Weaver Phantom Draft Mark 3

Sep 26, 2001
Deledio Wonderland
Southampton
Version 1 on 14th August after the Under 18 champs.

Mark 1

Version 2 on 17th of September before the draft camp announcements.

Mark 2

Notes:

Hawthorn have said they will redraft Tallis, St Kilda will redraft Callaghan. Richmond have said they will take mostly recycled guys and the Swans are saying they will only use 3 picks.

That sort of stuff isn't my field, so I have just predicted the kids which will obviously throw things out a little.

I generally prefer the bottom age players and put a premium on athletic types.

I have made a little bit of an effort to try and predict what a club might go for and also tried to give each club a mix of players so that no one drafts 5 small wingers.

Version 3 in next post.

1. Adam Cooney - Bulldogs

Consensus number 1. His ability to do special things such as goals from the boundary line mark him out. He also can go forward and be a mid-sized marking target.

2. Kepler Bradley - Carlton

Traded for a new midfield and have Stevens up their sleeve. Won't get a key position player late and are oblidged to take the best on offer. Very raw. Need 2 years in the gym and needs to have his posture straightened if his kicking and marking are to improve.

3. Colin Sylvia - Melbourne

Desperate for inside midfielder. If they don't take him here the Dogs will take him at 4. Will need 18 months to learn the senior caper but is very smart. Could be quicker, but has a 2nd string to his bow with great overhead marking which can equal goals.

4. Billy Morrison - Bulldogs

No inside midfielder worth taking. Key position players are the way to go. Can't threaten to go home either. Great draft camp results mark him down as more than a marking forward. Vaults him up the board.

5. Andrew Walker - Melbourne

Bottom age, dynamic and improved every game he played. High leaping and exciting. Might even develop into a light CHB in time. Needs to improve kicking and bouncing. Needs bulk.

6. Kane Tenace - Essendon

Drifts in and out of games too much to go higher. More an outside player and ball-carrier. Two footed. Bombers need pace, would make a good wing-pairing with Winderlich.

7. Troy Chaplin - Geelong

It starts getting hard from here. I think Ben Graham may have turned Geelong cold on the big-bodied, slow backmen. They may skip Chaplin. Chaplin has a better youth resume than Watts. His form after the champs was lousy. Needs to improve his kicking.

8. Fergus Watts - St Kilda

Son of Saints VP and he and Morrison are the only 2 who look like genuine FF prospects. Makes lots of contests, works hard, plays in bursts and can get worked under the ball. Creates good crumbs for rovers.

9. Mathew Moody - Kangaroos

Gave up some flankers in Teague and Morrell and Moody could replace both. Not a great 2003 but can't ignore the 2002 potential. Not KP size but prefers to play as a marking target which is what drops him down a little.

10. Raphael Clarke - Fremantle

After all the keep the family together stories this selection appeals to me. Will be interesting if the Saints pass on him. I think he is a lazy low-intensity player without genuine size or pace. A specialist FP. They gave up on Koops, they might get luckier this time.

11. William Gayfer - West Coast

A rubbish goal-to-goal line and hemoraging KP players they have to get a big bloke. Not a great athlete but a very solid and smart footballer. Good guy to contract the likes of Johnson and Staker who have a 10th of this kids footy smarts.

12. Brock McLean - Fremantle

Pretty happy with their KP stocks and outside midfielders, McLean must appeal as a kid who can play inside as a run-with or tagger and add some G+D to the mix. Probably the one area they need to improve in the next 3-4 years if they are going to a GF.

13. David Mundy - Essendon

Bombers love the smaller, lighter running defenders and don't mind reaching for them either. Mundy is quick and two-footed. Has no bulk and relies on interceptions and beating his man to the ball. Needs to learn body work. Very two footed though which is rare in a KP player.

14. Brent Hall - Adelaide

Crows have declared their hand, they want a ruckman. Hall is the only 198cm plus guy worth taking this early. A ruckman-forward type. More a solid junior than a spectacular one.

15. Jay Nash - Port Adelaide

Best player available more than a need. Silky smooth and skilled HBF who plays with his eyes up and brings the ball out of defence well.

16. Ryley Dunn - Sydney

Not a midfielder, not a KP, not quite a flanker. Has to improve to step up to the next level. Good overheard mark. Simialar to the likes of Nicks and Barry and the Swans will be tempted to stash away a possable replacement for a year or two.

