BigFooty Official Big Footy Phantom PSD and Rookie

Sep 25, 2005
Gippy Power
Phantom recruiters have been kind enough to offer time for a Phantom PSD and Rookie Draft. It will start Monday morning with Chris25 and I managing. Hoping to have done inside a couple of days. We havent got an official order from AFL yet but will adjust as it becomes known but I think this is pretty close.

Participants

1 GWS - Snoop Dog
2 Suns - Offsider
3 Port - Thunderstruck
4 Lions - Quigley
5 Adelaide - Wall-e
6 Melbourne - Humble Minion
7 Richmond - Toadvine
8 Fremantle - Chris25
9 Bulldogs - HFF_07
10 North - Jonts
11 Essendon - Foj1
12 Saints - Monocle
13 Swans - Raymann
14 Carlton - Beowulf
15 WCE = Royal Eagle
16 Hawks - Swannies
17 Collingwood - Knightmare
18 Geelong - Snoop Dog (Ysaye is away and trying to org a replacement)

PRE SEASON DRAFT

1 GWS - Sam Frost / KPD / Sandringham Dragons
2 Suns - Shane Nelson / Mid / West Perth
3 Port - Lee Spurr / Utility / Centrals
4 Richmond - Jack Crisp
5 Fremantle - Zac Dawson / Key Def / St Kilda
6 Western Bulldogs - Myles Bolger / South Frem / Ruck
7 GWS - John McCarthy / Mid / Collingwood
8 GWS - Gavin Urquhart / Med Def / North Melb
9 GWS - Kyal Horsley / Midfielder / Subiaco
10 GWS -Andrew Boseley / Key Defender / Geelong Falcons

ROOKIE DRAFT

ROUND 1

1 GWS - Zyrus Manson
2 Suns - Justin Clarke
3 Port - Marley Williams
4 Lions - Julian Dobosz
5 Adelaide - Josh Waldhuter
6 Melbourne - Tom Sundberg
7 Richmond - Daniel Garside
8 Fremantle - Gibson Turner
9 Bulldogs - Jye Bolton
10 North - Max Duffy
11 Essendon - Lachie Dalgleish
12 Saints - Tom Lee
13 Swans - Brett O'Hanlon
14 Carlton - Steven Verrier
15 WCE - Alroy Gilligan
16 Hawks - Brody Mihocek
17 Collingwood - Haiden Schloithe
18 Geelong - Ben Darrou

ROUND 2

19 GWS - Jack Charleston
20 Suns - Damian Mascitti
21 Port - Matt Jacquier
22 Lions - Michael Bussey
23 Adelaide - Jack Frost
24 Melbourne - Courtney Hylton
25 Richmond - Jarrod Harding
26 Fremantle - Jackson Coleman
27 Bulldogs - Michael Florio
28 North - Jordan Staley
29 Essendon - Mark Hutchings
30 Saints - Jai Sheahan
31 Swans - Darren Minchington
32 Carlton - Daniel Joseph
33 WCE - Seb Purcell
34 Hawks - Sam Gordon
35 Collingwood - Ben Brown
36 Geelong - Alex Greenwood

ROUND 3

37 GWS - Danny Butcher
38 Suns - Xavier Richards
39 Port - Ben Hansen
40 Lions - Richard Newell
41 Adelaide - Darren Pfeiffer
42 Melbourne - Lachlan Fairley
43 Richmond - Willie Wheeler
44 Fremantle - Dylan Gabron-Uhe
45 Bulldogs - Marcus Darmondy
46 North - Jordan Wilson
47 Essendon - Sam Michael
48 Saints - Louis Eggar
49 Swans - Frazer Dale
50 Carlton - Chad Sandilands
51 WCE - Haydn Busher
52 Hawks - John McKenzie
53 Collingwood - Cam Eardley
54 Geelong - Cam Shenton

ROUND 4

55 GWS - Nick Murphy
56 Suns - Damien Volta
57 Port - Ben Gazzola
58 Lions - Mitch Brewer
59 Adelaide - Tim Totevski
60 Melbourne - Harry Cunningham
61 Richmond - Mat Suckling
62 Fremantle - Dylan Orval
63 Bulldogs - Rhys Waters
64 North - Michael Musicka
65 Essendon - Hayden Hector
66 Saints - Brayden O'Hara
67 Swans - Campbell Heath
68 Carlton - Matthew Lodge (NSW Scholarship)
69 WCE - Damian Hayward
70 Hawks - Jordan Jones
71 Collingwood - Cameron Valentine
72 Geelong - Simon Deery

