Sydney v. Brisbane

Sydney-vs-Brisbane.png

Swans Match Day Hub

Gates open: 2:15pm AEDT
The March: Leaving Sydney Swans HQ to the SCG from 3:15pm
2025 round 01 march.jpg

First bounce: 4:15pm

In celebration of Saturday's match against the Brisbane Lions, Sydney Children's Hospital Fund have arranged some exciting activities around the grounds:
  • 🎨 FREE face painting on Driver Ave
  • 🤹 Roving entertainers handing out prizes on Driver Ave
  • ✏️ FREE kids colouring-in pack giveaways at Merivale outlets inside the stadium
  • 📽️ A video on the big screen featuring James Rowbottom and Logan McDonald
How you can get involved:
  • Cheer on the Sydney Children’s Hospitals Foundation Patient Ambassadors when they run on with the team at the start of the game
  • You can purchase 'Chloe's Chicken Tenders' from Merivale outlets inside the stadium - this week, $1 from each meal sold will be donated to SCHF
  • Plus, when you're grabbing a drink or a feed inside the stadium, you can tap to donate on the spot
  • Visit schf.org.au to donate and help change the future for sick kids
BF Swans Preview

Broadcast
Fox Footy and Kayo for Super Saturday live from 4:00pm AEDT (for NSW only) Dwayne Russell, Jordan Lewis, Nathan Buckley and Alastair Lynch.​
Delayed FTA 7mate and 7plus from 6:00pm AEDT for NSW viewers and 5:00pm AEST for QLD viewers.​

AFL Match Centre

Teams
1741959579484.png

Umpires

Brett Rosebury (8), Curtis Deboy (11), Brendan Hosking (16), Nathan Toner (25)​

Footywire Team Selections
round 01 team compare.jpg

Footywire Recent Matches

at the SCG
only 2 games since 2017
(Hmm.. let's not mention our last game v. Brisbane, it's a new season)

DateVenueHome v Away TeamsResultHigh DisposalsHigh Goals
Round 7, 1 May 2022SCGSydney defeated by Brisbane89-113L. Neale 37L. Franklin 6
Round 7, 7 May 2017SCGSydney defeats Brisbane135-81T. Rockliff 32L. Franklin 8

Milestones
Happy Swans Debut - Joel Hamling
Hamling 1st game.jpg
Thanks Jeffers for Hamling post "Joins Mark Seaby as a player to play for us after winning a grand final against us"

and

Riley Bice (and AFL debut)

Bloods by 17 points

SHAKE DOWN THE THUNDER

#ProudlySydney #GoBloods #GoSwans #Bloods

Attachments

• Sydney-vs-Brisbane.png
    Sydney-vs-Brisbane.png
    6.7 KB · Views: 9
  • round 01 teams.jpg
    round 01 teams.jpg
    159.3 KB · Views: 8
  • round 01 teams.jpg
    round 01 teams.jpg
    159.3 KB · Views: 8
  • round 01 team compare.jpg
    round 01 team compare.jpg
    32.6 KB · Views: 8
  • 1741959406885.png
    1741959406885.png
    2.4 MB · Views: 7
Back to basics would be a good start.

Sticking tackles, pressure, intensity, desire..............and build from there.

What I don't want to see is faux toughness.
Last week on two occasions we had free kicks directly in front of goal (Amartey slotted both).
Neither action from the Hawks player was particularly egregious yet in the first instance Florent 'came in to fly the flag' and in the second it was McInerney.
Both totally unnecessary and had the potential to see a reversal of the free directly in front (particularly given the Hawks' propensity to flop at the merest touch).

So I'll add discipline and focus to my 'wants' for this week.......and a win would be nice. :)

Can’t see us winning the ball from the centre which is crucial at the scg and ground position.

Reckon the my will dominate there and there smalls in the front will absolutely run rings.

Loins by 27

Plus this group even after watching last weeks game was pretty soft considering last year. They don’t seem up for it

Back from a week of deliberately not looking at anything footy related. Last week's game just....let's leave it at that and onto a new one.

That's a pretty formidable team Brisbane has. Good to see Bice get a crack early in the season and great to see Hamling in there. I think he can really give the team something in D50.

Would be great to get a W but it won't be easy. Need the leaders to step up today.

Poor Brice doesn't have any team mates that want to hug him or backslap him yet.
Guy on his right is totally thinking " I should have got that spot."

