Eastdog

Sep 24, 2011
MUFC
Just wondering if you guys have seen any players out and about like in shopping centers, restaurants, train stations, parks or just out on the streets. For me when we went to Brisbane a while back for a Holiday I saw James Hird and also Glen McGrath in the hotel we were staying in. I've seen Scott Pendlebury and Tyson Goldsack at Chadstone my brother who's a Collingwood fan got a photo with them at the store they were out. Saw Matthew Kreuzer at Doncaster. At the MCG at the footy I've seen Scott Cummings and Eddie McGuire.

I've seen a lot of AFL footballers. Fremantle is a relatively small town. During pre-season, you always see Freo players on time trials, or just walking to and from Fremantle Oval.

Before I go to a game, me and my dad always go to the same restaurant in Subiaco. Byron Schammer did the same thing for a year or two, though his girlfriend was the only one who ever ate. You'd always see past and present Dockers walking around. .

When I'm in Melbourne, I always seem to see a couple each time. I also Brett Emerton last year in Melbourne's Myer. He was walking around by himself checking out jeans. The most surprising part is that they were regular Levi's 501s. Most soccer players seem to have really questionable clothing tastes...

This year I did see Dylan Roberton in an Italian restaurant in Freo. I was there, along with about 200 other high school kids, for this state-wide school sports carnival. I was looking over for ages, trying to place who it was. I asked an Eagles supporting mate who it was - "Dylan Roberton". Nobody believed it was him. I went up, said hi and asked if he was Dylan Roberton. He said no, smiled, and although it was him, I looked quite the dick...

I used to get quite excited when I saw footballers around. I remember seeing James Hird in Carlton when I was younger. Now I'm seeing kids I know on AFL lists. So it's certainly less surprising, and there's almost no aura of "oh god, he plays football!".

See David Neitz stroking his own ego a bit around St. Kilda. Big man has big love for himself.

Used to see Freo players all the time down in Freo when I was at Uni. Same with the coaches. Usually walking down the cappucino strip or having coffees. Pav almost knocked me over when I was walking to Freo markets and he was running on his phone.

Once I saw Staker, Selwood and another eagle who has since retired, get on the train at the city on a Saturday night from Thornlie. Was about midnight and they all looked a little dazed. It was also in the off-season. There was a big concert on at Burswood so my guess is they went there lol

Met Nic Nat at a multicultural footy training session. Saw Fyfe at capital last year.
He watched a couple of country week footy games this year. He was with some other rookie-listed Eagles. Basically, he was the most arrogant footballer I've spoken to. Quite often I'll say hi if they're in close proximity. At the country week before, I was talking to Anthony Morabito (who played in the carnival) after a game. I had a brief conversation about Freo, what school he went to, and life in general. People got a glum look from Naitanui when they attempted to say hi, or, get a photo. The arrogance was absurd.

Saw a fair few of the Cats players up in Broadbeach during this season, I think it was on the night of the Suns vs Sydney game. Then saw them again later that night as well.

Not really out and about, but when I went down the the Suns shop at Metricon, Gaz walked past. Funnily enough, I was tossing up between McKenzie or Ablett's number on the guernsey I was getting. Had he walked past a few minutes earlier, I might have ended up with 9 instead of 18.

I saw and said G,day to Harry Obrien at the Santiago airport in Chile in November.We had both been in Brazil and were heading home.
He was flying firstclass so I didn't sight him again.

People got a glum look from Naitanui when they attempted to say hi, or, get a photo. The arrogance was absurd.

That is the complete opposite of what others who have met him told me.

I've seen a few.

Was having a seedy recovery breakfast on Hutt st. when Danyle Pearce sat on a table near me and asked to borrow my sunday mail. Looked like he was out on a run and didn't have his wallet on him.

Ran into Lewis Johnston (doesn't really count), Taylor Walker, Andy Otten and Richie Douglas at the Gov in november when Gyroscope were playing.

Spoke to an equally drunk Nick Salter in the lineup for a taxi in front of the casino. He didn't know me but I play for the same country footy club in Clare as he came from so I was talking about that.

Used to see James Sellar and Jason Porplyzia at the Holdy a bit.