ROUND 5

73 GWS - Lewis Hender
74 Suns - Sam Milne
75 Port - Thomas Dunne
76 Lions - Kallan Geary
77 Adelaide - Sam Chritchley
78 Melbourne - Michael Mascoulis
79 Richmond - PASS
80 Fremantle - Drew Gallard
81 Bulldogs - Hugh Sandilands
82 North - Taite Silverlock
83 Essendon - Anthony Long
84 Saints - Simon Tunbridge
85 Swans - Leif Cope
86 Carlton - PASS
87 WCE - PASS
88 Hawks - Tom Collier
89 Collingwood - Caolan Mooney
90 Geelong - Max Warren

ROUND 6

91 GWS - Lin Jong
92 Suns - Josh Gregg
93 Port - Ross Tungutalum
94 Lions - Gavin Crose
95 Adelaide - Jarrod Dalton
96 Melbourne - Fletcher Roberts
97 Richmond - PASS
98 Fremantle - Travis Tuck
99 Bulldogs - PASS
100 North - PASS
101 Essendon - Ned Fallon
102 Saints - Mitch Leyendekkers
103 Swans - Piva Wright
104 Carlton - PASS
105 WCE - PASS
106 Hawks - Jack Bradshaw
107 Collingwood - PASS
108 Geelong - Cameron Symonds

#1 GWS - Sam Frost ( Sandy Dragons / 194 / 87 / 93)

I have to say I thought long and hard about taking Zac Dawson here. I know he is heading to Fremantle but gee he would be nice for GWS. Anyway its not going to happen so might as well be realistic and let him pass through to Chris25 (and thereby keep the peace). Discounting him there were then really only two players in my thoughts and I will run the gauntlet and see if I can land both in the PSD.

As I have said many times Sam Frost is one of my favourite players in the draft and whilst was surprised he didnt go in the National Draft I understand the rationale. He is a super athlete and he just shows a real want to take on the competition with his run and carry. Very rare do you see a kid who runs as fast has he does and can play CHB. He could be a real key defensive weapon for the Giants in years to come and he certainly impressed their staff at BO back in July. We saw it a few times at Champs and i will never forget at one of the games all the recruiters around me just went ‘WOW’. Backed that up late in the TAC season during the finals and moreover the TAC final when whilst only 194cm he was able to go into the ruck and get Sandy going in that 2nd half at the centre bounce where he used that vertical leap to his (and his teams) advantage. His kicking can be a bit hit and miss but if the Giants can teach Folau how to kick then this challenge will be like shooting fish in a barrel.

Welcome to Brekkie Point Sam Frost!

Good to see you keeping the peace.

And to the drafters, as this is only the rookie draft the time frame between picks wont be as generous as with the usual phantom. So feel free to send through a list to myself and Snoop, otherwise risk your pick getting passed or being given some random player.

Seeing as I am currently on here is my pick ...

PSD Pick 2: Gold Coast - Shane Nelson
West Perth / 179cm / 73kg / 1993

There were a few other prospect I liked here, yet I think I could get them later on. I just could not go past Nelson here although another was very close.

Gold Coast get a mid prospect here, who has potential IMO and just needs to add a bit more hurt factor to his game. I like him as a real outside winger, who can run all day and really rack the disposals up. Very unlucky not to go in the draft, may struggle to break into the talented GC midfield, and really does not have another position, could work on his ability to kick goals and push forward. Has long term potential as a small forward.

Nelson has really good athletic attributes, he is quick, nippy, agile and hard to pin down, he is a smooth mover, yet I would like to see him use is pace more and back himself. He has very good endurance, and finds a lot of the ball outside, his link play is terrific. He has neat skills, very good over short distance, although maybe not a massive long kicker yet still effective, and would have a good efficiency rate. Nelson is capable inside, wins clearances, yet may struggle a bit with his size in the AFL, not super strong needs some gym time. His outside work is very good, runs the lines finds the ball well. He has a lot of potential and will take time. Would like to seem him become a real nuggety type.

Pick #3 - Port Adelaide - Lee Spurr - Central District

Such value here for a PSD, the man is a lock to play round 1 if picked by Port, slot in across half-back comfortably and direct traffic. Strong over the ball, runs off half-back well and is a terrific mark for his size. Can push forward and kick goals when required. Solid accurate kick, not a laser but can hoof it. Pace is moderate, not quick but an all-rounder who can pick up 20 touches 10 marks across half-back and become a general type down there. Really should be playing AFL, rarely has a poor game.

Need to keep this thing rolling and whilst we started a bit earlier I think it is clear enough who Tigers are into;

# 4 Richmond - Jack Crisp

Chris25 you are up and I have HFF selection

No you can't!

:)

Come at me bro!..

#3. Richmond Tigers - Jack Crisp / Height: 190cm / Weight: 83kg / DOB: 2/10/93
Club: Murray Bushrangers

Crisp is a tall, athletic and very versatile midfielder for the Murray Bushtangers. Jack has a very team orientated game and his commitment to defensive pressure, tackling and 2nd efforts is outstanding for a player in his early development.

