Apr 21, 2008
Re: 2008 Official Big Footy Phantom Draft - Trial Run

Righto, i'll get the ball rolling then. This may surprise a few :rolleyes:

Pick 1 - Melbourne - Jack Watts

Could've just has easily have been Rich or Naitanui, but Watts is really the player Melbourne needs. Fatastic contested mark and accurate kick for goal, looks like he could be the best forward to come out of the last few drafts. Has great agility for a KP size kid and has got lots of confidence in his own ability. Bottom aged and has only dropped basketball this year to solely focus on football, so will still have plenty of improvement in him.

Selection #2 - West Coast Eagles

Nicholas Naitanui

By no means an easy choice, especially given how much I rate Daniel Rich and how much WC's midfield is crying out for class. I can't help but feel that I have delivered Freo a beauty and opened myself to endless criticism.

Nonetheless, NN is a talent like no other I have seen. Yes, he needs considerable work in the 'footy smarts' department and his skills could do with some polishing, but anyone with his physical capabilities and mental aptitude deserves the attention he has been given. For mine, there is no doubt that he would blossom under the tutelage of Dean Cox. If Will Sullivan can come on leaps and bounds in one year [larlgely because of Cox], there is no doubt in my mind that NN could do similar.

Can't promise I won't change by the time we do our 'real' phantom, but at this stage NN is worthy of selection 2.

WC supporters, don't kill me. I am the biggest fan of Daniel Rich on this forum.

Damn - here I am trying to do work and you guys have started picking already! :p

Selection #3 - Fremantle Dockers

Daniel Rich.

Midfielder, very skilled by foot, pacy, tackles well and exudes confidence. Best West Australian midfield prospect since Daniel Wells. The risk is he has been a bit lazy and possibly big headed this season and that might continue if we were unlucky, but like bigburger said I think that is easier to beat out of him, and I have seen him work hard as well (last year).

Was tempted to take Hartlett but can't ignore the memory of Rich at his best.

Selection #4
Tough choice here as you could draft a ruckman, a defender or a mid.Being before trade period i am amking a selection based on who is on their list at the moment.
In the end i went away from drafting a ruck at four. As highly as a rate Vickery he is not in my top 5 in ratings and i belive there are some options as far as ruckman go later on. I thought about Hurley but Port do have some younger talls holding down key positions and a few developing players as well.
So the selection is Hamish Hartlett simply to add some more class into the future midfield.

Thanks very much ant, and everyone else who has picked so far. :)

foj1 sent me a PM this morning with his two preferences based on what ant picked, so here is his pick:

foj1 said:
Pick 5 Essendon- Michael Hurley 192cm 92kg Northern Knights
Michael Hurley has been a standout player at U/16 and U/18 level over the past 3 years. He is able to play any key position although I am drafting him specifically to hold down a key position in the backline. Hurley is strong bodied, disciplined but also quite creative. I see Essendon being 3-4 years from being truly competitive and I think a spine of Hurley, Ryder, Gumbleton and Neagle being something to work on.
A criticism of Hurley is that he has been a man playing against boys. That doesnt concern me as he doesnt win the footy because of his muscle mass but because he is a superior footballer to most of the other blokes on the park. The other issue raised on BF is you dont waste a high draft pick on a backman- my counter to that is if you had the opportunity to draft an 18 year old Scarlett, Silvagni or Fletcher at Pick 5 you would take it every time. My only concern with Hurley is his pace off the mark however that issue will be scrutinised at AFL Draft Camp. Lastly Michael Hurley is a quality young man who will give himself every chance of success at AFL level.

HBF is up.

This thread contains the selections as made by the draft selectors, together with a list of selections in this post. This thread will remain locked, so please direct all discussion on these selections to the main Phantom Draft thread.