Used a urinal next to Alipate Carlisle at the Grand.

Best one though was meeting Ben Nason on a night out (before he was drafted) went back to this random girl's place and he proceeded to trash the joint.

I don't really see many Eagles or Dockers players around. I've seen Beau Waters around Subi before, Steven Armstrong back in 2008 walking around Armadale of all places. Mark Seaby was at a Maccas in some flash suburb on the southern part of the Swan river once.

I've played golf with the Duck and Richo. Both good blokes.

Bumped into the Duck another time in an elevator in Collins street. He was with Burton and Mick Martyn. Fair to say that the latter is one of the biggest w***ers I've come accross. Maybe it's just because he is not the full quid.

I've met Nathan Buckley. Always thought he would be a w***er but he is a really nice guy, very friendly.

Once spent a Saturday night getting pissed with Mark Mercuri. Awesome bloke! He said he wasn't playing the next day (Sunday arvo game) because he twinged his hammie at training. Next day I rock up at the G hungover as **** only to see Mercs running out! :D

Needless to say he played like shit.

Wanganeen is probably the nicest footballer I've ever met. I was at a mates wedding in Adelaide which he was at also. Such a humble, nice, down to earth guy.

Years ago I was at Melbourne airport and saw one of the Wakelin boys (when they were still both at the Saints) leave his bag of macca's on the roof of his mate's car. Car took off and the spill went everywhere. Seagull heaven.

Daniel Giansiracusa - Selling stuff at Camberwell Market with his missus, about a year ago.

Harry O - A couple of weeks ago at Latin Festival (Johnston St, Fitzroy). Was wearing a Flamengo (http://www.flamengo.com.br/) soccer shirt. He was with a couple of guys and stopped at a Brazilian cafe.

My fave? Mick Martyn at Kittens strip club a few months ago! It looked like his brother that he was with.

Not football related but I also met Andrew Bogut. It wasn't at some posh restaurant or expensive hotel but in the food court at Dandenong plaza. :D

The ones I can recall are all Essendon players, which is either an awesome coincidence or I've seen loads and only recognise Essendon players in public...

Walked past David Hille on Elizabeth St. and he was GIANT.

Saw Jason Laycock talking to supporters inside the MCG at an Essendon game.

Courtney Dempsey walked past my hairdressers while I was getting my hair cut.

Back in the early 90s my Dad was playing Street Fighter 2 at Time-Out in Box Hill whilst my Mum was patiently waiting for him outside, when all of a sudden Dermett Brereton walked past her, she said he was holding himself like 'the biggest douche in the world' This event inspired my Mum's still thriving hatred towards him.

Also in the 60s or 70s my Great Grandma's bank manager was a Geelong player (back then most players didn't earn liveable salaries from VFL), I don't remember who, but she said she was very disappointed when he was involved in fights etc. on the field, because he was a very polite and clean cut guy in person.

Ive been lucky enough to meet a few players

Back when Fev was at Carlton (id say this was about 5 years ago) I was playing poker at Crown and Fev sat down on my table and started playing aswell (obviously didnt know he had a gambling problem at the time)

Sat next to Lance Whitnall on the Claw at dream world

The place ive ran into the most footballers though was when I used to go to 'The edgy' (Mentone edgewater pub). Met Luke Ball, and Nick Del Santo there..... Nick was such a nice bloke came up and had a chat with us... introduced himself as "Nick" as if we wouldn't know who he was. He was having plenty of success with the women and was trying to give us some hand ball receives haha

Again at the edgy about 12 months ago half of the Hawks team was there. I was there with a few mates and one of them is South African, alot of people mistake him for being Indiginous Australian. Anyway we are having a few beers and Cyril Rioli wonders across and asks my mate "are you from W A brother?"... so he introduced himself to all of us after my mate said he was acutally south african and then he says "wait here ... ill go and get the boys.." ... he came back 5 minutes later and goes "This is uncle buddy, shaunny and hodgey". Luke Hodge has to be one of the nicest blokes you can meet... had so much time for a chat and probably drank with us for the next 30 minutes.

Players you've seen out and about