Training Reports Includes Updated Training Times

Re: Training Reports - 2010 Preseason includes Training Time

How did Grimes look guys watched the video of him on the afl sight looks like a Harry Taylor type big boy with good height but can run and create also ?? also how did Gourdis look I'm hopeing for this kid to come on.

grimes seemed to have a good work ethic. In my opinion he isn't tall enough though and his kicking was shocking.

Yeah mate it was alroy gilligan and i heard the phyio say he had done something to his shoulder. But he went back on and did ok.

Also new recruit David Astbury while training with the main group did something to his upper area of his foot. He was then resricted to jogging around the wing.

Also new recriut Ben Nason did something to his groin/hip flexor area and then was restricted to doing jogging along side Astbury

Very long session today for the lads.

I thought it was Alroy Gilligan. I was right then.
Deledio trained well in parts. He looks faster at the moment and bigger.
The kid with the blonde dreadlocks needs to bulk up over pre-season to have any chance of playing for the senior's next year thoguh.

Popped down to training for the first couple of hours today. It was a pretty good turn out, around 50 or so people there at the peak I would say.

As for the players and staff, there were dozens of them out there, 50+ I would say. All of the players on our current list were wearing regular training tops but the "try-outs" were wearing alternative strips with numbers (except for Polak). I counted six all up, but there could have been a couple of more. Two or three of them looked very young and thin. I can confirm Freezer Jrn was there. He is short, but pretty well built... his build reminds me of Nathan Foley. Alot of these guys sat out of the drills. One "try-out" looked bigger and older then the rest (number 18 I think). Maybe it was this Justin fella from QAFL.

Anyway, onto the session itself...

At the start of the session the "rehab group" consisted of Nason, Foley, Cotchin and Rance whom were participating in reflex handball drills. Cousins wasn't there and I didn't notice Deledio there so he may have been missing too. I'm not 100% sure if Hislop was there either.

I paid particular attention to the young blokes....

• Nason obviously stands out but didn't participate in most of the drills. Instead ran repeat 100m sprints with fitness staff
  • Dea is well built youngster, didn't notice him too much though
  • Griffiths is a massive unit. He had his arm in a sling and took part in some light kicking at the start of the session
  • Martin is already a decent size, but he has the build to end up being a very large and powefully built player such as Kane Johnson or Dan Jackson
  • Astbury isn't as skinny as I thought he might be at 195cm and 79kg. When compared to Thursty and McGuane he is significantly skinnier, but looks a decent size for a young KPP.
  • Taylor is quite tall. Didn't notice him too much, as he spent a bit of time on the side lines. Still very skinny
  • Farmer is quite small. Edwards is listed at 180cm and he looks significantly shorter then then him. Definatly knows what he is doing though.
  • Jamie O'Rielly is also very skinny. He moves well and looks to have marking down pat but his kicking is quite iffy as you would expect
As far as conditioning goes I think McGuane has put on some decent size. Tambling also looks to have filled out fully. Whitey looks a bit bigger across the chest aswell. Morton is looking very fit and I'm expecting big things from him this year. Nahas and Gilligan are still very skinny.

There was plenty of encouragment from everyone which was pretty nice to hear.

The skill level for the most part was pretty good. Tambling and Polo both looked very sharp with the pill in hand while McMohan, Gourdis and Collins (yes Collins) made a few errors. However McMohan was actually one of the most impressive in a midfeild clearance drill.

I can't really think of anything else. Any questions, fire away...

Good reports, cheers guys! A few questions...

Was Connors out there, hows he looking fitness, enthusiasm wise?

How was Tambo doing in the contested work? Was he training with the rest of the mids?

Have Vickery, Post, JR, Cotch, Collins put any upper body size on? How'd they look on the track (besides cotch obviously)

Is Rance's kicking looking any better?

Do Lade and Leppa look like they'll be any good at this coaching caper?

Good report, cheers RG...

