errant bounce

May 2, 2024
South Fremantle
Anyone watch media watch tonight?

Big Tony 'Sharehouse' Armstrong's 'retirement' (you don't retire from a job to just get another one you idiot) from ABC News Breakfast wasn't all the self advancing he made it out to be.

He was doing voiceover ads for NRMA Insurance as they try and pivot from an insurance company into something else. he was also doing other ads. it is stipulated in the ABC contract that you're unable to do other work unless okayed by the ABC. which sounds about right. after all, for the idiots they have on there on massive wages, it is ultimate a publicly funded asset. Tony tried to wiggle around the clause by only voicing ads and not being the face of them. these NRMA ads were shown a lot during 9's Olympics broadcast and that's clearly triggered a couple of people at the ABC who've watched and cottoned on.

So, essentially, he's been sacked from the ABC for being greedy and going against the terms of his contract so he could make a few more bucks.

Interesting.

Source: https://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/episodes/armstrong/104413980

Think it's fairly noteworthy that someone pretends to leave a job when really they were sacked, particularly when they permeated a 'nice guy' persona and bangs on about ethics and shit all the time.

Umm isn’t he just going on a different show on the ABC?

Yup. Was confirmed in a press release.

Thanks I was positive I had read that. So based off press release he is hosting a new, yet to be announced show.

Could still be smoke and mirrors to cover up a sacking and the show never comes to fruition but would be an extremely odd way to go about it.

At first I thought what has this got to with footy then I realised he was a journeyman player years ago so I guess there's a tenuous link to relevance to this subforum. Not sure if any one cares though.

Thanks I was positive I had read that. So based off press release he is hosting a new, yet to be announced show.

Could still be smoke and mirrors to cover up a sacking and the show never comes to fruition but would be an extremely odd way to go about it.
Guardian picked this up on Friday.
While the ABC tried to spin it like the breakout star was just moving from breakfast TV to prime time, Armstrong’s contract with Aunty ends on 4 October. He is in negotiations with TV boss Chris Oliver-Taylor for a project which would keep him at the public broadcaster.
Sounds like he's shopping himself around.

Reckon this is a massive beat up as i understand it he’s freelance and can do what he likes as long as it doesn’t breach is contracts elsewhere , if it has then fair play but he’s worked for Fox Footy, SBS and Ten in the time he’s been on the ABC. Not sure he would get away with the moonlighting if he didn’t have permission.

So what you’re saying is tony armstrong created this thread himself to drum up his value

The Sounding Board played some audio today of the Fox Footy voiceovers and put it up against the ad and his ABC work, sounds a heck of a lot like the same person... Given it's been the same voice all season, bit weird of the ABC to get up in arms about an ad and not an entire year of 'allegedly' voicing promos on Fox Footy

I thought the same about the Fox Footy thing, too.

The issue is that his contract doesn't allow you to do ads for rival networks and to put your face to commercial ads without okaying from the ABC. he used a loophole by doing voiceovers, but he never had permission.

The ABC are either pissed off at this guy making hundreds of thousands of dollars for multiple brands and just about every other network. or they don't care.

Too hard to understand what their stance is other than the fact old nice boy Tony is just a money hungry, self serving flog.

I think he is one of the good guys, and is a good operator in general on TV

But this is just equality at work

Unfortunately a lot of people (lefties) seem to think favouritism is equality, which is why this is news

Must be resolved now considering Armstrong has this morning been announced as a host of a major event on ABC television next month.

I think he is one of the good guys, and is a good operator in general on TV

But this is just equality at work

Unfortunately a lot of people (lefties) seem to think favouritism is equality, which is why this is news
Why's he one of the good guys? because he's got a smile your granny would like to see at the table on Christmas?

He's just a trendy w***er, plenty of stories about what a knobhead he is. he's done everything possible to tiptoe around a contract knowing that if he's called on it, well...

Very much so.

Some privileged people in this country hate the tree but will happily eat the fruit that it bares.
You drongo.

Its not actually hard to acknowledge that for most of us, we're living in a contender for the most fortunate society of people in the history of the world, while also acknowledging that for many people, particularly ones of indigenous descent, its difficult to just accept they should suck up intergenerational trauma resulting from having their land dispossessed and their ancestors massacred.

It just takes being able to see the world in more than black and white.

shrug meh GIF

Status in Question Tony Armstrong and the ABC