List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!

How did you rate our trade period? (sponsored by Daemon)

Just pinning this, as per previous years. Thanks as always to Lore.

Final trade/FA period results
Out:
  • Charlie Spargo
  • Judd McVee
  • Christian Petracca
  • Clayton Oliver
  • Picks 28, 42 and 61
  • Melbourne Second-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Third-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2027)
In:
  • Jack Steele
  • Changkuoth Jiath
  • Brody Mihocek
  • Max Heath
  • Oscar Berry (Rookie)
  • Picks 7, 8, 37 and 71 (2025)
  • GC First-Rounder (2026)
  • GWS Third-Rounder (2026)
  • GC Third-Rounder (2027)

Moraes looked good tonight, reminded me of a young butters. Would have been perfect in our midfield, speed, aggression, agility and skills.

Shame we don’t rate picks outside the top 15.
So all the traits that Lindsay has in spades?

Why would Sam Draper come here?

It is not because he is chasing success - he would just be going to another bottom six club. Talk about trading one hell in for another!

And then playing in the red and blue will give him the indignity of playing in front of smaller crowds and training in worse facilities in some shithole suburb an hours drive from town.

I guess we can offer him less games at Marvel?
Because after Gawn, then DeKoning, Draper is one of the more mobile rucks around who can mark, kick, and run whilst chewing gum at the same time.

Maxy is really starting to show he's aging. We can't wait for two more years.
Verall is maturing... but there is no saying if he'll make it.

We don't want to drop and do a big rebuild. We need to continue building on the run. Verall's body isn't ready yet, closer, but still not yet. And he might not make anything of it.

Draper is the ideal 2nd ruck/forward.

Because after Gawn, then DeKoning, Draper is one of the more mobile rucks around who can mark, kick, and run whilst chewing gum at the same time.

Maxy is really starting to show he's aging. We can't wait for two more years.
Verall is maturing... but there is no saying if he'll make it.

We don't want to drop and do a big rebuild. We need to continue building on the run. Verall's body isn't ready yet, closer, but still not yet. And he might not make anything of it.

Draper is the ideal 2nd ruck/forward.

You are putting too much emphasis on the ruck, it is not an important position. Collingwood gave Grundy the flick and won the flag a year later... Essendon still can't win a final with one of the supposed best rucks in the competition!

Getting Draper now is stupid. Notwithstanding that he would not choose to come here in the first place, you would be paying top price for a player who is not a difference a maker. You would be buying high on a B-grader when the focus should be trying to find value in players in the 22-26 year old bracket to compliment our youngsters.

He will be 27 next year, and he'll be as old as dirt by the time we are contending again. Why would you want to make him a priority in a year where we don't own our first round draft pick, and when our core players are over the hill?

Draper can be someone else's problem.

You are putting too much emphasis on the ruck, it is not an important position. Collingwood gave Grundy the flick and won the flag a year later...
I don't agree, We done well around the ball with Gawn dominating and from the outlet kicks down the line. Having a dominant marking power across the midfield for outlets and for Opp kickins, is a life saver for us.

We all watched Dean Cox play the game, And Jimma Stynes.
Rucks are crucial.

But the key to all of the good ones is mobility and a big marking presence. Not so much the hitouts.
pFarmer, lThompson, gDempsey, jStynes, cKeating, mGawn, all mobile followers who took a lot of big marks... and crashed packs.

We can play 2 rucks as long as the other ruck can have a strong influence up forward.
ie: one tall forward and follower deep, and one tall forward playing high up field.

# we are not going to be in the play for DeKoning because he is just too expensive. as was mac Andrew last season.
Whoever signs DeKoning, just like Andrew, will be hamstrung for a long time with the salary cap issues.

I don't agree, We done well around the ball with Gawn dominating and from the outlet kicks down the line. Having a dominant marking power across the midfield for outlets and for Opp kickins, is a life saver for us.

We all watched Dean Cox play the game, And Jimma Stynes.
Rucks are crucial..
Sure but youre using the top 0.01% of ruckman all time as an example. Draper is most definitely not in that category.

No he's no max Gawn at Max's best. But i'm seeing a 2nd ruck who can actually mark the footy around the ground, he can kick field kicking helping around the mid field as a follower, and he can kick goals and mark deep forward.

He has the height mobility agility mix, that is a constant danger. I see him being the one to tide us over while Maxy slows down.

The Scaches Fullartons and or latest backup ruck, are not full time afl players.

So all the traits that Lindsay has in spades?

What’s he got to do with Lindsay other than being 27 picks in the draft cheaper?

My point is that we should have split the Langford pick to grab multiple kids with speed, skills and ability who run both ways. It was the draft to do it that ran deep.

Hell we could have just swapped pick 6 with Essendon, still taken Lindsay, picked up Moraes at 37 (our original 2nd rounder), kept our 2025 first rounder and got some extra juice from Essendon for the upgrade in getting them ahead of the Kako bid.

Langford isn’t even going to be able to develop sitting behind the 4 amigos + the occasional Rivers, Pickett and Chandler (and maybe even Melksham) in the guts.

Gosh I wished we were showing interest in Leek Aleer. Apparently we're not the front runners but we should be all over him for like after May.

Agree, but no player is choosing Dees right now unless they are of the Sharp, Fullerton, Mcadam, Schache or Billings quality.

