North Melbourne Priority Pick 2021

Um, no we didn't. We got a pick that was all of three spots lower than the pick we got the season before, after finishing 4th last in 2015.
Did you not pick Mcgrath with the first pick in the draft?

It’s very strange. Clearly this person holds onto anger directed at Aylett for pushing south Melbourne to Sydney. Even though aylett also tries to push north to the Gold Coast.

It’s weird though, in 2007 North were and ATO decision away from relocating, and also a fluke 3 last in 2006 to 3rd in 2007 ladder change.

Anyway, it was round 6 and north had started the year 0-3, somehow got a couple of win in round 4 and 5 and were playing the swans at Marvel to even up at 3-3.

I went with some people and we were sitting next to this mid 30’s looking swans supporter with his little girl. After north kicked a goal the north supporters started the chant north Melbourne clap clap clap thing. The little girl turned to her dad and asked “why are they saying north Melbourne if they are from the kangaroos?” He answered “because they are really just he kangaroos and they belong on the Gold Coast”.

I interjected “we north Melbourne and we’re not on the Gold Coast yet”.

You should have seen the vitriol and anger in his face. “You’re clubs dead mate, you should fold blah blah blah”. He was getting so worked up. I’m a pretty chill guy but I realised as his face reddened and spit flew from his mouth that if I didn’t move I was going to knock this guy out in front of a little girl and my early 20 drunk friends would leave him in the hospital just because they saw me in an altercation.

Anyway, obviously there are some south supporters that have a lot of hatred that north are still here and they are not. Unlike Fitzroy supporters who many have seemed to jump on North.
Why were you listening to a little girl and not watching the footy?

I have been informed that trading out older players is a no go. Or is only ones that people from other clubs say, that are allowed to be traded?

Honestly I would keep him if he was at the Swans.

Offers some leadership and is playing in a new position.

For the record, think North deserve a priority pick this year, probably not start of first round, but either mid first round or at the end of it would be fine.

Finally one of the Tennant's I am personally involved with at Arden St extended their lease, don't see North moving to Tasmania for quite some time (especially with rumoured redevelopment works).

Where were the calls for the crows to get a priority pick last year when they lost the first 13 games, hadn't won a game in 12 months and were widely considered the worst side in 30 seasons?

VFL crap as usual this discussion.

There was a discussion on your board about it last year IIRC.

But your point remains valid, at this stage of the season last year, the Crows looked just as bad (worse I dare say) than North Melbourne so far.

I think the main rationale at the time why the Crows were not really considered for a PP was that you played off in a Grand Final not so long.ago.
I think Rhyce Shaw's mental health struggles last season and forced to quit as coach right before the Trade and Draft period really has had a higher effect on North's players than most of us realize.

It's the AFL here who is mostly to blame, for their ridiculously ambigious criteria they have set out for PP qualification.

No one actually bloody knows for sure ?

Cheers Gill. We'll take the Gold Coast package.
Ok but just so you're aware, the best ladder position they've ever finished in their history in the AFL with that package is 12th. And I don't know if Gazza can go another 6 years.

There was a discussion on your board about it last year IIRC.

But your point remains valid, at this stage of the season last year, the Crows looked just as bad (worse I dare say) than North Melbourne so far.

I think the main rationale at the time why the Crows were not really considered for a PP was that you played off in a Grand Final not so long.ago.
I think Rhyce Shaw's mental health struggles last season and forced to quit as coach right before the Trade and Draft period really has had a higher effect on North's players than most of us realize.

It's the AFL here who is mostly to blame, for their ridiculously ambigious criteria they have set out for PP qualification.

No one actually bloody knows for sure ?

The Crows in rounds 1 and 8 last season only lost by 3 points. Now compare our first 8 rounds, we havent even been remotely close to a win.

If North are strong enough to stand on their own 2 feet, they won't ask for one.

With all the debate around a Tassie team, not a good time to look like the weakest club in Melbourne.

IMHO North won't ask.

I doubt your losing margins were like ours, in Round 1 last year you lost by 3 points. I can’t even picture us getting that close to a team, certainly if not the Hawks this week it won’t be anyone else.

