Toast Reasons for Optimism

Yes, JL again making mention of the bullshit he's having to put up with in his presser.

Jye is getting beaten up as it's the last resort tactic from defenders to stop him. He's too quick and smart to be played fair. It's on the umpires to look after him.

It's clearly affecting his game too. Thankfully Treacy is looking after him and stepping up as well.

It has been obvious this season that he has been marked as a game changer and defenders are getting hits in where they can.

Good news is on a non dominant day he helped set up a few for Treacy, got a bit of the ball and kicked a couple of goals.

Yeah no worries from me about Jye. Defenders are getting in their licks now while he's still slight and unnoticed by the umpires. Both these things will flip in tiem but in the meantime he's still going at 2 goals a game and treacy is stepping up in his place.

I think what's really optimistic to me is the 3 teams our play style is probably most similar to are almost guaranteed top 4 - Swans, Cats and Melbourne.

And we are probably 2 years behind the Swans in development - which is realistically only due to their academy picks, whilst you'd imagine Melbourne and Geelong will drop off over that same time frame.

Amiss is really only in his second year proper considering he only played a couple of games in 2022.

Was all over it in the first half today just didn't convert the opportunities. Concussion and extra attention probably has rattled him a bit so far.

I reckon Treacy will be getting more attention in the coming weeks, which will free up Amiss a bit.

I think what's really optimistic to me is the 3 teams our play style is probably most similar to are almost guaranteed top 4 - Swans, Cats and Melbourne.

And we are probably 2 years behind the Swans in development - which is realistically only due to their academy picks, whilst you'd imagine Melbourne and Geelong will drop off over that same time frame.
We're similar to Melbourne, we're nothing like the Swans. Swans are an average team that is being heavily carried by three players, Heeney, Guldon, and Warner, who are arguably all top ten players in the comp right now.

Very interested to see what our game plan is on Friday. Last year Longmire beat us with keepings off, we need to have multiple plans in place as the Swans will.

We're similar to Melbourne, we're nothing like the Swans. Swans are an average team that is being heavily carried by three players, Heeney, Guldon, and Warner, who are arguably all top ten players in the comp right now.

Very interested to see what our game plan is on Friday. Last year Longmire beat us with keepings off, we need to have multiple plans in place as the Swans will.
Last year Freo also beat them over in Sydney; in recent years we've beaten Melbourne (away), Geelong (home & away) and others when they've been contenders or top 8 sides. It will be a huge test, but I'm confident they can do it. Freo can beat anyone currently, it's just we are never sure what Freo turns up!! These back-to-back wins certainly don't hurt though

jye amiss is interesting. having a down year.

but has kicked 12 goals off 6 games (west coast one doesn't count).

so still ontrack for a 40 goal a year average.

shows at his minimum hes still useful.

I thought he was very good today. Not excellent but a two goal return with some tackles, drawing defenders away from Treacy, and blocking for him is a very good return. He will be better again this week and will start to build into the season again from there.

He is getting a little too close to the man on the mark kicking this season. I hope they are addressing that in review.

I think we will have a run of games where he and Treacy are the leading goal kicker and the next week it is the other one.

Pumped with their progress... they are so so young! No where near what they will be in three years. And they are already a problem.

The top 4 defensive sides are Freo, Sydney, Melbourne and Geelong. That's the similarity I was getting at.

For all the talk of fast frenetic football on the back of Collingwood winning the premiership the 3 most consistent sides this year play in a more composed manner similar to us.

The top 4 defensive sides are Freo, Sydney, Melbourne and Geelong. That's the similarity I was getting at.

For all the talk of fast frenetic football on the back of Collingwood winning the premiership the 3 most consistent sides this year play in a more composed manner similar to us.

And when we get the mix right with our smalls we will start to look even better in transition. As much as I love Walters he is fading fast.

Freddy has been big since getting back. Hopefully Switta is good for the Swans. Simpson looks like he can add a heap of class in that role as well.

I thought he was very good today. Not excellent but a two goal return with some tackles, drawing defenders away from Treacy, and blocking for him is a very good return. He will be better again this week and will start to build into the season again from there.

He is getting a little too close to the man on the mark kicking this season. I hope they are addressing that in review.

I think we will have a run of games where he and Treacy are the leading goal kicker and the next week it is the other one.

Pumped with their progress... they are so so young! No where near what they will be in three years. And they are already a problem.
I have noticed too that he is getting too close to the man on the mark and then trying to kick it higher over his head.

He has also shortened and slowed down his "walk up" and is not getting the momentum he was previously getting.

I am sure Jamie Graham would be on to it as both are easily fixed.

Another reason for optimism that is off field.

Our new board members and the club having consistent profitable years. Snuffaluphagus can speak to the details, but having a strong cash position means avenues for investment and improvement are open to the club. It changes the dynamic of Board meetings and strategy planning when the business has a strong cash position.

This coupled with our list demographic means not only do we have the players, we have a strong business foundation to support them long term. Chappy needs to go overseas to see a specialist. No problem. Done. New recovery modality that shows strong indications over current methods but costs a tonne... no problem. Education and training trips. Done.

Another reason for optimism that is off field.

Our new board members and the club having consistent profitable years. Snuffaluphagus can speak to the details, but having a strong cash position means avenues for investment and improvement are open to the club. It changes the dynamic of Board meetings and strategy planning when the business has a strong cash position.

