Opinion Sack Hinkley 6 - Kochblocked

They must've all been given the script. When Bassett was asked by Rowe this avo, what players would be on his Christmas wish list he basically said we're not wanting of anything and the list is good. So is it coaching Nathan?

Yes good point. Their spin is catching up with them.

Seriously looking forward to hearing what is said on Footy Classified tonight. Hopefully HInkleys tenure isn't glossed over.

How the **** are we not in the conversation for Clarkson? I just don't get it. The competition for his services is North and GWS. The 2 least sexy roles in the AFL. With shit lists. I just don't get it.

How the * are we not in the conversation for Clarkson? I just don't get it. The competition for his services is North and GWS. The 2 least sexy roles in the AFL. With s**t lists. I just don't get it.
Because everyone in the media doesn't think Hinkley is going anywhere.

The discussion around Clarksons suitors was had AFTER they intimated that talk.about Hinkley leaving Port has only been getting louder.

Remember that time Phil Walsh was playing with his nipples? Is that appropriate? Will it ever be? Can we separate a humourous event from his time as crows coach from the unbelievably underserved tragedy of his passing?

Well, Ken taught him that.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

I think most here did respect Primus on the way out. Many acknowledged he wasn't good enough, some argued that he was trying his best in horror circumstances that most would fail in, but all had respect for him.

Primus felt like one of us. He got angry, he got sad, he felt he let the club down at times.

Ken really really doesn't.
I had zero respect for Primus as a coach. Loved him as a player but his team selections were woeful and he had terrible results.

At least he didn’t smile and smirk after losses. Wasn’t cut out for it but was set up to fail and genuinely cared about the club. Old mate at the helm now only cares about himself.

Viewers of the Lord of the Rings movie trilogy may remember the scene where Pippin lights a beacon above Minas Tirith:

-----

It's 7:09PM on Saturday August 6th.

Jarrod Walsh pleads with the Power fans to raise their scarves. Thousands of happy-clappers and theatre-goers comply.

A lone supporter instead tentatively raises a home-made "Sack Hinkley" sign.

After a moment, another supporter raises their own "Sack Hinkley sign".

Then another.

And another.

A group of fans unfurls a giant "Sack Hinkley" banner, obscuring Max Basheer's name in the stands.

One after another, more "Sack Hinkley" signs appear.

The Lord Of The Rings Beacons GIF by Maudit

Literally dozens of supporters uncross their arms for the first and only time in season 2022.

David Koch, mirroring Denethor (a manifestly inadequate steward if ever there was one), scowls and retreats to an AO function room.

-----

Hours later, Koch has found his way to the roof-climb walkway at the top of the Riverbank stand.

Still mirroring Denethor, he douses himself in oil and sets a fire in his flesh.

He thows himself from the walkway, hurtling towards the ground.

But wait!

Oh no!

Who's that in the goal square at the southern end?

It's the Farriss brothers, still utterly bewildered and lost after storming the field in 2015.

At the last second, Tim Farriss looks up, his face twisting grotesquely in horror.

But it's too late.

Koch lands on Tim and Jon Farriss, both, killing them instantly.

At least he didn’t smile and smirk after losses. Wasn’t cut out for it but was set up to fail and genuinely cared about the club. Old mate at the helm now only cares about himself.

Srsly I don’t care what Ken does after a game. I don’t care how much Coke Zero he drinks or what he eats or if he didn’t want to sit next to someone in China. I just care (too much) that we have had another incredibly disappointing season.

If Clarkson, or whoever we get next, wins us a flag, no-one will really care whether he does it for love of the club or just for his own ego either. They most certainly won’t give a toss about his facial expressions or what his drink of choice is on game day.😉

I remember how upset I was after the gold coast game. I was living with mum, 20 years old still at home. Watched the game there. My phone started going off as it got close in the last quarter. I never looked at it. I remember clinging to straws when trengove went down in the last minute. Prayed for a stoppage. Didn't happen. Instead Hoff takes a mark 45 out on 45. We were all 99% sure how it would end, but that 1% of hope was painful. Painful. Traumatic really.

I remember moving from the back loungeroom to my bedroom with a slammed door. Extended adolescence on display. I was furious. Helpless and furious. The phone was going more. Mates and acquaintances obviously making fun. I didn't have the capacity to deal with it at the time. I didn't look at it. I went on a PC to bigfooty and kept my tv on.

But I remember the first words of his press conference following that.

'I would like to apologise to the Port Adelaide supports and members for the disgrace of today... We need to delve deep in to our psyche to find our why we continue to produce results like this'

Maybe that isn't exactly what was said, but it's been ****ing 11 years mate. The important thing is, I felt an ounce on comfort from it. I felt, here was a guy that knew, that knew, something was seriously wrong with the club. And it had to be fixed. We all knew it since that day in 2007, then again the many shameful fadeouts in 2008. And maybe he didn't know how to do that, but the first step in fixing a problem is to admit it is a problem, and to take responsibility, and to include himself in that. He did those two things.

I felt more comfort then than I ever have felt listening to Ken post match.

Primus probably could not coach, but remember he was coaching with literally the worst support of all 17/18 clubs. He was doing it on fumes and under pressure. But he was a good man, of genuine intent. Not a perfect man, but a Port Adelaide man. Not born and bred, but through exposure and buy in.

Ken Hinkley is a fraud. A manipulator, a deflector, a loser, an insult to those who came before him. His attidudes have been the foremost figure in killing the club's culture over the last decade.

You can take you Matthew Primus slander in the year of 2022, and shovel it. It isn't doing anybody any favours right now. It isn't helping to sack Hinkley.

If you aren't part of sacking Hinkley, you are the problem.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

In all honesty, Monty would hardly be privy to what's being discussed at board level, and he isn't going to do anything except publicly back the coach.
Also have to consider that Monty probably sees himself in the chair in 2023, or at least wants to.

So cant be seen to be knifing Ken in the back to get there.