demon_69

Well, after going to many AFL games, and the International Rules game, the crowd and chants at the IR made the game so much more fun.
When you at an AFL match, what would you prefer, would you prefer to be how it is now, fairly quiet **** weak crowd. Or would you prefer the crowd roudy like at soccer games with horns and chants etc.

I'd love to go to an English Premier League game just for the crowd, it would be awesome. I think Aussies need to get some balls and be more supportive at the footy, get some chants going, liven the crowd up more!

What's peoples thoughts?

Originally posted by Inferno_03
Well, after going to many AFL games, and the International Rules game, the crowd and chants at the IR made the game so much more fun.
When you at an AFL match, what would you prefer, would you prefer to be how it is now, fairly quiet **** weak crowd. Or would you prefer the crowd roudy like at soccer games with horns and chants etc.

I'd love to go to an English Premier League game just for the crowd, it would be awesome. I think Aussies need to get some balls and be more supportive at the footy, get some chants going, liven the crowd up more!

What's peoples thoughts?

Good idea perhaps AFL fans could unite any song writers in here write some cathcy anti collingwood song and opposition fans can sing it @ Collingwood games

In all serious I doubt songs would work, too many ppl can't resist yelling "ball" for longer than 5 seconds. Be good if it did though Think of the acostics @ telstra with the roof shut. 40,000 Bomber fans singing **** you Eddie now that would be good.

What's peoples thoughts?

Why dont you form an Australian version of the Barmy Army. It would satisfy your need to sing at sporting events and you could make plenty of money in the process. Merchandising etc.

Re: Re: Crowds @ the AFL / Chants

Originally posted by skipper kelly
Why dont you form an Australian version of the Barmy Army. It would satisfy your need to sing at sporting events and you could make plenty of money in the process. Merchandising etc.
Don't have the money, or marketing skills to get anything like that off the ground, being only 17, it's a little difficult.
But if anyone want's to come to the footy an yell an scream an be noisy, give me a PM.

Originally posted by anonymous Joe
Good idea perhaps AFL fans could unite any song writers in here write some cathcy anti collingwood song and opposition fans can sing it @ Collingwood games

hahaha, wouldn't it be great. :D:D

Re: Re: Re: Crowds @ the AFL / Chants

Don't have the money, or marketing skills to get anything like that off the ground, being only 17, it's a little difficult.
But if anyone want's to come to the footy an yell an scream an be noisy, give me a PM.

Maybe, but it is something for the future. A lot of money has been made from the B.A.

Have fun at the footy. Cheers.

Um, I don't know what games you have been at if the crowd wasn't making a noice from first to final siren? I love a song and a chant but nothing can beat being in a big crowd at the footy - the noice and comments and yelling never stop. And it is all focused on the game, not invented to pass the time because the game is so dull. Magic.

btw if you want to get into some more organised noice, just join a cheer squad! you might be able to help them get some more innovative chants going too - instead of "team name - clap clap clap"...

What's peoples thoughts?

They chant becasue they are bored at the soccer/rugby/cricket. If only they could understand aussie rules they might actually shut up becasue they would be interested in what is going on.

Too much going on in AFL to start singing. I do it but half the time i miss out on the action. Games like Rugby and Futbol need chanting or else you become bored.

Love it when you hear the whole crowd scream out "BALL" and the roar. AFL crowds dont sing they roar.

Originally posted by Pevers-Legend
They chant becasue they are bored at the soccer/rugby/cricket. If only they could understand aussie rules they might actually shut up becasue they would be interested in what is going on.

haha posted the same thing at the same time.

Originally posted by Frosties_Flank
Too much going on in AFL to start singing. I do it but half the time i miss out on the action. Games like Rugby and Futbol need chanting or else you become bored.

Love it when you hear the whole crowd scream out "BALL" and the roar. AFL crowds dont sing they roar.

:rolleyes: How exciting people sreaming "Ball"... Are you sure its not "Bore"...

Don't get me started on League Beirut Bomber.

