Camnstell

No need to shout
Evidently we've been putting him through some testing in the past few days. Supposed to be the best credentialled Ruck in the VFL, performed well in the last 2 GF's but I've never heard of him.

http://www.thecourier.com.au/news/l...hawthorn-looks-at-roosters-big-o/1696644.aspx

Can anyone shed any light on this bloke? Should we pick him up over Skipper??? Interested in your thoughts. ( If there's already something on him feel free to delete this Shadforth..)

Very suprised to see he was 201cm, thought he was a little under-sized.

Traditional ruck, bit of a 'lumberer' but is a very solid, competitive ruck.

A reasonable comparison would be our own Taylor - he's a genuine ruck, but won't offer a great deal around the ground. Like Markovic (and tbh quite a few others around the VFL) he deserves a shot.

Wouldn't read much into this,as I believe we are also looing at a Crown forklift so Hodgey can ruck! Rumour has it the fork would provide both a player sponsor and possible a short sponsor.

Wet weather down in Tassie would be a concern, however club believes on a dry September afternoon it will be very hard to overcome the fork!

Why don't we lower Hodge in on a crane so he can jump around the field like he's in "Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon". I don't recall any rules specifically stating its illegality.

The Big 'O' would be very handy to have in the side. Great bloke and well respected around the club at the roosters. Apparently ran 8min flat for 2.2km time trial the other day.

i would rather W.Skipper they are both 27yo.. at least Skipper has had some AFL experience.. allthough i dont care which mature aged ruckmen we get aslong as they perform.. then all is good :)

Has anyone considered that we may take Skipper as a back-up key defender and Stephensen as the back-up ruck?

Now I know that these 2 players probably won't be walk-up starts in our best 22, but they would be useful depth players if we are hit by injuries in our paper-thin ruck and key-defensive posts.

The other consideration is that they would both be top-level players in the VFL for Box Hill and would probably assist with the development of our youngsters at Box Hill. In that respect, as a short-term fix, both these mature players would contribute more than adding a couple more youngsters to our rookie list.

I'm not suggesting that this is necessarily the best strategy, but it is a logical strategy at least. Besides, it's always better having a strategy than no strategy at all (like some BF posters.........)

Anyway, just my 2c worth. It will be interesting to see who we select next week.

The big O would look extremely good in the brown and gold and deserves his crack at the big time. He's extremely fit, with good hands and very mobile for a big man... Skipper has been in the system for how long now?? 6-7 years surely and has had his chance.

The big O is a lad of the highest character who would take the opportunity with both hands. Definately proved he can roll - I think but don't quote me but has been named VFL ruckman in team of the year 2-3 times now.

looks good and has been the best ruckmen in the last 2 season in the VFL, ill ask Phill Cleary (my footy coach) on how he rates him, and ill get back to you.

The Bulldogs had Skipper there for a long time. They stated several times that he was only a ruckman, and wouldnt be played in a key position. This is despite the fact that the Dogs have struggled for KPP's at times. I would rather try the best VFL ruckman, than the already tried Skipper.

Can anyone please tell me how many Box Hill players are training with us ?
Hopefully Cam Pederson is - does anyone think he is a chance to be rookied ? If not, will he stay with Box Hill ? Same with Sam Isles...

I mentioned in a previous post 'Skipper' may be selected as a Back-up KPD. 'Stephenson should be considered as a Back-up Ruckman. We have nothing to lose, give them a 1 year contracts as Back-up players :thumbsu:.

See my post above mate. The Bulldogs looked at him for years, and despite there need for KPP's, stated several times that he was only a ruckman, and thus not a chance to play. I dont think we are that desperate for a backman. Compare us now to this time last year.

CHB at the start of this year : Option Murphy and an untired Shoey. Croad injured.

CHB at the start of next season: Gibson, Stratton (WAFL experience, mature, can play straight away, but untried, Murphy, Shoey with game time and an extra preseason.

We are better placed than some think.

Two rookies, Putt and another ready ruckman, which I guess is Big O, McCauley or Skipper. Putt could be a back up ruck / KPP or a wingman, who knows. He is young enough and big enough to take the risk on.

[youtube]hT0R1c0xglE[/youtube]

Is this Dean Putt?

If so, why'd the Tigers give up on him so quickly?

I loved his behind the running player handpass at 0:47. AFL level for sure. :D

Seriously though, just because he looked good at VFL level, doesn't mean he is cut out for AFL.

Popped out to Waverley this morning and was lucky enough to catch a low key skills session.

Monkhurst was working with a small group of rucks - Skipper, Putt and a man who i believe was Stephenson.

In my opinion these three are the final candidates for selection for a ruck spot on our list unless they pull a dark horse out of somewhere.

My observations were that Stephenson (and I can't be 100% certain it was him) is a big bodied bloke, very competitive in ruck contests.

Clearly lacks the tone and conditioning of Putt and Skipper.

Was out marked consistently by both the other two in marking training and was a good kick without being remarkable.

I must stress that these drills were not super competitive and perhaps Stephenson wasn't 100% ON.

Skipper is an awesome kick in comparison though gives away a considerable amount in height to the other two.

If it was up to me I'd take Skipper and Putt.

Popped out to Waverley this morning and was lucky enough to catch a low key skills session.

Monkhurst was working with a small group of rucks - Skipper, Putt and a man who i believe was Stephenson.

In my opinion these three are the final candidates for selection for a ruck spot on our list unless they pull a dark horse out of somewhere.

My observations were that Stephenson (and I can't be 100% certain it was him) is a big bodied bloke, very competitive in ruck contests.

Clearly lacks the tone and conditioning of Putt and Skipper.

Was out marked consistently by both the other two in marking training and was a good kick without being remarkable.

I must stress that these drills were not super competitive and perhaps Stephenson wasn't 100% ON.

Skipper is an awesome kick in comparison though gives away a considerable amount in height to the other two.

Thanks mate, appreciate you sharing your observations.
Was Skipper competitive, at his height, in the ruck contests?
Do you think his verticle leap makes up for his lack of height?

No disrespect, but I'm glad its not upto you.

Have seen Skipper in actual football games, and there is a reason why he never got game time at the Bulldogs, because he is not AFL material.

Anyway, I will put my faith in the football department to make the right decisions because it costs serious money to put players on your list.

(Know nothing about Putt by the way)

Thanks mate, appreciate you sharing your observations.
Was Skipper competitive, at his height, in the ruck contests?
Do you think his verticle leap makes up for his lack of height?

He competed fine, particularly in the boundary throw in simulation. He does have a good leap but would struggle against blokes over 200cm no doubt. He uses his body well and competes but his big plus is in his mobility and kicking.

No disrespect, but I'm glad its not upto you.

Have seen Skipper in actual football games, and there is a reason why he never got game time at the Bulldogs, because he is not AFL material.

Anyway, I will put my faith in the football department to make the right decisions because it costs serious money to put players on your list.

(Know nothing about Putt by the way)

None taken. As I posted I think that the choice is between these three.

We are after someone who will be competitive as a back up ruckman and we will not be getting a superstar. He competes well and will be servicable.

Putt also looks Ok and has a determination about him.

Hawthorn clearly see something in Skipper or else he wouldn't still be training with us after a month.

I'd be happy enough with him TBH. And it's possible that who ever we draft in this position will never play a game for us all going well.

I like the idea of Stephenson but you wonder how many years of conditioning it would take to get someone up to AFL fitness standard.

If we do take Skipper and Putt we are only blowing our last two picks on the rookie list so it is hardly worth getting too excited about.