Recruit of the year???

FreoRules

Jul 14, 2000
Who is the recruit of the year outside the draft? I personally think that Troy Cook and Troy Longmuir have been sensational this year and Cook would take the award. Schauble, Hotton and Barnes have also been serviceable for their sides though I could get a kick for the Bombers. Even Delaney has played well for the Saints. Anyone else?

hi!! finally another freo fan!! yeah, well i would have to agree with you with cook but longmuir is good but has more potential than he shows. definately a player to look out 4!!

Was going to mention Hotton too. Great pick up for them so far, who would have thought it.

Plenty of praise to to Barnsey,Cook,Monty
Welsh,Schabule and King C and Picoane has been going not to bad of late with us Hawks.

Duds are YOUNG!!! All the saints (Delaney excused) Cook,Mckee,Ball,YOUNG,Colbert so far but he is getting better,Calthorpe,Barlett and BARRY YOUNG in case I forgot to mention him.

• Banned
After looking at the success of Hotton and also the solid efforts of Bootsma will clubs look to draft older players playing in VFL, WESTAR and SANFL or still look to 18yr old youngsters? I think clubs will start to go back to more mature players who can handle the game physically straight away.

For Richmond, I'lld probably say Leon Cameron. He is a tough backline player who knows what he's doing. He's style is a bit like the spud's (Danny Frawley for you people that don't know) style of play.Clinton King has been a good midfield player for us aswell. It's ashame that he injured himself. But what's new at tigerland?

Grave Danger,

Picking up Bishop and Montgomery may be working to Port's advantage at the moment but in three or four years time, I believe it will definitely work out in the bulldogs favour.

I also hope we follow the lead of the bulldogs and be willing to offload a couple of our good players in the hope of picking up a guy like Eagleton.

Good post freoRules, we at the Hawks picked up Kris Barlow cheap and while no star, is a pretty good midfielder. With the Vic clubs (for the most part) having VFL/VFA clubs as reserves there could be some surprise nominations come through.

Grendel the barry young thing illustrates that the bombers are playing well as a team at the moment. Some of their players are doing well because they get the worst opponent in the other team.

Other clubs eying bomber players would do well to look at the Hawthorn experience with young. Players such as rioli, moorcroft etc would struggle in other teams (not that they are up for trade)

On hawthorn: If we are so keen to pick up an experienced ruckman why didn't we look at J Barnes - surely the recruit of the year

I think they were hoping for more from the likes of Loats/Rode and Bof, Pess. I still like the look of Loats and think he can make a big showing soon. Rode hasnt been given a go and Bof? Well less said at the moment the better haha
smile.gif

Ok - recruits of the year

John Barnes
Andrew Schauble
Leon Cameron
Clinton King
Troy Cook (disposal still lets him down though)
Troy Longmuire
Brett Montgomery
Trent Hotton

Duds of the year :

Barry Young
Damian Monkhurst
Sean Charles
Brett Allison
Stefan Carey
David Calthorpe
Stephen O'Reilly

Too injured to make a fair call :

Leigh Colbert
Jason Ball
Wade Chapman

Hot tip for next season's dud of the year :

Fraser Gehrig
wink.gif

Saw the pies on the weekend, and they are lucky that St Kilda have been worse this year. That is (collingwood) just about the most unskilled side I have seen in the past ten years. There turnover rate and lack of composure under pressure was unbelievable.

Many years before they are competitive.

Servo

Beat me to the punch mate. Sounds funny I know but Danny Frawley has been absolutely outstanding... and Mick, well... Mick hasn't had to many tall players to work with at Vic Park - perhaps they'll pick up some options over the summer in that dept - need a FF, CHB and FF (and possibly a CHF - depending on Anthony Rocca's status)...

Leon Cameron and Barnes were great pick ups for the obvious reason that both have years of great football behind them, are not carrying injuries or coming back from knees - and are still young enough to do the business - not brain surgery pick ups...

No great surprise that Calthorpe and Colbert have not delivered - though I'm a bit surprised by Barry Young's year....

Dutch

Ken Judge and Gary Ayres are duds.. the jury is out on Malthouse..Collingwoods list is pathetic, the recruiting staff should be taken out and shot..fair dinkum who would go
and recruit a croc like Lee Walker and then
redraft him..only Collingwood.
What did they recruit for this year..McKee,Ukovic...now there's a couple of players to build a team around.

Our clubs best recruit this year has definately been Spriggs. However, I think Joel Corey and Cameron Ling will have better careers than Spriggs.

BSA, Add Cameron Mooney to the list of recruits who were injured that could have been stars this year.

He was good enough to get picked in the North Premiership team at 19, and in 5 years he'll be the best center half forward in the Competition.

For me the jury is still out on Ayres. He has made some mistakes but done some good things as well.

Take the game against West Coast for example. He left Gallagher on all game even though he made some real blunders disposing of the ball. If we win then he is giving a young guy more experience & hopefully confidence. If we lose he is a mug. Good thing we won. Also he left Rehn on the ball too long. Even I could see he was stuffed 5 minutes into the 3rd quarter & Turnbal was getting on top. If I can see it then the coach should have already done something about it.

As I said the jury is still out.

Adelaides best recruit I think is Biglands. Although his form has dropped off a bit now, he has lots of ability, hits the ball hard & is a good size.

Welsh has disapointed me a bit. Sure he has kicked some goals but he plays from behind too often & forwards must be in front.

Did anyone really expect Mick Malthouse to be able to turn around 10 years of ineptitude in one summer?

He has got a 3-5 year job in front of him. Anything before that is a bonus.

Fair call Jaffa

But what are you blokes going to do about your recruiting ?

like you said in a very funny post a couple of months ago - its taken years of dedicated ineptitude to get your list together
wink.gif

Malthouse is only as good as the raw material he has to work with so what are you going to do ?

Surely you can't keep on with the likes of Noel Judkins and whoever else has been in charge of recruitment down there ?

On a brighter note Josh Fraser and Shane O'Bree have been great for you guys - all you need is more where they came from ...

I'm hoping that our problem isn't our newer players.

Noel Judkins is there to draft players. In the 3 years he's been there we've picked up Tarrant, N.Davis, Adkins, Fraser, L.Davis, Shaw and O'Bree. All of these bloke have genuine ability. Scotland, Oborne, Johnson and Roach also have ability but haven't shown much yet. All of these blokes haven't had much impact yet but they are still all teenagers.

The problem at Collingwood is the pathetic number of quality players above 22 yo. Buckley, Burns and Williams are the only players older than 22 who can actually do something.

I think our drafting in the past 3 years has been decent. The 6 years before that is where the problem lies.

Swapping King and the 3rd pick for McKee and the 7th pick was a mistake. Yet we needed a ruckman as is plainly obvious at the moment so they went for it. McKee is a dud.

I don't regret trading Schauble though. He needed a change. We got Leon Davis out of that and he could be anything.

Recruit of the year???