Fortius Quo Fidelius

stkildathunda

DEMPSTERED
10k Posts St Kilda Saints - Tom Ledger 2012 Player Sponsor St Kilda Saints - Nicholas Heyne 2011 Player Sponsor St Kilda Saints - Nicholas Heyne 2010 Player Sponsor
Sep 7, 2008
Inside The Circle Of Zen
Man Utd
With what is one of our toughest seasons in many years lets all remember the meaning of Fortius Quo Fidelius.

IN 1933, St Kilda played a famous match that is graphically described in The Point of it All, the story of the St Kilda Football Club written by Jules Feldmann and Russell Holmesby.

"Amid the turmoil [of political infighting engulfing the club at that time], the team met North Melbourne at the Junction Oval in a game that was to be spoken of in awe ever after. The 'Shinboners' were reputed to be playing more vigorously than usual and from the outset the game had a foreboding quality about it. At half-time, St Kilda led by a goal and was already two men short. At one time there were five St Kilda players prostrate with trainers working all over the ground. It's fair to say that two North Melbourne players also needed some attention.

"Mohr [St Kilda's champion full-forward] left the field and, elsewhere, the players who could stand were simply heroic. To the amazement of all, the Saints stayed in front. By the final term, quite ordinary players became giants as the Saints, with only 15 men on the field and at least two of these badly injured, stood strong to win the game by 14 points.

"The St Kilda rooms resembled a war-time hospital. Hindson had a broken leg, big ruckman Cave had stitches and a gashed eye; Bence had been stitched twice during the game; Mohr's ribs were fractured; George had a damaged ankle and the rest of the team sported heavy bruises.

"In a memorable paragraph, one football writer declared: 'Nothing finer nor more inspiring than St Kilda's magnificent win against overwhelming odds has been witnessed at the seaside oval within living memory of the oldest member of the club. It was a superb exhibition of indomitable pluck, stamina and steadfastness of purpose.'

"It was decided at the next committee meeting to strike a medal in honour of the effort - facsimiles were presented to the heroic members of the side."

While it has been a commonly held belief that this game provided the origin of the crest that has since been worn on the left breast of the traditional St Kilda jumper, Holmesby says this is probably not true. He says photographic evidence from around that time suggests the crest may have been added to the guernsey design before the 1933 season.
It has been there ever since to remind generations of red, white and black fans and players of the spirit that overcame all obstacles decades ago.

Supporters shouldn't jump off after one bad loss but it makes it difficult with the lack of effort, spirit and commitment we showed today.

Even in our darkest days when we were getting flogged regularly we still showed some heart and spirit but today was just unlike St Kilda. You can cop losing if you are beaten by a better team but not when you are beaten due to lack of effort, spirit and commitment.

How many of the players are aware of this? Surely part of the introduction to the club and it's history?

Good question. I reckon maybe 80% at best, even though as you said it should be part of the introduction of the club.

Gives me a good idea, might email "Michaels Mailbox" and ask him, or just send it in.. If only i could remember where i pinched that article from :rolleyes:

Well, our bubble has well and truly burst, but has our love for this club ?

Two (or three) missed GF chances as well as various off field scandals and distractions have mentally affected the players - there is no doubt that the lack of personal and team discipline and the lack of desire and commitment is the result of a big burst after two years of swallowing everything for the ultimate success.

The team also appears physically spent and unable to go the extra mile when needed (46 to 79 tackles despite losing the possession count by some 120 speaks a rather clear language - unless the team is affected my some sort of illness or virus).

It is easy to support a winning team and we enjoyed a good ride, but now is the time to be strong and loyal despite a hangover year (yes, we need to introduce younger players and Siposs may be one of the bonuses we have not had for a while, but there is too much talent and footy left in Hayes, Riewoldt, Dal Santo, Goddard, etc. to start a full rebuild - we'll be back next year !).

Fortius Quo Fidelius.

And now excuse me while I sign up my four day old son for the mighty St Kilda football club.

Two (or three) missed GF chances as well as various off field scandals and distractions have mentally affected the players - there is no doubt that the lack of personal and team discipline and the lack of desire and commitment is the result of a big burst after two years of swallowing everything for the ultimate success.

The team also appears physically spent and unable to go the extra mile when needed (46 to 79 tackles despite losing the possession count by some 120 speaks a rather clear language - unless the team is affected my some sort of illness or virus).

It is easy to support a winning team and we enjoyed a good ride, but now is the time to be strong and loyal despite a hangover year (yes, we need to introduce younger players and Siposs may be one of the bonuses we have not had for a while, but there is too much talent and footy left in Hayes, Riewoldt, Dal Santo, Goddard, etc. to start a full rebuild - we'll be back next year !).

Fortius Quo Fidelius.

And now excuse me while I sign up my four day old son for the mighty St Kilda football club.

And plenty of us have, down in hail and rain at Linton losing 95% of games, albeit plugger made it easier to turn up, outmarking 3 or 4 opponents :), how many ledgends of the game did that their whole careers? not many i would say...Anyway back on topic..If we dont trade up we certainly have the talent, but if we dont then we need to do well or it will be getting far too late to get anything then years and years down the bottom half beckon. Im a gambler and would bank on us winning but a full rebuild looks better IO and ive just loved the ride of us rising over the last nearly 10 years

I sure as **** ain't goin' anywhere.

it'll all be worth it someday and all the crap like this will just make it all the more sweet when it does happen.

Fortius Quo Fidelius.

It's time to do a hawks in 2009 and blood the youngsters thus allowing a 2012 Tilt. Because this year is well and truly up the spout.
I'd like to see us push a tad harder however, especially the senior players in roo and bj to give the fans some hope for next year.

Fortius Quo Fidelius.

Great post and congrats on the birth of ur son.

The lack of effort was disgusting and I drove 3.5 hours each way to witness it but what can you do:)

Fortius Quo Fidelius.

Congratulations on the new young fella Holden, magnificent news mate! :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Agree with your post, also maybe we underestimate the effects of having almost a completely new coaching staff & the unfortunate timing of having a clean sweep. This would be the time when previous assistants would draw on their experience & drag the players back to where they should be, focussed, etc. There's likely to be a transition period for the new coaches, I don't think there could be a worse time though.

We've had a good run for a while in terms of being competitive, that's for sure.

It pains me to see the boys perform like they have, I truly thought we could could come out and show something this year.

We've given it our everything, and something had to give. Did the pre-season issues change something? Something we're not aware of internally? You can't keep class down, but if the effort isn't there then there's issues at hand.
Failing to win the contested footy in any of our 7 games so far is concerning, because if the hunger is gone that's definitely a real indicator of it.

Regardless, I'll be riding this out with them, as a proud interstate member of a club who have given me plenty of joy, love and pain. the GF was something like I've never experienced, all of them giving me enough reason to keep going, would never jump off after all this. Have gone for them since I was born, when my dad bought me a membership 10 years ago. He's told me how through thick and thin, seeing them lose every week in the VFL days, in the 1997 GF, the passion shouldn't dwindle. Seeing the greats of our club try so hard for glory, but falling short.

It's apart of what makes this club great, it shows up our character as supporters.
It shows up our toughness and will to keep being apart of this royal coaster ride.
It shows our strength through loyalty.
I'll aLWAYS be apart of what that represents.

Fortius Quo Fidelius

Write your reply...