sportstalk07

Jul 10, 2007
Around Tasmania
Port Adelaide
Northern Tassie
Saturday: Glenorchy v North Launceston at KGV 1400, Launceston v Sth Launceston at Windsor Park 1400,
North Hobart v Burnie at North Hobart 1410 (ABC TV), Devonport v Lauderdale at Devonport 1800
Sunday: Clarence v Hobart at Richmond 1400

The main game looks to be at KGV where Glenorchy host North Launceston and with these two sides third and fifth on my ladder they are likely to serve a treat. The Magpies looked good in the final term against North Hobart but again didn't kick straight (despite it being wet of course).
North Launceston were disappointing according to their coach Chris Whitford and kicking 10 goals isn't going to win football games (not this year anyway). They'll be looking to improve.
At home the Magpies are a tough team to crack and the Bombers could find that out.

North Hobart host Burnie and the Demons will be looking to a repeat of their Round 1 effort against Clarence where they ran out the game and ran over the Roos by three goals. Concerns will be strong over their final quarter capitulation and against a Burnie side that are full of buzz at the moment any lapse could be fatal. I think Burnie should account for the Dees, just.

The Other Saturday games will see Launceston host South L'ton and this surely will be the wake up call that the Blues need to get their season back on track. A poor game from many of the Senior players should be the tonic for the bounce back although South will take a bit out of the game from the Bombers on the weekend. Launceston should win surely and if they don't I won't tip them again until they get back into form.

Devonport play their second game under lights against a side accustomed to night football in Lauderdale. Devonport on a real big high will account for Lauderdale who were outplayed and outsmarted by Hobart Pies to stay in the top half

On Sunday, the first of the Gala Days at Richmond between Clarence and Hobart and Clarence need a win badly. Hobart awoke from their two losses and stepped up to the plate against Lauderdale at last. Clarence on the other hand were dealt a horrid lesson by their old foe Burnie and in past encounters the Roos have held sway against Hobart, expect that to continue.

Tips: Glenorchy by 26, Burnie by 8, Launceston by 1, Devonport by 77, Clarence by 37

sportstalk07 said:
Sunday: Clarence v Hobart at Richmond 1400

On Sunday, the first of the Gala Days at Richmond between Clarence and Hobart and Clarence need a win badly. Hobart awoke from their two losses and stepped up to the plate against Lauderdale at last. Clarence on the other hand were dealt a horrid lesson by their old foe Burnie and in past encounters the Roos have held sway against Hobart, expect that to continue.

Tips: Clarence by 37
Annoyed that this is on a Sunday actually, would've gone if it was on the Saturday but anyway.
This is one ground I've never been to actually, it'll be interesting to see how this one pans out.
Hobart have a lamentable record on Bellerive Oval against Clarence having only won there three times since the 60's so, the change in venue might help the Tiges a bit.
Hobart played very well in the 2nd quarter and half of the final quarter last week, but I thought it was a very even match for the better part, just that Hobart took their opportunities when they were there whereas Lauderdale wasted a LOT of chances to put us away and it cost them the four points.
Hobart are improving by the week, but they still lack a lot of experience so perhaps a fair bit inconsistency will be around for awhile yet, but I was very pleased with their endeavour against Launceston and Lauderdale. :thumbsu:
Having said that, realistically you would have to say Clarence has a bit too much polish and class at the moment (despite them being 8th and Hobart 9th), but if Hobart takes the game up to the Roos an upset could be on the cards.
I personally see Clarence winning, one area of concern to me will be the early moments of the game, if the opposition get strings of shots at goal (Like both Glenorchy and Lauderdale did) it might be game over by the first break.

Fourth game into the TSL and every game's been on a 'country' ground of sorts, not much different to when we entered the SFL in '98 really!

Having been at the Richmond ground last year its one of the best playing surfaces in the south. Crowd facilities are basic but the ground is excellent, far better than TCA,Lauderdale, Kingston & many others. Also great to have lunch/coffee in a beutiful town before the game. The NL v G clash should be a ripper. Bit of history between these clubs! No doubt the NL/G past players luncheon before the game will be tough encounter too!!:D

Today's TSL Results
Burnie 12.21 (93) - Nth Hobart 9.9 (63) - Click here for match report
Launceston 15.6 (96) - Sth Launceston 7.15 (57)
Glenorchy 17.12 (114) - Nth Launceston 9.14 (68) - Click here for match report

Devonport v Lauderdale
From The Examiner:

May 3rd 2009 | Bright Magpies Rule In The Night
By Terry Morris.

The Devonport Magpies again showed they were the "night specialists" of the State League with a 40-point win against Lauderdale at the Devonport Oval last night.

Although I am a native Tasmanian, I have been in Victoria for 15 years.
Was a South Launceston supporter (and City South before that) since I was a kid. I was involved at South during the last Statewide League in the 80s-90s.That was a strong league but Hobart heavy and South never made the finals.
I could see why it folded and was amazed to see the authorities having another go. I am also a bit puzzled to see which teams are involved. The travelling must be the same problem as we had back in the old days when we had three 45-seat coaches turn up (one for each team) when we were travelling to the coast or Hobart. The cost was enormous.
Is this new statewide league going to work? And can someone tell me what has happened to South?
I follow the results each week on the net and I thought they had found some success in the NTFL and won a couple of flags.
Meanwhile I am involved here in Ballarat with a great little club called Redan.
Our league (Ballarat Football League) involves 5 teams from the outer Melbourne area (Sunbury, Bacchus Marsh, Melton etc) and 6 from Ballarat.
Redan is a great club but hadn't had a lot of success since the 70s when they won three in a row with John Northey as playing coach.
John has been back in Ballarat for a few years and coached Ballarat FC to the flag in 2008.
In the 90s when I joined Redan they literally didn't win a game for four years (can you believe it?)
Our lowest point was when Sunbury beat us by 50 goals to 2 points. That made a double page spread in The Age!
It was also the spur to do something as the club was almost ready to close its doors.
A crisis meeting was held and some good and smart people got on board. Its a long story but slowly it started to change and Redan has played in 5 of the past 7 grand finals and won 4 going back to back twice 02-03 and 06-07.
Missed the senior finals last year by a game (won the reserves flag as second prize) and we have started this year with 2 wins and 1 loss. (Got a tough one today against East-Point).
It's also been tough as the drought in Victoria has limited the amount of grounds available. Last year we didn't get to use our home ground until almost half-way through the season and this year we still haven't had a home game and have had to play mostly on Sundays as the grounds which are suitable are shared over Saturday and Sunday.
I'm banging on a bit but I love country footy and although I can get to Melbourne in an hour or so to watch AFL every week, I would much rather freeze my butt off at the local footy _ where the real people are.
Redan's story also shows that you can be down but not necessarily out.
Hurry up and get a Tassie team in the AFL (I will still probably follow Carlton though :)
All the best to Tassie footy supporters.

Half Time - TSL Seniors
Clarence 9.3 (57)
Hobart 7.9 (51)
At Richmond Recreation Ground

The Tigers bounced out of the blocks early to lead by 16 points at quarter time before the Roos responded with seven second quarter goals to lead at the long break.

Full Time - Reserves
Clarence 15.18 (108)
Hobart 11.11 (77)
At Richmond Recreation Ground.

Full Time - Reserves
Devonport 12.7 (79)
Lauderdale 9.11 (65)
At Devonport Oval.

The Sporting Pulse website is STILL not showing a senior result from that venue.

Another interesting weekend. Burnie look the goods & out muscled NH, NL ran all over KGV but not straight & didnt have a forward line, an interesting clip on TV news of Glenorchys No 20 receiving a forearm to his face, nowhere near the ball! Devonport continue to impress & Clarence belted a gallant Hobart who couldnt hit a target under pressure, But what a good day at Richmond oval, the savs & coffee were great too. :D