- Aug 25, 2011
- AFL Club
- Fremantle
- Other Teams
- Coney Island Warriors, SFFC, Hajduk
The Dav Story
At some point back in late S25, a young kdavva74 stumbled upon the gates of the Sweet FA.
To his right he saw an attractive club, The Royals, and to his left was a road.
Kennedy Parker said, “Come with me through the gate and spend the season with us, or walk the road to success.”
Now for some context, legendary Royal and admired and respected former admin Kennedy Parker was nice enough to chime in on young kdavva74’s fleeting time at the Royals.
Whoops, spoiler alert.
KP: A young rookie by the name of kdavva74 popped into the signup thread during S25 finals brimming with youthful exuberance and a desire to make a significant contribution and impact from the outset, with like maybe a few hundred posts to his name at the time.
I sent him a PM, he was going to join the Royals.
He started writing QrownMedia Threads, a rookie diary thread, a promising beginning as kdavva74 hyped up his debut season by making numerous media appearances, almost to the annoyance of the rest of the league.
Despite giving his word that he would be playing under the universally respected captain Blacky , Dav would go on to doubt his suitability for the Royals as his talent level was noticeably lower than those around him. Instead he would be attracted to the delinquent culture in Las Vegas cultivated by JoshWoodenSpoon. In a flagrant display of disloyalty and dishonor young Dav would jump ship to the Bears on the Eve of the season, The Half Back branded him the deserving title of "turncoat flog".
The only thing I remember from the Cadaver afterwards was he spammed a lot of threads, got outsmarted by BRAB a lot, lost the unloseable EKA
Somewhere between all that he PM'd me this 1000 word essay on how sh*t it was to live in NT...
Sorry that's all I really have. I kinda reserve the milestone game effort posts for premiership teammates of mine. Which Dav could have been had he not been a turncoat flog.
And so alas, a young davva was always eager to get ahead in the Sweet FA, and after a momentary pause with the Royals, he decided against staying and chose to walk the road.
Young davva finds what he feels is an even more attractive club at the dawn of Season 26, standing in front of another gate. Here he finds JoshWoodenSpoon and next to him is another road. JWS said, "Come with me through the gate and all your qooty fantasies will be granted, or walk the road to success."
Now two famous Spambears, fellow S26 recruit Barrybran and former Bears skipper JoshWoodenSpoon recalled their time together with Dav at the Bears.
Barrybran: I didn't realise he was a rookie at first as he was well and truly into the history of the league and media by the time I arrived
JWS: (I thought he was a) Massive nerd.
I think it was obvious pretty immediately that Dav was after the fullest Sweet experience as quickly as possible, and after sinking his teeth (and then some) into the league for a week or so, he sent me a PM reckoning that that would be with the Bears. I was pretty delighted, as genuine enthusiasm, wonder, adventure and curiosity are great hallmarks of the SweetFA, and Dav had them in spades.
Barrybran: From my perspective, it was all organic. JWS brought us in, answered any questions we had but we just happened to have a small group of posters come in at the same time who all took an interest in each other and the league.
JWS: There were certainly concerted efforts going on to make it as welcoming and fun a place as possible, but you'd have to say the mix was mostly concocted by chance, and just a testament to what Dav, Barrybran, Test Tickle, Tandy, Its Manbearpig and the like could dream up.
Of course there was the EKA controversy in that debut season…
Barrybran: We all knew Dav deserved it (the EKA) that season but it was great theatre as well having me pip him at the post.
JWS: The SweetFA is storied with nonsense accolade shenanigans, and I think he took it fine and there was plenty of good-natured skirmishing between he and Baz along the way. You can be sure that we loved him and what he brought at the Bears though - he took out our best rookie award, stepped right into our LG, and got All-SweetFA (also a sham award) honours that season - everyone knew he was a gun.
But in the end the Spambears disbanded, with both Baz and JWS moving on from the club, leaving Dav to assume the reigns. It would signal the beginning of the end for Dav at the Bears.
JWS: Had I actually left at that point??
Anyway, I reckon everyone who's been here for a little while would know that one's outlook on the place can change pretty comprehensively, and for all sorts of reasons. More responsibilities/pressures, changes in personnel, general posting-style shifts, apathy, RL considerations and a heap more other stuff are always at play.
Barrybran: I moved on because I thought what we had at the Bears was fantastic and thought I could help bring that to another club (it was between the Gumbies and Dragons at the time) but it took me three seasons to pull a group of posters together who could rival the group we had at the Bears.
Seasons in, and Dav had clearly had a big impact on the culture, contributing not only to the club, in carefully and comprehensively curating the club’s history, but also the league in winning the s27 Frankston Rover Award as recognition of that…
JWS: I think what went hand-in-hand with that great work was the capacity to generate and participate in novel club history on the fly. Most lore stuff around here only gathers meaning when it's bolstered by genuine and multilateral engagement, and Dav was fantastic at recognising the particulars of others and what they contributed, as well as inviting and sharing his own sensibilities. It was that sort of enthusiastic offering of self, coupled with the boosting of peers, groups, and all the permutations therein, that made for such a strong culture and made Dav such a worthwhile and cherished contributor.
