Suspended
Dec 30, 2003
At the BFPA Mansion
Chelsea Wests Tigers
When demetriou says players like ablett and cotchin could have legitimaly signed he is giving us a heads up.

And as for the club now starting negotiations knowning the possibility of what may happen, just shows how amatuer we are.

This being the case i dont understand why we are getting our knickers in a knot over him being fit or not...

"AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou last night confirmed to The Age that a rugby league scenario now exists in Australian rules football whereby players such as Gary Ablett and Trent Cotchin could play for Geelong and Richmond respectively in 2010 while already contractually committed to the Gold Coast for 2011"

"Richmond is understood to have begun contract discussions with the promising young Cotchin, "

Too Late She Cried

I could imagine the Richmond faithful if he did sign to GC and then play a season in the yellow and black.

• Banned
the only way we will find out is if he baulks at resigning with us.

but if vlad makes a throw away comment then ther will be something in it as all contracts need to be afl approved

As I have said before, there is nothing we can do about it if true.

But I will add I would let him rot in coburg all year. Why include a guy in your long term plans if he isnt going to be there.

• Banned
This s a bit of a long shot if you ask me, but if true and found out, I agree with Roos, punt him now!

In saying that this thread makes me feel sick, can someone delete it.

Morro sometimes things dont go the way we want as tiger fans we all know what that is like.

Im just quoting vlad so it might very well be a throw away line.

But somehow i get the feeling that it isnt the case.

If he is going send him to coburg ressies.

Would be filthy, I'll choose to believe he hasn't done so and will be a long term player for the RFC as Hardwick keeps preaching.

He will stay.

He's a family man. We will have a lot of free room to move in the salary cap, especially after this year after we cut a few more, experienced senior players. We could nearly match any GC offer to Cotchin which would be 750k max you would think or at least come close. Also, if he was planning on leaving why would he be talking himself up as a leader of the club the other day and talking positively about the future. Don't get yourself too worked up about it, in the slight chance he will leave (very slight considering he's close to his family and he seems the loyal type), there's nothing you can do about it.

It's sad to think that this once proud clubs fate now seems to sit at the feet of a injury prone teenager.

the questions is what can the gold coast offer we cant.............MONEY

WHO on our list is earning the high $$$ apart from lids.

MUST KEEP GUYS AT RICHMOND ARE

cotchin
delidio
martin
vickery
foley
morton
perhaps 1 or 2 more

there is no reason why gc17 should be able to out bid us on cotchin its teams like hawks,saints,dogs,cats that should be worried with their caps being put under pressure.

all this talk opf cotchin leaving is absolute B****shit.
He has never wanted to leave victoria, and just bought a house in the northern suburbs where he is renting it out to my mate while he lives there as well. Speaking to him two days ago, he said its absolute garbage, and that he was told of the story in the age before the hawthorn game by richmond management. 100% he isnt leaving the club. He is also feeling pretty good with the body as well

This Cotchin scenario is getting very serious.

It's time Hardwick & Gale confront him and demand answers. If he has signed, then be upfront about it and don't play him all year.

If Cotchin leaves RFC this will be a huge kick in the guts for the club. After all the time and money spent rehabilitating him...just pathetic if true.

I remember when Raines & Cloke left and I still haven't got over it. Ottens was a bitter pill as well.

When is this club ever going to ever come good? I just don't know anymore.

We are investing too much time in worrying about what Cotchin will do.

We have some young guys now that may be better than him.

The club....the club....the club.

We've gotta start thinking that we are a unit getting stronger, and no one player leaving can hurt us.

Hardwick won't lose too much sleep over things that haven't happened yet.

You're not quoting Vlad, you're quoting The Age.

Exactly.

who quoted vlad

Don't believe they did....all they quoted was him saying that players could 'sign' for another club while playing with their current one....The Age added in the names of guys that have been bandied about.

We are investing too much time in worrying about what Cotchin will do.

We have some young guys now that may be better than him.

The club....the club....the club.

We've gotta start thinking that we are a unit getting stronger, and no one player leaving can hurt us.

Hardwick won't lose too much sleep over things that haven't happened yet.

you can never be a good club if you keep losing your best players.

I appreciate the comments about no one player being bigger than the club and all that but if Cotchin did go it would just make you want to vomit..

I'd forever be wanting to throw a stubby at the tv whenever he got the ball for the red and yellow.....

Im very anti-change and am fast developing a nasty bitter hatred for GC17 : )

I appreciate the comments about no one player being bigger than the club and all that but if Cotchin did go it would just make you want to vomit..

I'd forever be wanting to throw a stubby at the tv whenever he got the ball for the red and yellow.....

Im very anti-change and am fast developing a nasty bitter hatred for GC17 : )

Everyone will hate GC17 for a long, long time.

But hating Carltank is FOREVER!!! :thumbsu:

Actually yeah I reckon if the tiges get through the GC17 recruitment drive relatively unscathed then yes the Carlton hatred will probably still burn a little brighter : )