ROUND 1
Pick 1 - Melbourne -------- Jack Watts - KP Forward - 194cm, 85kg - Sandringham Dragons, Vic
Pick 2 - West Coast ------- Nick Naitanui - Ruck - 197cm, 95kg - Swan Districts, WA
Pick 3 - Fremantle --------- Daniel Rich - Midfielder - 183cm, 83kg - Subiaco, WA
Pick 4 - Port Adelaide ----- Hamish Hartlett - Midfielder - 182cm, 74kg - West Adelaide, SA
Pick 5 - Essendon ---------- Michael Hurley - KP Back - 192cm, 92kg - Northern Knights, Vic
Pick 6 - Carlton ------------ Jack Ziebell - Midfielder/Utility - 188cm, 84kg - Murray Bushrangers, Vic
Pick 7 - Brisbane ----------- Sam Blease - Midfielder - 183cm, 72kg - Eastern Ranges, Vic
Pick 8 - Richmond ---------- Steele Sidebottom - Midfielder - 182cm, 79kg - Murray Bushrangers, Vic
Pick 9 - North Melbourne --- Jackson Trengove - KP Back - 196cm, 77kg - Calder Cannons, Vic
Pick 10 - Adelaide ---------- Tom Swift - Midfielder - 190cm, 84kg - Claremont, WA
Pick 11 - Collingwood ------- Tyrone Vickery - Ruck/Key Forward - 200cm, 86kg - Sandringham Dragons, Vic
Pick 12 - Sydney ----------- Lewis Johnston - KP Forward - 192cm, 87kg - North Adelaide, SA
Pick 13 - St.Kilda ----------- Nick Heyne - Medium Forward - 187cm, 79kg - Gippsland Power, Vic
Pick 14 - Western Bulldogs -- Ayce Cordy - Ruck/Key Forward - 202cm, 77kg - Geelong Falcons, Vic
Pick 15 - Hawthorn ---------- Chris Yarran - Medium/Small Forward - 180cm, 84kg - Swan Districts, WA
Pick 16 - Geelong ----------- Shaun McKernan - Tall Utility - 196cm, 95kg - Calder Cannons, Vic

ROUND 2
Pick 19 - Melbourne -------- Aaron Cornelius - KP Forward (third tall?) - 192cm, 84kg - Tasmania
Pick 20 - West Coast ------- Michael Walters - Small Forward - 177cm, 75kg - Swan Districts, WA
Pick 21 - Fremantle -------- Nick Suban - Small Defender - 179cm, 82kg - North Ballarat Rebels, Vic
Pick 22 - Port Adelaide ----- Jordan Lisle - Tall Utility - 196cm, 87kg - Oakleigh Chargers, Vic
Pick 23 - Essendon --------- Matthew Broadbent - Mid/Utility - 189cm, 81kg - Woodville-West Torrens, SA
Pick 24 - Carlton ----------- Neville Jetta - Small Forward - 178cm, 75kg - Swan Districts, WA
Pick 25 - Brisbane ---------- Rhys O'Keefe - Utility - 187cm, 80kg - North Adelaide, SA
Pick 26 - Richmond --------- Tom Rockliff - Medium Forward - 183cm, 83kg - Murray Bushrangers, Vic
Pick 27 - North Melbourne --- Jarrad Blight - Tall Utility - 192cm?, 78kg - Swan Districts, WA
Pick 28 - Adelaide ----------- Clancee Pearce - Small Defender - 183cm, 85kg - Swan Districts, WA
Pick 29 - Collingwood -------- Ranga Ediriwickrama - Midfielder - 178cm, 79kg - NSW/ACT
Pick 30 - Sydney ------------ Tom Lynch - Tall Utility - 191cm, 84kg - Sandringham Dragons, Vic
Pick 31 - St.Kilda ------------ David Zaharakis - Midfielder - 180cm, 73kg - Northern Knights, Vic
Pick 32 - Western Bulldogs --- Jordan Roughead - Ruck/Key Forward - 199cm, 87kg - North Ballarat Rebels, Vic
Pick 33 - Hawthorn ---------- James Strauss - Utility - 185cm, 81kg - Oakleigh Chargers, Vic
Pick 34 - Geelong ------------ Luke Shuey - Midfielder - 185cm, 84kg - Oakleigh Chargers, Vic

