2025 Best 23

How is Short on everyone's half back, he was not good there last year. Played with no team ethos/discipline at all.
Didn't Short get his contract extension under Dimma. He still has something to offer but he needs a rocket. If Short doesn't get a vice captain role this year, then I think we will see him in the VFL next year (at least I hope so).

FB: Gibcus - Balta - Broad
HB: Brown - Vlastuin - Short
C: Ralphsmith - Prestia - Ross
FOL: Nankervis - Taranto - Smillie
HF: Lalor - Armstrong - Clarke
FF: Campbell - Lynch - Lefau
INT: Hopper - McAuliffe - Trainor - Banks
SUB: MRJ

End of season best 23

HB: Trainor, Gibcus, Vlastuin
B: Short, Balta, Brown
C: HRS, Smillie, Hotton
HF: Campbell, Armstrong, Clarke
F: Lefau, Faull, Mansell
R: Nank, Taranto, Lalor
Int: Hopper, Sims, McAuliffe, Alger, Trezise

How is Short on everyone's half back, he was not good there last year. Played with no team ethos/discipline at all.
true enough and KMac was worse. But both Yze favourites and walk up starts. We have been unable to play senior players in the VFL. I hope that changes.

how much line up change year to year.. Normally it seems to be 5 players.

what's the Club's Goal?

5 year plan for next flag? If so, play every drafted kid as much as possible.

very late 2024 Gibcus and Lynch the key injury OUTS

from the team in the last round 2024 ~ Got to replace Graham, Pickett, Baker, DRioli, Bolton.

so Gibcus for Miller.
Lynch for Kosi obviously.

Smilie looks fit and ready. Kmac2 waits.

welcome to the 3 KPF days. Faull AND Armstrong look ready physically, play both.

Brown and Trainor competing for a spot. Brown been good not great ~ Trainor first dibs.

2023 when Rioli went to half back Short moved to the wing. DRioli's sprint efforts won him a JDM & RFC picked up great draft picks for his sprint off half back.

I saw a game with Hugo killing it at half back in the VFL. Got promoted a bit later. He is required at half back. Wings can be Banks, Ross, Campbell is running a lot & in that part of the ground.

true enough and KMac was worse. But both Yze favourites and walk up starts. We have been unable to play senior players in the VFL. I hope that changes.

how much line up change year to year.. Normally it seems to be 5 players.

what's the Club's Goal?

5 year plan for next flag? If so, play every drafted kid as much as possible.

very late 2024 Gibcus and Lynch the key injury OUTS

from the team in the last round 2024 ~ Got to replace Graham, Pickett, Baker, DRioli, Bolton.

so Gibcus for Miller.
Lynch for Kosi obviously.

Smilie looks fit and ready. Kmac2 waits.

welcome to the 3 KPF days. Faull AND Armstrong look ready physically, play both.

Brown and Trainor competing for a spot. Brown been good not great ~ Trainor first dibs.

2023 when Rioli went to half back Short moved to the wing. DRioli's sprint efforts won him a JDM & RFC picked up great draft picks for his sprint off half back.

I saw a game with Hugo killing it at half back in the VFL. Got promoted a bit later. He is required at half back. Wings can be Banks, Ross, Campbell is running a lot & in that part of the ground.
We need to rebuild our backline now that Rioli has gone because he was so integral. Short was a hindrance in our backline last year. How many dead pockets did he demand the ball in. How many 30m sideways kicks when we needed to go forward. He played for himself, not necessarily in deliberate way, he may well have thought he was doing the right thing, but he stifled any proper movement forward unless you like the long bomb over his shoulder to an empty space. Can anyone recall Short running past his team mate ala Rioli or Houli in his prime, for a handball receive and a good long creative kick forward.

So to me we need to half back flankers. I favour Mansell as one as I've said before. He is a proper hard footballer these days. Brown is the obvious one to add attack to his game. Trezise has lots of traits but fairly green so far. The talls are fine, Balta, Vlastuin, Broad pick themselves. Miller is next and Kosi will push. Gibcus is automatic when he is fit. Trainor needs some beef and time but should play a few games.

