Our rucks.. time to open your eyes...

Mar 23, 2007
Where Premiership dreams are made...
Man U, Canucks and 49ers
All year I have said that our rucks try hard, have lots of guts, but aren't currently good enough. Hard work, rarely dominates raw talent at this level.

Can we now take the rose tinted specs off and agree that Renouf is not currently in the best 25 rucks in the league and that guys like Taylor might just be be better?! His repeated penalties last year wrere a coaching issue, not his problem.

We got completely rogered in this area tonight and there was no slippery stuff in sight.

his marking is good and getting better he just seems to be a no show alot of the time

All year I have said that our rucks try hard, have lots of guts, but aren't currently good enough. Hard work, rarely dominates raw talent at this level.

Can we now take the rose tinted specs off and agree that Renouf is not currently in the best 25 rucks in the league and that guys like Taylor might just be be better?! His repeated penalties last year wrere a coaching issue, not his problem.

We got completely rogered in this area tonight and there was no slippery stuff in sight.

Ryder was simply too good tonight, but name one other game in the last 6 weeks that renouf has been completely outplayed. He has clearly beaten Jolly, Brogan, and Kreuzer in that time. You can't tell me he's not in the best 25 rucks in the league from one down performance, and I'd be surprised if many supported your view. Took a lot of good marks tonight

Agree 100% but it's not like we have any other options currently. As Fear said his marking is starting to show promise but the guy is useless round the ground sadly. He'll benefit a lot when Taylor returns.

Geez some people are harsh on this forum. Renouf is a kid in ruckman terms. I can sense his confidence growing week by week and I think he can as well. Oh and so can the club........... getting on the front foot securing him from the poachers of GC. This bloke is going to be a seriously good player in years to come. He is a bees away from taking those contested marks he is spilling at the moment and when he does look out.

Im with you mate; Renouf is still a developing ruckman and his confidence is building. He is running out games longer now, taking pack marks and is improving below the knees.

Renouf and Skipper has be our ruck combination for 4-6 weeks and guess what we've won those games and theyre still learning to work to gether as a team. As did Campbell and Taylor.

I think there record speaks for there self to date!

Im with you mate; Renouf is still a developing ruckman and his confidence is building. He is running out games longer now, taking pack marks and is improving below the knees.

Renouf and Skipper has be our ruck combination for 4-6 weeks and guess what we've won those games and theyre still learning to work to gether as a team. As did Campbell and Taylor.

I think there record speaks for there self to date!

glad i'm not the only one thinking this, he'll keep getting better as he has done so far

Renouf will benefit from the break next week. Been the sole ruckman all year basically and improved a lot during this time. His marking has really come on. Can never question his endeavor, will only improve from here.

Lets not forgot that the ruck is a tough position to play and he is only 22 with 35 games under his belt.

He certainly deserves to keep his spot and hopefully he will keep improving as he gets more games under his belt.

Here's a interesting question my mate said to me at the game tonight, would we have won if Hille was playing for the bombers? Sadly i agree with him...

If bailey had of played would we killed them or if the big fish had come out of retirement would we be on top of the ladder.

Too many if's we are here in the present we deserve our win.

Ifs are as bad as blaming the umpire!

And i think you need to re-watch the 2008 Grand Final.

You dont need to dominate in the ruck to win games, you just need your rucks to provide a contest, and have a look at the past 6 weeks... contested ball more important then a tap

Some posters like starting lots of threads.

Mainly dumb threads ...

If bailey had of played would we killed them or if the big fish had come out of retirement would we be on top of the ladder.

Too many if's we are here in the present we deserve our win.

Ifs are as bad as blaming the umpire!

Wasn't all that interesting a question in hindsight mate........

Get some smarter mates who know something - anything about the rough and tumble of footy........

Agree 100% but it's not like we have any other options currently. As Fear said his marking is starting to show promise but the guy is useless round the ground sadly. He'll benefit a lot when Taylor returns.

If Simon Taylor comes straight back into this team after he recovers from his injury I will blow my top. Talk about offering nothing around the ground - Taylor should change his name by deed poll to 'Simon Offers-Nothing-Around-The-Ground'. Seriously, the bloke is dead set useless; I'm a former Taswegian and I still can't work up any statriotic enthusiasm for him!

It has been a breath of fresh air not having to sit through his endless idiotic free kicks against. As for these free kicks against being a coaching issue - same coaches for each ruckman, why is it only Taylor that manages to give them away?

If Simon Taylor comes straight back into this team after he recovers from his injury I will blow my top. Talk about offering nothing around the ground - Taylor should change his name by deed poll to 'Simon Offers-Nothing-Around-The-Ground'. Seriously, the bloke is dead set useless; I'm a former Taswegian and I still can't work up any statriotic enthusiasm for him!

It has been a breath of fresh air not having to sit through his endless idiotic free kicks against. As for these free kicks against being a coaching issue - same coaches for each ruckman, why is it only Taylor that manages to give them away?

Maybe because we didn't have a ruck coach and the angry senior gnome has already apologised for erring with Taylor.

In any case, your excellent post has been noted, and dutifully filed.

We beat a nemisis tonight and you whinge about Taylors return...which may not even happen this year..What colour are you?

First post.
Heard AC at press conference saying that Renouf copped a corkie early and couldn't jump. Someone please confirm I heard correct?
I think he's been great and has taken some very important marks

Skipper was awesome again. Can't ruck for shit but is fantastic all around the ground and gives us a hard contest every time. Love his work.

First post.
Heard AC at press conference saying that Renouf copped a corkie early and couldn't jump. Someone please confirm I heard correct?
I think he's been great and has taken some very important marks

Took some very important marks, but has taken some very important steps as a ruckman - I reckon he is about 23-24 in rucking age now and will be similar to Dean Cox in a couple of years - will provide a lot around the ground and has experience playing in the backline.

Couple him with Taylor, whos' tapwork is amongst the best in the league and Bailey who offers the best of both worlds, and we are onto something.

Our rucks.. time to open your eyes...