ROUND 3
Pick 35 - Melbourne ---------- Paul Cahill - KP Forward - 192cm, 80kg - Sturt, SA
Pick 36 - West Coast -------- Dan Hannebery - Midfielder - 182cm, 75kg - Oakleigh Chargers, Vic
Pick 37 - Fremantle ---------- Jarred Redden - Ruck - 202cm, 88kg - Woodville-West Torrens, SA
Pick 38 - Port Adelaide ------ Kade Klemke - Small Defender - 180cm, 78kg - Murray Bushrangers, NSW
Pick 39 - Essendon ---------- Michael Still - KP Forward - 192cm, 81kg - Northern Knights, Vic
Pick 40 - Carlton ------------ Ash Smith - Midfield - 185cm, 84kg - Dandenong Stingrays, Vic
Pick 41 - Brisbane ---------- Chris Hall - Small Forward - 179cm, 65kg - Woodville-West Torrens, SA
Pick 42 - Richmond --------- Tom Hill - KP Forward - 198cm, 79kg - Northern Knights, Vic
Pick 43 - North Melbourne - Todd Banfield - Midfield - 180cm(?), 70kg - Swan Districts, WA
Pick 44 - Adelaide ---------- Ryan Schoenmakers - Medium Forward - 189cm (looks taller to me), 85kg - Norwood, SA
Pick 45 - Collingwood ------ Jamie Sheahan - Midfielder - 178cm, 73kg - Murray Bushrangers, Vic
Pick 46 - Sydney ----------- Luke Rounds - Midfielder - 181cm, 70kg - Geelong Falcons, Vic
Pick 47 - St.Kilda ----------- Jordan Jones - KP Defender/Third Tall - 190cm, 90kg - Geelong Falcons, Vic
Pick 48 - Western Bulldogs -- Mitch Brown - KP Forward - 191cm, 82kg - Sandringham Dragons, Vic
Pick 49 - Hawthorn --------- Mitch Banner - Utility - 178cm, 77kg - Western Jets, Vic
Pick 50 - Geelong ---------- Sam Wright - Utility - 188cm, 76kg - Murray Bushrangers, Vic

ROUND 4
Pick 51 - Melbourne -------- Tom Allwright - Midfield - 185cm, 83kg - Tasmania
Pick 52 - West Coast ------ Ian Richardson - Small Forward - 175cm, ??kg - Claremont, WA
Pick 53 - Fremantle -------- Alistair Smith - Midfield - 183cm, 80kg - Perth, WA
Pick 54 - Port Adelaide ----- Riley Milne - KP Defender - 192cm, 78kg - Murray Bushrangers, Vic
Pick 55 - Essendon -------- Matt DeBoer - Midfield - 187cm, 85kg - Claremont, WA
Pick 56 - Carlton ---------- Will Young - Tallish Utility - 192cm, 83kg - North Ballarat, Vic
Pick 57 - Brisbane --------- Bart McColluch - Tall Utility - 198cm, 83kg - Tasmania
Pick 58 - Richmond -------- Michael Gugliotta - Tallish Utility - 194cm, 82kg - Northern Territory
Pick 59 - North Melbourne - Adam Cockie - Midfield - 183cm, 85kg - Subiaco, WA
Pick 60 - Adelaide ---------- Jay Shannon - Midfield - 182cm, 80kg - The Other Port Adelaide, SA
Pick 61 - Collingwood ------ Tom German - Midfield - 179cm, 80kg - Calder Cannons, Vic
Pick 62 - Sydney ----------- Steve Gaertner - Tall Utility - 198cm, 88kg - Dandenong Stingrays, Vic
Pick 63 - St.Kilda ---------- Jamason Daniels - Midfield - 182cm, 77kg - Murray Bushrangers, Vic
Pick 64 - Western Bulldogs - Dylan McNeil - Midfield - 175cm, 71kg - Murray Bushrangers, NSW
Pick 65 - Hawthorn -------- Rory Sloane - Small Defender - 182cm, 76kg - Eastern Ranges, Vic
Pick 66 - Geelong ---------- Matthew Suckling - Midfield - 183cm, 84kg - Sandringham Dragons, Vic

ROUND 5
Pick 67 - Melbourne -------- Liam Shiels - Midfield - 183cm, 78kg - Eastern Ranges, Vic
Pick 68 - West Coast ------- Hayden Ballantyne - Small Forward - 175cm, ??kg - Peel Thunder, WA
Pick 69 - Fremantle -------- Trent Dennis-Lane - Small Forward - 180cm, ??kg - Subiaco, WA
Pick 70 - Port Adelaide ---- Matt Kilpin - Medium Defender - 186cm, 84kg - Oakleigh Chargers, Vic
Pick 71 - Essendon -------- Johnny Rayner - Midfield - 184cm, 66kg - Western Jets, Vic
Pick 72 - Carlton ---------- Ben Bucovaz - KP Forward (Third Tall) - 188cm, 88kg - Geelong Falcons, Vic
Pick 73 - Brisbane --------- Dayne Beams - Midfield - 184cm, 81kg - Southport Shark, QLD
Pick 74 - Richmond -------- Andrew Browne - Ruck - 202cm, 106kg - Murray Bushrangers, Vic
Pick 75 - North Melbourne - Liam Anthony - Midfield - 183cm, 80kg - East Fremantle, WA
Pick 76 - Adelaide --------- Ben Speight - Midfield - 177cm, 71kg - Norwood, SA
Pick 77 - Collingwood ------ Brad Mangan - Medium Forward - 185cm, 85kg - Murray Bushrangers, Vic
Pick 78 - Sydney ---------- Phil Davis - KP Defender - 192cm, 83kg - North Adelaide, SA
Pick 79 - St.Kilda ---------- Jaryd Blair - Midget - 172cm, 70kg - Gippsland Power, Vic
Pick 80 - Western Bulldogs - Luke Stanton - Midfield - 191cm, 83kg - Northern Knights, Vic
Pick 81 - Hawthorn -------- Lukas Markovic - KP Defender - 192cm, 93kg - Box Hill Hawks, Vic
Pick 82 - Geelong ---------- Nathan O'Keefe - KP Forward (third tall) - 192cm, 82kg - Eastern Ranges

