Ratten warns against 'complacent' Blues

Of course, we're on a massive high after winning 2 games in a row, the latter against the arch-enemy in front of a huge 80,000 strong crowd at the MCG in a game that resembled a final.

However, this week remains a huge challenge as we wouldn't want to get ahead of ourselves heading in to this match. We're now favourites, as opposed to the last 2 games vs Port and Collingwood where we have been the underdogs.

For this game, we're not the hunter - but the hunted.

Hopefully we can remain focused on an even performance, we can't afford to rely on a few players, but hopefully we see the whole 22 play with the hunger and determination of the last few weeks.

We know what we're generally going to get out of the better players. It's up to the middle tier to make sure they get up and really perform if we are going to make it 3 wins in a row.

http://www.carltonfc.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsId=61696

Now that we sniff a final spot i think we will be the hunter in this game - despite ladder positioning.
I will be very, very disappointed if we lose. Was filthy last time. Umpires loved them and the 12 extra frees showed that.

Now that we sniff a final spot i think we will be the hunter in this game - despite ladder positioning.
I will be very, very disappointed if we lose. Was filthy last time. Umpires loved them and the 12 extra frees showed that.

I too was filthy that we lost last time, but not at the umpires. I am very big on the philosophy that you take the good with the bad and if you are good enough, you will win anyway despite bad umpiring decisions.

I said it to my Bummers mate just after we lost in round 3 - "If we just miss the finals, it will be that round 3 loss that will have cost us." Of course being the arrogant bummers fan he is, he laughed at me and said "You will miss the finals by a lot more than one game, mate"

This weekend will be a good time to avenge that loss. That game had a littany of Carlton turnovers. I think we have really improved in that area, and if we play anywhere near how we have for the majority of the past 9 games, we should win comfortably.

I too was filthy that we lost last time, but not at the umpires. I am very big on the philosophy that you take the good with the bad and if you are good enough, you will win anyway despite bad umpiring decisions.

Very much agree!! we got best of the decisions against the woods last week!! especially fishers in the back!:p! essedon played very good footy in round 3, and are far from that now, but still big danger game will be rvery shattered if we lose!

I'd like to think that any Ratten coached team would very very rarely get complacent during the build up to a big match. We are starting to see the team play in that Ratten mould - doing the 1%ers, hardness around the ball, and fighting the game right out to the end.

We'll be desperate to make amends for the loss the Essendon in round 3, and i'd be expecting the players to come out all guns blazing on Sunday.

If we don't smash the fricken Bummers into oblivion it will put our progress back 6 months. They are pumped now after a win, and have alot to prove.

A must win. Show no mercy to those arrogant tools!:thumbsu:

For some reason I’m more concerned with the game against Richmond, more so than Essendon.

I can’t remember the last time we won 3 games in a row, so this week is another milestone to tick off.

Good on Ratten for emphasising this issue though...

You can’t be more than impressed with him.

Go Ratts

if we dont let the bummers plahy t scoring game like last time, we will flog em
if we let it become a shootout we may lose
i expect a win and hope the boys fire up and not get to cocky

Ratten warns against 'complacent' Blues