J-Train

Gday there, me and few mates have been running as a group over a 4km stretch of beach for the past six weeks. I was just wondering what would be a decent time to be clocking for a distance like that? The first time we did it, finished in about 26 minutes and was stuffed. :o The last two times it has been around the 22 minute mark and we've been running it like a race... it always gets competitive, can't help it! I seem to have no idea about pace.... go out too hard, nothing left at the end.... take it easy at the start, then go hard at the end and finish with something left thinking "damn, I should have taken off earlier." Is working out pace a trial and error thing or should there be a certain time per km I should be aiming for?

Cheers! :)

LOL. It's not that far Chirpy...if you took it really easy you'd be able to do it no probs. Its only because we have turned it into a bit of a weekly race that I'm trying to improve my time. I think the Tan run in Melbourne is about 4km isnt it? And the AFL boys do that in about 13 minutes i think. :eek:

Yeah im a bit unfit.. but my god how could one run for 13 minutes proberly non stop?:confused::o

Pacing yourself is the best way to run. Judging from your recent times, I would recommend you aim try to run each of the first three kilometres at 5 and a half minutes each, then using your adrenalin in the last kilometre to burst ahead of your friends. I've found that when running by myself, I have little motivation at the end of a run (apart from beating my previous times), but when running in groups, I can always find that extra kick at the end to push me home. So I think you should consider that too. Like I said, pace yourself early, aim for 5 and a half minutes km's, then give whatever you have in the last km to beat your friends.

4ks is about my limit. I've done it a few times, jogging my nearby bike track and back, the best I recall doing it in was 19 minutes.

u cant just say 4km because the 4km you run would be entirely different to say a 4km road race

if u get under 20mins your going quite well and anything under 18.5mins is starting to get very good

if u wanna run a good time u should work as a team for the first 3/3.5 kms and take turns leading (and go hard from the start)
then have ur sprint over the last 500m for the winner

u can only run a good time if u go very hard at the start and manage to hold it just until that adrenaline kicks in as u can see the finish

I could probably do it on 20 minutes or just under, when I push myself I tend to go about 12km/hour and I can maintain that for closer to 6-8kms.

I am pretty slow though, so I don't think 20 minutes is anywhere near a good time.

You have to appreciate marathon runners doing 42km in 125 mins lol.

That's under 3 mins for every km. So they would do 4km in 12 mins, and do it 10 and a half times over at that same speed. Amazing!

Again, it depends on your level of fitness.

6 minute kms suggests a pretty ordinary level of fitness unless you're about 9 or 10. If you're active something around your 22 minutes is at the low end of OK. Don't know your age or history, but if you're a teenager and playing footy, for example, if you're running 22 minute 4kms you wouldn't be playing on the ball, you'd be resting in a pocket.

The Tan's 3.83km, so if you're running around that part of the world (unlikely from the GC :o)add about 40-60 seconds to get a 4km time. The best AFL runners run the Tan in just over 13 minutes, and in Athletivs Victoria's Tan relays, about 15-20 % of runners break 13 minutes on the course (hopefully me included in about 5 weeks).

Try to run even, or work yourself into a groove so that you're stuffed when you're finished, and not earlier. If you know of landmarks on your course, measure it up on mapmyrun.com or google maps so you can work out a better idea of where to take off and run "balls out" till you're finished.

Good luck, and hopefully any progress is steady.:thumbsu:

Thanks for the replies guys... seems that most here think around 18-20 minutes is a good time so that would mean shaving a couple more minutes off.
For the poster who wanted to know about the terrain - the 4km course is between two headlands so it starts at the top of a hill, down, flat, up to the top a hill, (2km mark) then turn around and come back.
Must admit, we take the first 2km pretty easy and talk a bit on the way as we are running and then its silence on the way back as we start making our moves. LOL. Funny how even a stupid run can get competitive!
For the poster who wanted to know age - I'm 31, 6ft 1 and 79.5kg - and yes I still play footy and I play in the centre. Definately not a run all day player, but not a slouch either. I have played sport my entire life pretty much and would say i am reasonably fit but I'm fanatical about it. I was just interested in other people's times to get an idea if we are way off the average pace or improving to around the mark we should be doing it in. :):thumbsu:

Pacing yourself is the best way to run. Judging from your recent times, I would recommend you aim try to run each of the first three kilometres at 5 and a half minutes each, then using your adrenalin in the last kilometre to burst ahead of your friends. I've found that when running by myself, I have little motivation at the end of a run (apart from beating my previous times), but when running in groups, I can always find that extra kick at the end to push me home. So I think you should consider that too. Like I said, pace yourself early, aim for 5 and a half minutes km's, then give whatever you have in the last km to beat your friends.

Thanks Demonfan I will give the 5 and a half minute km rule a crack on Tuesday when we run again and see if I can put in a more even effort. :thumbsu:

As part of pre season we used to have to do 10 laps (4km) in 15 mins. At the start of pre season, not too many achieved this. But come the end of pre season and the finish of all the fitness owrk, most of us got under 15 mins.

just did a measure of the course i run
its 4.5km (which includes one ****en massive hill that goes up over 140feet) and my best is 19.30

I used to run the 3000m on the track in sub 10 mins in my final year of school, but that was with absolutely nothing left in the tank at all. I was also much much fitter than I am now.

Probably looking at around the 15 minute mark for my 4km best. But more like 18-20 these days.

Funnily enough I find it easier to run faster than slower, tend to get aches when I am not really striding out.

depends on your fitness levels. if you can break 20 minutes you're doing pretty well. thats 5 mins per km.

if you can break 16 minutes then thats exceptional. if you can break 12 minutes thats pretty elite. as in top 2 or 3% i'd reckon.

my best was about 15 mins in year 12.

now i'd be lucky to make it without breaking down :(

Continually re-evaluate your goals as you get fitter.

set a goal of running 5 seconds per km faster than you currently do.
The key is pacing out each km, rather than go too hard and burn out with a km still to go.

when I was much fitter, I'd always aim to break 4 min km's.
My personal best was 19:05 for 5km

When a taxi driver takes a lady from Flinders Street to Docklands and she gives him oral pleasure instead of paying the fare.

my best time is 14.41 for 4 km (well 4.1 to be precise, this section around the maribyrnong river). most afl players get under 14. i think u have to get under 15 mins to be an afl umpire and under 16 to be a copper so thats a few different standards for ya.....

AFL Goal Umpires need to run 4km in 18.30mins or better to even be considered for appointments. Thats Goal Umpires!

The fittest Goalies are running under 16mins...

Boundary and Field Umps are running closer to 12-13mins for 4km...

AFL Goal Umpires need to run 4km in 18.30mins or better to even be considered for appointments. Thats Goal Umpires!

The fittest Goalies are running under 16mins...

Boundary and Field Umps are running closer to 12-13mins for 4km...
yeh i dont get that at all. why the hell do goalies have to be able to get times for 4km distances? surely something lke a 20m sprint would be more beneficial?