We will need to rebuild via the draft to get a new core first.

Agree, but no player is choosing Dees right now unless they are of the Sharp, Fullerton, Mcadam, Schache or Billings quality.

We will need to rebuild via the draft to get a new core first.
We are rebuilding via the draft. That's why we got Langford, to replace an aging Viney.

Well it just seems like you want a player with a particular skill - clunking contested marks from hack kicks.

Why does that player need to be a ruckman?

Do we have any free agents this year? With us finishing bottom 4, now is the time to push some out the door for band 1 compo.

The only out-of-contract players that we have that matters is McVee. You could also mount an argument for AMW, but I am on the fence with him.

• AMW - out of contract
  • Howes - out of contract
  • Spargo - restricted FA
  • Sharp - out of contract
  • Billings - free agent
  • Henderson - out of contract
  • Culley - free agent
  • Melksham - free agent
  • Mcvee - out of contract
  • Brown - out of contract
  • Kentfield - out of contract
  • Hore - free agent
  • Sestan - out of contract
  • Woewodin - out of contract
  • Campbell - free agent
  • Fullarton - out of contract
  • Tmac - free agent
  • Verrall - out of contract
Most of these guys are delisting candidates anyway, apart from the old fogies who may retire.

The only out-of-contract players that we have that matters is McVee. You could also mount an argument for AMW, but I am on the fence with him.

• AMW - out of contract
  • Spargo - restricted FA
  • Billings - free agent
  • Culley - free agent
  • Melksham - free agent
  • Hore - free agent
  • Campbell - free agent
  • Tmac - free agent
Most of these guys are delisting candidates anyway, apart from the old fogies who may retire.

Ffs

I think it’s pretty clear Oliver and Trac don’t want to be there anymore and are just going about the motions.

If we can flog off Trac, Oliver, Pickett, Salem, Fritsch and Sparrow maybe we can pickup 3-4 first rounders and a bunch of 2nd rounders to build a new core around.

• AMW - out of contract
  • Spargo - restricted FA
  • Billings - free agent
  • Culley - free agent
  • Melksham - free agent
  • Hore - free agent
  • Campbell - free agent
  • Tmac - free agent
You have to keep AMW, Spargo, and Verrall. You won't pay them much and they all have potential.

Hope you don't mind the intrusion - I love the list management, trade and draft side of the afl.

You definitely need a change, I don't think a rebuild as such, but a clean of house could allow you to bounce back in 2 years.

The obvious is Goodwin going. A new coach can invigorate. Ship Oliver and Trac off. Get a couple of 1st rounders. If you could swing a Jamarra or other young promising tall in these deals, that would be handy. Hit the draft and rebuild the midfield. Take a few swings at some youngsters (mostly talls) not getting games on other lists to build your depth back out but also potentially find a long term gem - Lemmey, ZReid, Aleer, Serong. A Ned Reeves to back up Max and potentially replace in future. If Kozzy wanted to stay, I wouldn't be shipping him out for picks. With good drafting, the pain might only be for a couple of years ala Hawthorn. But change has to start at top.

Hope you don't mind the intrusion - I love the list management, trade and draft side of the afl.

You definitely need a change, I don't think a rebuild as such, but a clean of house could allow you to bounce back in 2 years.

The obvious is Goodwin going. A new coach can invigorate. Ship Oliver and Trac off. Get a couple of 1st rounders. If you could swing a Jamarra or other young promising tall in these deals, that would be handy. Hit the draft and rebuild the midfield. Take a few swings at some youngsters (mostly talls) not getting games on other lists to build your depth back out but also potentially find a long term gem - Lemmey, ZReid, Aleer, Serong. A Ned Reeves to back up Max and potentially replace in future. If Kozzy wanted to stay, I wouldn't be shipping him out for picks. With good drafting, the pain might only be for a couple of years ala Hawthorn. But change has to start at top.

We ain’t doing any good trading with Tim “we don’t have to win every trade” Lamb at the helm of list management.

He has gutted our list to the point we have a bunch of VFL plodders as our A-team forward line. Chandler, Sharp, Henderson, Johnson, Fritsch all VFL players. Add in JvR whose a defender made forward and geriatric Melksham and that’s our forward line.

• AMW - out of contract
  • Spargo - restricted FA
  • Billings - free agent
  • Culley - free agent
  • Melksham - free agent
  • Hore - free agent
  • Campbell - free agent
  • Tmac - free agent

Gee whiz that's a whole lotta trash.

So we’ve traded out this years first. Lindsay looks the goods so it’s not a massive concern. Unless we finish in the bottom couple of spots and we could miss on someone. But honestly think Lindsay looks a real talent.
We have some early picks from recent years so the rebuild on the run has kind of started. But we have some big decisions to make around player movement and whether we want to hit the next 2 drafts hard before Tassie come in.
Kozzy let’s face it we’d rather keep but he’ll go. Just gotta do best we can on trade. Trac and Clarry probably will want out. They are trickier ones. The contracts will mean we may have to pay a portion. But then we’ll want decent picks back. That’s going to be an issue when Trac wants to go to Collingwood or Hawthorn etc. same with Clarry if he wants to go to Geelong. I don’t want a bunch or end of first rounders. We’d have to look at packaging those picks up to move up the board.