Todd Goldstein pick 37
Aaron Sandilands rookie draft
Dean Cox pick 28
Tom DeKoning pick 30
Lloyd Meek pick 69
Darcy Cameron pick 48
Brody Grundy pick 18
You forgot Samson Ryan

How good would it be to have our very own basketball background guy that can get mentioned every single quarter of every single game we play for 15 years

Bro did you know that Pendles has a basketball background?!

I've seen enough of CDT

May end up being the best u18s prospect in the last 5 years

Elite speed, endurance, tough, courageous, excellent skills, great football IQ, and a terrific overhead mark, and a leader

Just happens to be 200cm, which for some reason people are holding it against him

This bloke could play all 18 positions on the ground , a huge point of difference, Blicavs with actual football ability

This bloke is a gift

If everything you wrote there was true he’d have started the year as undisputed no.1.

Fact is his overhead marking isn’t great, he double clutches a lot.

His handballs are often soft and floaty.

His football iq is so so, otherwise he’d be a key forward. But if you really watch him vs Oakleigh you’ll notice he doesn’t have great footy instincts out of the contest.

His follow up groundwork always occurs when the ball comes back to him, if it goes a different way he literally stops and watches instead of moving with pack. He ends up 10m away from pack in no mans land, when he should either be dropping back to fill hole or hover around edge of pack to get handball or lose ball out or lay a tackle. As far as I can tell he’s only ever had a multiple tackle game once in Coates league. For a ruck who’s specialty is follow up work, the lack of tackles and instincts around packs are red flags.

That being said he is a tremendous athlete, and seems happy to throw his weight about, an essential trait in a good big. I can see why he’s a potential no.1. But he isn’t the 2nd coming yet and he needs a lot of development over the season to make himself surefire no.1.

If everything you wrote there was true he’d have started the year as undisputed no.1.

His football iq is so so, otherwise he’d be a key forward. But if you really watch him vs Oakleigh you’ll notice he doesn’t have great footy instincts out of the contest.

His follow up groundwork always occurs when the ball comes back to him, if it goes a different way he literally stops and watches instead of moving with pack. He ends up 10m away from pack in no mans land, when he should either be dropping back to fill hole or hover around edge of pack to get handball or lose ball out or lay a tackle. As far as I can tell he’s only ever had a multiple tackle game once in Coates league. For a ruck who’s specialty is follow up work, the lack of tackles and instincts around packs are red flags.

That being said he is a tremendous athlete, and seems happy to throw his weight about, an essential trait in a good big. I can see why he’s a potential no.1. But he isn’t the 2nd coming yet and he needs a lot of development over the season to make himself surefire no.1.
I don't mean to question but were you at the game watching v Oakleigh?

His hunt for the ground ball and contest was phenomenal. His off ball running was staggering for a guy 200cm.

No 18 yr old is perfect.

I am confidant however, that you way way overstate his deficiencies

I could go through your arguments one by one, they are all pretty much off the mark.

Everything is relative, and he will be and is already in my eyes, the clear number 1, and the gap will just get bigger over time

He is an outstanding prospect, but this is a forum, and we are entitled to our opinions, lets see who is right on draft night, but this will be settled way way before that I assure you

I don't mean to question but were you at the game watching v Oakleigh?

His hunt for the ground ball and contest was phenomenal. His off ball running was staggering for a guy 200cm.

No I watched on tv.

You can see what I mean by “just stop” in the clips noob has when CDT takes possession out of the ruck and handballs. I know the ball is moving out of the area but he literally stops and watches the ball go away, he did this constantly at ruck contests all day (Emmett also did it), the ball would be in dispute in a pack situation and roll away from where the ruck contest took place and he’d still be standing there.

It’s why despite his amazing follow up work he only laid 1 tackle and consistently does only gets 1 tackle at CTL.

I’m not saying he is lazy or can’t cover ground, I’m saying he has no instinct of where to be and how to position himself around the ground. He should also be getting heaps of transition uncontested marks but I’ve only seen him do it last year vs Dandy (from Noobs highlights). The other games I’ve watched of him (vs oakleigh last year and futures) and from his stats he doesn’t get a lot of easy transition marks, averaged 3.3 in 6 ctl games last year, take out the 10 vs Dandy and he was a 200cm+ taking less than 2 marks a game.

No I watched on tv.

You can see what I mean by “just stop” in the clips noob has when CDT takes possession out of the ruck and handballs. I know the ball is moving out of the area but he literally stops and watches the ball go away, he did this constantly at ruck contests all day (Emmett also did it), the ball would be in dispute in a pack situation and roll away from where the ruck contest took place and he’d still be standing there.

It’s why despite his amazing follow up work he only laid 1 tackle and consistently does only gets 1 tackle at CTL.

I’m not saying he is lazy or can’t cover ground, I’m saying he has no instinct of where to be and how to position himself around the ground. He should also be getting heaps of transition uncontested marks but I’ve only seen him do it last year vs Dandy (from Noobs highlights). The other games I’ve watched of him (vs oakleigh last year and futures) and from his stats he doesn’t get a lot of easy transition marks, averaged 3.3 in 6 ctl games last year, take out the 10 vs Dandy and he was a 200cm+ taking less than 2 marks a game.
So what the TV doesn't capture is his effort from contest to contest. The way he stepped in, instead of drifting away from the contest. He was just as good defensively as he was offensively.

How can you say he has no instincts on where to position himself? You're literally watching off a single camera angle. I sat there watching him constantly get to the right spots to have an impact.

He also did get a rotation in the 1st qtr, he rotated at FF while Emmett went off and had a rest. The guy is incredible, is he a perfect prospect? No. But if that's his level he's so far ahead of the next best imo.

So what the TV doesn't capture is his effort from contest to contest. The way he stepped in, instead of drifting away from the contest. He was just as good defensively as he was offensively.

How can you say he has no instincts on where to position himself? You're literally watching off a single camera angle. I sat there watching him constantly get to the right spots to have an impact.

He also did get a rotation in the 1st qtr, he rotated at FF while Emmett went off and had a rest. The guy is incredible, is he a perfect prospect? No. But if that's his level he's so far ahead of the next best imo.

Mate the camera angle can capture a reasonably wide area around a stoppage and contest.

I can see him 10m off the contest not moving but just watching time and time again.

Mate the camera angle can capture a reasonably wide area around a stoppage and contest.

I can see him 10m off the contest not moving but just watching time and time again.
I'm still not sure your point. He doubled his opponents disposals, tackles and goals.

Again, live it was evident who was getting to more contest and winning them and it was CDT.

List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft

Write your reply...