17. Mathew Spencer - Collingwood

Collingwood have two wingers to come via F/S and have a ruckman in T.Cloke next year. My guess is that they will take a KP player. Spencer is too short to ruck. Will be converted into a KF. This is one guy who might go this early or might be overlooked. Interesting to watch.

18. Tim Schmidt - Brisbane

Lions need to build a new midfield. Schmidt is an elite underage player with size and class. This looks a very nice get for the Lions. They don't even have to rush him into the team.

19. Farren Ray - Fremantle

I despise unaccountbale, outside wingmen, particularly when they are built from twigs. In this Phantom I have Freo getting a flanker and an inside guy, so they won't mind going for a quick outside runner.

20. Ben Cosgriff - West Coast

Looks like being a handy 3rd defender in the Clement style. Good foot skills, makes good decsions and runs the lines well for a guy his size. Very determined and willing to risk life and limb in the contests.

21. Llane Spaanderman - Richmond

Richmond will take the best KP player available whether he is any good or not. They are laughably short. Spaanderman would be ideal because they need both a KF and a ruck prospect and he can be both. Not overly mobile or impressive, but beggars can't be choosers.

22. Luke Peel - Geelong

Best player available. A skillful mobile back flanker who could be a 100 game back-pocket. Very classy.

23. Ricky Dyson - Brisbane

Oozes potential but I have never seen him play 2 good quaters let alone 4. Has all the measurables and looks awesome on the test results, but just doesn't deliver often enough come Saturday afternoon.

24. Brad Symes - Kangaroos

Emerged this season and was SA's best over 3 games in the champs. Not overly athletic, but quite talented. Roos must be thinking about life after Stevens and Simpson and this guy could be a possable contender.

25. Clint Dubiniecki - Hawthorn

Gave-up on Loats. Everitt is a veteran. They need a good young ruck prospect and will have to go early or there won't be any to choose from.

26. Callum Burgess - West Coast

We are told that he has been stashed away. No idea how good he is. But at 185cm he is a midfielder so unlike McPharlin they won't be battering the doors down to pinch him away.

27. Michael Pettigrew - Fremantle

They don't need a KP player, particularly a defender, but this is their 4th pick and so they need to balance up a little and this guy is probably the most athletic big bloke around so could pop-up in a variety of positions.

28. Jacob Surjan - Essendon

Too small for my taste but is quick and that may appeal to the Bombers. Bombers really need to refresh that midfield.

29. Kyle Archibald - Sydney

Tall 190cm utility type which is the kind of guys the Swans love and that thrives on the smaller SCG. Can play forward, can play wing. Probably not clean enough a mark to be a KP in the big stuff. Bit timid for a guy his size as well.

30. Chris Stewart - Port Adelaide

Key defender, maybe a forward as well. Athletic and looks the part but I mostly saw him early in the year and for all the promise he got straight-out beat too often. They are kindly calling him an outside defender, which loosely translated means his opponent kicks goals on him.

31. Beau Waters - Adelaide

People will point to this choice as being the problem with the draft. He lacks flair, class and athleticism but is hard and tough and straight out knows how to play. Unfortunately those qualities are only enough for the mid-rounds. Looks like a BP who will be a man-marker.

32. Brayden Shaw - Collingwood

Outside winger via FS. Tends to kick off his toes and as a result too many of his passes fade late or become half volleys or hook late. 32 is about right for him so not a great steal.

33. Jake Furfaro - Brisbane

Yeah, yeah I am a sentimentalist. This kid is a tough honest goer who doesn't really have the height he needs. Is going to be a BP man-marker. I love this type but in all honesty he is not the prized type and could slip right off the board.

34. Joel Campbell - Port Adelaide

Mid-sized HBF or FP type. Runs well, has good speed and penetration on his kicking. I liked him last year and like that he tries to run through the middle not via the Cape.

35. Jed Adcock - Collingwood

I love Jedda. Tough little goer who is hard at it and can do a job on a player. Drives his team with hi willpower. May lack bulk and class but I would be tempted to reach for him and Collingwood prefer footballers to athletes.

36. Chris Johnson - Melbourne

Kept their options open to late, but get an undersized key forward. Melbourne have a clutch of under-21 KP players but really need to see a few emerge from the crowd.