ROUND 6
Pick 83 - Melbourne ------- Broc McCauley - Ruckman - 201cm, 94kg (2007 sizes) - Southport, QLD
Pick 84 - West Coast ----- John Bennell - Small Forward 174cm, 68kg - Peel Thunder, WA
Pick 85 - Fremantle ------- Lance Daly - KP Forward (third tall?) - 191cm, ??kg - Swan Districts, WA
Pick 86 - Port Adelaide ---- Rhys Stanley - Ruckman - 199cm, 84kg - West Adelaide Bloods, SA
Pick 87 - Essendon -------- Zachary Clarke - Ruckman - 203cm, 77kg - Oakleigh Chargers, Vic
Pick 88 - Carlton ---------- Tom Gillies - KP Defender - 192cm, 85kg - Dandenong Stingrays, Vic
Pick 89 - Brisbane --------- Joel Smouha - Ruck/KP Defender - 197cm, 88kg - Mt.Gravatt, QLD
Pick 90 - Richmond -------- Jayden Post - KP Defender - 195cm, 86kg - Western Jets, Vic
Pick 91 - North Melbourne - Clint Garlett - Midfield - 178cm, 65kg - Swan Districts, WA
Pick 92 - Adelaide (Thunderstruck) - ?

Pick 6 Carlton -Jack Ziebell Murray Bushrangers

Hard at it midfielder will round off Carltons midfield selections over the past few years. Elite kicking on either side of the body, coupled with the ability to go forward and as is great overhead, Jack is an awesome package.

This is a tough pick for me. The Lions have indicated that they are going midfield here and it certainly makes sense given their performance this year. The Lions need some ball winning ability (although expect to see a lot more of Proud next year), skill, pace and muscle in the middle. I am not sure that anyone really ticks all of those boxes. There was an article recently that Voss was looking for a mini me out of this draft. I am not sure who that would be although I expect Ziebell might end up being the closest and I think he is likely to be gone.

The two canditates that I have for this pick are Sidebottom and Blease and their respective form post Champs are what has made this a difficult pick. Blease I love his potential and his pace, ball carrying ability and delivery into the 50 are top notch. If he was getting more of it there would be no question who I would take. He can win his own ball but is a bit more of an outside player than Sidebottom. He would fill the role Acker played for many years with the Lions.

Sidebottom is more the inside mid who will win the ball and would provide more grunt. He does not have elite pace or endurance and his skills are good but not great. He is a very good footballer though who will get you the ball and when he develops physically I think will be an enforcer in the middle. He is also a very safe pick and you know he is going to be a player. He is bottom aged and there is a possibility that he could develop into a Voss like player but I see his chance of being an out and out star as being less than that of Blease. The chance of him being and out and out flop though is also much less

For me though I am going to take the risk on guy with the higher ceiling I think and take Blease. Performance wise this year I think he has not been as good as Sidebottom but he could be a star and that is what the Lions are going to need in a couple of years.

I will post my player review tonight when I get home.

And now for the worst kept secret on this board. I ****ing love Steele Sidebottom.

Pick 8 - Richmond - Steele Sidebottom - midfielder - 182cm, 79kg - Murray Bushrangers

Rusty has a very well rounded game. His main strengths are his hardness at the contest and his kicking. He has a good inside and outside game, though he does lack a yard of pace, so is much better served playing as a tough inside mid.

Something I rate really highly when watching juniors is their kicking skills and I'm really impressed with Sidebottom in this area. He is genuinely dual sided and some might remember a beautiful spearing ball he put on the chest of a Vic Country forward at the Championships. It was off his left foot, went about 50m and no higher than 3m off the ground. I already really like him and that was the moment I was convinced.