This coupled with our list demographic means not only do we have the players, we have a strong business foundation to support them long term. Chappy needs to go overseas to see a specialist. No problem. Done. New recovery modality that shows strong indications over current methods but costs a tonne... no problem. Education and training trips. Done.
I think even the most financially illiterate on here can appreciate "cash is good" haha

I am feeling anti dockery and believe it is time the club moves into an era of optimism an belief. We are set up off field, strong financially, great facilities that are being invested in again. And a strong young list that should see us ready to love the next decade at the club.

Below are some reasons you should enjoy the footy this year, even if it isn't perfect, as seen through the lens of the next five to seven years.

- Luke Jackson: He is a game turner and winner already. His body has filled out a little more and even if we temper expectations to a normal growth curve from here, he is a top 15 player in the league. If he develops how I think he will, he is a top three player for a decade.

- Jye Amiss: His first full season resulted in 41 goals. If he was playing in Victoria he would be known as the best key forward prospect in the league. Is a couple of preseasons from ideal body shape and i wouldn't be surprised if he kicked fifty this season. He shouldn't hit his peak for another 4 years. But lets say his future performance is at 2024 and 2025 levels. That is one of the best KPF's (yes you vic clowns, KPF) in the league for what should be at least a decade.

- Andy and Caleb: There is improvement left in them, however we should expect high output for at least another 8 years. Both could captain, I favour Andy, but wouldn't mind CS. Another strong position to find ourselves in. Both AA level players and we get them for years to come.

- Young: this season should see him in the AA squad or thereabouts. A strong mark, bigger body and long kick. I think he kicks 14-16 goals this season and increases that to around 20 a year there after. Hasn't reached his peak, but even with no improvement we get very good football for close to a decade.

- Darcy: There is a lot of improvement left in him and I think he is going to kick big goals and take huge contested marks in finals and GF's that turn games for us. I want to see the shhhh come out in a GF.

- Johnson: Size and pace with skill. I think he gets it close to 23 times a game this season and we won't see his best for another two years yet. Inside and outside he will be a problem.

- Ras: I rate him, He knows how to find the ball and get it out. Physically he will be able to run all day and wont be easily moved off the ball.

- Freddy: In a team with talls who are winning or at least halving contests we will see the best of his freakish talent. I expect him to be a 30 plus goal a year player regularly.

- Cox: Will not be the best KPD in the league. But will be an A grader for a decade.

- Walker: Could become the best lockdown small defender in the league. With confidence to run with the ball, should sow some chaos and provide highlights. Again, should be great for the best part of a decade.

- Ryan: I want to transition him from kicking out, however he should be good for intercepts and playing taller than he is for the next 5-6 seasons. I was unsure if he belonged in the group below or not, however, he has proven he can play at least at an AA squad level.

- Clark: (suggested addition) A definite trade win/positive. AA potential. I hope he is given license to attack with dare. Watching him open up games for our forwards will be delightful.

Then we have a plethora of B grader types who can offer a lot to the team.

Aish will be good for another three to five, doing his job and doing it well consistently.
Switta.
Treacy can play a role. Run and move the ball well from the wings to half forward.
Pearce: When fit is a solid defender. Another two to three years while we develop some youngsters will be vital.

The could be anything group:

Simpson: He looks to have it. Who knows what the real season will bring, however, this guy looks like a lock to be at least a very solid B grader and possibly more.

Draper/Murphy/Hatless: All have shown glimpses and enough to suggest they can come into the team and improve it eventually.

Chapman: Injuries have meant I am less bullish on him. If he was injury free I would place him right after Jackson and Amiss on this list. Fingers crossed on Chappy.

Draft:

We have a great hand coming at the end of this year. Enough that we could land a gun and still pick in the first round for a top end talent that meets needs.

Trading:

I think we have a core locked in. The chatter makes it seem like we are at least a 50/50 chance to bring over McDonald. If we were to get him or Sam Taylor the year after, there wouldn't be a team that could match our top end talent across the field.

I am sure that I have missed some obvious ones, so add your own. The point is, I want to see a bullish approach from the club. That means we should evaluate Longmuir without fear of who will replace him. Freo is one of the clubs best placed to win two or three premierships in the next decade. We should act like it.

Based on this seasons development I need to move Treacy to the A grader list to be optimistic about. The lad has taken one hell of a leap this season!

Treacy's just become very exciting! He moves like a flippin' jaguar, he wrestles/tackles like a god damn gorilla, he flies like a sugar glider and he kicks snags like a.....erm, super snagger! Yeah, came a bit unstuck there.

I reckon he could explode with a 5-7 goal game one day soon. Hopefully it replaces Tabs against Essendon! :tearsofjoy:

I long for the old days when full forwards kicked a bag of goals and that means 5 or more.

But i think the change to game style and Mid fielders kicking goals too sadly my dreams of a season with closer to 100 goals for coleman are just that dreams

I long for the old days when full forwards kicked a bag of goals and that means 5 or more.

But i think the change to game style and Mid fielders kicking goals too sadly my dreams of a season with closer to 100 goals for coleman are just that dreams

There was a certain swagger to big forwards when they were kicking five regularly. I think we have two KPF's with the ability to kick 55-75 goals. What a luxury, especially when one was taken in the rookie draft.

Optimism will grow for each win against the top 8 teams.

Let hope it is good week for us.

And no betting of anything on win or loss