Drafted with pick number 25 in the 2013 National Draft
Height: 194 cms
Club: Eastern Ranges
Height: 194 cms
Club: Eastern Ranges

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Today could be the day Eastern Ranges defender Daniel McStay has dreamt of since he was a 10-year-old kid kicking the footy in the backyard.
Back then it was just the standard dream that almost every Australia kid has growing up.
“I’ve spoken to most clubs but they don’t give you much, some are nicer than the others but some are tougher and try and test you out I think,” he said.
“It’s all speculation at this stage, I don’t think anyone really knows who is going to get drafted until their name is called out, except for maybe Tom (Boyd)
“I guess I am a 50-50 chance, but I am hoping and praying I get drafted.”
![]()
#28 Brisbane (via West Coast) – Daniel McStay (VIC – KPP)
Height: 193cm, Weight: 86kg, DOB: 24/06/1995
Recruited from: Eastern Ranges
Style: Jarrad Waite
Player comparison:
Range: 20-late
Profile: McStay stands with his athleticism, versatility and strong marking ability. He has the closing speed to go with most guys but then can also take on the game offensively and do some damage with the run and carry he can provide. He’s also a good user by foot and can hit his targets up the field and convert from his set shot opportunities. He’s a strong mark in the air and has shown that he can also switch forward and present as a marking target at times. My criticism with his play is that he’s not a particularly physical or aggressive player by key position standards and is still developing that strength and ability 1v1. If he finds a role it’s most likely to be in the back half but he’ll need to become a better shutdown defender and improve his 1v1 work.
38. Hawthorn - Daniel McStay (194cm, 88kg defender - Eastern Ranges)
I've been talking up Daniel McStay for some time now, and he'd be one of my favourite KPPs in the draft - I'm still not entirely sure where he goes, particularly whether others rate him as highly as I do. But he did receive a Draft Combine invite, so that's a good sign to suggest I'm not completely wrong about him. His development as a player has been quite good to watch over the last couple of seasons, with a growth spurt taking him from tall midfielder to genuine key position player. That time spent in the midfield has certainly helped his running game, which is always nice in a tall. He has spent time up forward, and has done reasonably well with his strong marking. But, he is definitely a more natural defender. He reads the play quite well, rebounds nicely and has clean skills. Unfortunately he didn't get a lot of game time in the U18 Championships, and still does need to develop the physical side of his game. But what I like is that he has an air of confidence about him, and always seems to back himself in against his opponent. Always a good sign in a young tall, and should be able to back that up with performances once he gets stronger.
# 51 Carlton
Daniel McStay – Eastern Ranges / 193cm / 86 / ‘95
Had my eye on him for a bit and pretty keen on this kid. Seems to have a wonderful attitude and is very coachable so coupled with his development scope he makes for a pretty attractive kid to get into a programme. Really good mover around the park and not unhappy to mix it up a bit. Seen him at both ends and you could mould him a bit to what suited your balance quite easily and he could very much be a swingman type. In fact he reminds me a bit of Hansen at same age. Seems to be able to get to loads of contests and has a good feel when to be attacking and defensive. Strong hands and whilst sometimes I think his kicking is a bit off to be fair it is very good for a big fella.. Think he could well land in first couple of rounds come draft day.
Why and who else: They need talls and he is a ripper this kid. Will need time but just does some things I really like. Could go in the 20’s come draft day as only takes one club to value highly his potential. Unfortunately for Blues could well be gone by here. Thorp would have to be in the mix as would Ben Brown and Toohey or Beasly for the back half?
Player comparison
Lachie Hansen (NM) Tyson Goldsack (COLL)
What they say
"He's a good decision-maker with the ball in his hand. He's not a penetrating kick but he has that good lateral decision-making kick which opens up the other side of the ground for offence. He'll start as a defender, but in the medium to long-term, I reckon he'll be able to play forward a majority of the time." – Eastern Ranges Regional Manager, Anthony Parkin
McStay marks in a 2013 TAC Cup final against Geelong Falcons [a freddie foto]
![]()

#25 – Daniel McStay
Previous number/s
33 (for VIC Metro at U18 Championships
11 (at Eastern Ranges)
Notable #25’s at the Lions
Eddie Hart (1946-51)
Matthew Campbell (1987-93)
Andrew Bews (1994-98)
The upshot was a stockpile of draft selections, one of which (Pick 25) was used on McStay. A product of the Eastern Rangers, he is adamant that so far the replacement deck is "coping well" with the move.
He also senses the efforts being made by the club to ensure that any mistakes which led to the regrettable situation of 2013 are not repeated.
"The welfare staff have been great in really making us feel welcome and bringing us together."
And it's not only club officials striving to assist the integration process. Older players understand the the responsibility must be shared.
"In our first week at the club, the second and third year players took us away to an island and we had a weekend away with the boys...we were just mucking around, went to the beach and having some fun, it was good just to relax with the guys and get to know them, nothing too serious."
On a personal level, McStay is taking a pragmatic approach with respect to his personal development. Still casting a svelte figure, he accepts that his chances of tasting AFL football in his first season are slim.
"Being a key position player it's obviously a lot tougher to break out in your first year of AFL footy, so I'm planning on just getting on the training track and doing everything possible to improve and work on my deficiencies, and just become a good NEAFL player if that's possible."
"The plan is basically to stay injury free for my first year and take it from there I guess."
The prospect of moving away from family and friends is daunting for anyone – let alone a teenager fresh out of high school.
But the reality is that a large number of draftees are required to head interstate to realise their AFL dream.
Daniel McStay was just one of seven recruits from the recent AFL National and Rookie Drafts who relocated to Brisbane late last year to join the Lions.
The Eastern Ranges product said having teammates who were going through, or had gone through, similar challenges certainly helped him settle into his new environment.