37. Tom Roach - Richmond

Huge reach for this rookie-list calibre centreman. Reads the play well, is smart and has some class. But needs bulk and is a couple of levels off AFL at the moment.

38. Mark Blake - Geelong

Looks more a KF than a ruck at the moment. Not that mobile or athletic. Old-school big bloke who does little other than tap, handball and get one or three pack marks a game.

39. Andrew Eriksen - Port Adelaide

About 15kg (3 years in the gym) off a playing weight. Regularly beaten in the ruck by guys 15 cm shorter than he is. No intensity or toughness. However is 204cm and is deceptively polished in the skills department for a big fella. Port are one team that can afford to be patient with a ruckman.

40. Brent Stanton - Kangaroos

Winger/flanker who is classy but rarely gets enough of it to really excite. Sometimes in the AFL class is enough and a team can be built to get the ball to the finishers. Stanton might get a shot.

41. Josh Willoughby - Hawthorn

Tiny rover. Someone will try to pinch him out of next years top 30 by taking him late this year. May not be Hawthorn and may not be this early but the Hawks are addicts when it comes to inside midfielders.

42. Luke Herrington - Geelong

Geelong need goals and Herrington would be a good complement to Johnson in the mid-sized forwards department. This could be good insurance against not finding a KF. They could use Herrington in a Matera / N.Brown setup.

43. Brett Peake - Fremantle

Father-son selection. I don't know this kid.

44. Rowan Bonson - Essendon

We will all be waiting on this one. Will he nominate? Will he move if taken? Will he see out preseason? Will he get homesick mid-year? Essendon have strong NT links, strong aboriginal links including a scholorship program. It all sort of fits. Bombers are one of the few teams which could make it work for them.

45. Cam Illett - Sydney

Illett probably won't be drafted but I think he is great. Would have taken him top 30 last year. I am in awe of how good he is in close, rarely have I seen a guy as instinctive within 3 metres of the ball. I think he is a Chad Fletcher in the making. A guy who will get it out for you 20 times, and still contribute when it somes to running.

46. Ben Jolley - Port Adelaide

Great athlete, has superb stamina, is tall and can carry the ball. Kicks long but needs bulk. Gets into the packs a little more than some of the other wingers which sees him in the mix.

47. David Trotter - Sydney

Plays KP for NSW, but at 185cm is a midfielder. Got hurt in the under-18 champs and ended his year. Has some polish and class and I suppose I am being a bit lazy by sending him to Sydney but it sort of makes sense.

48. Heath Shaw - Collingwood

Improved player but a bit of a reach. Disguises his lack of pace by going flat-out all the time and that can result in some off-balance kicks getting sprayed around.

49. Tom Logan - Brisbane

Another tough hard-at it type who you'd love at your club but lacks genuine class. A guy who could be stashed away at emerge as a replacement for one of Scott boys in 3 years.

50. Michael Johnson - Bulldogs

A guy who was missed last year. Dogs might think he can step straight in for 10 games at CHB next year.

51. Nathan Foley - Hawthorn

The first of the 'samey' inside midfielders of which their are 20-30 to choose from in any year. I am a Foley fan and so I put him in, but it could be anyone. Hawks will probably taking Tallis here.

52. Mathew Priddis - Melbourne

Another dime-a-dozen midfielder. Dees will have to stock up on some inside options, can't put all the eggs in the Sylvia basket.

53. Heath Grundy - Richmond

There are a dozen similarly ordinary key denfenders around but Grundy has the advantage of being bottom age. Richmond won't take a kid here but should.

54. Josh Moore - Geelong

190cm utilities get drafted. Don't know who will take him, probably not Geelong because they have Johnson. Can play all over the place, occasionally does something classy.

55. Ron Davis - St Kilda

Plenty of talent at Saints but adding a guy who can run the lines and get from the BP to the forward 50 would be a good move. Better for Vic than Calder and very much the modern backman. A long-term upgrade for the likes of Voss.

56. Dean Chester - Kangaroos

One of those cheating forward pockets that the supporters of 15 clubs end up hating. Super pace. Can coach a lot of things but not getting gone in the blink of an eye.

57. Daniel Chidlow - Hawthorn

Another small speedster. Hawks have to add some pace one day don't they?