He's a good decision maker, which ties in really well with his kicking skills and he has plenty of composure. He oozes class, reads the play well and has a good work ethic, so there's a lot to like.

As I mentioned earlier, he's not the quickest guy in the world, but he's not exactly slow. He does compensate for the fact he's not a speedster with the above mentioned traits (decision making, play reading). I'd be curious to see how his endurance tests too, because even though he has a good work ethic he does spend a fair bit of time resting on the half back or half forward line for Murray. I'm not sure if this is because he doesn't have the motor, or if it's simply because the team has such depth in their midfield that it's just a simple rotation.

I did consider Tyrone Vickery for this pick and think Richmond would be every chance of going that way on draft day, but this is just a trial run so I'm not spending as much time picking club needs just yet.

Like many before I had a lot of trouble with this pick. I've been doing a little "research" to see what North supporters think they need and what's available. I've gone the defender option, simply because I believe there will be good run and carry options at the next pick still available, plus I thought it was too early too bring in my Swan Districts "pets" Jetta or Walters.

Pick 9 - North Melbourne - Jackson Trengove

Hadn't seen anything of this kid before a couple of days ago, but thanks to youTube I got to see him and he reminds me of a cross between McIntosh (Ashley) and Fletcher. Looks to have good pace, reads the play well, has good height and from the bits I saw could turn into a top quality defender.

Prepares for flaming from Norths supporters.:p

Ok my pick is....

Tom Swift

Now this may raise an eyebrow or 2 or 3 however injury does not frighten me off of someone who I believe if fully fit would be a top 5 pick. He has the size, has has the ball winning ability and overall class to make it as a midfielder cum utility in the AFL. There is a shift to 190cm running players these days and he fits the bill. The crows need more midfield grunt to fight with the top sides who have all had brilliant midfields. Geelong has a midfield full of 6ft2+ players so no harm to grab Tom here. He wins stacks of his own footy, inside and outside and whilst I havent seen a huge amount of him, you only have to see small bits of footage to know he can play football.

I knew Tom Swift would go early. I was thinking Hodgey would pull the trigger, but I wasn't ruling you, or one of our WA posters out. Could be an inspired pick, but he's hard to get a read on because of all his injuries.

Snoop Dog messaged me his pick and will do a write up when he's online later today.

Pick 11 - Collingwood - Tyrone Vickery - Ruck/Key Forward

Was really perplexed as to who to take as thought Tyrone may have gone at this point and was thinking of another yet to be taken player.

No secret Pies need a ruck prospect to back up Fraser and Wood. I dont rate Bryan as a finals player and would rather see him moved along.

Rather than wait for a ruckmen later in the draft better to take the 2nd best ruck prospect in the draft and look for the mids later on when they will still be in abundance.

Vickery is an outstanding ruck prospect who has dominated at times during the TAC this year. Plays both ruck and fwd and this is what makes him really interesting. Those of you who have done these for a while will remember I was early on the Kurt Tippett wagon (may have even got the wagon ready) and its interesting bc I see a lot of similarities. Both are equally adept playing fwd and ruck. To be fair Tippett was more a fwd come ruck whereas Vickery is the opposite. That versatility is of great currency IMO.

Can take strong contested marks as well as collect high numbers of possession so should be able to influence games when his body is fully developed. Has had some injury worries but also think that can be seen as a positive as he hasnt had the development some of the other kids have had. skills are good and like Josh just might end up more ruck rover like than steve king like.

Assured young bloke who has the ability to capt a footy club one day. Welcome to te Pies young fella.

it's thrown me out a bit with this moving quickly.I don't have my list at work but with it being atrial only I'll go by memory.

SYDNEY Pick 12- Lewis Johnston

I'll do a right up later.

okay well i've tossed up between 3 names.. Chris Yarran, Mitch Robinson and my boy... i reckon any of those three would be a good fit for st.kilda.. bias may have kicked in here but i'm leaning towards Heyne

Yarran.. Could be a steal, could be a flop.. i'm not particularly in the mood for st.kilda to take risks in this draft.. (i personally hope we trade our first rounder in a deal for kerr but thats another matter entirely).. obviously Yarran would add alot of pace which we are crying out for, but i'm of the view st.kilda still has a shot at the flag in the next two years (provided we trade and draft aggressively).. i don't think Yarran can make an immediate impact at st.kilda (but obviously i could be wrong).. i'm not 110% against drafting him (or the other 2 listed).. but today i just don't want Yarran

Robinson.. Probably the safest of the three listed, and splitting him and Heyne was like splitting hairs.. but i just reckon Heyne has more strings to his bow and that's what the saints are after (particularly if we get Kerr, then our midfield problem is sorted)

called me bias guys, but i've thought long and hard about this one...