The crowd at Rugby league matches are so friggen slow that they get all confused when they watch a game of Aussie Rules. ;)

The best cheersquads when it comes to chanting are the Collingwood Cheersquad and the Richmond Unofficail Cheersquad (the one in standing room behind the opposing teams cheersquad). They both come up with good chants for different players (Richmond's are alot more rude since they aren't the official cheersquad). Had to laugh at their Brodie Holland song, and I could since it was the last two minutes of the game while we were up by alot.

Don't get me started on League Beirut Bomber.

The crowd at Rugby league matches are so friggen slow that they get all confused when they watch a game of Aussie Rules. ;)

hahahahaha... The crowd at RL matches watch RL so how can watch Aussie RUles and get confused about it :p :confused:

Beirut Bomber? DOnt be like that, we are the Lebanese Resistance against the terrorists and there bombs.

Are you a x Newtown supporter? GO the Jets...

Originally posted by LebaneseForces hahahahaha... The crowd at RL matches watch RL so how can watch Aussie RUles and get confused about it :p :confused:

Thanks for proving my theory right about League fans. What the hell does all that mean?

Are you a x Newtown supporter? GO the Jets...

Yep sure am! ;)

Thanks for proving my theory right about League fans. What the hell does all that mean?

Yep sure am! ;)

mejets.jpg

Well You said "The crowd at Rugby league matches are so friggen slow that they get all confused when they watch a game of Aussie Rules."

The crowd at Rugby League matches go too watch RUGBY LEAGUE! How can they get confused by Aussie Rulez at a Rugby League match:confused:

Originally posted by Tommo
LEB Force YOU ARE A MORON!!!!

Nah mate i hate the Maroons i go for the Mighty Blues:p
Bit of fun mate... Calm Down... go scream "Ball" if that tickles your Fancy...

A bit of singing would be nice, and the drum can be good fun. But none of those annoying horns please.
The singing crowds can be great for adding atmosphere and a bit of noise, and joining in those chants can be great fun; but the risk is that it could attract a hooligan element. And we certainly don't want to see anything like the vermin Sydney United fans at the soccer last night; who held up the game by throwing flares onto the pitch, trashed the grandstand and wrote graffiti in the toilets.
And that sort of thing drives some people away. If you look at the hardcore ultra crowds overseas, you'll notice they're very male-dominated. One positive about our crowds is that female fans are comfortable at the games, and I'd hate to see that jeopardised.

Definately need the soccer-esque chants. Some footy-goers think it's the freaking opera.

Originally posted by skipper kelly

They already exist mate.

Go to <http://www.thefanatics.com> and <http://www.ggarmy.com> (Soccer) and see for yourself.

The Fanatics are even organising an allocation of tickets together at the SCG One-Day cricket games, something that is very important in the set-seat Row Z Sydney sporting culture.

JF

Leb Forces you are already a moron for suporting the dumdest game on earth, League. It was formed to suit idiots like yourself who were unable to keep up with union. WOW. 10m runs into other thickheads, great game. I wonder why they are all leaving to Union these days?? Real pity mate, once these pokie taxes come in, League is officially dead.

This can be sung on the Queen's Birthday 2004.

"WHITE SHORTS NEXT YEAR"

(to the tune of Slim Dusty's "Pub with no Beer")

Down at old MFC there's a real big arse-clown
Keeps complaining and says Eddie brings the league down
But the fans at their home game won't yell or won't cheer
Might as well bring your white shorts at this time next year!

Now how can a club that's two mil in the hole
Knock a rich club who's members are all on the dole
Yet they're in such strife, it all seems a bit queer

They've lost all the money left by "Diamond Joe"
And the loyalist fan has pis$ed off to the snow
Cause losing this "home game" is their greatest fear

They sook about Eddie, they sook about Bucks
But the fact is that their club is just about fu**ed
If you still want this home match the reply will be clear:
Might as well bring your white shorts at this time next year!!!!

chants in the game are really unnecessary

outside the ground and on trains/buses/trams it would be good to have a song or two to sing however........