58. Dylan Harper - West Coast

I had him top-20 last year and thought him a top prospect. Not a KP, not a midfielder. More a flanker which hurts him. Has class though and only illness this year drops him out of the top 40. Could be a bargain late.

59. Kane Taylor - Fremantle

190cm utility type. Freo will be struggling here. So many picks they will have taken one of everything allready. Their Noah impersonation will probably have them looking for something different, and Taylor is that.

60. Julian Rowe - Carlton

A light-bodied, medium-paced winger. Two footed, good height. Looks a good safe option late. Certainly could make the grade. Lacks a little intensity.

61. Jason Whitehead - Adelaide

They need a ruckman so might as well play safe and take two. Whitehead is a little undersize but has a good leap and is local so would be a decent gamble late.

62. Daniel McConnell - Port Adelaide

D-Mac looked a handy, if loose, CHB but hurt himself with some lousy performances at CHF. Likes to play wide and get lots of touches and be a rebounder. Reads the play well, can't make the play though.

63. Sam Pleming - Sydney

190cm wingman. Light and just handy, and poor overhead. Might be handy off a half back flank in a couple of years.

64. Clinton Proctor - Collingwood

Pure speed, not much size. At this stage you're happy to take guys who even have one trick.

65. Shane Jordan - Brisbane

Didn't do heaps in the Champs, but his cameos were classy. Looks to have a little polish and that might be enough. Lions will probably pass on the QLDers like Pask, Ryswty and Cleary knowing they can rookie them.

congratulations on a very interesting and imo fairly accurate phantom draft

i'm the rep from sydney in the bigfooty phantom draft and i was thinking of the same people for my picks as the ones you put up

good work

weaver i'm interested on what assumptions have you based your choices?

I must say I'm quite at odds to the construction of this draft...be interesting to hear how you chose in that manner.

Originally posted by Weaver

After all the keep the family together stories this selection appeals to me. Will be interesting if the Saints pass on him. I think he is a lazy low-intensity player without genuine size or pace. A specialist FP. They gave up on Koops, they might get luckier this time.

Pretty happy with their KP stocks and outside midfielders, McLean must appeal as a kid who can play inside as a run-with or tagger and add some G+D to the mix. Probably the one area they need to improve in the next 3-4 years if they are going to a GF.

I despise unaccountbale, outside wingmen, particularly when they are built from twigs. In this Phantom I have Freo getting a flanker and an inside guy, so they won't mind going for a quick outside runner.

They don't need a KP player, particularly a defender, but this is their 4th pick and so they need to balance up a little and this guy is probably the most athletic big bloke around so could pop-up in a variety of positions.

Too small for my taste but is quick and that may appeal to the Bombers. Bombers really need to refresh that midfield.

Thought I'd comment on the Freo picks and on Surjan.

Clarke at 10. I'd take that. Highly unlikely though. Wouldn't be suprised if the Bombers pick him at 6. But as Schammer showed last year... stranger things have happened.

On the money with McLean. Exactly what we need (except he's Victorian).

Ray will go much, much earlier. Was very well performed at the draft camp and will go top ten IMO. Our only chance of getting him will be with pick 10 IMO.

Surjan is picked by many Freo people to be our 10 pick and we'll hope McLean is still around after the Eagles pick. I too am concerned about his size.

Pettigrew (or Spencer or Johnson) will hopefully be selected where you stated so I agree with that.

Im trying extremely extremely hard but I just can't see Moody going early first round, if first round at all. Spaanderman will do well to simply be drafted.

I dunno i like the previous mock drafts a little better, saying that your info is always great weaver.

3. Colin Sylvia - Melbourne

Desperate for inside midfielder. If they don't take him here the Dogs will take him at 4. Will need 18 months to learn the senior caper but is very smart. Could be quicker, but has a 2nd string to his bow with great overhead marking which can equal goals.

5. Adam Walker - Melbourne

Bottom age, dynamic and improved every game he played. High leaping and exciting. Might even develop into a light CHB in time. Needs to improve kicking and bouncing. Needs bulk.

36. Chris Johnson - Melbourne

Kept their options open to late, but get an undersized key forward. Melbourne have a clutch of under-21 KP players but really need to see a few emerge from the crowd.

52. Mathew Priddis - Melbourne

Another dime-a-dozen midfielder. Dees will have to stock up on some inside options, can't put all the eggs in the Sylvia basket.
First of all, great effort Weaver.

Sylvia must be taken at 3. Can't wait to see him in action and might be a walk up start into our side.

Walker would be nice at 5. A year younger than the rest, which probably means he would be the number 1 pick in 2004 if he was held back a year.

Johnson isn't really undersized. 190cm and 83kg. Someone reckons he is in the same league as Daniel Wells as far as talent goes. I hope so. Sounds like a steal.

Can't say I have ever heard of Priddis.

Originally posted by lamby29
First of all, great effort Weaver.

Sylvia must be taken at 3. Can't wait to see him in action and might be a walk up start into our side.

Walker would be nice at 5. A year younger than the rest, which probably means he would be the number 1 pick next year if he was held back.

Johnson isn't really undersized. 190cm and 83kg. Someone reckons he is in the same league as Daniel Wells. I hope so. Sounds like a steal.

Can't say I have ever heard of Priddis.

Whoever said same league as Wells is clearly dellusional or taking some kind of chemical substances. Good overhead, but will take time to fill out.

Priddis is a chunky midfielder who goes at one pace all day without relenting, thus the 15.6 beep test at state screening. Semi-effective at best and probably in the 2nd tier of WA midfielders in the State 18's.

Gave up some flankers in Teague and Morrell and Moody could replace both. Not a great 2003 but can't ignore the 2002 potential. Not KP size but prefers to play as a marking target which is what drops him down a little.

24. Brad Symes - Kangaroos

Emerged this season and was SA's best over 3 games in the champs. Not overly athletic, but quite talented. Roos must be thinking about life after Stevens and Simpson and this guy could be a possable contender.

40. Brent Stanton - Kangaroos

Winger/flanker who is classy but rarely gets enough of it to really excite. Sometimes in the AFL class is enough and a team can be built to get the ball to the finishers. Stanton might get a shot.

One of those cheating forward pockets that the supporters of 15 clubs end up hating. Super pace. Can coach a lot of things but not getting gone in the blink of an eye.

From a Roos viewpoint, there's only two that I would question.

I suspect that if Ryley Dunn is still available at #9 (you had him at #16 for the Swans), the Roos will take him rather than Moody. It seems that JYD has concerns about how the Roos attack the ball, and Dunn is one of those players who could help fix that aspect of the team.

Onto #56 and Dean Chester, if the Roos are looking to pick up Shane Harvey along the way (in the PSD), then I'll doubt we'll pick up Chester. With Harding, J. Clayton, and S. Harvey, we would have plenty of competition for the forward. I think that even having Harding and J. Clayton is enough.

Overall though, the Roos will be a hard team to pick. We have enough players who can play midfield and forward. We would probably like a tall, mobile key defender, but they're thin on the ground.

Super pace. Can coach a lot of things but not getting gone in the blink of an eye.
[/B]
Great Draft Weaver very good read, but what does the above mean?.
And no Aaron Davey.

Originally posted by dasler
Whoever said same league as Wells is clearly dellusional or taking some kind of chemical substances. Good overhead, but will take time to fill out.

Priddis is a chunky midfielder who goes at one pace all day without relenting, thus the 15.6 beep test at state screening. Semi-effective at best and probably in the 2nd tier of WA midfielders in the State 18's.
I think he was comparing Johnson to Wells in the class department. Before his injuries he may have gone very high in the draft. A lot of people are unfairly judging him purely on his performance for WA in the Championships, when he was playing with a ****ed up shoulder. For interests sake, where did you see him going in the draft if we hadn't selected him under the F/S Rule?

Thanks for the info on Priddis. Doesn't sound all that good but not many good players are available at pick 52 usually.

It's hard to say lamby but Wells is purely in a class of his own to be honest. Johnson is just a good player!

The one game he played that I saw he was terrific, apart from missing a goal that may have won Easts the game from a slight angle 20 m out. If he kept playing like that all year he would have gone top 30 most definitely. Purely a KPP.

Yeah Priddis is ok, can't get enthused about him as he has no special traits and does nothing outstanding.

Happy to help out

You don't like Ryan Murphy from Gippsland weaver?? A couple of clubs apparently showed interest in him last year as a bottom ager. Screening last year and draft camp this year. Any chance of being drafted - left out on purpose or not?

Bily Morrison is a big surprise!

I thought it was Andrew Walker?

The players I think that wont last as long as you have said are
Ryley Dunn,Farren Ray,Jacob Surjan and I will be happy if we get peel but if Dyson is still available then I will be angry if we dont pick him up.

Chaplin Blake Peel Herrington..hope you do the draft would love them!

We get best Ruckmen in Tac cup-Mark Blake
Best KPP in Tac Cup-Troy Chaplin
Fast Flanker winger-Luke Pell
Goal Sneak Skillfull also kicked 9 in a U/18 National Carnival Game-Luke Herrington.

So looking forward to the draft

46. Ben Jolley - Port Adelaide

47. David Trotter - Sydney

55. Ron Davis - St Kilda
They are the only Calder Cannons players you put in? I saw them play a lot this year and I'm surprised with your selections.

No Clifton, no Dawson, no Bentick - and they went to draft camp. Why did you leave them out?

What about Douglas, Silvester, Hartigan, Kent, Iacobucci????

I remember you said a while ago that the Cannons would be lucky to get more than four draftees, but surely you have ignored far too many good players, and arguably better ones, than some who have made your phantom draft.

15. Jay Nash - Port Adelaide

Best player available more than a need. Silky smooth and skilled HBF who plays with his eyes up and brings the ball out of defence well.

16. Ryley Dunn - Sydney
If this happened, I think I would cry.

30. Chris Stewart - Port Adelaide

Key defender, maybe a forward as well. Athletic and looks the part but I mostly saw him early in the year and for all the promise he got straight-out beat too often. They are kindly calling him an outside defender, which loosely translated means his opponent kicks goals on him.

31. Beau Waters - Adelaide
This would also induce tears.

I'd also reckon Josh Willoughby will go a fair bit higher than you've listed.

Ok dealing with the queries in one hit.

I think Ryley Dunn is over-rated by most here. He was a very good 182cm CHF last year and took some great marks and claimed some scalps at CHB. But at 182cm he can't play that role in the AFL. He doesn't have pace and doesn't carry the ball so he can't really play flanks. He has to be converted into a midfielder and that process has not been an overwhelming success this year. He doesn't get the big possesion tallies, he doesn't hurt teams. Yes he is hard at it but that is a pretty one-dimensional top-10 pick. He could well become a pure tagger.

Farren Ray, I am on record as saying I straight out don't like his type of player. I'll stick with that. There are downhill skiers, and then there are downhill skiers. He is a weak-bodied, forward of the ball, selfish, flair player.

As for Johnson being undersized I have him listed at 188cm (not 190cm), and I don't think he plays particularly tall.

I don't rate Aaron Davey at all. He has been bouncing around the system for 5 years and has one trick. He is quick. If he wants to make the AFL he better learn to use his other foot. Someone might rookie list him.

Mark Blake may be the best performed ruckman in the TAC Cup but he doesn't have much upside. Rawer guys like Eriksen, Batson and Lorimor are bigger gambles but could pay off in 4 years time. Also Herrington is not a goalsneak. He is a 178cm key forward.

Ryan Murphy was indeed highly rated last year and was everyone's tip as the Gippy guy to watch. He had a shocking year. He is probably 10kg under an AFL weight and I have dropped him out of the bottom rounds in earlier drafts in this version. He didn't do enough.

As for Priddis, I did describe him as a dime-a-dozen midfielder and made the point in the Foley comment that which 4-5 midfielders like him get taken and which miss out is tough to pick.

Willoughby is hampered by lack of size. He played HFF in the champs and was handy but showed no ball-winning ability. Taking a guy purely on his under-16 rep as high as 40 is actually a bit of a reach.

As for Calder? I'll stick by my opinion and eat humble pie on draft day if need be. Clifton and Silvester are the only two I would consider unlucky, but there are only 65 spots up for grabs and the thought that 12 should go to one team is a bit OTT.

6. Kane Tenace - Essendon
Drifts in and out of games too much to go higher. More an outside player and ball-carrier. Two footed. Bombers need pace, would make a good wing-pairing with Winderlich.

Bombers love the smaller, lighter running defenders and don't mind reaching for them either. Mundy is quick and two-footed. Has no bulk and relies on interceptions and beating his man to the ball. Needs to learn body work. Very two footed though which is rare in a KP player.

44. Rowan Bonson - Essendon

We will all be waiting on this one. Will he nominate? Will he move if taken? Will he see out preseason? Will he get homesick mid-year? Essendon have strong NT links, strong aboriginal links including a scholorship program. It all sort of fits. Bombers are one of the few teams which could make it work for them.

If that's the way it turns out, I won't be displeased.

David Mundy is an interesting one. Hunt is seen by many as Fletcher's successor, and we've also got Henneman. Mundy could step into Wellman's role. That's a good spot Weaver, great job. Food for thought!

Surjan at pick #28 would be nice. As for him being too small, I don't believe he is that small that it would cause him trouble. He's listed at the same height as Mark Johnson and Dean Rioli. A touch under six feet tall isn't a huge disadvantage for a rover.

Bonson at pick #44 would be fantastic.

Farren Ray, I am on record as saying I straight out don't like his type of player. I'll stick with that. There are downhill skiers, and then there are downhill skiers. He is a weak-bodied, forward of the ball, selfish, flair player.
The funny thing is it is evident that the boy has talent, but I agree 100% with you on this description Weaver. However, if I was to post this I'd be the subject of a witch hunt!

The hard things about doing phantom drafts is we can only gon on what we know personally and the info we get from associates and the clubs themselves. Will be interesting to see what occurs on November 22 ultimately.

I haven't seen any of the interstate players live, so I will only comment from a Freo perspective and on some of the WA players.

I agree with Dasler in that I can't see Moody going top ten, more likely between 10 - 20. He is a quick, agile medium-sized forward/utility with a freakish ability about him and is good overhead, but his 2003 season for South Fremantle has been too much of a disappointment for him to go top ten IMO. Having said that, I'd be happy if we took him with pick 19.

I'm not too sure about this one. Clarke appears to be very similar to Koops, who we traded for pick 19, although he (Clarke) is probably less intense.

Agree with everything you've said here. McLean is exactly what we need and will come under strong consideration with one of our first round picks. I thought he was clearly BOG in the TAC Cup Grand Final which will certainly boost his rating.

If a player of Ray's class and creativity is available at pick 19 we will definitely take him, although having said that, I can't see him lasting past pick 10 considering his outstanding U/18 Carnival. Time will tell though.

26. Callum Burgess - West Coast

We are told that he has been stashed away. No idea how good he is. But at 185cm he is a midfielder so unlike McPharlin they won't be battering the doors down to pinch him away.

Burges is an interesting one. We are told the plan was for WC to hide him but according to the Sunday Times, Collingwood and Fremantle have shown an increased level of interest, which may see them take him at pick 11.

If we decide to go for a local key position player, I highly doubt we will select Pettigrew ahead of Johnson or Spencer, if available.

Surjan at 28 would be an absolute steal IMO. He was fairly quiet in the final two games of the U/18 Carnival for WA (when he was apparently carrying a calf injury) but his season for South Fremantle Colts and in particular his performance in the WAFL Grand Final was outstanding. He is also 180cm, which is a couple of centimetres shorter than the average midfielder, so I don't think it will affect his chances of being drafted. Don't be surprised to see Freo select him with pick 10.

50. Michael Johnson - Bulldogs

A guy who was missed last year. Dogs might think he can step straight in for 10 games at CHB next year.

I can only hope the other 15 clubs rate him as low as you do. He is a keen Freo supporter and would be a great pick up with pick 27, IMO.

57. Daniel Chidlow - Hawthorn

Another small speedster. Hawks have to add some pace one day don't they?

Chidlow is a quick, gutsy midfielder and relatively classy by hand and foot. I really hope we select him if he is still available at 59, but I don't think he will be.

Thats your opinion and your entitled to it. But I guess what its all about is whether you are doing a draft based on how you rate the players or whether you are doing a draft which is more than likely how they are going to be picked.

Ray will go higher than you said in the end.

I dont think he will be big enough to be a KPP. Have a lot of his type. Just got rid of Jacobs...add McPhee, Bolton, Richards, Solomon, Welsh and the like as well as the established wellman.
I get the feeling essendon may pick the eyes out of the midfielders of this draft. They picked Cartledge and Laycock two Ruckman/KP players last year.

I have them down for Dyson at 13...Just for the fact that sheeds is big on what kids may turn into rather than what they are. Dyson Has a ****load of potential and i think Dodoro and sheedy would love the challenge. IMO Dyson has more upside to his game than most of the top 10

Weaver Phantom Draft Mark 3