Society & Culture Things that Make You Feel Old

Being told by my doctor to have a bone density scan
I had it done two years ago. It showed I have osteopenia, a stage prior to osteoporosis. Just another to add to my list of illnesses. I take an Alendronate tablet once a week and Vitamin D daily.

On SM-A135F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I mentioned to my AgedCare helper today, that I was looking forward to watching Christmas Vacation once again this season. She had never heard of it, nor any of the Vacation films. She turns 30 next month. It came out five years before she was born.

On SM-A135F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Happy Christmas Vacation GIF by Divi Project

These days the reminders of my mortality are as subtle as bricks.
2 people in my block of units - 1 my age 1 10 years older - may not see 2024 out

1 with cancer which seems to be winning :(

The other had a brain bleed/swelling which has left him disoriented

When you turn 50 the government sends you a home bowel cancer screening kit. It basically involves taking two samples of your shit and sending it into a lab.

One of my good mate's test came back positive. ****!
Hopefully they’ve caught it early and it’s very treatable. That is the positive with this. 🤞🏼

It's not his first test - they send one every two years after you turn 50 - and he's been diligent about doing them, as his wife had her own brush with cancer a couple of years back.

So yeah, he tested negative two years ago, definitely caught it early.

It is a definite "I feel old" moment when all of the players from your draft year are already retired.

I remember reading the footy Record as a kid and we mostly had players running around born in the 60s as the last of our 1950s players retired in 1990. Our young players like Jakovich and McIntosh were a decade or so older than me. Fast forward a decade and people my age are running around. I never knew anyone personally who got drafted but still kinda cool seeing friends of friends etc. I think Gary Ablett Jr was the last of the 2001 draft class to retire having lasted to 2020 so I got to see a few years of Ablett Sr kicking 100 snags a season for fun, then 350 games of Ablett Jr making the game look easy, and it wouldn't surprise me if there's another generation of Ablett running around before too long.

What does my head in is that there are father son Daveys and Burgoynes already. Gary Ablett was mid 30s by the time I watched him play and always looked like a middle aged man. I could've sworn Alwyn Davey was only mid 30s now but apparently he's 40. Shaun Burgoyne retired 5 minutes ago (admittedly he did play forever) and already has a kid playing SANFL.
Stages of life, using the AFL to measure it:

"I want to be drafted when I'm old enough!" (Too bad no ability)
"Well I didn't get drafted"
"There are still players my age, there's hope" (still no ability though)
"There aren't any players my age"
"I've a kid old enough to be drafted"
"There are players younger than my kids" <-- My eldest is 19, so I've just cracked this stage
"My kids are too old to play"
"My grandkids could be drafted"

When you turn 50 the government sends you a home bowel cancer screening kit. It basically involves taking two samples of your shit and sending it into a lab.

One of my good mate's test came back positive. ****!
I also had a positive test and then had a colonoscopy. Fortunately it was only a haemorrhoid that had bled slightly. They cauterised it and all was well. (Sorry if TMI.)

Stages of life, using the AFL to measure it:

"I want to be drafted when I'm old enough!" (Too bad no ability)
"Well I didn't get drafted"
"There are still players my age, there's hope" (still no ability though)
"There aren't any players my age"
"I've a kid old enough to be drafted"

"There are players younger than my kids" <-- My eldest is 19, so I've just cracked this stage
"My kids are too old to play"
"My grandkids could be drafted"

I'm halfway between the two bolded now.:oops:

Yeah, I only started assembling some of the shaped display stuff last night.
Running waaaaay behind this year courtesy of recent chest infection.

Plus added more after Xmas last year + more from Costco this year so no idea where to fit them all in.

Big weekend of light installation coming up...

I work with people who don't understand Scrubs or Entourage references.
See, that I understand, but some things transcend regular pop culture. Not knowing what Smells Like Teen Spirit is would be like me not knowing what the White Album by the Beatles was. It wasn't my jam as a young adult but I bloody well knew what it was.

Oh yeah I get that. I feel the same way about some films. If you don't recognise the Jaws theme or who Darth Vader is I have to question if you've been living under a rock your whole life. Some things are era specific but other things you should just know. I now work with people who aren't old enough to remember 9/11 but I'll slap anyone who has made it to 25 and doesn't know what that is. I feel old when 25 year olds don't get references to stuff that was aimed at 25 year olds. I wouldn't expect my dad to know what Entourage is, but I would expect him to know who captained the Australian sides during the WSC era.

I reckon Seinfeld is borderline "you should know this". Not every reference from every show but if you are confused at a trivia night by 'which show about nothing featured Jerry, Elaine, Kramer and George?' give it away.

Won't be long before people don't know what Game of Thrones is. Which is probably a good thing. Maybe we can expunge the last two seasons so future generations can rewatch and still think it's great.

He aged and got very thin in the last series 🙁
He'd given up hard liquor and was subsisting on spliffs and beer. He got a bit better when he went back on the hard stuff but it was only a few years before he died.

Society & Culture Things that Make You Feel Old