SA League Fixtures

• Thread starter Thread starter safooty

S

safooty

Does anyone know if there are any current fixtures available for any of the football leagues in SA, apart from SANFL which I have got.

Am looking to get myself ready for the hobby of collection results this year.

Strange but true...............

Oh, I also have Western Border.

Hey Safooty

I don't know if this really what you are after - but each year the SA Amateur Football League produces as book of all Amateur games etc (sort of a book of fixtures) which also has pages at the back to write stuff down

I am on there mailing list and usually get one sent out to me around March/April ish!

:p

To answer both Grogette and Mob,

Firstly Mob,

I am doing it the hard way mate, by using newspapers, websites, other people I know, everything possible to collect these results.

I use an excel database for the time being but if you have a better program or better idea I would like to hear it.

Grogette, I would be interested in receiving this booklet as well. I do know it, it is the fixtures and handbook for the season about to begin.

How would I go about getting on their mailing list and how are you involved in the Amatuer League.

Thanks.

Steve.

Originally posted by safooty
I use an excel database for the time being but if you have a better program or better idea I would like to hear it.

LOL No ... I wanted to see if YOU had something that I could gain from! Hehe.

How much stuff's on the file? Does it do any calculating?

Grogette, I would be interested in receiving this booklet as well. I do know it, it is the fixtures and handbook for the season about to begin.

How would I go about getting on their mailing list and how are you involved in the Amatuer League.

Thanks.

Steve.

Hi Steve

Well I am not involved in the Amatuer League as such, but I like watching the odd game or two. Amatuer footy is alot different from SANFL and AFL footy. I don't have a favourite team but I mostly watch Gaza or Adelaide Uni when they play :)

Here is their website address http://www.saafl.asn.au/ and their contact details:

The South Australian Amateur Football League Incorporated
178 Tynte Street, North Adelaide, S.A. 5006
P.O. Box 6, North Adelaide, S.A. 5006
Phone: (08) 8267 1044 Fax: (08) 8267 5729
E-mail: info@saafl.asn.au

Office Hours
Monday, Thursday & Friday 8.00 am - 6.00 pm
Tuesday & Wednesday 8.00 am - 5.30 pm
Saturdays (during football season only) 10.30 am - 6.30 pm

Office Staff
General Manager: John Leak
Office Manager: Elaine Davoren
Office Senior: Glenda Czornohalan
Office Assistant: Winnie Wreghitt

I suggest emailing them or phoning them with your address details and ask if they can send you out a book etc

See how you go! Let me know if you run into any probs!

:D

There is not much.

I use excel, and have basically, the round numbers, teams playing, grounds, dates put in all manually as well as putting in the 1/4 by 1/4 scores manually and also the totals.

So it is all manual.

Any other ideas?

Thanks.
Steve.

Impressive Grogette, perhaps you could help me with 1/4 by 1/4 scores from the games you play!

Would be a great help.

Steve.

You watch I meant. It would be of great help to me.

Anyone else willing to help or any other suggestions as to how I can keep my information more neat and tidy rather than using excel.?

There is not much.

I use excel, and have basically, the round numbers, teams playing, grounds, dates put in all manually as well as putting in the 1/4 by 1/4 scores manually and also the totals.

So it is all manual.

Any other ideas?

Thanks.
Steve.

Ahh fair enough.

Well I don't have anything either, I also do it manually. BUT I had been working on a web score-lodger which would enable people anywhere to lodge a score and it would automatically add it to a database and then publish webpages with the data (and update records and so on) ...

I haven't got to the program to continue work on it for ages, but I still have high hopes.

Have you thought about Microsoft Access??

It's a database and a lot more too! It's the program I used to store all the details, of photos & Memorabilia for the North Adelaide Football Club.

It works really well & you can run queries and get reports and everything. :)

It's pretty cool!

Please explain more.............. I'm interested.

Hmmmmm...........It's rather hard to explain unless you see it!

Access can be used as both Business and Personal Database, I'll put some stuff together on Access for you, so I'll need to get back to you. In the meantime: Here's a really good website address with info on Access and stuff!
http://www.microsoft.com/office/access/default.asp

I reckon you might be able to download a copy of the database. Yep! just checked the site and you can download it! Heaps Cool, I got mine as apart of Office when I got my puta, but you can download it as a component only too! Just go into Downloads (Download Center in the site)

Goodluck
:)

I meant explain more for mob, but thanks.

Can you show me how I would use access to keep results?

I'm not full on into access, only using the address book.

Thanks grogette.

Access is great, but needs a lot of learning. I put my video collection onto MS Access, and make tools for work.

Unfortunately, footy stats are MUCH more complicated than you might guess they are. Examples :

Early years, points weren't calculated and teams won per most goals, regardless of behinds.

Early years, Grand Final winners might be faced with a 'Challenge Final', ie a 'youse didn't finish on top so win it again you bastards' system.

Some matches are won by 'walkover'.

Just a couple of examples, anyway.

safooty regards my 'Scorsend' program, it is still in VERY gestative stages, BUT the idea is that there is one host program that checks a SECURE area of my server space regularly (when it is running). The idea is that I would have that on my PC. This program is called 'Scorload'.

Interested parties would have the other program, 'Scorsend'. There can be any number of these out there in the world. As a bloke gets a score, he enters the data into his copy of Scorsend. The program uploads the data to the web.

My Scorload sees it and downloads it. It then adds it to a data warehouse (fancy speak for a file full of statistics). Then, as a result of the data being updated, it recreates a bunch of files (scores for league x, scores for date x/xx/xxxx, scores over x points, etc etc etc) in HTML (webpage) format, and loads them to a PUBLIC part of the server (read 'webspace'). This becomes a website where all these scores can be perused at will by the general public.

That sounds bloody impressive, doesn't it? :)

I'm writing it in QBasic.

Very interesting. Good way of taking the hard work out of finding all those results, only problem is relying on people to put them in. I would do it, but others hmmmmm.

Anyway, got any ideas on how I could use access to do them???

I need help as I am not that experienced.

If you have msn messenger my msn is mr_umpy2002@hotmail.com

Thanks.

Steve

You'll have to go find some online help, or do a course or something.

Believe me I myself have tried to make Access databases for footy scores, and have hit brick walls on each occasion!

Someone would be able to do it, though.

Very interesting. Good way of taking the hard work out of finding all those results, only problem is relying on people to put them in. I would do it, but others hmmmmm.

Anyway, got any ideas on how I could use access to do them???

I need help as I am not that experienced.

If you have msn messenger my msn is mr_umpy2002@hotmail.com

Thanks.

Steve

Oh, and regards relying on people to provide scores, I doubt that would be a problem, if it could be made to be the one-stop source of scores. You see, some bloke would get home from his local footy with the scores, and he'd love to see them up on the web for others to see. that'd be the best way. Its worked for footy history on my site, can't see why it wouldn't work for scores!

I would definately love to be a part of this. I would love to design a website - something I like to do - and hopefully we can get something done together.

What do you think????

Steve.

have you seen what I currently do in regards to local leagues? see signature.

also keep an eye out for a bloke here by the handle of Timelord. I'm sure you know of him because you reckon he has all the scores but not the quarter-by-quarter ones ... not to mention the fullpointsfooty mob ...

one concerted effort and we could rule the world!

I swear there needs to be some sort of guild inducted.

Yes, obviously busy hehe.

But any help would be great this season.

But yeah hmmmmmm.......................................

Anyone know which would be better - excel or access???
Thanks.

Steve.