Oppo Camp The Non-North Footy Discussion & Matchday Chat Thread V

Still nothing in it. I’m starting to think people don’t know what eye gouging is.
As Christian says, player reaction is taken into account. He won't get off this one. This one looks clear cut more than last week.

Greene should have had the book thrown at him last week for his actions on the Bont.

This smells and looks like 'catch up' by Christian/AFL - they got it wrong last week and now are seeking to rectify.

If that's all the vision they have in terms of evidence a good lawyer will get him off.

Toby Greene, GWS GIANTS, has been charged with making Unreasonable or Unnecessary Contact to the Eye Region of Lachie Neale, Brisbane Lions, during the second quarter of the Semi Final match between the Brisbane Lions and the GWS GIANTS, played at The Gabba on Saturday September 14.

In summary he can accept a one-match sanction with an early plea.

Based on the available evidence, the incident was assessed as Intentional Conduct with Low Impact and High Contact. The incident was classified as a one-match sanction.
Talk about vague.

Is it unnecessary or is it unreasonable or is it both?

The "eye region"?

FMD be specific!

Surely has to get off.

Where are we going with this? Are we going to look at frame by frame footage of every pack to see if there’s any contact to the head? It’s chaos in there
Maybe Toby can get giantroo to the rescue...

Or we can review every pack under the microscope. I don’t think people realise how much goes on in front of their eyes without actually seeing it. If i could be bothered I bet I could find footage of Hodge with his forearm in someone’s throat from the weekend. I probably could find 10 examples of it from 2 games of football across the weekend.

Instead we have fazey vision Toby Greene maybe touching Neales face. This is a nothing incident.

Neale should be fined for staging.

A lot of Lions flogs were over here after their umpire gifted victory, liking posts etc.
Why no umpire save you in close final?? :'(
Bit hard to get across the line when Leigh Fisher was missing from the side

I hope Green gets done simply so that he costs his team a shot at a premiership and is finally forced to pull his head in and cut that shit out of his game.
He has far too much talent to be lying on top of blokes dragging his fingers through their face. I can't say for certain if he eye gouged, but it doesn't change the fact he's a dirty prick, and apparently dumb as dogshit considering he's done the same thing two weeks in a row.

I hope Green gets done simply so that he costs his team a shot at a premiership and is finally forced to pull his head in and cut that s**t out of his game.
He has far too much talent to be lying on top of blokes dragging his fingers through their face. I can't say for certain if he eye gouged, but it doesn't change the fact he's a dirty prick, and apparently dumb as ******* considering he's done the same thing two weeks in a row.

They are cooked with or without him

Grundy will run rings around whatever GWS describe as their No 1 Ruckman

Just wow!

This is why the AFL match review system irks me. Last week... move along, nothing to see (despite video showing that there was) and this week, less video evidence (that I saw anyway) but Green goes for a week. The Abblet fiasco was even worse.

I'm in favour of Green being suspended, but he should have gone last week. If I were his counsel I'd be arguing that the Toby thought that AFL sanctioned eye gouging last week and Toby, being not the sharpest tool in the shed was of the certain belief that he's been allowed to deliberately poke his fingernails into the eye sockets of his opponent while a team mate is holding him down, otherwise he'd have been pinged for it last week.

That's an unlosable case.
And that is why you would make a shit council. He pleaded guilty last week and was fined.

Chris Fagan: "(Lachie Neale) felt contact ... It wasn't enough to stop him from playing on. It just caused him a little bit of disturbance for a few seconds and he dusted it off and kept going. It wasn't in the eyes. It was more to the nose was what he said to me yesterday."

I’m listening to Leon Cameron on SEN right now and he’s nearly putting me to sleep. I wonder how the players go in his meetings?

He could read out the phone book while a marching band played Sousa and still get the same results out of his ragtag group of top 5 and pre-selected ne’er do wells.