You see Connors out there, hows he looking fitness, enthusiasm wise? Conners looked it pretty good spirits. His fitness looks okay, he seems to have lost a little bit of weight

How was Tambo doing in the contested work? Was he training with the rest of the mids? Tambling actually struggled a little bit on the inside work. However his kicking, running and enthusiasm were all very good.

Have Vickery, Post, JR, Cotch, Collins putting any upper body size on? How'd they look on the track (besides cotch obviously) Collins looks pretty good athletically, however he still needs to put weight on. Cotch is ready made if he can get on the park. Already a good size. Vickery is still very thin and got thrown around by Graham and Simmonds in the ruck duels. Riewoldt looks a good size. Could do with another 3 or 4 kgs. Post still needs to put on weight - doesn't have much arm definition.

Is Rance's kicking looking any better? Rance didn't do any kicking. Mainly just ran laps for most of the session. Was apart of the rehab group early

Do Lade and Leppa look like they'll be any good at this coaching caper? Both were very vocal. Leppitch is particually impressive. Really goes into depth with players about body position, wrestling and the likes. Very impressive

Martin is a star!
I think out of the midfield group that were there. When the did clearances and then got it out he looked the best. Deledio, Cousins, Cotchin and Foley wernt there but from the rest Martin looked the best imo. He got 3 staright clearances and strugged off our 3rd, 4th and 5th years players, Is that a good thing or bad considering he is a first year player.

Good report, cheers RG...

You see Connors out there, hows he looking fitness, enthusiasm wise? Conners looked it pretty good spirits. His fitness looks okay, he seems to have lost a little bit of weight

How was Tambo doing in the contested work? Was he training with the rest of the mids? Tambling actually struggled a little bit on the inside work. However his kicking, running and enthusiasm were all very good.

Have Vickery, Post, JR, Cotch, Collins putting any upper body size on? How'd they look on the track (besides cotch obviously) Collins looks pretty good athletically, however he still needs to put weight on. Cotch is ready made if he can get on the park. Already a good size. Vickery is still very thin and got thrown around by Graham and Simmonds in the ruck duels. Riewoldt looks a good size. Could do with another 3 or 4 kgs. Post still needs to put on weight - doesn't have much arm definition.

Is Rance's kicking looking any better? Rance didn't do any kicking. Mainly just ran laps for most of the session. Was apart of the rehab group early

Do Lade and Leppa look like they'll be any good at this coaching caper? Both were very vocal. Leppitch is particually impressive. Really goes into depth with players about body position, wrestling and the likes. Very impressive

Thanks RG, good to hear Connors is getting in shape, hold big hopes for him. Also, I loved leppa as a player, great to hear that he's able to communicate what he knows. Think we've got the cattle in the backline, hopefully he can mould them into a really solid unit.

my wrap of today
like the way they train these days. keep hearing hardwick say AGAIN., wouldnt let them rest till they got it right.
lade was demanding that players without the ball bumperbar the other team in traffic, i assume that mean blocking for ur team mates,
looked like they are realy trying to teach the kids these days,
they worked on the clockwise zone for about a hour.
cotchin started in the rehab group then got involved in main group, heard the trainer say that cotchin isnt injured , just doesnt do all the drill yet, because of the hip.
cousins had the day off to attend a funeral.
was super impressed with martin, he looked realy fit and trained with the main group for the whole session, kid looks all class. now if we could only get lids cotch foley and martin fit and raring to go rd 1.
connors realy looked good and was realy chasing and running hard in drills
geez that irish dude can kick, bullet passes
thursty looked good to,, him and moore looked to have put on a bit around there sholders,
there was soo many players out there it was hard see who was who
looked like post was working on his leading and repeat leading, maybe they going to make him chf
the boys trained for alot longer then i ever saw them train with wallace, they trained for 3 hrs and had to go to oakleigh for tackling prac this arvo.

also dont think we should draft grimes, we have heaps of 191 backman and he cant kick. trained hard tho.
there was a short little stockie guy there who went alright and had some size about him, he had a number 35 jumper on.
and im excited about the big griff, the kid is a monster and cant wait to see this boy in a year or two,

