The board instability was directly related to the circumstances leading to the 2014 election promise to redevelop the ground in order to bring AFL home and away games to Eureka Stadium.
- BENDIGO: T20 cricket
Bendigo being north of Melbourne would be perfect for North and Ballarat being west of Melbourne is a perfect for Western Bulldogs. Hope both teams flourish playing in regional Australia.I would say a permanent lighting upgrade to broadcast level and scaffold stands during the games if I was a betting person. Although there might be a very strong case for a permanent grandstand to be built on the Northern flank of the oval if North Melbourne are told by Tasmania that their services on behalf of Tourism Tasmania will no longer be sponsored by 2024 (If Tassie gets its own team). North Melbourne will be definitely looking for a new 2nd home.
I think that Bendigo would be the perfect fit.
That's a $25 million question. The Western Bulldogs are at this stage signed on in Ballarat to be reviewed again at the end of the 2024 season. I suspect that as long as the WBFC want to stay in Ballarat then they will stay there and won't want any competition from another AFL team. Technically North could bid for that place if for what ever reason the Dogs were to determine that they did not wish to continue with Ballarat after Season 2024. I imagine that it's unlikely that the Bulldogs would abandon Ballarat if the stadium was to be further upgraded in capacity and lighting leading to 2026. Effective broadcast standard lighting would change the whole dynamic at Mars Stadium because it would totally free up fixturing of games which are presently limited to Saturday and Sunday afternoons and this is a sticking point ATM for the WBFC. Night games would definitely offer flexibility for twilight and night fixturing thus broadening the stadium's potential threefold as well as offering live telecast games. Presently Channel 7 does not broadcast 1.30 pm Victorian fixtures and that affects the Bulldogs exposure much the same way that North presently misses out on national exposure being continually fixtured at twilight on Sundays.
Yes if North don't get a re-tenure in Tassie at some point in the future (for what ever reason) then they would likely chase another venue if one were available. It might be the chance for Bendigo or Shepparton to raise their hands. Shepparton already has a very good oval at its Deakin Reserve, while Bendigo's QEO would need some modernisation, it's still a very large capacity ground with a good surface that can accommodate up to 13,000 standing at present.
Deakin Reserve:
View attachment 1336837
QEO Bendigo:
View attachment 1336840
Hot off the Press - The Ballarat Courier at 10 am today: APRIL 12 2022
Commonwealth Games Announced in Ballarat: Which sports Victorian cities will host
Latest News
Premier Daniel Andrews making the announcement at Mars Stadium this morning.
Ballarat has been confirmed to host the athletics events as part of the 2026 Commonwealth Games. After much speculation, the host cities for the Games were officially announced on Tuesday morning, with Ballarat to host the centrepiece track and field events. An initial 16 sports have been locked in, although there could be more sports locked in by the end of the year.
POTENTIAL: Ballarat could find the likes of middle distance running sensation Peter Bol, an Australian favourite from the Tokyo Olympics, in action at Mars Stadium. Picture: Ryan Pierse, Getty Images.
Swimming, athletics, lawn bowls, table tennis and triathlon will host Para sports, while powerlifting will also be included. Four major sports hubs will be established in Ballarat, Bendigo, Geelong and Gippsland, with Shepparton also expected to host some events.
The current selection of sports is set to be divided as such:
The state government says the Games will contribute more than $3 billion to the Victorian economy, creating more than 600 full time jobs in the build-up, 3,900 during the Games and 3,000 jobs beyond the closing ceremony. "It's a great honour to have Victoria chosen as the host venue for the 2026 Commonwealth Games - we can't wait to welcome the world to all of our state," Premier Daniel Andrews said.
- BALLARAT: Athletics, boxing, T20 cricket
- BENDIGO: Lawn bowls, netball, squash, weightlifting, powerlifting, T20 cricket, final of cycling road race
- GEELONG: Swimming, diving, volleyball, gymnastics, hockey, table tennis, triathlon, T20 cricket
- GIPPSLAND: Badminton, rugby sevens, T20 cricket, start of cycling road race
- MELBOURNE: Opening ceremony only.
