Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
Mid year 2012 Buddy had a hamstring
Jul 9, 2012 – Lance Franklin will miss around three matches after scans revealed some minor bleeding in his left hamstring, Hawthorn says.
then
Jul 25, 2012 – Lance Franklin's hold on Coleman Medal favouritism is beginning to look ... rested after reporting hamstring soreness the week before - that he ...
Aug 15, 2012 -
Franklin has missed five matches with a hamstring injury sustained in the Round 15 win over Greater Western Sydney.
Evans admitted Franklin has missed more weeks than anticipated.
“The last two weeks I thought he was going to play,” Evans said.
“I’m expecting him to play this week.”

Were the AFL Medical Officers calling the shots?

AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou confirmed to Patrick Smith of The Australian yesterday that the policy had been used to ban players from participating in premiership matches but he said he did not believe confidentiality of any individuals had been compromised.

"Club doctors would tell the coach or the football manager that a certain player was not in a condition to play," Demetriou told The Australian here.

"He does not need to specify any injury or illness, just that he considers the player not well enough to play.

Did the footy press know what was happening ? Did they report what they knew?

Nope
Nice try though

They fail to mention he tweaked his hamstring in round 14 vs Carlton, then agrevated it the following week

He would have also been back a week earlier had he not come down with a bout of gastro

I love these conspiracy theories though

Just watch what you post, I.p addresses are easily traced

Nope
Nice try though

They fail to mention he tweaked his hamstring in round 14 vs Carlton, then agrevated it the following week

He would have also been back a week earlier had he not come down with a bout of gastro

I love these conspiracy theories though

Just watch what you post, I.p addresses are easily traced

The medical officers will be active again in 2013, Andy admitted they took action in 2012, Buddys extended absence was the only example I found that had any signs:
Aug 15, 2012 -
Franklin has missed five matches with a hamstring injury sustained in the Round 15 win over Greater Western Sydney.
Evans admitted Franklin has missed more weeks than anticipated.
“The last two weeks I thought he was going to play,” Evans said.
“I’m expecting him to play this week.”

Not concerned about legimitate use of the social media, it doesnt inhibit free speech unlike the legal shroud that surrounds some activitites in one only AFL club.

PS I'm pro Buddy, hoping he will go home in 2014 but his rugby league ties are a concern ...

Does this go lengths to explain the injury crisis' at Carlton, Essendon, Collingwood and West Coast last season?

Sorry, i was speaking in jest - kinda pointing out that there were a shitton of players who missed games for injury. #notallinjuriesaredrugrelated

Gee whiz Echo, you dont care, fair dinkum do you expect applause for bumping it - clearly you have too much time on your hands, unless you approaching paranoia about anything involving Buddy.

In 2013 any similar incident to Buddys injury of 2012 will have the dogs barking, certainly the club wont be allowing the level of honesty attributed to the Hawks footy manager.

Gee whiz Echo, you dont care, fair dinkum do you expect applause for bumping it - clearly you have too much time on your hands, unless you approaching paranoia about anything involving Buddy.

In 2013 any similar incident to Buddys injury of 2012 will have the dogs barking, certainly the club wont be allowing the level of honesty attributed to the Hawks footy manager.
Nah, it's just the third or fourth time I've read someone joining the dots and then posting an epiphany in hope of applause.

Fwiw, I've openly stated my opinion on the use of illicit drugs many times on Bf, and as above, I ask should we even care?

So whats the argument? No Hammy at all or tacked on more weeks to the injury? I am interested how this will be explained by the experts here!

A lot of journalists in Perth are now questioning whether Sharrod Wellingham really rolled his ankle on a trampoline or he has been told he is too 'sick' by club doctors to play.

when was that incident where an ambulance was called to his house and wellingham almost missed a game to ensure he was ok?

Ambo wasn't called
Wellingham used lances phone to call clarko
It was the final week of his stint on the sidelines
He would have returned that week
He had gastro, lost close to 10kg

I cant believe Buddy takes drugs. Just does not seem the type.

Next thing people will accuse upstanding Citizens like Andy Lovett of not being a feminist
You mean he doesn't seem like a mid-twenties male with lots of expendable income?

Not necessarily in this thread, but posters seem to think Buddy was given 6 weeks due to his illicit drug issues.

Considering what we now know re: players being given time off when they are genuinely struggling through mental illness and their welfare, for the purpose of my post we are assuming the opening line of my post is true, then it means that doctors made the decision that Buddy was not well enough mentally to play.

Who wants that? Who wants a superstar player struck down with depression/drug abuse etc? Why do people seem to cheer the thought that Buddy is on 2 strikes on? So a fairly young man misses games because people are concerned over his welfare?

I'd rather be naive and blind then believe and hope for that.

Ambo wasn't called
Wellingham used lances phone to call clarko
It was the final week of his stint on the sidelines
He would have returned that week
He had gastro, lost close to 10kg

Bull dust , show me pics of him 10k lighter at the time.
Did hamstring, had a bender, tested positive so AFL didnt let him play til they felt he was right.

Moved Thread Reporting of Buddys hamstring in 2012