An idea for Essendon home games

Would you support the adoption of a song like "You'll Never Walk Alone" for Essendon fans?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

I was at the game yesterday, sitting in the middle of the Essendon members'. I was somewhat surprised to hear such a one-sided crowd so quiet in general play. That got me thinking - How would 40,000+ Essendon fans at the Dome and up to the 75,000 Essendon fans from last night at the 'G be, singing a song as one? I was thinking of "You'll Never Walk Alone", the Liverpool and Celtic anthem. Just imagine the roof over the Telstra Dome, 40,000+ Essendon fans like at the West Coast game this year, and all of them singing a song which would come to represent Essendon with 10 seconds left, and a one point lead.

What are people's thoughts on this?

I dont know how it'd go. Some of the soccer chants sound good. St Kilda have a chant I think.

2 years ago at the Richmond v Collingwood game a whole bay of Tigers supporters were singing Jingle Bells. I have no idea why.

The song's greatest moment was in the 2005 CL final, where Liverpool were 3-0 down, and heard the fans singing it from the changerooms, came back to 3-3 and won on penalties. Imagine the pressure on a WCE or Freo with 40,000 singing it under the roof at the Dome.

someone get it going

remember this for next year...it will be great

The reason I posted here first is that I wanted to know how much support it would get. Would people be willing to start it? To join in quickly? How many people know the words? If there is strong support, we'll see if we can get a group of supporters (i.e. a bay) to start it, and see if we can get the club on board, to hand out sheets with the words, etc.

I would love to do something like that at a game. The problem is, Australians are lazy. Why do you think the only thing we have come up with in the past 40 years is Aussie Aussie Aussie, Oi Oi Oi.

I was actually thinking that should be our second club song if it were possible. Think it might affect our affiliation with Man Utd though. For the record, Id love to adopt it as our own.

Liverpool stole it off Celtic so maybe we could nick it off them.

Nah,its Liverpool's song....too pommie for my liking.

Plus,because they serve that crap mid-strength no one is tanked enough to get going with a chant at an AFL game....thank christ for scull-a-thons at the Royal pre-match.

In England they shut the pubs for miles around a ground to stop people getting smashed.

P.S..me and sammy are still cracking up at your "the poor TAB" comment during the festivities on sat:)

Nah,its Liverpool's song....too pommie for my liking.

Plus,because they serve that crap mid-strength no one is tanked enough to get going with a chant at an AFL game....thank christ for scull-a-thons at the Royal pre-match.

In England they shut the pubs for miles around a ground to stop people getting smashed.

P.S..me and sammy are still cracking up at your "the poor TAB" comment during the festivities on sat:)

Celtic sung it first mate, Liverpool made it famous. It was good to see you Sunday, sorry the boys couldn`t give you a better game. You`ll see a better effort this week mate. Gotta love The Royal.

It was like the boys had a bad case of gout;)

Think the idea of an Essendon song/chant is sensational. Not convinced on the YNWA song choice, but possibly. An Australian song would be great. Might be a great way to usher in the new era that starts in '08... some club solidarity would be a solid foundation.

maybe if we know the game is rapt up and we know we are going to win get the whole crowd to sing the essendon song...??? few other clubs do it works for them...

I like the idea however there isn't the same culture of singing at AFL games as there is in the EPL etc...

If we were to introduce something along those lines I'd suggest it to be short and simple so that everyone could join in for example "we're by far the greatest team..."

Liverpool stole it off Celtic so maybe we could nick it off them.
I love the idea of a song, but for fu*ks sake not a song associated with those to scum bag clubs!!!!

Now i know most people here hate out cheer squad due to the lack of sound. this is a management issue that stems from the fact it is run by the fun police. an friend i have in the cs told me they were actually told before they took the banner out to not have fun out there. However, i am led to believe that there will be a change of management next year which should hopeful bring with it a lessening of the draconian measures taken against those few who have the passion to actually make some noise. I implore all of those people who enjoy bashing us on these forums to put your money where your mouth is and join up, and if the only reason you wont is because you want to go to the footy and drink pi$$ then you have no right to sling of at those who work bl00dy hard to support this great club and have to live under the sword of Damocles.

West Ham's song is pretty cool i reckon.

I'm forever blowing bubbles
Pretty bubbles in the air
They fly so high
They reach the sky
And like my dreams they fade and die
Fortunes always hiding
I've looked everywhere
I'm forever blowing bubbles
Pretty bubbles in the air

Anyway, I like the idea in general, but we do need our own song, not a reject one.

An idea for Essendon home games