Leighroy,

Cotchin actually left the track early and went in the pool. He wasn't training with the main group at all.

had a trainer come and talk to a dude sitting behind us and he said cuz had a day off to attend a funeral, the trainer also said cotchin is pretty much right just doesnt do all the drills to protect his hip for a week or so more, and said that ashbury is a realy good kid

Got along today and felt like we're going in the right direction. The most positive thing i saw was the interaction the coaches had with players. Having such a young list it's crucial that we've got good teachers to show them how it's done. Leppa and DH in particular even got into the sessions.

Kel Moore looks sizable and was running sprints with del. Appears he will play as fullback in 2010 which i'm really happy about. He looked like he was going places in 08 so hopefully he can regain that form.

my wrap of today
like the way they train these days. keep hearing hardwick say AGAIN., wouldnt let them rest till they got it right.
lade was demanding that players without the ball bumperbar the other team in traffic, i assume that mean blocking for ur team mates,
looked like they are realy trying to teach the kids these days,
they worked on the clockwise zone for about a hour.
cotchin started in the rehab group then got involved in main group, heard the trainer say that cotchin isnt injured , just doesnt do all the drill yet, because of the hip.
cousins had the day off to attend a funeral.
was super impressed with martin, he looked realy fit and trained with the main group for the whole session, kid looks all class. now if we could only get lids cotch foley and martin fit and raring to go rd 1.
connors realy looked good and was realy chasing and running hard in drills
geez that irish dude can kick, bullet passes
thursty looked good to,, him and moore looked to have put on a bit around there sholders,
there was soo many players out there it was hard see who was who
looked like post was working on his leading and repeat leading, maybe they going to make him chf
the boys trained for alot longer then i ever saw them train with wallace, they trained for 3 hrs and had to go to oakleigh for tackling prac this arvo.

also dont think we should draft grimes, we have heaps of 191 backman and he cant kick. trained hard tho.
there was a short little stockie guy there who went alright and had some size about him, he had a number 35 jumper on.
and im excited about the big griff, the kid is a monster and cant wait to see this boy in a year or two,

good work. from what i saw today grimes actually has pretty good athleticism and kicking skills, but obviously needs to put some muscle on. don't expect him to be a kpp defender but as a 3rd tall who runs off his opponent and creates. wouldn't mind giving him a go.

totally agree with you on griff. he's a unit and a half. good skills during the light kicking despite having an arm in a sling. good hands too, considering he was only using his free hand to catching and dropping the ball to kick.

Hi i'm from SA and have nason play a few games for centrals as i'm a doggies fan. I'm wrapped he got picked up, he will be a good hard working small forward for the club along with nahas. How has look in pre-season so far? I heard that he might be a bit injured.

Great Reports guys.I'm just wondering is Daniel Daly our forward guy recruited with Lade and Leppa started yet havent herd a mention of him??.

Just read on the Adelaidenow website that Cuz had surgery on Monday to fix a problem with his left hand and a recurring shoulder problem.
Club has given him 10 days leave & he flew to Perth on Wednesday to be with family while he recovers. Ben's expected back at training by the end of the week.
http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow

What a great report MT. You obviously have a lot of passion for the club. Well done! I am living in Tasmania and cant get to watch any training sessions at the minute but was wondering if you would be able to give me a run down on how J Webberley is training and how he is looking for the season ahead. I watched most of Webberley's Clarence Football Club matches last year and was very impressed with him as an player. Obviously AFL is a step above from State League so I was interested in hearing how he is stepping up to the challenge, What your personal views are on him and do you think he could be a possiblity for Round 1 in the NAB Cup. Would appreciate your time muchly.

One thing stands out to me, 99% of our guys have skinny/toned legs and hips and big upper bodies/arms. It should be the other way around. Cotch in particular, huge upper body and arms, tiny legs. No wonder he has had so many achilles issues.

Training Reports Includes Updated Training Times