I support Carlton actually, responding to a Crows fan.. I think you should beat Hawthorn this week btw and finally I am not against North getting a Priority Pick either. Not sure if any other clubs would support you getting pick 2 though (apparently other clubs have to be consulted in the PP deciding process from City Hall, AFAIK)

Where were the calls for the crows to get a priority pick last year when they lost the first 13 games, hadn't won a game in 12 months and were widely considered the worst side in 30 seasons?

VFL crap as usual this discussion.
The year before you had 10 wins

We are having this discussion because last year we had 3 wins and this year none so far

Now if you crows don’t win another game for the rest of the year and stay on 3 wins you could maybe mount a case for an end of first rounder but I have a feeling you’ve banked too many wins already

The year before you had 10 wins

We are having this discussion because last year we had 3 wins and this year none so far

Now if you crows don’t win another game for the rest of the year and stay on 3 wins you could maybe mount a case for an end of first rounder but I have a feeling you’ve banked too many wins already
Rubbish. Many sides have been given priority picks for more than that.

Not a fan of PPs in general but the idea that they shouldn't get one because they booted dregs like Marley Williams, Pittard etc who no other club wanted to pick up off the scrap heap is a poor one. Those players are complete garbage and not the reason North aren't managing a win or two like the Hawks this year, its the fact that the decent older players they kept to play alongside their youth are all in the cripple ward that has cost them

Ok but just so you're aware, the best ladder position they've ever finished in their history in the AFL with that package is 12th. And I don't know if Gazza can go another 6 years.
I think that was a reference to the priority picks and ability to prelist NT players for nothing.

I thought having a draft with the bottom team having first pick was to ensure each club eventually has every opportunity to at least work up the ladder and play finals. If North have another year on the bottom they get the best available talent to go with last year’s 3rd best, not to mention the other picks they would have picked up.

It’s not as if you can expect a turnaround in a year or two. But the bottom club is given every chance to build a quality list. If they squander it, no-one is to blame but the club and they go back to the drawing board.

I think a PP should only be considered if the draft was designed through the lottery system (for those outside the 8).

In addition Melbourne based clubs have so much more of an advantage over clubs from NSW and QLD who have to contend with the prospect of talent moving ‘home’ and possibly stretching their cap to keep them.

If North are strong enough to stand on their own 2 feet, they won't ask for one.

With all the debate around a Tassie team, not a good time to look like the weakest club in Melbourne.

IMHO North won't ask.
Considering we are one of 6 teams who don't rely on AFL handouts we are nowhere near the weakest club in Melbourne. I would argue that the draft is meant to be a fair and equal way of teams getting the talent or bargaining tools to rise again. No team in recent memory has dominated Grand Final day after a priority pick. Precedence is there, we deserve one at the moment and only a spike in the form of 2 or more wins will see us have to argue for one. Its where we get it that is up for debate.

Not a fan of PPs in general but the idea that they shouldn't get one because they booted dregs like Marley Williams, Pittard etc who no other club wanted to pick up off the scrap heap is a poor one. Those players are complete garbage and not the reason North aren't managing a win or two like the Hawks this year, its the fact that the decent older players they kept to play alongside their youth are all in the cripple ward that has cost them
Yeah that was always funny to see
Plus we replaced those list cloggers with genuine young talent like Atu, stevo and Corr

Nonetheless the list atm needs work and if we go by precedence we will definetly be in the mix for a pp

I think it helps also that we’ve never received a priority pick before so it’s almost like monopoly where’s its our turn to pass go and collect One without feeling guilty or shame

Let’s face it, it has a lot to do with Brad Scott’s final years topping up with lots of mature age hasbeens thinking he had a crack at the flag which was selfish at best. He was more worried about saving his job by finishing in finals but by doing so completely ruined the list management.

Now that Brad is working inside the AFL, I wouldn’t be surprise if Kangas got a priority. The list is in shambles but it was self inflected. I do feel sorry for them but do we reward complacency in list management. I’d say wait for another year of sh*t.

Well done Brad you spud! Ruined a clubs contingency plan.

This is a really good post.

I find the whole list is in a shambles but it was self inflicted argued odd though.

Weren't all teams that previously got PPs in that state because of decisions they made?

Weren't all their plights self inflicted?

If they go winless then sure, otherwise no.

The GC handouts of recent times were beyond ridiculous, and if I recall the AFL's tune last time North Melbourne were struggling they basically said we're not going to give them handouts if they struggle again.
Hawthorn will fix that this week.

We are playing like poo