2025 Giants general footy chat

Thought I'd create a thread for general footy chat for this year. (if there is something that covers that, I couldnt see it and apologies for creating work for the admins.

A couple things I wanted to note and chat about.
- With all the injuries and suspensions, there a few comments saying if we could go 1-1 before the bye we'd be happy with that, to be 2-0 with good percentage is a bonus with the troops back after the bye.
-The Bedford tag, this one always has me thinking. The tag on Daicos was awesome. Petracca was not impacted at all by the tag. Same as Cripps. I think we have to be selective on who we have Bedford tag, he is not overly effective on the big strong clearance players, but is brilliant on the creative types who run well (Daicos, Butters and those types). Maybe we are more selective on who we have him tag, if they dont have the sort of player that Bedford tags well, then we dont tag anyone. If we think we need to tag those big guys we consider swapping Ward and Bedford, get Ward to run with the Petraccas and Bonts of the world and put bedford on a wing. Maybe Im way off.
-The depth is good. Gru is developing nicely for a third year key position player, he is closer to it than I thought. Wehr is a great back up player. Leake although down on the weekend looks like he has a future and Brown has loads of attributes that make him very dangerous in his own right.
-Im loved that Keefe kicked the winner on the weekend, but I would swap it for one of the misses in either the Swans or Brisbane finals. Last 2 weeks he has shown exactly why he is on the list.
-Finn has exploded this year. There has been signs, but he has arrived this year. I remember someone saying at the beginning of last year he was a bust, whoever that was, bet you've never been so glad to be wrong.
-Im really pumped and think we are every chance to give it a good shake this year.

It's only Round 1, but I'd be surprised if the top eight changes that much, to be honest.

Brisbane will make it, and I can't see Richmond hanging on, but there's a cluster of teams fighting for that last spot - the Bulldogs, Demons, and Swans.
interesting.
Safe to say Richmond wont make it.
I also dont have much confidence in any of Western Bulldogs, Collingwood or the Suns. All 3 will be in the fight, but none of them in my top 8. I have Adelaide in my 8, but I reckon they are in that 50/50 bunch as well.
It is pretty tight comp.
Before the weekend the only 3 teams I gave no hope of finals were WCE, Richmond and North. St Kilda probably joined them for me on the weekend.
Carlton and Port I thought would be competing again, and they still might, but its hard to make an argument for them after round 1.
Long way to go, but early rounds often give away plenty of insight on where teams are at.

I've been impressed with Bedford's tagging efforts this year. Even yesterday, he made nine strong tackles on men bigger than him. Petracca is such a physical beast of a man that he's going to find ways to hurt you, but I thought we limited the damage pretty well.

Some players really struggle to shake a hard tag. Daicos was well held in Round 0 and Lachie Neale was virtually unsighted yesterday against the Swans. Using Bedford as a tagger is a good strategy for us because his speed such an asset in the middle of the ground on the turnover, so we get that upside in offense along with the defensive benefits he brings.

It's only Round 1, but I'd be surprised if the top eight changes that much, to be honest.

Brisbane will make it, and I can't see Richmond hanging on, but there's a cluster of teams fighting for that last spot - the Bulldogs, Demons, and Swans.
It's obviously super early, but I definitely expect Carlton and Fremantle to be able to bounce back and make it into the 8 by the end of the season. Bulldogs and Richmond are the ones I'd be tipping to drop out.

They're all pretty similar. If it's a day game, 240 because you're not staring into the sun. If it's a night game, 247 because you can probably sneak up the wing if it's a small away crowd (depending on the opposition).

Thanks mate, much appreciated. It’s the round 4 arvo game vs WCE.

Im so over hearing the bitching and moaning about our 20 pick 1s in our teams and we are gifted.
So lets have a look at our 22, which is our best 22 at the moment.

Idun - Pick 61
Taylor - Pick 28
Himmelberg - Pick 16
Whitfield - Pick 1 (we came last)
Buckley - Category B rookie
Ash - Pick 4
Callaghan - Pick 3
Kelly - Pick 2
Coniglio - Pick 2
Green - Pick 10 Dropped down the list
Bedford - Trade Pick 75
Briggs - Pick 34
Greene - Pick 11
Stringer - Trade Pick 53
Daniels - Pick 27
Jones - Pick 21
Hogan - Trade Pick 54
Cadman - Pick 1 Trade multiple players to get

Interchange
Wehr - Pick 59
Riccardi - Pick 51
Stone - Pick 15
Ward - Trade Start up
O'Halloran - Pick 22

Ok so

Top 10 Picks - 7
Top 20 - 3
Top 30 - 4
Outside Top 30 - 8

Wonder how it compares....

On top of that where are all these unfair academy players we are gifted?

Some talented players in form in the 2's, do people think they'll start pushing into the 1's

The likes of McMullen & Thomas probably would have had first crack at it if available and now have some games in 2's, will they come back in quickly or really made to earn it.

Gruz, Rowsten, Fonti and a couple others are highly rated and looked outstanding in the highlights, they'd have to come into consideration as well.

Not even looking at this years draftees with Ough getting 9 clearances in his 30+ touches and Oliver chalking up big numbers. Youd think they are a bit away at the moment, but pleasing none the less.

2025 Giants general footy chat

Write your reply...