were shocking to say the least and have no smart footy people to run the club these days.

Thats a bit over the top Pluton Man. Oneill and Lamb sounds like a good starting point. Throw in the two Phibbs boys;Cassidy;Woods who all only played 9 games each through injures this year and the word that is going around is that Way back to the Chiltern (thats ern not on) Swans next year. So they are building well. So all thay need is some smart footy people to run their club.

Have heard Mitta have signed ex Bulldog Dan Stewart, Conway also approaching a number of Raiders 3rds players from this years Grand Final side.:thumbsu:

False and False...... obviously you are on here to make up crap, or your source is very unreliable, there has been no approach to any 3rds raiders kids from this yrs side. and havn signed stewart.

So they haven't signed him Frosty? Are they in the process of doing this? I would hope that young Nic Conway would be working on signing some Bulldogs and Raiders 3rds to add some speed and youth to the line up. Also considering Conway may not play this year, Mitta may have lost some raw pace out of the backline. So they need to recruit some young speedsters.

Pretty strong words there mate, you should realise its only a footy forum:thumbsdown: With Stewart, a coach from a neighbouring league was told that's where he's going, while some of the ex-Raiders kids have played up there in the last couple of years, whether they are seen as potential senior or just two's players remain to be seen.:):):)

pretty sure none off this years raiders side have played at mitta

pretty strong words there mate, you should realise its only a footy forum:thumbsdown: With stewart, a coach from a neighbouring league was told that's where he's going, while some of the ex-raiders kids have played up there in the last couple of years, whether they are seen as potential senior or just two's players remain to be seen.:):):)

woof woof woof

Breaking news: I'm sure everyone is interested.
Romerill has left the Saints (woo hoo!!!) they are looking for a replacement and have a couple of decent candidates. Hopefully whoever takes over brings some decent players with him.

Breaking news: I'm sure everyone is interested.
Romerill has left the Saints (woo hoo!!!) they are looking for a replacement and have a couple of decent candidates. Hopefully whoever takes over brings some decent players with him.

What was wrong with Romeril Hawk ?
Has the Tallangatta coach resigned is is someone just starting a rumour ?

Before the new season begins it would show some degree of leadership if the League Executive came out and said they would trial a Final in Wodonga. Did anyone bother to do the maths..? GF gate-takings in the O&KFL have increased a massive 32% in the past 5 years of playing in Wangaratta!

if your so interested in the o and k league then stick with them it is a big tradition to play at sandy creek, yes i understand that there needs to be some work done to rooms canteen etc:, but we who play in the league look forward to playing on sandy creek if we play in wodonga/albury who evers ground the league uses will take half the gate profits anyway. Profits may be up but whats the overall profit margin for the o and k.

I think a Grand Final in town should at lest be debated at a league level.The days of backing your ute up to the fance and getting pissed are well gone. there is noway the league will ever get any grants to upgrade what thay have out there when it is only used 4 week a year. Tradition is good but if thay dont try new things the league wont grow. A grand Final breakfast at the Raiders would also be a good money spinner. It would pay for the higher of the ground for the day.

if your so interested in the o and k league then stick with them it is a big tradition to play at sandy creek, yes i understand that there needs to be some work done to rooms canteen etc:, but we who play in the league look forward to playing on sandy creek if we play in wodonga/albury who evers ground the league uses will take half the gate profits anyway. Profits may be up but whats the overall profit margin for the o and k.

Appreciate tradition nm, but not just for tradition's sake. I'm not on either side of the fence on this matter, I can see that both options have pros & cons. It would be good for the League Exec to actually investigate the possibility of moving the GF, get all the REAL numbers (not just hearsay) and allow the clubs (all 12, not just the three who think they run the show) to make and informed decision about what is best for the TDFL going forward. Then we'll all shut up about it.

Back onto the 2010 season and I have heard from a very good source that Mathey has left the building! What a shame! Early word on a replacement is a trained chimp from the Melbourne Zoo!

Also heard that Chiltern have been talking to alot of this years raiders class which is a great move.
Had not heard about the Romeril move but agree that Wodonga Saints need a coach with some player pulling power. Hopefully they have some money in the bank to go after an o&m coach.

What was wrong with Romeril Hawk ?
?

apparently he had his own presentation night at three monkey tavern... invited his 20 odd of his favorite players and gave out his own awards... But didn't go to the clubs presentation and present...:confused:

Maybe if they get a new coach he will turn up to all functions and bring some professionalism to the position, with a premiership thirds team and finally a fourths this year, maybe a great base for a new coach to come in and shake things up a bit.:thumbsu: