Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

Well I'm betting in two years we will be in about exactly the same spot as we end up this year ( Middle of the road going nowhere )
In Two years about 8 of our starting line up we either be gone or just about cooked so I don't see how he can say we are Two years away
It’s hard to comment without having heard the context of the conversation and the plans for it.

Is there something amiss with how we are preparing players at our club?

I was supportive of Marshall coming in today, but after seeing how under done he was, makes me concerned how the club go about clearing players to play. I understand we lacked experience but playing Marshall who was clearly well short of game fitness was asking for trouble. Keeler might not be knocking the door down, but surely he has shown enough to give him a game in his home state.

Marshall is another who was looking thin and could do with quite a lot more muscle and strength for his role. Its an all too common theme at the club players looking more like marathon runners than AFL footballers.

Jones showed last year he takes 2 or 3 games to get going after injury and we again played him without any match practice.

Clark looked like he was running in 'gum boots', yet people keep expecting him to become the player they envisaged.

It will be interesting to see what condition the players return in over the next few weeks.
It's a catch 22 as to weather you play a fit kid or an underdone senior because you're already playing too many kids.
I'd say that since those guys didn't break down again, they were fit to play and it was the right decision.
Knowing the situation you're setting up an opportunity to needlessly pot the club over poor conditioning, whilst not so long ago you were potting them for over training.

Fair point. Only very rarely. Can’t remember seeing that many footy jumpers at a game though. We’re more a scarf wearing mob I reckon.
Who cares? What's wrong with people wearing their clubs guernsey? They're showing support for their team.

The idea that adults shouldn't do that is just stupid. Bizarre to have a sense of superiority over other fans because of that.

Hey Broski, did you find the amount of adults wearing Crows footy jumpers a bit wierd. I’ve never seen so many in my life. Maybe it was just in the Eastern Stand where I was. Freaked me out.

Do you go to our games in Melb , we have plenty of nuffers ourselves
I’m a jumper wearer.

Have been since I’ve been a kid.

Love it. One of the best parts about going to the footy.

Some interesting stats

Inside 50's

Adelaide 59 St K 52

Fwds playing in preferred Position

Adelaide 6 St Kilda 1

Aberration - move on.

Its obvious we would have a better chance of scoring with a full list of forwards available, but our defence and midfield were also terribly exposed. The quality of inside 50's was also a significant difference, a lot of the time our entries were to out numbered forwards who basically had no chance. Because we were so badly beaten in the other sectors of the ground no forward line could have won us that game.

When we compare Murray 195cms 7 marks, Keane 194cms 6 marks, Worrell 195cms 7 marks with Cordy 195cms 4 disp 2 marks, Wilkie 191cms 10 marks, OConnell 189cms 3 marks, Shoenmaker 194cms who played on small forwards for most of the game.

Its also concerning that Jones and Hill both had zero contested possession wins for the entire game.

It's a catch 22 as to weather you play a fit kid or an underdone senior because you're already playing too many kids.
I'd say that since those guys didn't break down again, they were fit to play and it was the right decision.
Knowing the situation you're setting up an opportunity to needlessly pot the club over poor conditioning, whilst not so long ago you were potting them for over training.

Over training contributes to injuries and then we chose to bring players back too early which exposes them to the rubbish we saw yesterday. Its a very different prospect of having players 'match fit' to over training.

We are having to play so many inexpereinced players because of the player load management break downs (injuries) and a rolling and completely unbalanced list rebuild.

We can bury our heads in the sand or call things for what they are!

Look I’m willing to somewhat right it off.

Port
Eagles

We’re both just as bad.

We ran into a storm. Obviously we’ve been shafted with the fixture as per.

We beat Geelong last year. I want to see us for at least the first month before making sweeping statements

Unfortunately we don’t have the talent between 23-28 years old to rely on when the kids are off.
This.

Saints have loads of kids- 3 debutants yesterday and 3 with under 10 games. Plus others like Nas, Windy, etc who are still fairly young.

We also have loads of experienced guys - Wilkie, Marshall, Steele, Jones, Cordy, Hill, Wood, Webster, Macrae etc.

We probably have more 28+ than most teams. But also, more kids

The list management decisions of the last decade are haunting us- traded first round draft picks in 2015 and 2019 for guys no longer at the club (Carlisle) or in the twilight (Hill). Other top picks didn't work out for various reasons (Clark, Coffield). Hence we lack 23-27 year olds right now.

So we're left with a list without clear direction. A mish mash of youth and experience. I'm genuinely excited about our young group- especially Nas, King, Pou and Wilson. 4 potential stars there. But as they mature Sinclair, Wood, Hill, Steele will decline in coming years.

I'm worried we'll spend the next decade where we spent the last decade- right in the middle. Between 9th and 12th majority of the time. Occasional finals appearance or bottom 4 in a particularly good or bad year.

This.

Saints have loads of kids- 3 debutants yesterday and 3 with under 10 games. Plus others like Nas, Windy, etc who are still fairly young.

We also have loads of experienced guys - Wilkie, Marshall, Steele, Jones, Cordy, Hill, Wood, Webster, Macrae etc.

We probably have more 28+ than most teams. But also, more kids

The list management decisions of the last decade are haunting us- traded first round draft picks in 2016 and 2019 for guys no longer at the club (Carlisle) or in the twilight (Hill). Other top picks didn't work out for various reasons (Clark, Coffield).

So we're left with a list without clear direction. A mish mash of youth and experience. I'm genuinely excited about our young group- especially Nas, King, Pou and Wilson. 4 potential stars there. But as they mature Sinclair, Wood, Hill, Steele will decline in coming years.

I'm worried we'll spend the next decade where we spent the last decade- right in the middle. Between 9th and 12th majority of the time. Occasional finals appearance or bottom 4 in a particularly good or bad year.

Couldn’t have put it better in the last line

If it meant a few years of misery but contention afterwards Id commit to the rebuild but we missed the boat and basically can’t rebuild properly with Tassie coming.

Yet again I’m feeling that 2015/16/19/21 feeling of i just don’t know where we’re going or what we’re doing to improve

Fair point. Only very rarely. Can’t remember seeing that many footy jumpers at a game though. We’re more a scarf wearing mob I reckon.
Yeah, a scarf is easier and more discreet to remove as you exit the stadium after another pantsing, enabling you to hide the shame on the ride home from the game........;)

Couldn’t have put it better in the last line

If it meant a few years of misery but contention afterwards Id commit to the rebuild but we missed the boat and basically can’t rebuild properly with Tassie coming.

Yet again I’m feeling that 2015/16/19/21 feeling of i just don’t know where we’re going or what we’re doing to improve
Unlike 15 and 16 though, we do have a handful of players who would get us first round currency + , if we actually entered a full rebuild. (Spitballing here. Not endorsing this)

Plus we already have a significant base of youngsters. That have all shown as much if not more than that 15/16 lot

The only real positives i can think of are we found one in Hall. Wilson continues to improve. Thought Hastie showed a bit.

Game was what i expected, just gotta keep learning about the young blokes.
Thought Nas Hall Hastie Wilson Ari Garcia all showed things to like and high potential ceilings.

People are wild in here. Writing off Travalga and Tauru because they are not having an immediate impact. That’s the least of our worries at the moment.

Judge in four years.
Judge in four years

I was saying exactly that in 2012,2013,2014,2015,2016,2017,2018,

In Dalrymple I trust 🙏

No one is writing Trav and Tauru off yet or even close to it.
I'm sure Essendon fans aren't writing off Tsatas when they see Pou play either.

Really hope we persist with the Garcia on ball investment over the next month. We saw yesterday that as soon as things weren't going well, Garcia was the one to be moved out of the midfield. I was glad he went back in there later in the game. He's got plenty to work with. Five clearances, even though he didn't play massive midfield minutes and didn't have a great day. It's a good sign that he can win it at the coal face. It'd be easy for Ross to just go back to Clark, Jones types but I hope he avoids that inclination.

Unlike 15 and 16 though, we do have a handful of players who would get us first round currency + , if we actually entered a full rebuild. (Spitballing here. Not endorsing this)

Plus we already have a significant base of youngsters. That have all shown as much if not more than that 15/16 lot

With the quality and unbalanced state of our list we basically have committed to full rebuild, whether we like it or not. If that was an intentionally ploy by the club they havent even got that right in my view.

I said this before the season even began, but a bottom 4 finish is a real expectation this season. The football dept including coaches, list managers and performance management have had an absolute shocker this preseason. The injuries have highlighted the list gap between our AFL ready and development players and its really left the club vunerable across all 3 zones.

The club over looking the obvious holes in the list and bringing in GOP's just seems to be a perpetual failure.

Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

Write your reply...