Opinion What are our true needs for 2013?

Oct 10, 2006
Dreamland
Altona Vikings
I'm over reading about Stefan Martin and Cameron Pederson!
Martin is a dud, plain and simple and Pederson hasn't played enough footy to warrant this type of hype.
We have the follwing players on our list to cover KP & Ruck.

KPD - Brown, Reid & Keeffe
KPF - Cloke, Paine, Ceglar (too Raw) & Dawes (no more ruck for him)
Ruck - Jolly, Wood, Witts (too Raw).

Clearly we are need of a transitional ruck that can be a No.2/fwd while Jolly is still Fit and has the ability to play No.1 for the next 3-4 year. My vote is Zac Clarke from Freo.
We would need to trade (probably Wellers) to get him but we need to replace Wood!

We also could use that 3rd fwd/ruck which by the sounds of it is Lynch....I'm not bothered either way with him.

What are peoples thoughts on Zac Clarke?

In no particular order:

- A good kicker or 2 in the back half. Our kick ins this season were atrocious.
- A back up ruckman
- A stronger set of assistant coaches
- No mid season dramas (Exactly like Sydney this year)

In no particular order:

- A good kicker or 2 in the back half. Our kick ins this season were atrocious.
- A back up ruckman
- A stronger set of assistant coaches
- No mid season dramas (Exactly like Sydney this year)

- Keeping the ball in the forward 50 again.
- Goal kicking

Does anyone know what the situation with Cam Wood is?

Is he off contract? If so, is he going to be retained or is the club going to put the faith in Witts and Ceglar?

Does anyone know what the situation with Cam Wood is?

Is he off contract? If so, is he going to be retained or is the club going to put the faith in Witts and Ceglar?

Not sure Contract wise but I imagine his future will be dependent on FA and trade week. If we pick up someone like Q, Martin etc he may find himself on the outer. Really not sure.

Someone that has great kick in skills. In fact, I'd want someone similar to a Leon Davis type. Not sure who there is that is similar to him but his kick in skills were great. Also a back up ruckman would nobviously help as well. Would relieve Dawes of most of his back up ruckman duties and he can solely focus on getting his form in the Forward half back up.

Ross Lyon seems to be keen on Wellingham from what I have heard.
Might be able to do something there...

Screw Ross. He had his chance at Sharrod and he missed the boat.

I cannot see Wellingham leaving Victoria. I also cannot see him joining the Dees. I'm confident we will strike a deal with him.

Martin is far from a dud and you think Pederson is better then him going by your op?? lol
I stated that Pederson has been in the system for a short amount of time (2 years)....Martin has been in the league 5/6 years.
I think they are both worse than any KPF/KPD on our current list. Wood would also out ruck both these spuds....as bad as he is.

I stated that Pederson has been in the system for a short amount of time (2 years)....Martin has been in the league 5/6 years.
I think they are both worse than any KPF/KPD on our current list. Wood would also out ruck both these spuds....as bad as he is.

Going off Martins 2011 form when he had a good run at it injury wise he would pants Wood so much more talented then him it's not funny (Ave 30 HO wood has never done that).

Just because he plays for a piss poor side doesn't mean he doesn't have talent and can't out perform a Dawes in the role he played in 2012.

Martin also took up the game at 18 iirc where as Pederson has played his whole life and is a battler.

Going off Martins 2011 form when he had a good run at it injury wise he would pants Wood so much more talented then him it's not funny (Ave 30 HO wood has never done that).

Just because he plays for a piss poor side doesn't mean he doesn't have talent and can't out perform a Dawes in the role he played in 2012.

Martin also took up the game at 18 iirc where as Pederson has played his whole life and is a battler.
WRONG!
In 2011 Martin averaged 15 HO per game.
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pc-melbourne-demons--stefan-martin
Wood averaged 22 HO this season and 22 HO last season.
As I said, I haven't seen enough of Pederson...so I won't Judge.

Yeah I should of checked the stats my bad was going off what a melbourne supporter on here was stating.

Anyway the games I've seen Martin play he has been good including against us.
No worries mate. But do we need a bloke like him....average KPP and average ruck backup?
I'd rather Clarke....Ruck size and super athletic!

An attacking back flanker with elite footskills.
A fast, linebreaking outside midfielder.
A second established star ruckman (think Cox/McIntosh/Z.Smith/Giles) who is capable as not only a no.2 ruckman but also as a no.1 ruckman to a top 10 league standard.
A second star key forward.

No worries mate. But do we need a bloke like him....average KPP and average ruck backup?
I'd rather Clarke....Ruck size and super athletic!

I just think as a 3rd tall fwd and 2nd ruck he has good stats when you compare them to others in the role and the right height build for it (not too tall and un mobile), he is also very athletic but I've only seen a handful of his games so they could of been exceptions not the norm.

Btw Clarke ave 8 ho a game and under a goal a game not really great numbers.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-fremantle-dockers--zachary-clarke

I just think as a 3rd tall fwd and 2nd ruck he has good stats when you compare them to others in the role and the right height build for it (not too tall and un mobile), he is also very athletic but I've only seen a handful of his games so they could of been exceptions not the norm.

Btw Clarke ave 8 ho a game and under a goal a game not really great numbers.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-fremantle-dockers--zachary-clarke
Yeah true about Clarke but has heaps of up side.

From all reports, we have Q-Stick now.

I think we need to either develop or recruit a specialist tagger. Too many opposition midfielders are having field days against us, such as Kennedy, Kerr, Mitchell, the list goes on. I think Toovey could play this role but he's handy to play on small forwards like Jetta. Perhaps Luke Ball could play this role next year with Beams now stepping up, or perhaps if Wellers wants to go home we could trade for a Selwood or perhaps Ryan Crowley and some good ol' Freo steak knives.

An attacking back flanker with elite footskills.
A fast, linebreaking outside midfielder.
A second established star ruckman (think Cox/McIntosh/Z.Smith/Giles) who is capable as not only a no.2 ruckman but also as a no.1 ruckman to a top 10 league standard.
A second star key forward.

...and the premiership is delivered.

Yeah I know. The media doesn't report facts anymore...just opinion.

I'm happy if we pick up a ruck/3rd tall and keep the required players.

Ehhh the media has never pulled off facts. Simply because it's the media.

Opinion What are our true needs for 2013?