This will be the sixth time that Australia has staged the Commonwealth Games. Commonwealth Games Federation president Dame Louise Martin lauded the work done for regional Victoria to receive the events. "The Commonwealth Games Federation is absolutely delighted to award the 2026 Commonwealth Games to Victoria," she said. "Commonwealth Games Australia and the Victorian Government have set out a bold and innovative vision that provides an exciting new blueprint for hosting our major multi-sport event." Besides Melbourne 2006, in Australia they have been staged in Sydney in 1938, Perth 1962, Brisbane 1982 and the Gold Coast in 2018.
RELATED
It's usually less windy at night. I live in Geelong and it's just as frigid and drizzly here in Winter as Ballarat. The conditions at Mars Stadium are really no different on a given day to GMHBA Stadium except that the new stands at GMHBA block out a lot of the wind these days. I honestly don't know why people bang on about Ballarat's weather? Footy's a Winter game, what do people expect? Wear a warm coat, your club scarf, a beenie and some gloves. You get a couple of beers (Mars Stadium has full strength beer in cans) or a hot coffee and some hot food into your tummy and you're happy as a fat spider.I've been to night games of rugby in Canberra, there's no way known I'd attend a night AFL game in the middle of winter in Ballarat.
It's usually less windy at night. I live in Geelong and it's just as frigid and drizzly here in Winter as Ballarat. The conditions at Mars Stadium are really no different on a given day to GMHBA Stadium except that the new stands at GMHBA block out a lot of the wind these days. I honestly don't know why people bang on about Ballarat's weather? Footy's a Winter game, what do people expect? Wear a warm coat, your club scarf, a beenie and some gloves. You get a few beers (Mars Stadium has full strength beer in cans) and some hot food into your tummy and you're happy as a fat spider.
Honestly, any pub in Ballarat generally does great meals. I've never had a bad meal at either the Black Hill or the Robin Hood (Both in Peel Street). The North Ballarat Sports Club at Mars Stadium does pretty good meals. The Chinese restaurants in Ballarat are all very good in terms of the food quality. Irish Murphy's in Sturt Street does great meals, friendly service and has a real intimate feel. My old favourite was the Pancake kitchen which did nice pancake meals and wonderful pancake and crepe based deserts. There's also a good array of craft breweries and wine bars around the city.Sound like a local? I'm there for the game Saturday. Anywhere recommendations for dinner afterwards?
This post should be pinned for all visiting supporters going to games at Eureka.Honestly, any pub in Ballarat generally does great meals. I've never had a bad meal at either the Black Hill or the Robin Hood (Both in Peel Street). The North Ballarat Sports Club at Mars Stadium does pretty good meals. The Chinese restaurants in Ballarat are all very good in terms of the food quality. Irish Murphy's in Sturt Street does great meals, friendly service and has a real intimate feel. My old favourite was the Pancake kitchen which did nice pancake meals and wonderful pancake and crepe based deserts. There's also a good array of craft breweries and wine bars around the city.
The Herne Hill hammer not in Herne Hill soon? I’m a 20 resident of Herne Hill who just had a good day at the footy today in Ballarat today. The result could have made it better. The ground looked a treat. I’ve been there many times and this was easily the warmest. I was there the infamous Port Adelaide Sunday night finish in the dark and sun-zero conditions. T-shirts all day. Good banter with some great crows fans that was all good natured and how it should be. A good friendly atmosphere. When we hit the lead in the last quarter the place was rocking. An easy run up the highway from Herne Hill.Love this, perfect timing for my family and I as we transition to Ballarat this year.
The Herne Hill hammer not in Herne Hill soon? I’m a 20 resident of Herne Hill who just had a good day at the footy today in Ballarat today. The result could have made it better. The ground looked a treat. I’ve been there many times and this was easily the warmest. I was there the infamous Port Adelaide Sunday night finish in the dark and sun-zero conditions. T-shirts all day. Good banter with some great crows fans that was all good natured and how it should be. A good friendly atmosphere. When we hit the lead in the last quarter the place was rocking. An easy run up the highway from Herne Hill.
Welcome to Ballarat.Love this, perfect timing for my family and I as we transition to Ballarat this year.
