Booze hounds!

purple hills

Carlton - ACT Brumbies
Alright you blokes arent that happy about discussion of drinking efforts on other threads so here's one for these efforts that deserve to be posted.

Will start off with Chris Farrel's effort shotgunning 10 cans on the bus trip home to Cobram (VIC) from Deniliquin (NSW) after a game and getting off the bus and having his eleventh whilst doing a headstand. Freakish effort for an hour long trip!! :eek:

yes, whilst I had never heard of chris farrel until just then this type of performance commands respect and is enough for me to suggest that he is a pretty good bloke. lets just hope that for all the fans out there that chris can continue his good form this year as I am sure ex-elmore blood terry 'wazz' warren will.

Terry Warren 6 - 8 cans on way to Broadford pulled the boots on in the twobies, then straight back on the cans again after the game and putting them down at an astonishing rate.

Another that springs to mind was young skeeter Anderson after playing against Mansfield got stuck into the cans so hard that he was asleep by the time the bus was leaving Mansfield.

pumpa jess said:
Terry Warren 6 - 8 cans on way to Broadford pulled the boots on in the twobies, then straight back on the cans again after the game and putting them down at an astonishing rate.

Another that springs to mind was young skeeter Anderson after playing against Mansfield got stuck into the cans so hard that he was asleep by the time the bus was leaving Mansfield.
get out the UBD(Sydways for Mexicans)we play at Richmond in the far northwest corner of Sydney.a trip to Manly takes a good hour and a bit these days with the M2 bringing an easier trip,but prior to that it was the LOOOOONG way,took the best part of two hours.up against a pretty formidable team(at the time)and being cellar dwellers that had most 1st graders playing 2nds as well to make up numbers, some blokes just couldnt be bothered.so a young fella named ****** ******(to protect the innocent)decided that his coke needed some jolt,so he proceeded to polish a 750ml bottle of Jim Beam BEFORE the game, arriving at Weldon Oval he fell face first off the bus and rightfully slept it off in the sheds while we got smacked in both grades.PS-Weldon has a bowls club outside the car park so he backed it up after the games as well,but unofficially,i cant remember what happened next.

pekay-norwest, yeah that doesn't seem like a bad effort from the young fella named ****** ******. still, don't think it beats the effort of terry 'wazz' warren* as after his skin full he managed to pull the boots on and have a run around, albeit not a very good one.

* denotes takes dress-ups to 21'sts a bit too serious ala ash's this coming saturday night. the rumours are that a few people are thinking of pulling out of the footy dress up theme and I can really see wazz completely losing his peanuts if this is the case.

Jules' massive effort

Julian Storey once inhaled nine VB cans after a cricket match on the trip from Donald to Charlton (30 minute trip) ... not much will top that.

Another good effort Dave Coulston won a premiership at Walla and during the game after it was all sewn up in the 3rd quarter started having a few beers and by the end of the 4th was completely legless infront of thousands while playing in the grand final. These efforts from Coulston are not few and far between either once sunk 6 beers between buraja and rand 20 minutes trip.

Pulled out of a game sick with the flu at the last min 10 years ago and a former team mate who'd shown up out of the blue put the boots on. Prior to this he'd been sinking vbs and pulling cones, so he definately wasnt all there. Hadnt played for a few years but still didnt stop him getting the 3 votes. I really hate players with natural fitness and ability but had to admire that effort.

tara said:
Pulled out of a game sick with the flu at the last min 10 years ago and a former team mate who'd shown up out of the blue put the boots on. Prior to this he'd been sinking vbs and pulling cones, so he definately wasnt all there. Hadnt played for a few years but still didnt stop him getting the 3 votes. I really hate players with natural fitness and ability but had to admire that effort.
were like peas in a pod Tara,or clubs at least.

Was team manager for interleague a lot of years ago .Three players in that team got me to ring up there wives and tell them i had called a training session for the morning after an interleague game so they could go out on grog and they didnt have to go home, silly me did it actualy just bumped into one of these players today living up here now no names no packdrill but all were fairly big name country footballers.Ones twin brother played with a couple Vfl sides.

cheers :D

I am sure there are many stories that could be told about former Glenorchy player Robert Guarlay's drinking nights. As well as Scott Parsons.

