#14 Michael Hibberd – retired. Thank you Pig ❤️

There were the two hedge fund bro types who got nicked for breaking lockdown to attend the GF in 2021 but there was also another separate bloke from Melbourne who spent a month in a Perth clinker for sneaking over to watch the granny.

That bloke was Pig's childhood mate from Somie who didn't want to miss his mate running away with the cup. Cheers Hibbo, you're a king of the bogans.

Really moving speech.

Guy is a legend. Hopefully he gets an opportunity to shut down Charlie Cameron and Jamie Elliott one last time before hanging them up.

I remember thinking Lockhart looked likely in the role after a few games, but not to be I guess.

McVee seems the most obvious replacement in that role, but would still like to find a genuine lockdown defender (feels like McVee is a bit of a 50/50 balance between lockdown and rebound).
This was Hibberd when he was younger. Beautiful balance. Has only become more lockdown as he slowed and Jetta retired meaning the spot had to be filled.

So many recruits from other clubs don’t pan out. This one did.

Thanks for the memories Pig!!

🔴🐷🏆14🔵

Really? I don't get that vibe at all. Reckon Bowey and Rivers would be keen but wouldn't be able to keep up with the older boys
Yeah, Rivers. Something about him. Plus you’d know you’d get a swathe of glamours coming over if Melksham and Rivers were tipping them.

Steven May the obvious choice, but given Melksham and him don’t see eye to eye on the drink it might end badly.

What a way to finish, not even picked in a game that’s made for him. Picked a sub and didn’t use him. Hibberd should have played that role.
Really pathetic way for us to treat such a great servant of the club. Deserved to be chaired off.

Absolutely. What an awful set of circumstances to finish your career. People will tell you it’s ok and you’re privileged etc but it’s been a huge part of his life for a long time, to not even get picked over a bloke that’s absolute depth at best (I emphasise at best) is really disrespectful.

When was the last time we actually got to farewell one of our veterans in a retirement game? Nathan Jones the closest with his 300th being a kind of proxy farewell game (even though he didn't know it). Jetta, Hibberd, all these guys are kept on the list and allowed to fade away before they finally take a hint and delist themselves. Going to happen with Tmac too since he is so cooked now and will just ride out his last year of match payments at Casey.

There's really no excuse for Hibberd not at least being sub. I'm actually more angry about that than the loss.

When was the last time we actually got to farewell one of our veterans in a retirement game? Nathan Jones the closest with his 300th being a kind of proxy farewell game (even though he didn't know it). Jetta, Hibberd, all these guys are kept on the list and allowed to fade away before they finally take a hint and delist themselves. Going to happen with Tmac too since he is so cooked now and will just ride out his last year of match payments at Casey.

There's really no excuse for Hibberd not at least being sub. I'm actually more angry about that than the loss.
Incredibly disappointing. Agree, the loss is just that, a loss. But to not even pick a finals made player in a game that’s always got potential to go to the wire over a guy that’s genuinely a long way off AFL standard is tactically baffling and disrespectful to him.

The irony is that had we won then we’d probably consider him for a job on Cameron next week. I mean, has anyone seen Schache even lay a tackle in Melbourne colours?

This'll haunt us. Not Norm Smith level curse, but seriosuly awful ******* decision making which will have implications among the culture of the team and the club.

Maybe with the supporter base, but I honestly don't think it hurts the players as much these days. They have psychs and specialists looking after them 24/7. Well being is placed in higher importance than goal kicking practice. I'll be shocked if it's even mentioned. Players just aren't as invested anymore. I think our group is satisfied with the 1 flag. Rumours of players not putting in more than they have to. Fights between players at restaurants etc. Everything points to being fulfilled. The Hunger that wins you close games, big games isn't quite there. Coaches need to somehow bring that back. Not sure how with this group.

Na, as much as Hibbo was a respected and liked teammate, truth is he was fringe 22 and was dropped, and the defence held up really well as a unit.

Much like Nath Jones in the 2021 GF, you've gotta pick your best team in finals.

There's a balance with this stuff. No one is bigger than the club so you never prioritise recognising an individual over the success of the team. I think the club handled the Jones situation about as well as they could have in 2021.

For me the issue here is we created the situation outselves. Hibberd could have been picked as sub and it wouldn't have made any amount of difference to the team because the other guy didn't even get on the ground.

You don't get the opportunity to honour every player's retirement on the ground but when you get those chances you've got to use them.

Na, as much as Hibbo was a respected and liked teammate, truth is he was fringe 22 and was dropped, and the defence held up really well as a unit.

Much like Nath Jones in the 2021 GF, you've gotta pick your best team in finals.

Agreed. As much as I love the Pig, I think playing Tommo was the right call. The issues were our inability to finish around goal. Simple as that. Yeah, could have played Hibbo as sub, but knowing Max had a broken toe, a ruck replacement was always going to be the way they went. So either Schache or Grundy. And Grundy is out the door. That's why Schache got the nod.