All true and good advice.Honestly, any pub in Ballarat generally does great meals. I've never had a bad meal at either the Black Hill or the Robin Hood (Both in Peel Street). The North Ballarat Sports Club at Mars Stadium does pretty good meals. The Chinese restaurants in Ballarat are all very good in terms of the food quality. Irish Murphy's in Sturt Street does great meals, friendly service and has a real intimate feel. My old favourite was the Pancake kitchen which did nice pancake meals and wonderful pancake and crepe based deserts. There's also a good array of craft breweries and wine bars around the city.
A good high resolution image below shows the extent of Mars Stadium's development as at April 2022. Consider that in 4 years time that it will all look very different and it will be interesting to contrast the images: Click on image to expand.
View attachment 1386662
I've posted this image on another discussion group, but this is what I reckon is most likely to happen at Mars Stadium. It would fit the requested budget (of $53-55 million) from the Ballarat Council and tick all of the boxes with what they ultimately want. It's not an official image by any means, just my playing around doing some amateur drawing.
If we consider that the final bill for building the current 5000 seats was $15.1 million we might assume that to add another 10,000 seats using the existing architecture design would cost around $40 million accounting for price and labour increases since 2016. There would be about $1 million to conduct demolition and site clearance of some existing structures. Another $3.5 million for new lights. The cost of installing a new athletics track $1.2 million. The cost of demolishing and clearing the old Showgrounds $1 million and construction of a new permanent athletics track and pavilion $2.6 million and the installation of 1250 carparks at the John Valves site and adjacent to the new athletics centre another $2.5 million. The remainder would be spent on the erection of a temporary 10,000 capacity scaffold stand and then you are coming pretty damn close to spending $55 million.
View attachment 1393337
That money is separate from what would also need to be spent duplicating 800m of Creswick Road if its only duplicated between Howitt and Norman Streets. Triple that figure if they decide to duplicate the road 1.7 km from Norman Street out to the Western Freeway. The other unknown at this stage is what it would cost to build a train station near Norman Street? But if all of these things are built as I suggest that they may be, then you are looking at a very different area in four years time.
Mars Stadium 3 days ago - Click on image to see detailed view. As you can see, the Sports Club is nothing special from a design point of view, but it is well equipped for what it is and offers a great view across the oval from the bistro:
View attachment 1400812
Ya big girl's blouseI've been to night games of rugby in Canberra, there's no way known I'd attend a night AFL game in the middle of winter in Ballarat.
Given that it was 23 degrees that day which is normal for that time of the year and the angle that the afternoon sun hits the main hill, a roof over it wouldn't make any difference for people in the forward area anyway. If the Ballarat Council have any say in it then it's likely that the North Eastern seats and hill will get replaced by a large permanent grandstand for the Comm Games. One thing is for certain, it will be a very different place by season 2026.I drove down for the Western Bulldogs v Adelaide 1 point upset in April -
Even though it was a nice day in Melbourne when I left, I packed for cold - I wore jeans, and had a jacket and the like
When I got to the ground, I left my jacket in the car - Sitting in the outer during the first qtr I cooked like a roast chicken in the sun - I think lots of people were in my predicament - At qtr time went for a wander for the bar and found two mates who were behind the goals under the trees - Stayed there for the rest of the game - Couldn't see the entire game but atleast I wasn't cooking in the sun haha
Some kind of shade in the outer would have been ideal, but then again, it's probably not normally that warm and sunny there?
Besides that it was a nice ground and a great result to boot
News from the Rat:
Behind the scenes planning is underway for Ballarat’s promised Comm Games infrastructure
October 6, 2023 3:54 pm
A Ballarat councilor has revealed that planning for local infrastructure promised for the failed Commonwealth Games is now progressing again behind the scenes.
When the games were cancelled in July, then Premier Daniel Andrews stated that Ballarat would still get 5000 extra seats at Mars Stadium and a new athletics facility at the soon to be closed and re-located Creswick Road Showgrounds amongst other promises.
Cr Peter Eddy says he believes they’ll still be working towards a 2026 deadline given it aligns with the next state election. “It’s pleasing that in the information coming to council this week that government departments are re-engaging with our community and with council officers.”
“They are also starting to timeline and get back towards thinking about the projects that are committed,” Cr. Eddy said.
Other commitments include a multi-sports facility at Miners Rest, $50m of accessibility and restoration works at the Ballarat train station and upgrades to Selkirk Stadium.
Mountain bike tracks will also be completed in Creswick.