St.Kilda selects Nick Heyne

i've probably over-complicated my thought process but our side still lacks that lead up forward who can run around the midfield/wing and kick goals... we get no goals from our wingman,flankers and mids.. (a didak/stevie j/embley type, not a Riewoldt one).. we've persisted with Ferguson and Gardiner in this role and even tried Milne in it (which just doesn't work) Heyne can have an impact next season playing across half forward i believe and kick those 20-25 extra goals we are crying out for... he is reasonably quick, long strong kick.. can play inside/outside.. as i said, i think st.kilda is still a chance at a flag (call me delusional) and so i'm drafting with position in mind rather than purely best available, he is ready to slot into a side ready to challenge... and just knowing him i reckon he'd slot in soooo nicely under ross lyon

there we go.. no suprises there:rolleyes:.. other picks through me a bit i guess.. was expecting Swift and Blease to still be here

sportz1 is offline, but he messaged me his pick a little while ago.

I have to go for cordy under the father son rule as per popular opinion .Also it makes sense as they dont have real tall timber or kpp players they need hieght and cordy fills the bill in a number of areas although i am concerned about his development. it will be a long one .He is very thin and playing school footy and limited tac through injury has curtailed his development enourmously he is a talent but it will take a lot of time before the bulldogs get value from thier first pick this is why i feel they may only offer 2nd round pick. i doubt a club will offer lower than this is very strong draft. I wouldnt be stunned if they went a lisle mckernan or even roughhead here they are screaming for a ready to go kp type.

Hodgey won't be online for a little while, but he messaged me his pick:

Pick 15 - Chris "Mr.Highlight Reel" Yarran (his words, not mine :p). No doubt, write up to follow when he gets online. :thumbsu:

Sorry guys real buy day no time for a write up

Geelong - Pick 16

Shaun McKernan - Calder Cannons

Plays as an undersized ruckman at TAC Cup and also in the championships but projects more as a key position player. Could easily slot into a key forward role and do some pinch hitting in the ruck. I took him here as best available Geelong dont really have any specific needs.
McKernan really impressed me in the Champs game at Telstra Dome playing in the ruck I thought he outplayed Naita. Is very athletic and has a good vertical jump. Surprised he lasted to pick 16 but with such an even top 20 the is bound to be sliders and bolters.

Really tough pick. It was hard enough deciding whether to take a forward or a mid, especially with some i'd been hoping might slip not slipping that far. I decided after taking a forward Melbourne really need to adress their midfield, no point having good forwards if you can't get the ball down to them

Pick 17 - Melbourne - Stephen Hill

Hard choice between Hill & Robinson, but in the end i went for Hill. Robinson is probably a safer bet and has height on his side, but Hill has something about him that made me want to choose him. Great endurance and similarly impressive pace, Melbourne has plenty of inside mids and needs some quick players who can run with the ball and deliver it accurately, which Hill can do with his beautiful left foot. Still quite light, but Melbourne aren't drafting for next year so this isn't an issue.

Could've easily gone with 3 or 4 other kids (had another written down before changing), but Hill really suits Melbourne's needs.

Pick 18

Mitch Robinson.

Very happy to secure Robinson here.

WC need several things from this year's draft, one of which is the ability to run and carry. I think in reality, at least one of the mids so far listed in this trial run will slip through to our selections, which augers well for WC.

Robinson demonstrated this year his ability to break the lines; something WC are in desperate need of. Ebert, McNamara, Selwood and Butler [& others] are clearly good ball winners but lack the speed to break the game open. What also really appeals to me is his ability to win his own footy in close, and his aggression in the contest. Kicking skills are probably above average, and this is a requirement for WC this year for mine.

Me again. I've just figured out something i already knew, there are no easy picks:rolleyes:

Pick 19 - Melbourne - Aaron Cornelius

Real toss up again, between Cornelius & a few midfield options (had one picked but changed at the last second), Melbourne have needs all over the ground but forward line is their biggest issue.

Strong overhead & contested mark, some have concerns about his pace but he more then makes up for that with his footy smarts. Agile and always leads to the right spots. Cornelius looks like he could be more of a tradition full forward then the other KP forwards in the draft. He has already played VFL for Tassie and has held his own against men playing in a key position. Melbourne would be hoping that he and Watts could be the forward half of their spine for the next 10 years

Selection 20

Michael WALTERS - small forward/rover.