Also the **** logo.
Barrybran: Dav is an incredibly helpful person. Anything you asked of him he was always happy to help, which is why he won a Frankston Rover award in season 27.
But Dav’s commitment to the ever changing Bears waned over time as the Spambears had all gone their separate ways and he looked to make his next move…
Barrybran: Without JWS and I around, the Bears were a completely different group to the one we had in season 26. I'm not at all surprised that he moved on.
I don't think the Bears were Dav's idea of fun at the time he left so he moved on and he seems to be enjoying himself, which is the whole point of being involved.
JWS: Yeah sure, it was a fine move. I certainly wasn't surprised, and always back people to make the moves they see fit to keep things conducive to enjoyment.
I think I understood the consternation he had at the time about sticking around, and I can't begrudge him expressing that. It was really disappointing for us, but I'm sure I could think of a few less mature or agreeable defections around the league if I put my mind to it.
He's welcome back any time. Have a good hundredth, Dav - the Wonders are trash so I'm sure you'll sh*t it in.
Now as we covered he did stop in Vegas for some time, making a massive contribution in his time there and even seeing them into a Grand Final in Season 27. But in the end his qooty destiny called, and he left the Bears behind to once again walk the road.
And so late in Season 28, he again encounters another club, the Warriors. This club however; is the most amazing club he has ever seen. Here he meets skipper TiF, who said "come with me and we will make your wildest qooty dreams come true, or walk the road to success."
Dav can't believe his luck. So he signs for S29 as their marquee recruit.
Fellow S29 Wazzas recruit and admin NaturalDisaster has been there with me to see Dav blossom at the Wazzas.
NaturalDisaster: I remember not long before the beginning of S26 and this chirpy young rookie was up and about, creating threads, pretty much burning all his material before he had even played a game. Admittedly, it completely rattled me at the time and I even suggested to the committee to ban him from creating threads until start of season (a suggestion which was ignored).
(Editor's note: Looks like Kennedy Parker was on the money after all)
Safe to say, I was not his biggest fan early on, but over time the campaigner grew on me and I begun to realise his value to the league (still no regrets for robbing you of the EKA, suck sh*t!).
TiF: I personally felt like Dav was gettable at the back end of S28, and was a big fan after coming into the comp together in S26. Woosh had been in his ear too and I went after him pretty hard in the end, and was rapt when we secured his services. He really helped us turn the list around along with yourself that season and we haven’t really looked back since.
ND: S29 we became teammates until the campaigner decided to "retire", a decision that was never ever going to be permanent and it was no surprise when he returned as a solid contributor to the Warriors side.
TiF: He definitely took us by surprise after a really solid debut season with us in S29, club was up and about, he’d slotted in like something in a slot, and then made a shock decision to retire. I’m really glad we managed to lure him back, and he’s been in absolute full flight this season, as good as he’s ever posted.
ND: This season he has gone all out, whoring media once again and back to his rookie season best, however as a much more matured and settled poster compared to his S26 Try hardish self.
Congrats on 100 games mate and hopefully you can finally finish a media thread by game 200.
Fitting he is playing his 100th against the club he debuted against.
And so that brings us up to current day, and Dav is set to celebrate his 100th game against the Wonders this Sunday in his third season with the Warriors.
But cast our eyes forward, and let’s see how the story ends.
Against his better judgement, he decides to take his chances and walks the road to success one more time ahead of Season 39. He comes to another gate. This time there is no club waiting for him, but a hideously fat, balding, sweaty man instead.
"Are you
"No," the man replies. "I'm
The moral of the story? Success is overrated. It's all about the journey.
100 Sweet FA Games - Dav
Career Accolades
EKA Runner up - S26
All-SFA Team - S26
Las Vegas Bears Leading Goalkicker - S26
Frankston Rover Award - S27
Las Vegas Bears Captain - S28
State of Origin Winners (SA) - Series XIV
SA Vice Captain - Series XV
Career Stats
As at Rd 7, S32
100 Sweet FA Games - Dav
Career Accolades
EKA Runner up - S26
All-SFA Team - S26
Las Vegas Bears Leading Goalkicker - S26
Frankston Rover Award - S27
Las Vegas Bears Captain - S28
State of Origin Winners (SA) - Series XIV
SA Vice Captain - Series XV
Career Stats
As at Rd 7, S32
PLAYER | GMS | HO | K | HB | D | M | T | G | B | DT | Win % | WIN | DRAW | LOSS |
Dav | 99 | 196 | 784 | 689 | 1473 | 261 | 152 | 98 | 68 | 5822 | 48.48% | 48 | 1 | 50 |
Please leave your messages of heartfelt congratulations below for the great man.