Roast CEO & president

• Thread starter Thread starter Bird Man

Left Yze out to dry in that press conference.

Never would have happened with Gale or Peggy.

Have we had a president and ceo this silent?
Don’t think so , would have looked like a wank having a ceo step in on a weekly coaches presser , dunny was door stopped on news last night , pretty ordinary take

YZE is a grown man doesnt need a master to defend him
Yeah cause he should be answering questions on who paid the victim 45k and questions about the case. He was ambushed by the general media looking to get a headline and wanted nothing to do with the game. The president or ceo should have had a presser after the verdict and not the coach.

Come on man Yze was not the person to be answering half the questions put to him.

It was weak from our board to palm it to the coach

Dunne addressed the media on multiple occasions re the Balta incident
The club was trying to move on, unfortunately the media didn’t want to.
Personally I have no issue with the way the club has handled this and in general think the CEO is doing a cracking job.

I agree with this, I feel the club is quite happy with how they’ve handled it. They in conjunction with the AFL have punished him, and then the courts have also punished him which they knew was coming especially with his guilty verdict. The main people unhappy have been the AFL media (and who really cares what they think)!

The media have been sooking up about it big time, they were desperate to hang out someone to dry, and they were after another headline to get some more mileage out of this situation.
Balta made a terrible mistake, but I find it really strange how there’s been NO concern re his mental health.

I couldn’t be more proud of our club in how they have handled this whole situation.

From day one when they handed down a significant penalty to Balta, they have not wavered and bowed down to a media agenda.

Whenever someone has spoken publicly from the CEO, Coach to the players, they all have condemned what Balta did. But the sign of any united, strong organization everyone has spoken the same language they are all supporting their person.

Our club is a strong club, one that believes in their own people and certainly looking after their own. We will not fall into line with bullshit that weak organization’s succumbs too

I couldn’t be more proud of our club in how they have handled this whole situation.

From day one when they handed down a significant penalty to Balta, they have not wavered and bowed down to a media agenda.

Whenever someone has spoken publicly from the CEO, Coach to the players, they all have condemned what Balta did. But the sign of any united, strong organization everyone has spoken the same language they are all supporting their person.

Our club is a strong club, one that believes in their own people and certainly looking after their own. We will not fall into line with bullshit that weak organization’s succumbs too
Come on significant my arse. 2 practise games and 4 games? Had they given him say 8 season games it might have kept the media away. When the video surfaced well all hell broke loose. The AFL should have taken charge instead living it to club and leaving us under the bus.

Yeah cause he should be answering questions on who paid the victim 45k and questions about the case. He was ambushed by the general media looking to get a headline and wanted nothing to do with the game. The president or ceo should have had a presser after the verdict and not the coach.

Come on man Yze was not the person to be answering half the questions put to him.

It was weak from our board to palm it to the coach
Or he could have just said at the start of the interview i wont be answering any questions about the Noah Balta incident
and just made the no comment about it when asked

Come on significant my arse. 2 practise games and 4 games? Had they given him say 8 season games it might have kept the media away. When the video surfaced well all hell broke loose. The AFL should have taken charge instead living it to club and leaving us under the bus.
It's easy to be a hindsight expert. Had the club seen the footage and understood the full extent of the incident when they made their sanction? With the benefit of hindsight, I agree the penalty we imposed was fairly soft. 8 AFL matches would have sent a much stronger message. Maybe when we saw and understood the full context we could have revised our penalty? We are a strong club built off the back of cultural values put in place under Gale and Peggy's leadership. As for AFL involvement, I firmly believe the best clubs don't wait for the AFL to act. Our leadership group, in conjunction with the Club's management are the appropriate group to set the sanction and uphold our values.

I think when it comes to Balta's mental health, the best thing the club can do is be really clear on why he's being sanctioned, how the sanction was arrived at, provide a supportive environment to him while he is suspended and going through the legal process and then support him in his journey toward winning back trust within the playing group as well as the wider football fan community.

Balta will be forever tarnished by this incident and that's on him to take ownership of his actions.

Controlling the media narrative often seems difficult. Ultimately the media can't be controlled and any attempt to do so can cause serious backlash. I think some reasonable tolerance of the media's desire for scrutiny is the "damage control" strategy. The club focusing its energy on what's up next is super important for a whole lot of reasons. To give due weight to ANZAC Day itself, our ANZAC Eve clash with the Dees, Campbell Gray's debut - these are each big stories full of merit. So subtly by focusing on these important stories we do "move on". The AFL news cycle is short and narrow. Come Monday morning after a round of games, no-one will be talking about Noah Balta. His selection / non-selection over the next 3 months due to the curfew will cause a ripple of mentions. Club is looking it as an opportunity to get games into deserving young talls like Blight and Gray which augurs well for our future.

So far I have been very impressed with Shane Dunne as CEO. I expect plenty of challenges will fall to him over the next few years as he seeks to establish himself as a strong club CEO and that's as it should be.

We are tracking well with our re-build to again being a power - on and off the field - from around 2028-33 onwards.

That in itself...can be a strong indication of poor leadership.
As if the media was ever going to let that drop.
It would be a bit like leaving Broady to front the media on his own after his "mint cans?" episode.

As the op said...can't remember gale/o'neal ever doing that.
Still...nothing lasts forever...and for me the corporatisation of Richmond...as with the afl...feels all but now complete.
Of course...there'll always be a few scraps off the table thrown to the punters...so they keep supporting/paying...believing.
Along with loads of propoganda to support that...and keep us squabbling amongst ourselves...so we don't see what's really going on...in our new (old) 2 tier society.

Was actually just reading this behind The Age paywall article...although there are ways around...as noted on this forum previously;

They used to eat their own at Tigerland; now they just eat well.

Let’s face it the only decision the wolf pack would have been happy with is if we sacked him , was never gonna be easy to navigate , I think we did well

C'mon mate.

Do you really think even an 8 match penalty would've kept the media vultures away?

The scum would've wanted him banned for the whole season!!

Noah's actions may have been over the top, but he without sin cast the first stone.

C'mon mate.

Do you really think even an 8 match penalty would've kept the media vultures away?

Noah's actions may have been over the top, but he without sin cast the first stone.
Exactly, even the media nuffs saying magistrate issued the curfew on account of us playing Noah last week ,,, yea ok , so magistrates pour over the ins and outs prior to making decisions, didn’t know it was a crime to continue in employment prior to court case

That in itself...can be a strong indication of poor leadership.
As if the media was ever going to let that drop.
It would be a bit like leaving Broady to front the media on his own after his "mint cans?" episode.

As the op said...can't remember gale/o'neal ever doing that.
Still...nothing lasts forever...and for me the corporatisation of Richmond...as with the afl...feels all but now complete.
Of course...there'll always be a few scraps off the table thrown to the punters...so they keep supporting/paying...believing.
Along with loads of propoganda to support that...and keep us squabbling amongst ourselves...so we don't see what's really going on...in our new (old) 2 tier society.

Was actually just reading this behind The Age paywall article...although there are ways around...as noted on this forum previously;

They used to eat their own at Tigerland; now they just eat well.
Not poor leadership imo. The club/Dunne made multiple statements in various media outlets right from the beginning and the AFL who can difficult to deal with, ticked off our actions. So why do we need to pander to the likes of Wilson/Morris/Barrett etc.
Regardless of what was said the media would have found another negative another headline.

C'mon mate.

Well it would have looked better at the time lol