Very tough decision here, as I think there are a number of good smalls available later in the draft [Bennell, Quartermaine just to name 2]. Neville Jetta is a real candidate for this position, but I think he has a remote chance of sliding to 36, whereas Walters should go before 25. Matthew Broadbent is a favourite of mine, but having taken Robinson, I think Walters satisfies our needs more. Ultimately, I think WC needs class and Walters has that.

I think he's a vastly underrated player on this forum, and a player who definitely would not have escaped the very close attention and scrutiny of most clubs. I've heard there is interest from several clubs as a 1st rounder.

Has the ability to play up the ground, although I find his kicking lets him down on occassions and fails to hit targets as much as I know he is capable. Moves very well and knows how to find space, so I think he could definitely develop up the ground.

Sorry for holding things up again...

Pick 21 - Nick Suban

Smart and very skillful and maybe a little bit more talented than some of the other players around this mark. Toughness, defensive skills and rebound also a plus. Probably not going to be a midfielder at the next level straight up, but will be very handy on the flanks, especially with Heath Black now gone.

CHRISTOPHER "HIGHLIGHT REEL" YARREN :p
180-84
SWAN DISTRICTS FC

AFL PLAYER COMPARRISON
180 CM VERSION OF JUNIOR BURGER.

SPEED
20M – BETTER THAN 2.95 SECONDS = VERY GOOD TO ELITE CATERGORY
DRAFT CAMP WILL TELL US MORE, BUT RECRUITERS EXPECT BIG THINGS

ENDURANCE
BEEP – POOR CATERGORY

KICKING
RIGHT FOOT – 8.5/10 – GREAT KICKING TECHNIQUE, SO REALXED AND EASY OVER THE FOOTY. NATURAL. 50+ METRE KICK ON. ABILITY TO CARRY THE FOOTY 55+
LEFT FOOT – 7.5/10 – ANOTHER TICK HERE – VERY MUCH DUAL SIDED.

HANDBALLING
SOLID SKILLS WITHOUT BEING OUTSTANDING – VERY CLEAN THOUGH SO U CAN SEE THE POTENTIAL IN HIM GROWING INTO A MIDFIELDER

X-FACTOR
AMAZING FOOTBALLER TO WATCH. DURING EVERY GAME U WILL WATCH U WILL LOOK TO UR MATE BESIDE U AND SAY “DID YARREN ACTUALLY DO THAT”. WETHER ITS MAKING AN OPPOSITION PLAYER LOOK FOOLISH – EXPLODE AWAY FROM A CONTESTED SITUATION WITH THE FOOTY IN HIS HANDS OR JUST DO THE FREAK THING THAT LEAVES U SCRIBBLING MADLY ON UR NOTEPAD.

AFL READY
I RECKON HE WILL FOLLOW THE PATH OF THE KIDS THAT TAKE TO AFL RIGHT FROM DAY 1 WALKING INTO THE CLUB. THEY WILL LEAVE THIER TEAMATES AMAZED FROM THE FIRST TRAINING SESSION AND IT WILL JUST TRANSLATE TO PLAYING ROUND 1 IN THEIR DEBUT YEAR. HE IS READY, MAKE NO MISTAKE ABOUT THAT.

INJURYS
NO INJURYS TO SPEAK OF, NO RED FLAGS HERE

UNDER 18 CHAMPIONSHIPS
IMPRESSIVE CARNIVAL WITHOUT ACTUALLY TAKING IT BY THE THROAT. HFF ISNT REALLY THE EASIET POSITION TO DOMINATE IN. WEST AUSTRALIA WERE VERY RELIANT ON HIM AS THIER OUTSTANDING FORWARD, WA HAD A GUN FORWARD AND METRO WOULD HAVE BEEN IN FOR A MATCH ON THE LAST DAY.

MY JUMBLED THOUGHTS.
Be4 the champs, I saw someone compare him to a little Junior Burger on the Hawk Headquarters Website and I thought what a load of s**t. He wanna be one good player to have people comparing him to a little junior buger. Its actually not a bad AFL comparison even if he is a good 7cm shorter. Just cant write enough good things about this kid. Just oozes class in everything he does. Ticks – Vertical leap, Footskills, X Factor, Class, Dual sided, Pace, overhead marking, kicking technique etc.. Will slot straight into an AFL team next year, no matter with which team it is. Just have that feeling that he will take to AFL like little Junior Boy did. Very team orientated, maybe to unselfish at times. 1st option every time and there is nothing wrong with that. LOCK top 10 pick