He is a great overhead mark, which makes him valuable when pushing into the forward 50 to provide a target or helping out in defence. Jack's best position though is wing I think, where he is a great competitor and always seems to do the right thing whether it be moving the ball well through traffic, chasing down the opposition or blocking for a teammate.

Kicking is generally very good but it can let him down at times, his draft camp results of finishing in the top 10 for that skill tells me it's probably just an issue of focus, which could easily be ironed out in a full time environment.

Jack would provide depth for Richmond’s midfield in and area that our team is quite poor in and that's the defensive mindset. This would make would make him a fantastic asset to our elite group of young mids assisting them to be able to play at their best.

Crisp is extremely similar player to John McCarthy who the Tigers have committed this PSD pick to however I felt in the interests of this draft I would change things up a little and gets names out there for those keen to read about the junior prospects.

Not sure what happened to Chris25 but lets go with;

# 5 Fremantle - Zac Dawson (St Kilda)

HFF sent his thru to me

# 6 Western Bulldogs - Myles Bolger (South Frem / 201 / 90 / 93)

(Snoop Dog write up)

Saw a lot of him last year and was super impressed with him. He is a terrific type and whilst we didn’t get to see much of him this year he certainly finished the season really well for South Fremantle. I like my ruckmen to be clever at the clearances with hit outs to advantage and to be able to compete around the ground and potentially push fwd. Bolger ticks all those boxes albeit probably doesn’t push fwd as much as he could and that might be the worry. Still he is very athletic and has strong hands and good skills so no reason that couldn’t come in time. Originally had him going to GWS but think they may settle on the 4 rucks on the senior list.

# 7 GWS - John McCarthy (Collingwood)

Quality midfielder who has slipped thru. Woudl walk into most other midfields in the competition. Has played some very handy games for Collingwood but he has just been injured at the wrong times. Hard and aggressive and has good endurance but just needs a chance. The one knock I have on Macca is hit foot skills under pressure need work.

# 8 GWS - Rick Ladson (Hawhtorn)

To good not to be playing senior AFL footy. Bit like McCarthy has just been forced out of the senior side but would be a regular in most teams outside top 6 or so. Can play fwd and back and will be really useful for Giants.

# 9 GWS - Kyal Horsley (Subiaco WAFL)

24 yo and tough midfielder type who is good inside and out and would be a handy addition to their midfield – had a sensational season for Subiaco this year. Really improved his endurance over previous years and getting better all the time. Foot skills are elite.

# 10 - Andrew Boseley (Geelong Falcons / 194 / 90 / 92)

Over age player who I might have a bit high at this selection but he possesses an attribute that I think is much required in key defenders….closing speed…..and he is also a player who the Hawks are looking to replenish given departure of Lisle. Did some super jobs through the year and will surely have caught the eye of clubs looking to building their defence. He probably doesn’t get enough of the ball offensively for me but he did seem to improve that late. What you get with this kid is just someone who could go with the best fwds and whose pace and reach will make him really formidable.

ROOKIE DRAFT​

# 1 GWS - Zyrus Manson (Claremont / 192 / 80 / 93)

Not a huge surprise he didnt go in the National Draft given he walked out on the interviews after Day 1 but there is no doubting this kid was in the top 25 on pure talent. GWS have got enough of the kids and mature age players we need to take the risk placing him on the Rookie List where we dont lose to much if it doesnt work out.

Freakish talent who I have seen a fair bit of now and whilst there are huge issues with elements of his game (fwd pressure would be one) the positives are very good. He is his own highlight reel and just seems to read the ball so well. Couples that with a desire to play in front and his huge leap and you have a kid who if he can build a motor and add some weight will be nigh impossible to stop. He could bloody anything this kid. In his 2 Colts games he had 30 touches and 21 of them were scores (12g 9). He has then gone up to play for the Waratahs in the NT and absolutely dominated smashed them with regular hauls of 8 or more. He has great hands, he gets in front so the umps look after him and he finishes pretty well albeit can look a bit lazy at times.

He needs a lot of work but risk reward could be massive.

Not sure what happened to Chris25 but lets go with;

# 5 Fremantle - Zac Dawson (St Kilda)

When I said I would be around today, I obviously meant after waking up at 11am. :p

And I'd have taken Dawson anyway. Wont do a proper write up, but I think he'll be a great pick up. Is getting bigger and better every year, reckon the next 2-3 years he will be at his absolute peak.

Since this is the rookie draft, we don't really want to be waiting around for much longer than an hour between picks. In which case, your pick will be taken for you based either on your own phantom draft or my phantom rookie draft.

Which means for the Gold Coast and Offsider...

# 2 Gold Coast - Justin Clarke (195cm defender - BMW)

The Manson of SA as I referred to him. Haven't seen him myself but there is a fair bit of interest in him from the sounds of things, particularly from Adelaide and Hawthorn.

Does seem like the perfect rookie selection.