Our midfield is going to feel the lack of Bolton's x factor. He got us out of a lot of trouble, although last year he was somewhat absent. Smillie has the size and good endurance to play immediately, Lalor will play moments as well. If managed he could provide some of Bolton's magic. McAuliffe is one ready to go and is quick and agile, so that's a third mid. I would like to see Campbell also run through there. I don't think we will miss Graham, MacIntosh (not best 22), or Pickett in and. around the middle as Short could go to the wing or even half forward. He could be a good wingman. Ross is also a good and under rated player. He would be our most creative mid right now unless Prestia turns back time. I think Hugo is just finding his feet and had a really good year, so keep him where he is.

The forward line will be a new look but Lynch back will be huge. Bauer, Campbell, Green, MRJ, and resting mids and new kids will add plenty of movement, pressure and some class. Hence moving Mansell where we need him most. The talls will duke it out which will be fun. Last 2 years we played MacIntosh and Pickett forward, which was an absolute waste of time.

We may well prove a lot of naysayers wrong if we can stay injury free.

My attempt at Round 1 - assuming ACL guys aren’t ready to play - including Gibcus.

FB: Vlastuin Blight Broad

HB: Short Balta Banks

C: Ralphsmith Hopper Campbell

HF: Mansell Lynch Brown

FF: MRJ Bauer Green

Fol: Nankervis Taranto Prestia

INT: McAuliffe Ryan Lalor Ross Sonsie

Best 22 End of Year

FB: Vlastuin Gibcus Broad

HB: Banks Balta Brown

C: Ralphsmith McAuliffe Campbell

HF: Mansell Lynch Lalor

FF: MRJ LeFau Armstrong

Fol: Nankervis Taranto Hopper

INT: Ross Green Ryan Smillie Clarke

Despite a large chunk of our draftees not being there, I expect a fair few would have been exposed to the level and the process of integrating all the draftees well and truly would have begun.

FB: Gibcus - Balta - Broad
HB: Brown - Vlastuin - Short
C: Ralphsmith - Prestia - Ross
FOL: Nankervis - Taranto - Smillie
HF: Lalor - Armstrong - Clarke
FF: Campbell - Lynch - Lefau
INT: Hopper - McAuliffe - Trainor - Banks
SUB: MRJ
Doubt Armstrong plays r1 or trainor , maybe trainor wouldbt rule that out completely
Def lalor and smilie

Trainor seems to rd1 debut type to me.
Don’t let the higgo type enthusiasm fool u this kid is arguably as talented as anyone we’ve drafted , has it all , great mover , great one grab overhead mark and a pure kick . I can see how he’s got himself hurt , like Vlas he’s as brave as all get out . Here’s hoping for a big career in the y&b from Luke

My post-draft overly excited, not thought through best 23
*If everyone is fit

FB: Trainor Balta Broad
HB: Brown Gibcus Vlastuin
C: Ralphsmith Taranto Banks
HF: Hotton Armstrong Bauer
FF: Mansell Lynch Campbell
FOLL: Nank Lalor Smilie

INT: Sonsie, McAuliffe, Hopper, Smith
SUB: MRJ/Lefau
EMG: Faull, Clarke, Miller, Ross

No more free rides for Short. Enjoy the VFL campaigner.
You have no idea, Short plays every week !!!

He probably does but after what he served up this year, he shouldn't.
You can't tell me his form this season warrants him a spot every week.

No free rides.

if balta is not playimg tall forward\ruck who is ??
I'd have Ryan, Gray and Sims all battling it out for the role. Even Fawcett, Faull or Armstrong are all tall enough to pinch hit. Lefau won't be too far away either.

We've got so many options up forward now. There's no need to play Balta out of position any more.

you cant say he plays based on form, the campaigner has more turnovers last year than a patisserie

Geez you went high brow there mate most campaigners on this board don’t know what a patisserie is

Draftees especially early pics seem ready to play r1 these days. Gone are the days of cutting your teeth in the reserves. Because teams play to a system it’s a matter of finding and discovering their role. Don’t be surprised to see a few of them early. Gone are the days of running around like a headless chook trying to find the footy.

2025 Best 23