Be interesting to see him play, doubt he'll post the usual rookie number of possessions.
Incredulous Sheldrick isn't selected.
But that's what we do now, forgo tough mids for runners - and get flogged in Grand FInals.
Brice might in fact put up Dane Swan possession stats given the ball is going to be in our defense all game, he'll be busier than a Colombian marching powder salesman on NYE.

The only reason to pick us getting within 30 is they might be very underdone. Still think they win by 50.

All I want to see is effort and from the first bounce not the 3rd quarter

Give us that and we lose that’s okay but we better not be giving half an effort and losing. Can the burst footy it does not work

Better balanced side with Hamling in, not sure who is second ruck still though, guess Amartey.

Need more from Grundy.

I think we will win this, really respect Brisbane obviously best side in the competition. Bit interrupted prep and they actually even last year could go missing in games for patches like us, especially early in the year.

Sydney by 34, Heeney BOG

I'm wondering who the extreme heat will favour? Cramp will be an issue.
Brisbane - Used to it. Sorta.
Sydney - Have played last week soe have more miles in the legs.

Could see one side really get run over towards the end.

Poor Brice doesn't have any team mates that want to hug him or backslap him yet.
Guy on his right is totally thinking " I should have got that spot."

Be interesting to see him play, doubt he'll post the usual rookie number of possessions.
Incredulous Sheldrick isn't selected.
But that's what we do now, forgo tough mids for runners - and get flogged in Grand FInals.
Brice might in fact put up Dane Swan possession stats given the ball is going to be in our defense all game, he'll be busier than a Colombian marching powder salesman on NYE.

The only reason to pick us getting within 30 is they might be very underdone. Still think they win by 50.

When did Sheldrick show he was a tough midfielder? when he fell over kicking it off the ground or missed the tackles or his opponent ran off him?

I think it's harsh to drop a guy quickly , BUT he didn't make it hard

I'm expecting a Statement Game from the Swans today. Up against the team that humiliated them in the GF, made them a laughing stock. Then, last week, with the spotlight again on them for first game of the season, put up another limp, second-rate effort.

If this team has any self-respect at all, they will come out fired up, the pressure rating will be elite, contested possession and tackle numbers off the charts. Brisbane won't know what hit them.

Swans by 5 goals.

When did Sheldrick show he was a tough midfielder? when he fell over kicking it off the ground or missed the tackles or his opponent ran off him?

I think it's harsh to drop a guy quickly , BUT he didn't make it hard
He played out a game with a fractured ankle.

Say what you will about Gus, but he is definitely tough. Very tough. And ultra-competitive.

Just feel the poor bloke tried too hard last week.

He played out a game with a fractured ankle.

Say what you will about Gus, but he is definitely tough. Very tough. And ultra-competitive.

Just feel the poor bloke tried too hard last week.

Anyone who takes an afl field is tough, but he hasn't shown he is anything special yet in that regard , he looked miles off last week.

He may well have tried too hard though, hence I think he maybe needed the Coach to say mate I am giving you until the bye , just do your thing.

This is an easy game for us to win.
Apparently it's a big advantage playing the first full game a week earlier than our opponent so that alone gives us an advantage. Then there is the revenge factor. Then there is the first up effort.
The real Bloods of the past would love this scenario & smash this Brisbane team.

Swans to win.
10-20 points.

I didn't rate Brisbane's flag much, probably the worst since the Bulldogs for mine. But a flag is still a flag, and I think they will actually be better again this year, because their depth is even better (a handful of players from their GF side were originally just depth players last year until injuries struck.)

They don't appear to have those injuries right now. 20 of the players from their GF side will be out there today.

They're also a bit of a nightmare match-up for us because they have an outstanding intercepting game in defence, whereas our talls inside 50 generally aren't great, and a midfield that can dominate contested ball & clearances, which our midfield generally cannot.

Needless to say we'll be up against it today. But going back to Brisbane last year, they had key players like Gardiner, Coleman, McCarthy and Lyons that were clearly intended to be part of their best team go down with injuries. By year's end they'd turned those quality players into Answerth, Ashcroft, Lohmann and Morris, who all ended up with premiership medals.

A good case of making lemonade out of lemons that I hope we can replicate in this early stage of the season. Little signs like that are basically all I am looking for today. So Wicks, Paton, Bice, Campbell, Hamling, Warner Jr. and Hanily... go well today boys. Show something please.