The Scarecrow said:
I am sure there are many stories that could be told about former Glenorchy player Robert Guarlay's drinking nights. As well as Scott Parsons.
and, care to elaborate ;)

jmain14 said:
pekay-norwest, yeah that doesn't seem like a bad effort from the young fella named ****** ******. still, don't think it beats the effort of terry 'wazz' warren* as after his skin full he managed to pull the boots on and have a run around, albeit not a very good one.

* denotes takes dress-ups to 21'sts a bit too serious ala ash's this coming saturday night. the rumours are that a few people are thinking of pulling out of the footy dress up theme and I can really see wazz completely losing his peanuts if this is the case.
well i didnt read that one,and hats off to Wazz,i reckon BigFooty should strike a medal in his honour.still cant believe he played,did they get up?and this 21st sounds like a ********a,if he loses the plot im sure we'll all hear about it!

How does an all night drinking session, finishing his last beer minutes before he ran out in the twos stack up against these efforts?

AllBlacks60 said:
How does an all night drinking session, finishing his last beer minutes before he ran out in the twos stack up against these efforts?
its well up there but gotta here the nuts and bolts of this one AB60

Does last night count. Im sitting at my desk suffering badly. Sleep, Please let me sleepy.

pekay-norwest said:
its well up there but gotta here the nuts and bolts of this one AB60

Yeah i agree need ot hear the whole story but sounds like it would be right up there All Black.

Well a mate of mine who I think should remain un-named, mainly because he is a little embarressed about the whole thing. He went out on a Friday night, despite the pub ban being enforced, but was only going for a couple of quiet ones, ended up at a night club in Wangaratta to some ridiculous hour. I went to pick him up to drive to Shepp East, where I knew we were gonna get pumped. As we were leaving Benalla he was begging me to stop at a Bottle Shop (None of which were open) when I refused he proceeded to pull some stubbies out of his footy bag and drank them in the car on the way over. He didn't play too badly in the ruck all day! But we did get pumped, then after a quick nap in the car during the seniors game, he was back into it when we got home to Benalla.

Saw a bloke at the mid SE grand final a few yrs back give a 750 of Scotch a hammering throughout the day, he managed to fit in a punch on with an umpire who was watching the game and let off a smoke bomb which covered 1/2 the ground in a large orange cloud.

Jimmy said:
and, care to elaborate ;)
Before Glenorchy sacked Scotty Parsons, he went on a binge, I am not sure how long it lasted, but he was reportedly caught with drugs, and was sent away from the club. Robert Guarlay during the early 90s at the club used to always skip training as did a few others, he would be seen at the Wrest Point Casino drinking pretty much most of the night.

The details behind Scott Parsons are only things that I have heard, mostly stories from some supporters at the club. But the reason he want on these binges was the fact that his dad and grandfather both died young, and he went all weird and was worried the same was going to happen to him. From what I have heard, he was lucky he hasn't died if you looked at him when he retired to Glenorchy you will see what I mean, he is gone from the club now. Probably playing down the bush or interstate.

I am not sure if the stories about Parsons is true, like I said they are things I have been told by others. Guarlay being seen down the Casino was told to me by my dad, he saw him there when he should of been training this was the year that Kim Exell coached the Magpies.

A mate of mine who played some 2's for West Gambier slept on his front lawn after a fairly big night(and this guy could have some big nights, and days and the 2 put together believe me!) after he shook the cobwebs out he got a call to fill in that day for the always short Roos and got in the best players to boot!

Calling North Adelaide supporters - anyone got a Grenville Dietrich or Mike Doszna story?

I know this one bloke really well who can scull a pot of beer in 1.4 secs, Pint of beer in 2.5 secs and a jug in 5.4 secs. (they are his best times) and he also drank 17 beer bongs in 2 hour sitting without vomitting once. Not a bad effort I think.

AllBlacks60 said:
I know this one bloke really well who can scull a pot of beer in 1.4 secs, Pint of beer in 2.5 secs and a jug in 5.4 secs. (they are his best times) and he also drank 17 beer bongs in 2 hour sitting without vomitting once. Not a bad effort I think.

Thats a tremendous effort!!

Give us a name or at least a club. Is he from the All Blacks?