PROS
AMAZING MARK OVER HIS HEAD FOR SOMEONE HIS SIZE – PLAYS A LOT TALLER THAN THE 180 HE LISTED AT
POISE-BALANCE – SOMETHING THAT THE VERY GOOD PLAYERS HAVE – NOTE WELL
GREAT USER OF THE FOOTY – FOOTSKILLS OUTSTANDING – SOMETHING IM HUGE ON WHEN TRYING TO DISSECT TALENT TRANSLATING TO THE AFL.
IM RAMBLING I KNOW, BUT THIS KIDS IS ALL CLASS

CONS
GOES QUIET SOMETIMES, BUT THAT’S TO BE EXPECTED PLAYING MAINLY ON THE HFF
MOTOR – IN THE POOR CATERGORY AT THE MINUTE, BUT NOTHING LIKE AN AFL CLUB ENVORIMENT TO IMPROVE ON THIS
HEIGHT – LITTLE ON THE SHORT SIDE, ANOTHER 5+ CM AND YARREN WOULD SCAREY – WILL WORRY SOME RECRUITERS
LAZY AND LACONIC LOOKING - BUT DONT BE FOOLED
UNSELFISH – IM STRUGGLING HERE FOR BAD THINGS TO SAY, UNSELFISH ISNT SUCH A BAD THING

RANKING
CURRENTLY HAVE HIM AT NUMBER 7 ON MY BOARD, BUT STILL WATCHING TAPES. COULD EVEN PUSH FOR TOP 5 SELECTION.

BIGFOOTY DRAFT
GUARENTEE U HE WONT MAKE IT TO 15 NEXT TIME ROUND IN THE REAL THING, SOME PEOPLE ON HERE PLAYING DUCKS AND DRAKES…….LOL. IM PRETTY MUCH TAKING VC’S VIEW IN PICKING BEST PLAYER AVAILABLE AS THE HAWKS NEEDS ARENT REALLY KNOWN YET UNTIL DELISTINGS AND TRADES ARE COMPLETE. HAWKS PROBABLY LOOKING AT KEY POSITION TYPE (BACKMAN PREFERABLY) AND SOME SPEED AND CLASS THROUGH THEIR MIDFIELD. RIOLI IS GOING TO END UP AS AN ELITE AFL MIDFIELDER, SO IF YARREN MANAGED TO GET TO 15 IN THE REAL THING, PELCHEN WOULD JUMP UP AND SCREAM OUT HIS NAME.

FANTASY FOOTBALL RANKING
PENCIL HIM IN FOR MAYBE A ROOKIE SPOT ON UR BENCH TO MAKE MONEY. IM PREDICTING HE WILL PLAY ROUND 1 FOR WHOEVER DRAFTS HIM. NOT A HUGE ACCUMLATER OF CHEAP STATS. SO NOT A NATURAL DREAM TEAMER, MORE A SUPER COACH SPECIAL AS EVERY TOUCH HE GETS USUALLY HURTS THE OPPOSITION.

Pick 22
Jordan Lisle – 196cm, 87kg – Oakleigh Chargers/Carey Grammar
Tall KP player who gets used at both ends of the ground and does it well. Good strong mark who has good foot skills and kicks the ball a long way. Has reasonably good pace and is a good defender. Has a bit of a question mark on his agility. His goal kicking is pretty reliable. To me he looks to have the makings of a good defender who can be used forward if needed as well.
I could have looked to a ruckman here but i thought that 22 was probably a bit high for the ruckman left at the moment.

Pick 23 Matthew Broadbent 189cm 81kg South Australia- Midfield/ Utility

Tallish midfielder/ utility who ticks all the boxes. He is effective inside and outside. He has a good motor and is quick enough. His kicking is very solid and he is a very disciplined footballer.
The biggest slight on Broadbent may well be he does lots of things well but nothing outstandingly well. I think Broadbent may begin his career across half back with the odd run with role. It is concievable that Hurley and Broadbent could be part of Essendons back six if they both found there way to Essendon in November.
As I previously mentioned I believe the Bombers are about 3 years away but you would be fairly comfortable with a developing backline of Slattery, Hurley, Pears, Myers, Ryder and Broadbent.
Other players in the mix- I strongly considered Jordan Roughead for this pick. I think he has a lot of upside and was pretty impressed with his Nationals and his development from 07 to 08 however Broadbent is ranked too high on my board to ignore. Jason Laycock is currently our second ranked ruckman which is deeply concerning for mine.